DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph 0054, line 9 of the specification, "SiN harkmask" should be corrected to "SiN hardmask".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 20230354575 A1), hereinafter referred to as "Zhu".
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a conductive structure, comprising: a first support layer (31 in Zhu figure 31); a second support layer disposed over and spaced apart from the first support layer (35 in figure 17); a first electrode layer (51 in figure 17) including a first part (part of 51 on the right directly contacting 31, 33 and 35) and a second part substantially parallel with the first part (part of the layer 51 to the left of the first part that does not contact a support layer 35), wherein the first part and the second part contact the first support layer (both contact support layer 31), wherein the first part includes an upper portion higher than the second part (see figure 17, right part has a higher portion than the left part), and the upper portion of the first part of the first electrode layer has a first lateral surface contacting the second support layer (right sidewall of upper part of 51 in figure 17) and a second lateral surface opposite to the first lateral surface (left sidewall of upper part of 51 in figure 17), wherein the second lateral surface of the upper portion of the first part is an unetched surface (figures 6-17. There is no step that etches this sidewall of 51), and a top surface of the second part is an etched surface (Figures 8-9, Zhu paragraph 0089; the top of that section of the second part of the electrode layer is etched, which makes the top surface as an etched surface); an intermediate dielectric layer disposed on the first electrode layer (52 in figure 17); and a second electrode layer disposed on the intermediate dielectric layer (531 in figure 17).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses that in a cross-sectional view, the first part of the first electrode layer has a substantially consistent thickness, the second part of the first electrode layer has a substantially consistent thickness, and the thickness of the first part of the first electrode layer is substantially equal to the thickness of the second part of the first electrode layer (electrode 51 is deposited as one uniform conformal layer, for example by ALD, and thus has a constant thickness along both the first and second parts; Zhu paragraph 0081).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses that in a cross-sectional view, the second lateral surface of the upper portion of the first part faces an opening defined by the second support layer (left sidewall of upper portion of 51 faces the area between two second supporting layer portions 35; this area is an opening defined by the second supporting layer. Figure 17).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses that the first part of the first electrode layer further includes a lower portion (lower portion of right part of 51 that contacts 31), the lower portion of the first part of the first electrode layer has a first lateral surface contacting the first support layer (right sidewall of lower part of right part of 51) and a second lateral surface opposite to the first lateral surface (left sidewall of lower portion of right part of 51), wherein the second lateral surface of the lower portion of the first part of the first electrode layer is substantially aligned with the second lateral surface of the upper portion of the first part of the first electrode layer (the two left sidewall parts of 51 are colinear with each other, and are thus aligned).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses that the top surface of the second part is lower than a bottom surface of the second support layer (the second part is etched down until the layer 34 is exposed, which would put the top surface of the electrode just underneath the bottom of the second support layer. See figure 9 and Zhu paragraph 0089), and the second part is free from contacting the second support layer (figure 17. The second part does not contact the second supporting layer 35).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses that the second part is disposed under an opening defined by the second support layer (figure 17. Two parts of the second supporting layer define an opening which the second part is underneath).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu.
Regarding claim 5, Zhu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Zhu does not explicitly disclose that a surface condition of the top surface of the second part of the first electrode layer is different from a surface condition of the second lateral surface of the upper portion of the first part of the first electrode layer. However, since the top surface of the second part is etched, and the side surface of the first part is unetched, one of ordinary skill would expect that they will have different surface conditions due to the etching process.
Regarding claim 6, Zhu discloses all of the limitations of claim 5. Zhu does not explicitly disclose that a surface roughness of the top surface of the second part of the first electrode layer is different from a surface roughness of the second lateral surface of the upper portion of the first part of the first electrode layer. However, since the top surface of the second part is etched, and the side surface of the first part is unetched, one of ordinary skill would expect that they will have different surface roughnesses due to the etching process.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Yang (US 20230180457 A1), hereinafter referred to as "Yang".
Regarding claim 9, Zhu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Zhu also discloses that the first part and second part of the first electrode layer are formed on the sidewalls of a capacitor hole. Thus, they would collectively take on the top view shape of this hole, when viewed from above.
Zhu does not explicitly disclose that the shape of this hole is a circle.
Yang discloses a capacitor hole that is in the shape of a circle (109 in Yang figure 1C). A circular hole is a common shape for a capacitor hole, as seen by Yang, and as such, one of ordinary skill would naturally see that shape as a known technique to form the hole of undisclosed shape in Zhu. Furthermore, if the capacitor hole in Zhu is a circle, then the first and second part of the first electrode layer, which are disposed on its sidewalls would form a circle as well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the capacitor hole in Zhu to be a circle, and thus have the first electrode layer formed on its sidewalls also define a circle from a top view.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, and 10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 11, 9, 10, 14, and 15, respectively of copending Application No. 18/804,397 in view of Zhu.
