Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12124263B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are grammatical/presentation (e.g. the instant application uses features of prior applications dependent claim in the instant independent claims).
Instant Application
12124263B2
1, 10, 20
5, 15
2
1 (and incorporating material of dependent claim 5, this applies to all the subsequent equivalencies)
3, 13
3, 13
4-5, 14-15
4, 14
6, 16
7, 17
7-9, 17-19
8-10, 18-20
11
11
Claims 21-22 don’t have direct parallel to the claims in US12124263B2, and thus are not covered in the double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-11, and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (US20180170395A1) in view of Redding (US20180089563A1) and Frazzoli (US20170277195A1).
Regarding claim 1, Luo teaches;
A method of maneuvering a vehicle operating in an autonomous driving mode (taught as a
system to determine control characteristics for an autonomous driving vehicle, paragraph 0017), the method comprising:
[[for a predetermined driving situation encountered by the vehicle,]] identifying, by one or more processors, [[from a plurality of predetermined maneuvering options,]] a set of predetermined maneuvering options associated with the predetermined driving situation, each one of the set of predetermined maneuvering options defining a respective maneuvering behavior for the vehicle (taught as a decision module, element 303, deciding what to do with a given object, such as "pass the object", paragraph 0037, using a set of criteria such as traffic or driving rules, paragraph 0036);
generating, by the one or more processors, for each predetermined maneuvering option in the set of predetermined maneuvering options, a corresponding trajectory incorporating the respective maneuvering behavior for that predetermined maneuvering option (taught as a planning module, element 304, determining the next route/path segment [trajectory] to accomplish the decision module's plan, paragraph 0037);
selecting, by the one or more processors, a trajectory from the generated trajectories (taught as planning and control data determining how the vehicle would move [trajectory], paragraph 0038, filtering by availability and the safety of occupants, paragraph 0040); and
maneuvering, by the one or more processors, the vehicle in the autonomous driving mode according to the selected trajectory (taught as, based on the planning and control data, controlling the vehicle, paragraph 0038).
While Luo does not explicitly teach "each one of the plurality of predetermined maneuvering options defining a respective maneuvering behavior for the vehicle that is different from any other predetermined maneuvering option in the plurality of predetermined maneuvering steps", it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to not repeat calculations to get the same result, as this would be inefficient and time-consuming in an environment of driving where every second of action counts in avoiding collisions and promoting the passenger's safety. Luo's teaching of general actions to take, such as overtake, yield, stop, pass etc. (paragraph 0036) would indicate separate and distinct maneuvers/actions to choose from. Thus, it would be obvious to only generate unique trajectories/maneuvers for consideration.
However, Luo does not explicitly teach; for a predetermined driving situation encountering by the vehicle, identifying, by one or more processors, from a plurality of predetermined maneuvering options, a set of predetermined maneuvering options associated with the predetermined driving situation,
determining, by the one or more processors, a priority level for each of the plurality of predetermined maneuvering options; filtering, by one or more processors, the set of predetermined maneuvering options based on the determined priority levels.
Redding teaches; for a predetermined driving situation encountered by the vehicle (taught as an emergency scenario, governed by emergency response rules, paragraph 0037), identifying, by the one or more processors from a plurality of predetermined maneuvering options, a set of predetermined maneuvering options associated with the predetermined driving situations (taught as emergency response rules, which include deterministic behaviors, paragraph 0037, including specific maneuvers like move off the road with a predetermined speed, paragraph 0038, and determining an action model with such data that uses a selected subset of representative actions which meet certain criteria to be considered, paragraph 0038)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include deterministic/specific maneuvering options as taught by Redding in the system taught by Luo in order to improve speed of processing. As taught by Redding, using more deterministic processes for emergencies and can simplify decisions that have to be made rapidly (paragraph 0037).
However, Redding doesn’t explicitly teach; determining, by the one or more processors, a priority level for each of the plurality of predetermined maneuvering options; filtering, by one or more processors, the set of predetermined maneuvering options based on the determined priority levels.
Frazzoli teaches; determining, by the one or more processors, a priority level for each of the set of predetermined maneuvering options (taught as establishing priorities, such as the rule for avoiding collisions being higher priority than other rules, paragraph 0103);
filtering, by the one or more processors, the set of predetermined maneuvering options based on the determined priority levels (taught as following an optimal trajectory to reach a destination,
paragraph 0117, where an optimal trajectory is selected from candidate trajectories, paragraph 0008, based on established rules, paragraph 0103).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the current trajectory as taught by Frazzoli in the decision process of Luo in order to minimally interfere with a travel route. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that just because an object is detected, it does not necessarily warrant a deviation from the current trajectory, as the path of the detected object may not intersect the vehicle.
