DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 19, line 3, the phrase “… a communications network coupled to the system of claim 19, …” , which is depending on itself. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)2) as being anticipated by Kamalov et al [US 2021/0255344]
Claim 1. A computer (the computing devices 210, 260 see Fig. 2) implemented method for detecting a tsunami (the seismic and/or tsunami events, see Fig. 3, abstract, para [0002, 0042]), comprising, in a computer (the computer with one or more processors, see Fig. 2, para [0002, 0019]): receiving optical signals transmitted through a plurality of locations along a submarine telecommunication cable comprising optical fibers (receiving optical light signals along an underwater optical route 100 having a plurality of stations or locations 110, 120, 130, see Figs. 1-3, para [0002, 0009-0014, 0034-0041, 0056]);
determining, from a property of the optical signals at the different locations, changes in at least one property of the optical fibers spanning the different locations (the External effects that cause mechanical disturbances to the optical cable, such as cuts or pinches on the optical cable, and other movements in the optical cable's environment, such as movement of vessels, movement of anchors, collisions, earthquakes, tsunamis, etc., may result in changes in the characteristics of the light signals that are different from random variations under normal circumstances. For example, mechanical deformations, including earthquakes and tsunamis, may cause changes in birefringent properties of optical cables, which may in turn cause changes in characteristics of light propagation through the optical cables that can be detected at a receiver, see Figs. 1, 4, para [0042, 0058-0060]); and
associating threshold changes in the at least one property of the optical fibers with detection of a tsunami wave above the locations in the telecommunication cable (the changes in the characteristic of the optical light signals that are different from random variations under normal circumstances or thresholds to generate a model for detection of seismic events, see Figs. 1, 2, para [0042, 0044]).
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, further comprising the computer outputting an alarm signal when the computer associates the threshold changes with the detection of the tsunami wave (the warning of seismic/tsunami events associated with first and/or second thresholds, changes in birefringent properties of optical cables as changes in characteristic of light propagation through the optical cables or polarization changes in the fiber as the seismic waves, see Figs. 4A-7, 9, para [0065, 0075-0077, 0085]).
Claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one property of the optical fibers is a length of a span of the optical fibers between each of the locations (the fiber optical cable route between first station 110 and second station 120, see Figs. 9-12, para [0075, 0076, 0081-0083]).
Claim 4. The method of claim 1, wherein the optical signals comprise frequency modulated telecom signals and the property of the optical signals comprises a phase of the frequency modulated telecom signal at each of the locations (the seismic waves resulting from an earthquake may perturb optical phases of light signals propagated through the optical cable. Such optical phase perturbations may be detected at receiving stations, and analyzed using frequency metrology techniques in order to detect earthquakes, see para [0001, 0034, 0041]).
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein each of the locations are in a different repeaters for amplifying telecommunication signals transmitted by the telecommunication cable (as cited in respect to claims 1 and 5 above, and including the repeaters 1110, 1120, 1130, 1140 in High-Loss Loop-Back HLLB modes, position along the optical route 100 with amplifiers, see Figs. 1, 11, para [0012, 0039, 0041, 0082]).
Claim 7. The method of claim 6, further comprising the computer controlling: transmission, from a transmitter, of the electromagnetic signals comprising frequency modulated telecom signals along a first one of the optical fibers in the cable (the stations 110, 120, 130 along the optical route 100 are configured to communicate or telecommunicate with one another by modulating light signals, see Figs. 1, 3, para [0038-0041, 0056]),
wherein each of the repeaters comprises a fiber loop comprising a wavelength filter to a second one of the optical fibers, wherein the wavelength filter passes the frequency modulated telecom signals (as cited in respect to claim 6 above, and including the filter spectrums or wavelengths, see Figs. 1, 7, 11, 12, para [0005, 0013, 0065, 0082, 0083]);
reception, at a receiver, of the frequency modulated signals transmitted through each of the loops at the repeaters and back through the second one of the optical fibers (as cited in respect to claim 6 above, see Figs. 11, 12); and wherein the receiver and the transmitter are located at the same cable landing station (the transmitter and receiver at each stations 110, 120, 130, see Figs. 1, 3, para [0039, 0041, 0056]).
