DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed 29 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleyer (U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2019/0012835 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Bleyer teaches: a wearable display system (Fig. 1: 102, head-mounted display HMD), the wearable display system comprising:
a frame (Fig. 1: 102 HMD has a frame);
a greyscale camera mechanically coupled to the frame (paras. 36-38, camera system 210 of the HMD which can include a grayscale camera);
a color camera mechanically coupled to the frame (paras. 36-38, camera system 210 of the HMD which can include a RGB color camera); and
a processor operatively coupled to the greyscale camera and the color camera (Fig. 2: 212, image processing components), the processor configured to:
obtain one or more greyscale images captured by the greyscale camera (grayscale images from camera system 210 as mapped above);
track hand motion using the one or more greyscale images captured by the greyscale camera (paras. 49-50, controller tracking component can determine/track the position and orientation of a user’s hand, based on image information provided by the camera system 210, which includes grayscale cameras. See also Fig. 3: 304); and
stereoscopically construct a world model using the one or more greyscale images (para. 60, the cameras (one can be a grayscale camera) can “provide image information that represents a stereoscopic representation of the physical environment”. See also paras. 47-48, and Figs. 3 and 12: 1202 mapping component, 1212, 1210, which teaches/describes a mapping component that progressively builds a map of the physical environment).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained the above, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A).
The prior art included each element recited in claim 1, although not necessarily in a single embodiment, with the only difference being between the claimed element and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of certain elements in a single prior art embodiment, as mapped and described above.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleyer in view of Kadambala (U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0191436 A1).
Regarding claim 2:
The applied reference(-s) to claim 1 do not proactively teach claim 2. Consider the following.
In analogous art, Kadambala teaches: the wearable display system of claim 1, wherein the color camera comprises an image sensor (para. 34, image sensor) configured with a rolling shutter (para. 34, image sensor can have a rolling shutter. “The term “rolling shutter” refers to image capture by rapid scanning of a scene.”, in combination with para. 41, image sensor can comprise a plurality of cameras including color or grayscale).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to have different scanning speeds to obtain image data as desired.
Regarding claim 3:
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained: the wearable display system of claim 1, wherein the greyscale camera is configured to capture images at a greater frequency than the color camera, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A).
Kadambala and Bleyer both teach systems with grayscale and color cameras (Kadambala, par. 41) (Bleyer, see mapping to claim 1). Kadambala also teaches that frame rate t(he number of complete images (frames) a camera captures or displays per second) can vary for its image sensor (see para. 59, recall, per para. 41, image sensor can include color and/or grayscale cameras). This teaches/suggests a grayscale having a greater frequency of image capture than color camera.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4:
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained: the wearable display system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: stereoscopically construct the world model by updating the world model using color image information obtained from the color camera at a slower average rate than updating the world model using greyscale image information obtained from the greyscale camera, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A).
Kadambala teaches that the cameras (color or grayscale) can have frame rates that can be higher or lower, depending on modulation, desired VLC bandwidth, and other system parameters (para. 59). Varied frame rates for the cameras of the image sensor teach, in one embodiment, where updating from color image data is done at a slower average rate than grayscale, if the images are being obtained/captured at slower rates for color than grayscale.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleyer in view of Miller (U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2017/0205903).
Regarding claim 5:
The applied reference(-s) to claim 1 do not proactively teach claim 5. Consider the following.
In analogous art, Miller teaches: the wearable display system of claim 1, wherein the greyscale camera has lower resolution than the color camera (para. 109).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known camera configurations and capabilities to obtain image data.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bleyer in view of Miller, and further in view of Garrett, T. J., Fallgatter, C., Shkurko, K., & Howlett, D. (2012). Fall speed measurement and high-resolution multi-angle photography of hydrometeors in free fall. Atmospheric Measurement Techniques, 5(11), 2625-2633 (“Garrett”).
Regarding claim 6:
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined and modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained: the wearable display system of claim 5, wherein: the greyscale camera is configured to acquire images between 1 megapixel and 4 megapixels in size (Garrett, Section 2, third paragraph, page 4830); and the color camera is configured to acquire images between 6 megapixels and 24 megapixels in size (Miller, para. 109), and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A).
The prior art included each element recited in claim 6, although not necessarily in a single embodiment, with the only difference being between the claimed element and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of certain elements in a single prior art embodiment, as mapped and described above.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20150062006-A1 Feature tracking for device input
US-20180197274-A1 A hybrid optical sensor array includes a first and second set of pixels having differing spectral sensitivities.
US-20110075257-A1 3-Dimensional electro-optical see-through displays
US-20140184759-A1 The display method according to various exemplary embodiments includes: extracting stereoscopic information of an image frame; adjusting at least one of brightness and saturation regarding at least one object included in the image frame based on the extracted stereoscopic information; and displaying an image frame including the adjusted object.
* * * * *
Sarah Lhymn
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2613
/Sarah Lhymn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613