DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 1/15/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to amended claims and originally presented claims have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, at 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2005). See also In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 13-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al (CN 108574841 A) in view of Auyeung (US 20080232459 A1) and Leontaris et al (US 20090086816 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG discloses a method [e.g. FIG. 1; a coding method] comprising: obtaining a first image [e.g. a coding image], wherein the first image comprises at least one coding block [e.g. coding unit with N by N pixels; 32X32 pixel blocks]; obtaining a first quantization parameter (QP) of each coding block in the at least one coding block [e.g. FIG. 1 and 3-4; QP at 101]; encoding each coding block in the at least one coding block based on the first QP corresponding to each coding block to obtain first image data [e.g. FIG. 1-4; encoding block data with QP to get encoded image data]; determining, based on a quality parameter [e.g. NXN block of pixels mean square error or PSNR] of each coding block in the first image data, a second QP of each coding block [e.g. FIG. 1 and 3-4; QP-1 or QP+1]; and encoding each coding block in the at least one coding block based on the second QP corresponding to each coding block to obtain second image data [e.g. FIG. 1-4; encoding block data with new QP+1/QP-1 to get encoded image data].
It is noted that ZHANG differs the present invention in that ZHANG fails to explicitly disclose the detail of determining a second QP.
However, Auyeung teaches the well-known concept of encoding each coding block in the at least one coding block based on the first QP corresponding to each coding block to obtain first image data [e.g. FIG. 3-5; encoding macroblock data with QP]; determining, based on a quality parameter [e.g. get a reference PSNR] of each coding block in the first image data and based on a first target quality parameter [e.g. get a target PSNR], a second QP of each coding block [e.g. updated QP]; wherein the first target quality parameter is based on an average quality parameter of the first image [e.g. target average bit rate; a stable PSNR while maintaining a given target average bit rate] and an encoding pressure [e.g. FUG. 4; QP].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coding system disclosed by ZHANG to exploit the well-known video compression technique taught by Auyeung as above, in order to provide enhanced bit rate control at low distortion [See Auyeung; [0052]].
Moreover, Leontaris teaches the well-known concept of an encoding pressure [e.g. bit rate or QP] is associated with a complexity of the first image [e.g. 9 and 13; divide the complexity of a current picture to yield a quantization parameter; generate and map a complexity to a particular coding parameter (e.g., quantization parameter value), which will then be used to code an image region according to a desired image quality or target bit rate].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coding system disclosed by ZHANG to exploit the well-known video compression technique taught by Auyeung and the well-known coding rate allocation and rate control technique taught by Leontaris as above, in order to provide enhanced bit rate control at low distortion [See Auyeung; [0052]] and improve/increase a level of quality to the video data [See Leontaris; [0008]].
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG, Auyeung and Leontaris further disclose the quality parameter comprises at least one of a peak signal-to-noise ratio (PSNR) [e.g. ZHANG: page 7; PSNR; Auyeung: FIG. 3], a structure similarity (SSIM), or a multi-scale structure similarity (MS-SSIM).
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG, Auyeung and Leontaris further disclose determining the second QP determining, based on the first target quality parameter of the first image and a first quality parameter of a first coding block in the first image data [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 3-4 page 7; PSNR; Auyeung: FIG. 3-5], a first QP offset value [e.g. +1 or -1] corresponding to the first coding block , wherein the first coding block is in the at least one coding block; and determining, based on the first QP and the first QP offset value of the first coding block, the second QP of the first coding block [e.g. ZHANG: QP+1 or QP-1; Leontaris: FIG 12-15].
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG, Auyeung and Leontaris further disclose determining the first QP offset value comprises: determining, when the first quality parameter is greater than the first target quality parameter and a difference between the first quality parameter and the first target quality parameter falls within a first range [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 3-4; 303 or 403; Auyeung: FIG. 3-5], that the first QP offset value is equal to a second QP offset value corresponding to the first range, wherein the first QP offset value is a positive number [e.g. ZHANG: QP+1].
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG, Auyeung and Leontaris further disclose after encoding each coding block based on the first QP corresponding to each coding block, the first image data with the first image to obtain the quality parameter of each coding block in the first image data [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1-4; MSD or PSNR of coding unit; Auyeung: FIG. 3-5; Leontaris: FIG 12-15].
Regarding claim 13-14, this is an apparatus that includes same limitation as in claim 1 and 5 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, ZHANG discloses a memory and processor to execute the instructions [e.g. FIG. 1 and 6; processor or a computer processor; storage module 605].
Regarding claim 20, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 1 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 6-12 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al (CN 108574841 A) in view of Auyeung (US 20080232459 A1), Leontaris et al (US 20090086816 A1) and JUNG et al (US 20180184092 A1).
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG, Auyeung and Leontaris further disclose performing quantization processing on a second coding block based on the first QP of the second coding block to obtain quantized data [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1-2 and 8; performing quantization; Auyeung: FIG. 3 and 5; encoding pictures based on determined QP], wherein the second coding block is in the at least one coding block [e.g. ZHANG: an image or a frame comprising a plurality of blocks].
