Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/3/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction requirement has not shown an example of a different process for the speed nut. This is not found persuasive because the restriction requirement indicated that the speed nut could be used to extract things other than a valve, one such thing could be bearing as is well known; or the speed nut could be simply used as nut where the process would be engaging the speed nut with a threaded shaft.
Claims 9 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1, line 10, there is no antecedent basis for “the valve seat” or “the seat puller”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US 6,821,070) in view of Martin (US 8,696,286). In considering the embodiment shown in Figs. 10-14, Thompson discloses a speed nut comprising a housing having first and second portions movable between a closed position (Fig. 10 and 14) to receive a threaded shaft and an open position (Fig. 12); each of the housing portions are provided with knuckles at laterally opposed edges which integrate (Figs. 11, 13 and 14) and resist relative axial motion; the knuckles include bores parallel with the axis which respectively receive a first pivot pin to allow the first and second portions to hinge (Fig. 12) and a second pin to hold the portions in the closed position (column 5, paragraph beginning line 27). Thompson does not disclose the housing portions provided with torsion arms for rotating the nut but instead discloses a hexagonal shape for engagement with a tool for rotating the nut. Martin disclose a speed nut including first and second housing portions (20 and 30) similar to Thompson but Martin teaches the housing portions provided with two torsion arms (24 and 34) each with a proximal end affixed to a respective housing which are used for closing the segments and turning the threads; the torsion arms have a length extending from the housing which is greater than a distance from the axis to where the torsion arm connects to the housing. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace or augment the hexagonal shape of Thompson for turning the nut with the two torsion arms as disclosed in Martin because both Thompson and Martin are from the same field of endeavor, namely quick connect nuts, where replacing one means for turning the nut for another would yield the same predictable results. The machined metal is a product-by-process limitation where only the final produce is considered (see MPEP 2113).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of Martin as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Wrensch (US 663,208). Modified Thompson does not disclose the first pin threaded with one of the knuckles. Wrensch discloses a speed nut including first and second housing portions (b and c) with knuckles forming a hinge having a first pin (d) similar to modified Thompson but wherein the first pin includes a thread for threading with the knuckle and an exposed head to receive a driving tool (see Figs. 1 and 2). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to make the first pin of modified Thompson with a threaded connection as disclosed in Wrensch in order to ensure the pin stays positively engaged with the knuckle.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of Martin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Richardson (US 2,649,314). Modified Thompson does not disclose the second pin having a spring detent. Richardson discloses a speed nut including first and second housing portions (3 and 4) with a releasably engaged second pin (15) similar to modified Thompson but wherein the second pin includes a spring detent (34-36) releasably engaging the pin with knuckles (column 3, paragraph beginning line 11). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to make the second pin of modified Thompson with a spring detent as disclosed in Richardson so the pin locks within the knuckle as discussed in Richardson.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of Martin as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Chapman (US 3,097,559). Modified Thompson does not disclose the second pin with the spring detent including a spring loaded ball, and a pivoting grip. Chapman discloses a pin (15) with a spring loaded detent in the form of a spring loaded ball (32, 33) held captive (at 30, 31) in an end of the pin and also discloses a grip (23) pivotally attached at an opposite end. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the second pin of modified Thompson with one as disclosed in Chapman including a spring loaded ball and a pivoting grip because replacing the one pin for the other would yield the same predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Story (US 9,193,227) and Warkotsh (US 4,531,872) are cited to teach other examples of speed nuts with relatively lone torsion arms. Whipple (US 7,661,915), Tally (US 1,762,065) and Coron (US 1,510,492) are cited to teach other examples of pivoting speed nuts. The other references cited are of general interest.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677