Claim 19. The system of claim 1, wherein the computer executes an application outputting an alarm signal when the computer associates the threshold changes with the detection of the tsunami wave and further comprising a communications network coupled to the system of claim 19, wherein the communication network transmits the alarm signal (as cited in respect to claims 1 and 2 above, and including the one or more computing devices 210 in communication with one or more computing devices 260, 270, 280 through a network 250, see Fig. 2, para [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamalov et al [US 2021/0255344] in view of Payton [7,271,884]
Claim 5. Kamalov et al fails to disclose wherein the phase is obtained by demodulation of the frequency modulated telecom signals. However, Kamalov et al teaches that the stations 110, 120, 130 along the optical route 100 are configured to communicate or telecommunicate with one another by modulating light signals, see Figs. 1, 3, para [0038-0041, 0056]).
Payton suggests that the CW lightwave modulated by a continuously reiterated psuedorandom code sequence is launched into an end of a span of ordinary optical fiber cable. Portions of the launched lightwave back propagate to the launch end from a continuum of locations along the span because of innate fiber properties including Rayleigh scattering. This is picked off the launch end and heterodyned producing a r.f. beat signal. The r.f. beat signal is processed by a plurality (which can be thousands) of correlator type pseudonoise code sequence demodulation and phase demodulator units, operated in different time delay relationships to the timing base of the reiterated modulation sequences. These units provide outputs representative of phase variations in respective unique spectral components in the r.f. beat signal caused by acoustic, or other forms of, signals incident to virtual sensors at fiber positions corresponding to the various time delay relationships (see Figs. 2, 3, abstract).
The system wherein at respective sensing stations of a plurality of sensing stations along a span of optical fiber, the system senses input signals of a type having a property of inducing light path changes at regions of the span influenced by such signals, comprising: means for illuminating an optical fiber span with a CW optical signal and for retrieving back-propagating portions of the illumination back propagating from a continuum of locations along the span; means for modulating the CW optical signal in accordance with a reiterative autocorrelatable form of modulation code; means for picking off from said retrieved back-propagating portions of the illumination a radio frequency (r.f.) counterpart of the retrieved back-propagated modulated CW optical signal; means for performing a corresponding plurality of autocorrelation detection processes on said r.f. counterpart of the retrieved back-propagated modulated CW optical signal in respective predetermined timed relationships to said reiterated modulation code; and means for performing a corresponding plurality of phase demodulation processes upon said r.f. counterpart of the retrieved back-propagated modulated CW optical signal, said demodulation processes performed in phase locked synchronism with said CW optical signal (see Figs. 2, 3, 12, claim 21, col. 14, lines 26-67, col. 15, lines 1-65]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add or implement phase demodulation and modulation of CW optical signal of Payton to the communicate or telecommunicate with one another by modulating light signals of Kamalov et al for providing an accuracy monitoring under water fiber cables due to pressure and low noise in the water.
Claim 8. Kamalov et al fails to disclose wherein the repeaters comprise couplers coupling the electromagnetic signals into and out of the loops using a high loss loop back system. However, Kamalov et al teaches that the repeaters 1110, 1120, 1130, 1140 in High-Loss Loop-Back HLLB modes, position along the optical route 100 with amplifiers, see Figs. 1, 11, para [0012, 0039, 0041, 0082]).
Payton suggests that such optical path length change or delay may be caused by a variety of possible sources including acoustic pressure waves incident to the fiber, electromagnetic fields coupled to the fiber using the couplers 4 and 7, mechanical strain or pressure on the fiber, thermal strain or pressure induced in the fiber, or other means of causing change in the optical path length,. Yet further, a sensing position on a fiber span 9 could be used to receive as an input microphonic signals suitably imparted to the region of the sensing position. The electromagnetic field sensing mode of fiber span 9 could be used for monitoring electronic signals along a telecommunication cable's span to localize malfunctions. Responses of fiber span 9 to mechanical, pressure or thermal strains can be used in systems for monitoring such strains (see Figs. 2, 3, claim 19, col. 5, lines 44-67, col. 11, lines 11-27, col. 15, lines 58-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add or implement the coupling of electromagnetic signal of Payton to the optical signal repeater with HLLB of Kamalov et al for detecting an object or intrusion to be monitored based on changes in optical properties to provide a higher accuracy and reliable of monitoring optical signals.
