Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the an infrared ray-emitting area”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al, US 20220028934.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses : A display device comprising: a display panel comprising a display area including a plurality of subpixels(Fig. 13, #DA to include #PX2 and #PX3), and a non-display area surrounding the display area(#NDA), the display area comprising a first optical area including a first transmissive area(Fig. 14, #TA1 in #DA1), a second optical area including a second transmissive area(Fig. 15, #TA2 in #DA3. #DA3 to include #PSN), and a normal area including a light-emitting area(Fig. 13, #PX2 in #DA2; a first optical device disposed below the display panel and overlapping with the first optical area(Fig. 16, #CAM located below display panel overlapping #TA1); and a second optical device disposed below the display panel and overlapping with the second optical area(Fig. 17, #PSN located under display panel overlapping #TA2), wherein the display panel includes an infrared ray subpixel including an infrared ray-emitting layer(Fig. 13, #IR-PX with #IRD in #DA [0141]), the infrared ray subpixel being disposed at least partially in the display area(#IR-PX disposed in #DA).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses : The display device of claim 1, wherein the display panel further comprises an infrared ray-emitting area including the infrared ray subpixel(#IRA to include #IR-PX [0157]), and the infrared ray-emitting area is disposed adjacent to the first optical area or the second optical area(#IRPX adjacent to #PSN in #DA3).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses : The display device of claim 1, wherein the second optical area comprises the infrared ray subpixel(Fig. 13, #DA3 to include #IR-PX), and wherein the second optical device is an infrared receiving device configured to receive infrared rays emitted from the infrared ray subpixel(Light generated by #IRD may be reflected and detected by #PSN [0143]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses : The display device of claim 11, wherein the second optical area comprises the second transmissive area and a second light-emitting area comprising a red subpixel, a green subpixel, a blue subpixel, and the infrared ray subpixel(Fig. 15, #DA3 to include #TA2 and #PX3 [0190]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 20220028934 in view of Lee, US 20210233976.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses : The display device of claim 2, wherein the first optical area comprises the first transmissive area and a first light-emitting area including a first group of subpixels of the plurality of subpixels(Fig. 14, #DA1 to include #PX1 and #TA1), wherein the second optical area comprises the second transmissive area and a second light-emitting area including a second group of subpixels of the plurality of subpixels(Fig. 15, #DA3 to include #TA2 and #PX3).
Kim does not disclose : wherein transmittance of the first optical area is higher than transmittance of the second optical area.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches : wherein transmittance of the first optical area is higher than transmittance of the second optical area(Fig. 1, #DA to include #CA1 and #CA2. #CA1 to include #PG1 and #TA1 and #CA2 to include #PG2 and #TA2. #CA1 and #CA2 may include regions in which a component such as infrared sensor may be arranged [0059]. Fig. 2, #TA2 bigger area than #TA1 which results in a higher transmittance [0165]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Lee to Kim to adjust an area’s transmittance base the component’s transmittance needs (Lee [0165-016]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified by Lee discloses : The display device of claim 3.
Kim teaches : wherein the second optical device is an infrared receiving device configured to receive infrared rays emitted from the infrared ray subpixel(Infrared light generated by #IRD may be reflected and detected by #PSN [0143]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses : The display device of claim 1.
Kim does not disclose : wherein the first optical area comprises a through-hole from which an organic layer and an inorganic layer constituting the display panel are removed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches : wherein the first optical area comprises a through-hole from which an organic layer and an inorganic layer constituting the display panel are removed(Fig. 8, #TAH2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Lee to Kim to include a through-hole to increase light transmittance (Lee [0165]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim as modified by Lee discloses : The display device of claim 13.
Lee teaches : wherein the first optical device is a camera device(#COM2 may be a camera [0093]).
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 20220028934 in view of Lee, US 20210233976, in further view of Yamazaki et al, US 20220029121.
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Lee discloses : The display device of claim 2.
