DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the remarks filed 1/2/2026.
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/10/2025 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections 35 USC § 101
In light of the recent amendment to claim 15, the rejection under 35 USC §101 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 of 11 of the remarks, Applicant alleges that “[s]pecifically, Malhan fails to provide the “entry priority” of the present application.
In response, Applicant is arguing the newly amended language of “generate maneuver information including an entry priority to the target road section for the at least one moving object”; however, this newly added amended language has necessitated a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malhan et al., US 2020/0320869 hereinafter, “Malhan” in view of Aoki, Shunsuke, and Ragunathan Rajkumar. “A merging protocol for self-driving vehicles” hereinafter “Aoki”
Claims 1, 14 and 15. Malhan teaches an apparatus for traffic flow coordination, the apparatus comprising:
a transceiver configured to transmit a traffic flow coordination message at least one moving object around a road or to receive traffic flow-related information about a road or surroundings thereof ([0026] read on this element as such—“ Devices connected to the communication network 114 may exchange different type of information based on the type of device. As an example, a vehicle 104 connected to the network 114 (i.e., a connected vehicle) transmits a message that includes information to identify the connected vehicle, and characteristics of the vehicle 104 such as location (e.g., coordinates and/or elevation), speed, travel direction, acceleration, and/or brake system status. In one form, to improve bandwidth and reduce computational load, devices transmit selected data, such as a location, speed, and travel direction.”); and
a processor configured to process the traffic flow-related information ([0028]—“In one form, the communication device 202 includes a transceiver (not shown) for connecting to the communication network 114 and a controller having memory and a microprocessor for processing messages received and generating messages to be transmitted.”), wherein the processor is configured to:
obtain the traffic flow-related information ([0039] Referring to FIG. 4, the intersection control system 110 is configured to analyze dynamic traffic flow about the roundabout 102 and provide entry parameters a vehicle approaching or at an entrance of the roundabout 102.),
determine at one coordination-required region and a target road section related to the coordination-required region based on the obtained traffic flow-related information (Malhan teaches in [0042]-[0044] that “[t]he intersection controller 308 is configured to acquire data from different devices (e.g., the vehicles 104, the roadside sensors 112, the intersection sensors 304, etc.), and analyze the data in real time to generate an entry parameter such as vehicle speed, for a vehicle entering the roundabout 102.” Here the coordination-required region is the intersection for entering the roundabout and target road section is the roundabout. While [0051] teaches that “[t]he notification module 320 is configured to notify the vehicle about the entrance of the entry parameter determined by the entry parameter estimator 326. In one form, the notification module 320 generates and transmits a message to the vehicle about the entrance with the entry parameter.” Thus, taken together the cited section read on this element.);
generate maneuver information including an entry priority to the target road section for the at least one moving object ([0051] teaches generating maneuver information to the target road section for the at least one moving object as such—“In one form, the notification module 320 generates and transmits a message to the vehicle about the entrance with the entry parameter. For example, using predefined communication protocols, the notification module 320 sends the entry parameter such as the recommended speed, in a message transmitted via the communication device and the network 114.”) and
control the transceiver to transmit the traffic flow coordination message including the generated maneuver information for the at least one moving object to at least one moving object around the road (Malhan reads on this element as such—“The communication device 202 is configured to exchange data with other devices in the system 100 via the communication network 114. In one form, the communication device 202 includes a transceiver…for connecting to the communication network 114 and a controller having memory and a microprocessor for processing messages received and generating messages to be transmitted. For example, the communication device 202 is configured to transmit a message to other devices that identifies the vehicle 200 and provides selected characteristics of the vehicle 200, such as position, speed, and travel direction. This message can be provided as a basic safety message (BSM)….”. Here the BSM also relates to the entry parameter such as vehicle speed, for a vehicle entering the roundabout as taught in [0042]-[0043]. While [0039] along [0071] further describes this element as such—“Referring to FIG. 4, the intersection control system 110 is configured to analyze dynamic traffic flow about the roundabout 102 and provide entry parameters a vehicle approaching or at an entrance of the roundabout 102….the controller is configured to: generate and transmit a message that provides the entry parameter to the vehicle, display a notification at the notification interface disposed at the un-signalized intersection, or a combination thereof. The notification provides the entry parameter for the vehicle, and the entry parameter includes a recommended speed of the vehicle, a recommended time for entering the un-signalized intersection, a lane level map, or a combination thereof.”).
Malhan teaches the concepts of entry points onto a target road as illustrated in figures 6A-6B and 7A-7b. further teaches in [0054]-[0056] that “If a vehicle is about the entrance, the system determines the dynamic traffic flow of the roundabout based on the current dynamic characteristics of the moving object(s), at 406. At 408, the system predicts future dynamic characteristics of moving object(s) about the intersection based on dynamic traffic flow and predictive control….” Additionally, Malhan teaches transmitting an entry parameter to vehicle a moving vehicle on a target road.