Claim 9. The method of claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic signals comprise a frequency comb and the property of the electromagnetic signals comprises a phase of the signal at each of the locations (as the discussions of the electromagnetic signals between Kamalov et al and Payton in respect to claim 8 above, and including phase and location, see Kamalov et al, Figs. 9-12, para [0001, 0009-0011, 0041]), and Payton, abstract, Figs. 2, 3, 7-12, col. 10, lines 56-67, col. 11, lines 1-10).
Claim 10. Kamalov et al fails to disclose wherein the computer determines the phase of the signal comprising Rayleigh backscattering of the electromagnetic signals at each of the locations (as the discussions of the electromagnetic between Kamalov et al and Payton in respect to claim 8 above, and further Payton teaches that the ROSE which launches an interrogation signal onto fiber span 9 and retrieves lightwave back propagation from a continuum of locations along the span. Back propagation mechanisms may include Rayleigh Optical Scattering (ROS) and other effects generated within the optical fiber. Rayleigh Optical Scattering (ROS) in an optical fiber backscatters light incident upon the fiber. The incident light transverses down the optical fiber to the scattering point/region. At the scattering region the incident light is backscattered back up the optical fiber. As the light transverses the round trip optical path (i.e., distance of flyback travel) any disturbance of the fiber which increase or decrease the optical path length will cause the phase of the incident and backscattered light to be modulated. Suppose a pressure is applied to the optical fiber. The pressure elongates the path length of the light transversing the region. The polarization of an electromagnetic (or optical) plane wave, p, is described by a minimum of five parameters. There are two basic ways of specifying these parameters. The first way leads to a description which is oriented towards that which is directly obtained from physical measurements (see abstract, Figs. 2, 3, col. 10, lines 56-67, col. 11, lines 1-10).
Claim 11. A system for detecting a tsunami, comprising: a computer implementing an algorithm at a tsunami warning center, the algorithm: receiving, from a receiver, electromagnetic signals transmitted from a transmitter through a plurality of locations along a submarine telecommunication cable comprising optical fibers; determining, from a property of the electromagnetic signals at the different locations, changes in at least one property of the optical fibers spanning the locations; and associating threshold changes in at least one property of the optical fibers with detection of a tsunami wave (as cited and discussed of the electromagnetic signals between Kamalov et al and Payton in respect to claims 1, 2 and 8 above).
Claim 12. The system of claim 11, further comprising: one or more cable landing stations each comprising the transmitter and the receiver; the telecommunication cable; and a plurality of repeaters positioned at the locations for amplifying telecommunication signals at each of the locations along the cable (as cited in respect to claim 6 above).
Claim 13. The system of claim 12, wherein: the transmitter comprises a modulator for modulating telecom signals to form the electromagnetic signals comprising frequency modulated telecom signals and the property of the electromagnetic signals comprises a phase of the frequency modulated telecom signals at each of the locations; and
the receiver comprises a demodulator for extracting a phase of the electromagnetic signals at each of the locations (as the combination of the phase demodulation and modulation signals between Kamalov et al and Payton cited in respect to claim 5 above, and Payton further teaches that a coherent optical receiver takes advantage of the square law characteristics of photodetectors. The coherent optical receiver combines two optical beams, a signal and a local oscillator, together to form an interference. The interference between these optical waves produces a "beat" which allows the measurement of the phase difference between the signal and the local oscillator. This interference produces an amplitude, polarization, and phase sensitive receiver output. In order to consider these effects a discussion of the polarization state of plane waves is in order. A plane wave contains two orthogonal vector components which are also orthogonal to the direction of propagation of the wave. For purposes of discussion we will consider the plane wave to be oriented so that the vector components of the electromagnetic field lie in an X-Y plane and that the wave propagates in the Z direction. However, this choice of axes is completely arbitrary. In practice, the wave can be oriented in any propagation direction. The polarization of an electromagnetic (or optical) plane wave, p, is described by a minimum of five parameters. There are two basic ways of specifying these parameters. The first way leads to a description which is oriented towards that which is directly obtained from physical measurements (see Figs. 2, 3, col. 5, lines 37-67, col. 15, lines 58-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add or implement phase demodulation and modulation of CW optical signal or electromagnetic propagation signals of Payton to the communicate or telecommunicate with one another by modulating light signals of Kamalov et al for monitoring electronic signals along a telecommunication cable’s span to localize malfunctions accuracy in response of fiber span to mechanical, pressure or thermal strains.
