DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
pressing member in claims 1, 9, 16
support member in claims 1, 9, 16.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 33, please change “the one side” to “one side”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiemeneij et al. (US 2019/0133602A1, “Kiemeneij”).
Regarding claim 1, Kiemeneij discloses a hemostatic device including a cover member capable of covering a puncture site on a patient. A pressing member is disposed on the cover member and capable of compressing the puncture site. The cover member includes a main body (240) in which the pressing member (245) is located. A first band body (220; Fig. 4) is capable of being disposed between fingers of the patient and extends from the main body in a first direction. A second band body (210) extends from the main body in a second direction different from the first direction. A third band body (230) faces the second band body across the pressing member and extends from the main body in a different direction from the first band body and the second band body. The main body includes a support member (244) that is a top plate and semi-flexible [0043]. The support member overlaps the pressing member and is made of a material harder than the pressing member, wherein the pressing member is made of a flexible material [0044]. It is noted that a semi-flexible material is harder than a flexible material. The main body has a first region where the support member is located. A second region is located between the first region and each of the first band body, second band body and the third band body. The second region is made of a material having a higher ductility than the support member. The band bodies are formed from a sheet of flexible material [0041]. It is noted that flexible material is more ductile than semi-flexible material. A width of the second region located between the first region and the second band body and a width of the second region located between the first region and the third body decreases from a distal side of the support member to a proximal side of the support member.
Regarding claim 3, Kiemeneij discloses that the second region is located around the first region an edge portion of the main body is located between each two of the first band body, the second band body and the third band body constituting part of the second region (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Kiemeneij discloses that in the first band body, second band body and third band body, ends of side surfaces located on both sides in a width direction of the first band body, second band body and third band body are not secured to the main body (Fig. 4B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2, 4-6, and 8 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 9-20 is/are allowed.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art does not disclose or suggest a hemostatic device including a pressing member is disposed on the cover member and capable of compressing the puncture site, the cover member includes a main body, a first band body, a second band body, a third band body, the second and third band bodies capable of engaging one another, the main body having an outer periphery and including a support member, a first layer, and a second layer, the support member located between the first and second layers, the support member is made of a material different from the first and second layers and is harder than the pressing member, the first band body extending from the main body in a first direction, the second band body extending in a second direction different from the first direction, the third band body extending in a third direction different from the first and second directions, the second band body having a center line and an end portion terminating at a free end, the third band body having a center line and an end portion terminating at a free end, the center line of the second band body and third band body intersect one another in the support member, the outer periphery of the main body is located outwardly of the outer periphery of the first layer and the outer periphery of the support member, the end portion of the second band body is fixed to the outer periphery of the main body so that the free end of the second band body faces one side of the support member, a distance between the free end of the second band body and the one side of the support member decreasing in a direction away from the first body, the end portion of the third band body is fixed to the outer periphery of the main body so that the free end of the third band body faces one side of the support member, a distance between the free end of the third band body and the one side of the support member decreasing in a direction away from the first band body, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not disclose or suggest a hemostatic device including a pressing member is disposed on the cover member and capable of compressing the puncture site, the cover member includes a main body, a first band body, a second band body, a third band body, the second and third band bodies capable of engaging one another, the main body including a support member overlapping the pressing member and made of a material harder than the pressing member, the main body including sheet material overlying the support member, the first band body having a center line and an end portion, the second band body having a center line and an end portion, the third band body having a center line and an end portion, the center line of the second band body and third band body intersect one another in the support member, the end of the first band body is fixed to the outer periphery of the sheet material, the end portion of the second band body is fixed to the outer periphery of the sheet material, the end portion of the third band body is fixed to the outer periphery of the sheet material of the main body, the second portion of the outer periphery of the sheet material and the third portion of the outer periphery of the sheet material are spaced outwardly away from an outer periphery of the support member, the end of the second band body and the end of the third band body have a concavely curved end surface facing toward the support member or the end of the second band body has a width less than a width of the second portion of the outer periphery of the sheet material and the end of the third band body has a width less than a width of the third portion of the outer periphery of the sheet material or the end of the second band body and the third band body have a width greater than a width of the second portion of the outer periphery of the sheet material or the ends of the second band body and the third band body are fused to the outer periphery of the sheet material at a plurality of second band body fused portions that are spaced apart from one another, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hioki et al. (US 2021/0145452A1) discloses a hemostasis device that includes a pressing member, a cover member, and three band bodies.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771