However, Malhan is silent on the term entry priority. Yet, Aoki teaches an entry priority to the target road (pg. 219, col. 2, para. 5 teaches that “where two lanes meet, and a different priority is assigned to each lane. Under the existing traffic rules, when the traffic density is light, the vehicles on the through lane have higher priority and are not required to stop before the merge point and the vehicles from the other lane need to wait before the intersection until they can traverse without having any negative impact on the vehicles on the through lane”. In summary, this section teaches that at the merge points….” pg. 220, col. 2, para. 4 teaches “A merge point is the road intersection where two lanes meet, and a different priority is assigned to each lane. In other words, the vehicles on the through lane have higher-priority than those on the non-through lane or merging lane. In addition, the traffic volume of the through lane is generally larger than that of the non-through lane….” Pg. 221, col. 1, second from the bottom teaches that the “To enhance the traffic throughput while assuring safety around the merge intersection, we utilize three priority states: (i) Fully-prioritized state; (ii) Semi-prioritized state; and (iii) Fair state. These states determines the priority of the vehicles on the non-through lane at each merge intersection.” While figures 2-6 illustrated the generated maneuver information based on the priority of the merging vehicle, the vehicle driving on the through lane and the traffic density. Thus, taken together the at least cited section reads on this element. Furthermore, it is noted that section 3 starting on pg. 220 through pg. 225 teaches various scenarios of different priority levels being assigned at the merge points of two lanes for moving objects.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combing the teaching of Aoki with the Malhan because such a combination would provide safety feature to allow vehicle to allow vehicles to safely navigate merge points where two lanes with different priorities meet.
Claim 2. Malhan teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the traffic flow coordination message includes identification information for at least one moving object to be maneuvered according to the generated maneuver information and identification information for at least one moving object affected by a maneuver according to the maneuver information ([0028] reads on this element as such—“The communication device 202 is configured to exchange data with other devices in the system 100 via the communication network 114. In one form, the communication device 202 includes a transceiver (not shown) for connecting to the communication network 114 and a controller having memory and a microprocessor for processing messages received and generating messages to be transmitted. For example, the communication device 202 is configured to transmit a message to other devices that identifies the vehicle 200 and provides selected characteristics of the vehicle 200, such as position, speed, and travel direction.”).
Claims 3. Malhan teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the traffic flow coordination message includes indication information indicating that the maneuver information for the at least one moving object is included ([0042] reads on this element as such— “[t]he intersection controller 308 is configured to acquire data from different devices (e.g., the vehicles 104, the roadside sensors 112, the intersection sensors 304, etc.), and analyze the data in real time to generate an entry parameter such as vehicle speed, for a vehicle entering the roundabout 102.).
Claims 4. Malhan teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the traffic flow coordination message includes information indicating a cause or a reason for generation of the maneuver information for the at least one moving object ([0044] reads on this element as such— “By way of the communication device 302, the intersection controller 308 receives different type of data indicative of characteristics of one or more moving objects such as a basic safety message from a vehicle. The data analyzer 312 is configured to process the data received and acquire current dynamic characteristics of one or more moving objects about the roundabout. The current dynamic characteristics of a moving object includes a current speed, a current travel direction, a current position, or a combination thereof. In one form, the data analyzer 312 recognizes data type, format, and structure of the raw data, and inputs the data with preprocessing unique to each data stream. The data is then processed into time-series and correlated to the raw data input stream.”).
Claims 5. Malhan teaches the apparatus according to claim 4 and further teaches, wherein the cause or the reason includes at least one of entry priority guidance to the target road section, avoidance guidance for a driving-restricted road, or obstacle avoidance guidance ([0038] reads on this element as such—Furthermore, in one form, the vehicle drive module 228 may include different software applications for performing partial automated control. For example, the vehicle drive module 228 is configured to provide lane change assist for moving the vehicle 200 from a first drive lane to a second drive lane and/or a collision avoidance feature for inhibiting collision and/or reducing collision impact with an object.).
Claims 6. Malhan teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the traffic flow coordination message includes location information for a region that provided a cause or a reason for generation of the maneuver information for the at least one moving object (“moving object is taught in at least [0043]-[0052]).
Claims 7. Malhan teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the processor is configured to detect a moving object requiring coordination according to maneuver information for at least one moving object to be generated, based on the obtained traffic flow-related information ([0054] reads on this element as such—“If a vehicle is about the entrance, the system determines the dynamic traffic flow of the roundabout based on the current dynamic characteristics of the moving object(s), at 406. At 408, the system predicts future dynamic characteristics of moving object(s) about the intersection based on dynamic traffic flow and predictive control, as provided above. The future dynamic characteristics includes a predicted position, a predicted speed, a predicted travel direction, or a combination thereof. At 410, the system calculates an entry parameter for the vehicle(s) based on the dynamic traffic flow and the future dynamic characteristics. For example, the system calculates a travel gap between moving objects at the intersection, such as vehicles traversing the roundabout, and identifies a travel gap within which the vehicle may enter the intersection. Based on the travel gap and current speed of the vehicle, the system determines entry parameters for the vehicle which may include a recommended speed of the vehicle, a recommended time for entering the un-signalized intersection, a lane level map, or a combination thereof.”).