Claim 14. The system of claim 13, wherein each of the repeaters comprises: a first amplifier coupled to a first one of the optical fibers in the cable (as cited in respect to claim 6 above):
a first coupler for coupling at least a portion of the electromagnetic signals into a fiber loop, comprising a wavelength filter, to a second one of the optical fibers, wherein the wavelength filter transmits the electromagnetic signals (as cited and discussed in respect to claims 7 and 13 above);
a second coupler for coupling the electromagnetic signals from the fiber loop into a second one of the optical fibers coupled to a second amplifier and returning to the receiver (as cited and discussed in respect to claims 7 and 13 above, see Figs. 11, 12); and
wherein the computer controls transmission of the electromagnetic signals from the transmitter to the receiver through the fiber loops to monitor changes in the at least one property of the optical fibers as a function of time (as cited and discussed in respect to claims 7 and 13 above).
Claim 15. The system of claim 14, wherein: the repeaters comprise the first coupler, the second coupler, the amplifiers, and the wavelength filter arranged in a high loss loop back system (as cited in respect to claim 6 above, and including the optical couplers, and including the HLLB modes, see Fig. 11A, 11B, para [0018, 0021, 0082, 0110, 0111]); and
the electromagnetic signals are transmitted from the transmitter to the receiver through the high loss loop back system (as the discussion between Kamalov et al and Payton in respect to claim 7 above).
Claim 16. The system of claim 11, wherein the at least one property of the optical fibers is a length of a span of the optical fibers between each of the locations (as cited in respect to claim 3 above, see Figs. 9-12).
Claim 17. The system of claim 12, wherein the transmitter comprises a local oscillator outputting the electromagnetic signals comprise a frequency comb and the property of the electromagnetic signals comprises a phase of the signal at each of the locations (as the discussions of the electromagnetic signals between Kamalov et al and Payton in respect to claims 8 and 9 above, and including phase and location, see Kamalov et al, Figs. 9-12, para [0001, 0009-0011, 0041]), and Payton, abstract, Figs. 2, 3, 7-12, col. 10, lines 56-67, col. 11, lines 1-10).
Claim 18. The system of claim 17, wherein the computer determines the phase of the signal comprising Rayleigh backscattering of the electromagnetic signals at each of the locations (as the discussions of the Rayleigh ROSE applications between Kamalov et al and Payton cited in respect to claim 10 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sternklar et al disclose the system for optical sensing includes optical couplers 208. The system comprises: a light source system configured for generating an excitation optical signal selected to induce Rayleigh backscattering, and a pump light beam selected to amplify the Rayleigh backscattering; an optical coupler arranged for coupling the excitation optical signal and the pump light beam into an optical fiber to thereby generate an optically amplified sensing signal; and a signal analyzer, for analyzing the sensing signal so as to identify a change in at least one property along the fiber. In some embodiments the excitation signal comprises an electromagnetic signal. And
In some embodiments, the signal generator comprises an electromagnetic signal generator configured to generate a coherent electromagnetic signal as the excitation signal. In some such embodiments the signal generator comprises a pulsed laser.
[US 2017/0115138]
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
12/03/2025