Kim teaches : wherein the normal area comprises a red subpixel, a green subpixel, and a blue subpixel(#PX2 may include red, green and blue pixels [0190]).
Kim as modified by Lee does not disclose : wherein the infrared ray-emitting area further comprises a red subpixel, a green subpixel, and a blue subpixel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamazaki teaches : wherein the infrared ray-emitting area further comprises a red subpixel, a green subpixel, and a blue subpixel(Fig. 1a, #IR included with #R, #G, and #B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Yamazaki to Kim and Lee to include infrared pixels with visible light emitting pixels to crease a highly convenient display device (Yamazaki [0008-0010]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified by Lee and Yamazaki discloses : The display device of claim 5.
Yamazaki teaches : wherein at least one of the red subpixel, the green subpixel, or the blue subpixel of the infrared ray-emitting area comprises the infrared ray-emitting layer(Fig. 1a, #IR with #R).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified by Lee and Yamazaki discloses : The display device of claim 6.
Yamazaki teaches : wherein the red subpixel, the green subpixel, and the blue subpixel of the infrared ray-emitting area each comprises a light-emitting element comprising an anode(Fig. 4c, #191), a first light-emitting part including a first light-emitting layer(#193n, #194g, #194b), a second light-emitting part including a second light-emitting layer(#193r, #193g, #193b), a cathode(#115), and a charge generation layer disposed between the first light-emitting part and the second light-emitting part(#198), and wherein any one of the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer of at least one of the red subpixel, the green subpixel, and the blue subpixel is the infrared ray-emitting layer(#IR in #47R).
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified by Lee and Yamazaki discloses : The display device of claim 7.
Yamazaki teaches : wherein any one of the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer of the red subpixel is the infrared ray-emitting layer(Fig. 4c, #IR is #47r), and wherein the infrared ray-emitting layer is configured to emit infrared rays with a wavelength of 750 nm to 900 nm(Infrared light between 750nm to 1300nm [0084]).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, US 20220028934 in view of Lee, US 20210233976, in further view of Yamazaki et al, US 20220029121 in further view of Heo et al, US 20210036047.
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified by Lee and Yamazaki discloses : The display device of claim 6.
Kim as modified by Lee and Yamazaki does not disclose : wherein the red subpixel, the green subpixel, and the blue subpixel of the infrared ray-emitting area each comprises a light-emitting element comprising an anode, a first light-emitting part including a first light-emitting layer, a second light-emitting part including a second light-emitting layer, a cathode, and a charge generation layer disposed between the first light-emitting part and the second light-emitting part, and wherein the infrared ray-emitting layer is disposed below the first light-emitting layer or the second light-emitting layer of each of the red subpixel, the green subpixel, and the blue subpixel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Heo teaches : : wherein the red subpixel, the green subpixel, and the blue subpixel of the infrared ray-emitting area each comprises a light-emitting element comprising an anode(#1620), a first light-emitting part including a first light-emitting layer(#1630), a second light-emitting part including a second light-emitting layer(#1650), a cathode(#1660), and a charge generation layer disposed between the first light-emitting part and the second light-emitting part(#1640), and wherein the infrared ray-emitting layer is disposed below the first light-emitting layer or the second light-emitting layer of each of the red subpixel, the green subpixel, and the blue subpixel(#1653 in red, blue, and green stack).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Heo to Kim, Lee, and Yamazaki to include an infrared emitting layer in a red, green, and blue pixel stack so that infrared elements can be densely configured with lighting elements to provide a display with higher resolution(Heo [0015]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified by Lee, Yamazaki, and Heo discloses : The display device of claim 9.
Heo teaches : wherein the infrared ray-emitting layer is disposed, as a common layer, continuously in the red subpixel, the green subpixel, and the blue subpixel(#Fig. 16, #1653 disposed commonly in the red, green, and blue subpixel).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20220199731 – display with infrared sensor.
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897