See the chart below:
Claim#
Instant application 18/883,908
Claim#
Reference application 18/804,397
1
A conductive structure, comprising:
a first support layer; [1]
a second support layer disposed over
and spaced apart from the first support
layer; [2]
a first electrode layer including a first
part [3]
and a second part substantially
parallel with the first part, [4]
wherein the first part and the second
part contact the first support layer, [5]
wherein the first part includes an upper
portion [6]
higher than the second part, [7]
and the upper portion of the first part of
the first electrode layer has a first
lateral surface contacting the second
support layer [8]
and a second lateral surface opposite to
the first lateral surface, [9]
wherein the second lateral surface of
the upper portion of the first part is an
unetched surface, [10]
and a top surface of the second part is
an etched surface; [11]
an intermediate dielectric layer
disposed on the first electrode layer; [12]
and a second electrode layer disposed
on the intermediate dielectric layer. [13]
1
A conductive structure, comprising:
a first support layer; [1]
a second support layer disposed over and spaced apart from the first support layer; [2]
a first electrode layer including a first part, [3]
wherein the first part includes a first portion contacting the first support layer [5.1]
and a second portion [6]
contacting the second support layer,
wherein a thickness of the first portion is substantially equal to a thickness of the second portion;
an intermediate dielectric layer disposed on the first electrode layer; [12]
and a second electrode layer disposed on the intermediate dielectric layer. [13]
3
The conductive structure of claim 1, [1-3, 5.1, 6, 12-13]
wherein in a cross-sectional view, the second portion of the first part of the first electrode layer has a first lateral surface contacting the second support layer [8]
and a second lateral surface opposite to the first lateral surface, [9]
wherein the second lateral surface of the second portion of the first part is an unetched surface. [10]
8
The conductive structure of claim 3, [1-3, 5.1, 6, 8-10, 12-13]
wherein the first electrode layer further includes a second part substantially parallel with and spaced apart from the first part, [4]
wherein a top surface of the second part is an etched surface. [11]
2
The conductive structure of claim 1, [1-13]
wherein in a cross-sectional view, the first part of the first electrode layer has a substantially consistent thickness, [14]
the second part of the first electrode layer has a substantially consistent thickness, [15]
and the thickness of the first part of the first electrode layer is substantially equal to the thickness of the second part of the first electrode layer. [16]
11
The conductive structure of claim 8, [1-5.1, 6, 8-13]
wherein a thickness of the second part of the first electrode layer is substantially equal to a thickness of the second portion of the first part of the first electrode layer. [16]
5
The conductive structure of claim 1, [1-13]
wherein a surface condition of the top surface of the second part of the first electrode layer is different from a surface condition of the second lateral surface of the upper portion of the first part of the first electrode layer. [17]
9
The conductive structure of claim 8, [1-5.1, 6, 8-13]
wherein a surface condition of the top surface of the second part of the first electrode layer is different from a surface condition of the second lateral surface of the second portion of the first part of the first electrode layer. [17]
6
The conductive structure of claim 5, [1-13, 17]
wherein a surface roughness of the top surface of the second part of the first electrode layer is different from a surface roughness of the second lateral surface of the upper portion of the first part of the first electrode layer. [18]
10
The conductive structure of claim 8, [1-5.1, 6, 8-13]
wherein a surface roughness of the top surface of the second part of the first electrode layer is different from a surface roughness of the second lateral surface of the second portion of the first part of the first electrode layer. [18]
8
The conductive structure of claim 1, [1-13]
wherein the second part is disposed under an opening defined by the second support layer. [19]
13
The conductive structure of claim 8, [1-5.1, 6, 8-13]
wherein the second part is free from contacting the second support layer.
14
The conductive structure of claim 13, wherein the second part is disposed under an opening defined by the second support layer. [19]
9
The conductive structure of claim 1, [1-13]
wherein the first part of the first electrode layer and the second part of the first electrode layer collectively define a complete circle from a top view. [20]
15
The conductive structure of claim 8, wherein the first part of the first electrode layer and the second part of the first electrode layer collectively define a complete circle from a top view. [20]
Regarding claim 1, the claims differ only in limitations [5] and [7]. Claim 8 of the reference application recites (through dependency on claim 1) that “the first part includes a first portion contacting the first support layer”, but does not mention that the second part contacts the first support layer.
Zhu teaches a conductive structure where the second part (left part of 51 in figure 17) contacts the first support layer (bottom portion of left part of 51 in contact with 31). Zhu teaches that the support layer “provide a stable and balanced support structure” for the capacitor (Zhu paragraph 0058). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second part be in contact with the first support layer for stability.
The reference claim also doesn’t explicitly recite that the upper portion (second portion in reference claims) is above the second part. The reference claim does recite that the top surface of the second part is an etched surface.
Zhu teaches a conductive structure where the upper portion is above the second part (upper portion of right part of 51 contacting 35). This is because the two parts in Zhu are initially deposited as one conformal uniform layer that have the same height, but then the second part is etched down, leaving it lower than the upper portion of the first part. Depositing both parts as one layer allows for simplified manufacturing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the two parts be initially deposited together as one layer like in Zhu, which would result in the second part being lower than the upper portion of the first part when it gets etched down, in order to simplify the manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 2, the claims differ by limitations [14] and [15].
Zhu teaches a conductive structure where in a cross-sectional view, the first part of the first electrode layer (right part of 51 in figure 17) has a substantially consistent thickness, the second part of the first electrode layer has a substantially consistent thickness (left part of 51 not touching 35 in figure 17). Zhu teaches that these are deposited all as one deposition process, such as by ALD (Zhu paragraph 0081), and thus allows for simplified manufacturing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and second portions be substantially equal thickness in order to simplify the manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 5, see the above chart.
Regarding claim 6, the claims differ by limitation [17]. However, since the surface roughnesses are different, as recited in claim 10, it would be obvious that the surface condition would be different, as the condition would differ in the roughness.
Regarding claim 8, see the above chart.
Regarding claim 9, see the above chart.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/DANIEL KURT ELLIOTT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899