Regarding claim 5, Luo as modified by Redding and Frazzoli teaches;
The method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). However, Luo does not explicitly teach; wherein determining the priority level for each of the plurality of predetermined maneuvering options is based on current driving context for the vehicle.
Frazzoli teaches; wherein determining the priority level for each of the plurality of predetermined maneuvering options is based on current driving context for the vehicle (taught as trajectory generation fulfilling properties in a context in which the environment is shared with other independent agents, paragraph 0053).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the current trajectory as taught by Frazzoli in the decision process of Luo in order to minimally interfere with a travel route. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that just because an object is detected, it does not necessarily warrant a deviation from the current trajectory, as the path of the detected object may not intersect the vehicle.
Regarding claim 6, Luo as modified by Redding and Frazzoli teaches;
The method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). However, Luo does not explicitly teach; wherein the priority levels are related to a distance metric such that predetermined maneuvering options relating to nearby objects, nearby turns or nearby lane changing decisions are prioritized over those objects that are farther away.
Frazzoli teaches; wherein the priority levels are related to a distance metric such that predetermined maneuvering options relating to nearby objects, nearby turns or nearby lane changing decisions are prioritized over those objects that are farther away (taught as a safety metric, including headway distance to leading vehicles, paragraph 0141).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the current trajectory as taught by Frazzoli in the decision process of Luo in order to minimally interfere with a travel route. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that just because an object is detected, it does not necessarily warrant a deviation from the current trajectory, as the path of the detected object may not intersect the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, Luo as modified by Redding and Frazzoli teaches;
The method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). Luo further teaches; wherein a first maneuvering option in the set of predefined maneuvering options is identified specifically to avoid a collision (taught as the generated maneuvers are intended to avoid obstacles based on surrounding traffic patterns, road conditions paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 8, Luo as modified by Redding and Frazzoli teaches;
The method of claim 7 (see claim 7 rejection). However, Luo does not explicitly teach; wherein a second maneuvering option in the set of predefined maneuvering options is identified in order to follow a current route to a destination for the vehicle.
Frazzoli teaches; wherein a second maneuvering option in the subset of maneuvering options is
selected to follow a current route (taught as following an optimal trajectory to reach a destination, paragraph 0117, where an optimal trajectory is selected from candidate trajectories, paragraph 0008).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prioritize certain options over others as taught by Frazzoli in the system taught by Luo in order to improve safety. Should a collision be predicted, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize the need for action based on minimizing/preventing the collision over the convenience of staying the course or driving comfortably.
Regarding claim 9, Luo as modified by Redding and Frazzoli teaches;
The method of claim 8 (see claim 8 rejection). Luo further teaches; wherein the first maneuvering option has a higher priority than the second maneuvering option (taught as prioritizing maneuvers that maximizes the safety, paragraph 0040, indicating maneuvering options with lower safety scores would be prioritized lower/less likely to be selected).
Regarding claims 10, 15-18 and 20, it has been determined that no further limitations exist apart from those previously addressed in claims 1 and 5-8. Therefore, claims 10, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1 and 5-8 respectively, where claims 10 and 20 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, and claims 15-18 are rejected under the same rationales as claims 5-8 respectively.
Regarding claim 21, Luo as modified by Redding and Frazzoli teaches;
The method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). However, Luo does not explicitly teach; further comprising identifying, by the one or more processors based on contextual information, the predetermined driving situation from a plurality of predetermined driving situations.
Redding teaches; further comprising identifying, by the one or more processors based on contextual information, the predetermined driving situation from a plurality of predetermined driving situations (taught as the action model taking in behavior and observations of the world and emergency response rules to generate and apply representative actions which meet certain criteria, paragraph 0038).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include deterministic/specific maneuvering options as taught by Redding in the system taught by Luo in order to improve speed of processing. As taught by Redding, using more deterministic processes for emergencies and can simplify decisions that have to be made rapidly (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 22, Luo as modified by Redding and Frazzoli teaches;
The method of claim 21 (see claim 21 rejection). However, Luo does not explicitly teach; wherein the contextual information includes at least one of map information of the vehicle or information regarding one or more perceived objects.
Redding teaches; wherein the contextual information includes at least one of map information of the vehicle or information regarding one or more perceived objects (taught as the action model taking in behavior, map navigation data, and observations of the world and emergency response rules to generate and apply representative actions which meet certain criteria, paragraph 0038).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include deterministic/specific maneuvering options as taught by Redding in the system taught by Luo in order to improve speed of processing. As taught by Redding, using more deterministic processes for emergencies and can simplify decisions that have to be made rapidly (paragraph 0037).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (US20180170395A1) as modified by Redding (US20180089563A1) and Frazzoli (US20170277195A1), and further in view of Phillips (US20190377351A1).