Claims 8. Malhan teaches the apparatus according to claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the processor is configured to determine whether at least one of entry priority guidance to the target road section, avoidance guidance for a driving-restricted road, or obstacle avoidance guidance is necessary based on the obtained traffic flow-related information ([0046] reads on this element as such—In one form, the dynamic analysis module 314 is configured to operate as an occupancy tracker 322, an object position predictor 324, and an entry parameter estimator 326. Using the map 319 in the memory 318 and the data from the data analyzer 312 and/or the object detection module 310, the occupancy tracker 322 determines a dynamic traffic flow of the roundabout 102 based on the current dynamic characteristics of the moving objects about the roundabout 102. For example, the occupancy tracker 322 maps the dynamic characteristics of each moving object with respect to the map 319 of the roundabout 102 to determine the dynamic traffic flow and the position of each moving object. In one form, this information may be provided to vehicles about the roundabout 102.).
Claims 9. Malhan teaches the apparatus according to claim 8 and further teaches, wherein the processor is configured to arrange maneuver information for each moving object in the traffic flow coordination message in order of entry priorities to the target road section ([0047]-[0048] reads on this element as such—The object position predictor 324 predicts future dynamic characteristics of the moving objects based on the dynamic traffic flow and the predictive control 321. The future dynamic characteristics includes a predicted position of the moving object at a predefined time in the future, a predicted speed, a predicted travel direction, or a combination thereof. In one form, the predefined time is a prediction window and may be referred to as a “time horizon” or “planning horizon” which is a time increment where a high confidence level for the predicted movement of the host vehicle and/or neighboring vehicles is analyzed. A time horizon may be 1 second, 5 seconds, 10 seconds or any time interval where a sufficient confidence level for road user movement may be predicted.).
Claims 10. Malhan teaches the apparatus according to claim 8 and further teaches, wherein the entry priority is determined by the processor or determined by an application server (Mahan in at least [0042] reads on this element as such—“In another form, the intersection controller 304 is part of a cloud-based network comprising servers configured to store data and compute traffic characteristics, such as arterial traffic density and traffic flow, among other information.”).
Claims 11. Malhan teaches the apparatus according to claim 8 and further teaches, wherein the entry priority is determined based on at least one of whether the moving object is an emergency moving object, whether a lane or road where the moving object was driven before entering the target road section is a priority lane or road, an average driving speed of the lane or road where the moving object was driven, or an expected remaining time to arrive at the target road section ([0049] reads on this element as such— In addition to or in lieu of the recommended speed of the vehicle and the recommended time of entry, the entry parameter may also include a lane level map that defines the path the vehicle should take for entering the roundabout 102. Generally, the lane used to enter and traverse the roundabout is contingent on the number of lanes in the roundabout and the exit point and the map of the roundabout may provide preferred traverse routes. Accordingly, in one form, the entry parameter estimator 326 defines a travel path of the vehicle to enter the roundabout 102 based on the map 319 of the roundabout 102 that has the preferred traverse routes, the position of the vehicle at the entrance, and/or the intended exit point of the vehicle which can be provided by the vehicle or predicted.).
Claims 12. Malhan teaches the apparatus according to claim 8 and further teaches, wherein the processor is configured to obtain location information for a region that provided a cause or reason for generation of the maneuver information ([0052] reads on this element as such—“In one form, the vehicle may transmit data indicative of the position, speed, and/or travel direction of the vehicle and the roadside sensors may transmit characteristics of moving objects such as pedestrians and vehicles not in communication with the system. The data may also include characteristics of moving objects detected by the intersection sensors. From the characteristics, the system obtains the current dynamic characteristics of each moving object which includes, for example, a current speed, a current travel direction, a current position, or a combination thereof”).
Claims 13. Malhan teaches the apparatus according to claim 8 and further teaches, wherein the processor is configured to:
obtain information about a moving object that is likely to enter the target road section or a moving object that has entered or is likely to enter the driving-restricted road or a region where an obstacle is present, and generate the traffic flow coordination message including identification information for the moving object ([0054] reads on this element as such—“If a vehicle is about the entrance, the system determines the dynamic traffic flow of the roundabout based on the current dynamic characteristics of the moving object(s), at 406. At 408, the system predicts future dynamic characteristics of moving object(s) about the intersection based on dynamic traffic flow and predictive control, as provided above. The future dynamic characteristics includes a predicted position, a predicted speed, a predicted travel direction, or a combination thereof. At 410, the system calculates an entry parameter for the vehicle(s) based on the dynamic traffic flow and the future dynamic characteristics. For example, the system calculates a travel gap between moving objects at the intersection, such as vehicles traversing the roundabout, and identifies a travel gap within which the vehicle may enter the intersection. Based on the travel gap and current speed of the vehicle, the system determines entry parameters for the vehicle which may include a recommended speed of the vehicle, a recommended time for entering the un-signalized intersection, a lane level map, or a combination thereof.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.D.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RUSSELL FREJD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661