Although ZHANG discloses obtaining reconstructed images, ZHANG differs to the present invention in that ZHANG fails to disclose the detail of obtaining the reconstructed blocks.
However, JUNG teaches the well-known concept of performing inverse quantization and inverse transform processing on the quantized data based on the first QP of the second coding block to obtain inverse transformed residual data [e.g. FIG. 1 and 10-11; 400]; obtaining reconstructed data of the second coding block based on prediction data and the inverse transformed residual data of the second coding block [e.g. decoded frame]; and filtering the reconstructed data to obtain second image data corresponding to the second coding block, wherein the first image data comprises the second image data [e.g. 600; deblocking & SAO filter].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coding system disclosed by ZHANG to exploit the well-known video compression technique taught by Auyeung, the well-known coding rate allocation and rate control technique taught by Leontaris and the well-known video compression technique taught by JUNG as above, in order to provide enhanced bit rate control at low distortion [See Auyeung; [0052]], improve/increase a level of quality to the video data [See Leontaris; [0008]] and improved video quality [See JUNG; [0043]].
Regarding claim 7, ZHANG, Auyeung, Leontaris and JUNG further disclose determining, when encoding a third coding block based on the first QP of the third coding block [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1-4; an image or a frame comprising a plurality of blocks; JUNG: FIG. 1 and 10-11], a prediction mode or a motion vector of a third coding block [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1-4;; JUNG: FIG. 1; intra/inter prediction mode], wherein the third coding block is in the at least one coding block; and encoding, when encoding each coding block based on the second QP of each coding block [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1-4; JUNG: FIG. 1], the third coding block based on first information and the second QP of the third coding block, wherein the first information comprises at least one of the prediction mode or the motion vector [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1-4;; JUNG: FIG. 1 and 9; intra/inter mode and motion estimation].
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG, Auyeung, Leontaris and JUNG further disclose storing, after encoding each coding block based on the second QP corresponding to each coding block [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1-4 and 8; a storing module for storing coding unit results], second information, wherein the second information indicates the quality parameter of each coding block in the second image data [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1-4; JUNG: FIG. 1 and 10-11].
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG, Auyeung, Leontaris and JUNG further disclose the second information is a matrix comprising the quality parameter of each coding block in the second image data [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1-4; quantization parameters; JUNG: FIG. 1 and 10-11; quantization parameter matrix].
Regarding claim 10, ZHANG, Auyeung, Leontaris and JUNG further disclose the first image is an nth frame of a video, wherein n is a positive integer [e.g. ZHANG: video comprising frames; JUNG: FIG. 1; video data including a series of image data; Leontaris: FIG 12-15], and wherein the method further comprises: obtaining, after storing the second information [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1-4 and 8; a storing module for storing coding unit results], a second image, wherein the second image is an n+1 frame of the video, wherein the second image comprises N coding blocks [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1-4; an image or a frame comprising a plurality of blocks; JUNG: FIG. 1; video data including a series of image data including a plurality of coding blocks], and wherein N is a positive integer; determining, in the at least one coding block, at least one target coding block associated with a fourth coding block in the second image, wherein the fourth coding block is in the N coding blocks, and wherein the at least one target coding block comprises content that is in the fourth coding block [e.g. ZHANG: video comprising frames divided into coding blocks; JUNG: FIG. 1; picture divided into coding blocks]; determining a first quality parameter of the at least one target coding block based on the second information; predicting a second quality parameter of an encoded fourth coding block based on the first quality parameter; determining, based on the second quality parameter, a third QP corresponding to the fourth coding block; and encoding the fourth coding block based on the third QP [e.g. ZHANG: video comprising frames divided into coding blocks; FIG. 1 and 3-4; JUNG: FIG. 1; Leontaris: FIG 12-15].
Regarding claim 11, ZHANG, Auyeung, Leontaris and JUNG further disclose determining the third QP comprises: determining, based on a second target quality parameter of the second image and the second quality parameter [e.g. FIG. 3-5; target PSNR], a second QP offset value corresponding to the fourth coding block; and1determining, based on the second QP offset value, the third QP [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1 and 3-4; JUNG: FIG. 1 and 10-11].
Regarding claim 12, ZHANG, Auyeung, Leontaris and JUNG further disclose determining the second QP offset value comprises determining, when a third quality parameter is less than the second target quality parameter and a first absolute value of a difference between the third quality parameter and the second target quality parameter falls within a fourth range [e.g. Auyeung: FIG. 3-4], that a second absolute value of the second QP offset value is equal to a fourth QP offset value corresponding to the fourth range, wherein the second QP offset value is a negative number [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 1 and 3-4; QP-1; Auyeung: FIG. 3-4 and 6; Leontaris: FIG 12-15].
Regarding claim 15-18, this is an apparatus that includes same limitation as in claim 6-7 and 10-11 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 19, ZHANG, Auyeung, Leontaris and JUNG further disclose determining when the second quality parameter is equal to the second target quality parameter of the second image, that the second QP offset value is 0 [e.g. ZHANG: FIG. 3-4; if MSD =MAXMSD directly going to 307; Auyeung: FIG. 3-4 and 6].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (US 20080131014 A1).
SEVIN (US 20180152715 A1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHUBING REN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483