Regarding claim 2, Luo as modified by Redding and Frazzoli teaches;
The method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). However, Luo does not explicitly teach;, wherein a number of maneuvering options in the set of maneuvering options is equal to a number of trajectories in the set of trajectories.
Phillips teaches; wherein a number of maneuvering options in the set of maneuvering options is equal to a number of trajectories in the set of trajectories (taught as determining a low-cost trajectory path for each possible maneuver, paragraph 0199; this occurs after the maneuvering options are determined, and fed through object classifiers, constraint generators, and constrain solvers to determine a low-cost trajectory path for each possible maneuver).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limiting of maneuvering options to the number of trajectories as suggested by Phillips in the system taught by Luo and Frazzoli in order to improve trajectory/maneuver selection and generation. As suggested by Phillips, such a system allows for a short term planning window for maneuver planning that spans over the course of the next several seconds (paragraph 0102). Furthermore, limiting the number of maneuvers and trajectories to evaluate ensures that the evaluation can be performed quickly and within a relevant timeframe of a short term motion plan.
Regarding claim 3, Luo as modified by Redding, Frazzoli, and Phillips teaches;
The method of claim 2 (see claim 2 rejection). However, Luo does not explicitly teach; wherein the number of the generated trajectories is a default number or a fixed number.
Phillips teaches; wherein the number of the generated trajectories is a default number or a fixed number (taught as pre-selecting a number of one or more possible route maneuvers down to a subset of all possibilities, paragraph 0183).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limiting of maneuvering options to the number of trajectories as suggested by Phillips in the system taught by Luo and Frazzoli in order to improve trajectory/maneuver selection and generation. As suggested by Phillips, such a system allows for a short term planning window for maneuver planning that spans over the course of the next several seconds (paragraph 0102). Furthermore, limiting the number of maneuvers and trajectories to evaluate ensures that the evaluation can be performed quickly and within a relevant timeframe of a short term motion plan.
Regarding claims 12-13, it has been determined that no further limitations exist apart from those previously addressed in claims 2-3. Therefore, claim 12-13 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 2-3 respectively.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (US20180170395A1) as modified by Redding (US20180089563A1) and Frazzoli (US20170277195A1) and further in view of Ferguson (US8825265B1).
Regarding claim 4, Luo as modified by Redding and Frazzoli teaches;
The method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). However, Luo does not explicitly teach; wherein the filtering is further based on a desired number of the generated trajectories.
Ferguson teaches; wherein the filtering is further based on a desired number [the examiner notes that the desired number is not further limited in the claim language, and thus can be interpreted to any practical number of trajectories to generate and check] of the generated trajectories (taught as limiting the number of iterations for generating trajectories based on a maximum number, column 3 lines 1-8; while not exactly the same as a fixed number of trajectories, limiting a number of iterations for refining/determining trajectories to locations would effectively accomplish the requirement to filter based on a desired/determined number).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a desired number to filter generated trajectories as taught by Ferguson in the decision process of Luo in order to efficiently determine a course of action. Such actions of limiting iteration amounts would prevent possible stalling or computational hanging conditions, where the system would, rather than act, keep trying to determine a better route, reducing the allowable reaction time.
Regarding claim 14, it has been determined that no further limitations exist apart from those previously addressed in claim 4. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as claims 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on page 6 that the double patenting rejection should be held in abeyance.
The examiner acknowledges the intent to provide a terminal disclaimer should the finalized claims still be rejectable as double patenting. However, the rejection will be maintained until either the claims are sufficiently different, or the terminal disclaimer are filed.
Applicant argues that neither Luo nor Frazzoli teach the “for a predetermined driving situation encountered by the vehicle, identifying….a set of predetermined maneuvering options associated with the predetermined driving situation” as claimed.
The examiner agrees and withdraws the previous rejection. However, a new rejection in light of Redding is made above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US10654476B2 is highly relevant to the ideas in the amended claim language, for example;
distinct vehicle operational scenarios col 14 lines 3-9, each of which include a distinctly identifiable set of operative conditions that may affect the operation of an autonomous vehicle within a defined area/environment of the autonomous vehicle, column 13 lines 47-52.
US10678248B2 is highly relevant to maneuver selection, see Fig 2, column 5 lines 50-56.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GABRIEL ANFINRUD/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662