DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 3/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because "at least one of the connection ports" lacks positive antecedent basis, since line 5 recites "a respective connection port", specifically reciting a singular connection port and not a plurality of connection ports. Line 11 of claim 1 should recite "from the at least one liquid source". Claims 2-3 are indefinite because it is unclear whether "liquid" in line 3, is the same or different from the liquid of claim 1. Claim 4 is indefinite because it is unclear whether "liquid source" and "suction pump" is the same or different from that of claim 1. Claim 7 is indefinite because "the outer surface" lacks positive antecedent basis. Claim 8 is indefinite because "the whole distal end" lacks positive antecedent basis. Claim 13, line 2, should be amended to recite "the at least one of the connection ports".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takamura et al. (US4526622).
Re claims 1 and 5, Takamura et al. teach a method of cleaning an endoscope, the method comprising fluidly connecting channels (5, 6; Fig. 1) for transporting fluids within an endoscope 1, by arranging a container ( 50) onto the distal end (location of element 50) of the endoscope, such that the channels are fluidly connected to each other, the channels extending from a plurality of connection ports (10, 11, 12) to the distal end of the endoscope; connecting a suction pump (13b) to at least one of the connection ports (13, 10; Figs. 1, 4); connecting at least a liquid source 48 to at least one of the connection ports (10, 11, 12, 13), flushing at least one of the channels with a liquid by activating a suction pump so that liquid is drawn from the liquid source through one of the channels via the distal end towards the suction pump (col. 4, lines 51-68, col. 5, lines 1-20). Re claim 2, refer to element 48 of Fig. 1. Re clam 4, refer to stops 32, 33, 34 of Fig. 1, to which no liquid source or suction pump is connected. Re claim 6, refer to Fig. 1, wherein the channel comprises an air channel (5), a liquid channel (6) and a suction channel (15). Re claims 7-8, 11-12 refer to Fig. 1, element 50 and col. 4-5 bridging and col. 5, lines 1-30, wherein element 50 reads on the container. Re claim 9, the limitations are inherently met since the liquid flowing through nozzle 7 flows into the space of the space of the cap and then flows into the suction channel 15, therefore the container reads on liquid tight seal from the surrounding environment. Re claim 13, refer to Fig. 4, wherein the ports 11, 12, 13 are immersed in a liquid. Re claim 14, refer to element 13a of Fig. 4 for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamura et al. (US4526622) in view of Miyako (US2008/0317648).
Takamura et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of a plurality of vessels which hold liquid for each connection port. Miyako teaches an endoscopic cleaner comprising a plurality of cleaning vessels (abstract) comprising a disinfectant, allowing the endoscope to be cleaned and disinfected in an automatic fashion (paragraph 2, Fig. 1 for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the modified method of Takamura et al. to include a plurality of vessels containing cleaning solutions, such as disinfectants, as taught by Miyako, for purposes of allowing the endoscope to be cleaned and disinfected in an automatic fashion with greater efficiency. In reference to the liquid source connected to the connection port, refer to the teachings of Takamura et al. (Fig. 1) as previously discussed. Re claim 10, the connection port 13, which is not connected to the liquid source, is connected to the pump (Fig. 1 of Takamura).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Walta teaches cleaning and disinfecting endoscopes. Hibbs et al. teach and endoscope flush system. Ramsey teaches cleaning internal channels of an endoscope. Ottens is cited as applicant's publication of the instant application.
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 bsc