DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The title of the invention, “DISPLAY DEVICE,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shimoyama (US 20190363512 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shimoyama teaches a display device (Fig. 1-7) comprising: a light source (125); an optical engine (121, 123, 30, and/or 42) configured to generate image light to be displayed on a display surface on the basis of light from the light source (125); a power supply board (12 and/or 16) configured to drive the light source (125) and the optical engine (121, 123, 30, and/or 42); and a case (11) configured to accommodate a device component which comprises at least one of the optical engine (121, 123, 30, and/or 42) and the power supply board (12 and/or 16), wherein the case (11) has a wall (11a/b/c) which include a heat radiating part that is thermally connected to a heat generating component (14/18) included in the device component, to allow heat of the heat generating component (14/18) to be released outside of the case (11), and wherein the heat generating component (14/18) is mounted on a first surface (top surface) of a board (12 and/or 16) included in the device component.
Regarding claim 2, Shimoyama further teaches the device component includes a plurality of the heat generating components (14/18) that are thermally connected to an inner surface of the wall (11c) facing the first surface (top surface).
Regarding claim 3, Shimoyama further teaches a second surface (bottom surface) of the board (12 and/or 16), which faces a side opposite to the first surface (top surface), is thermally connected to a different wall (11a) of the case (11), and the different wall (11a) faces the second surface (bottom surface).
Regarding claim 4, Shimoyama further teaches a thermal connection component (11d/19) configured to fill a space between the heat generating component (14/18) and the inner surface of the wall (11c) so as to thermally connect the heat generating component (14/18) and the wall (11c) to each other.
Regarding claim 5, Shimoyama further teaches a plurality of heat radiator fins (11f) on an outer surface of the wall (11a/c; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Shimoyama further teaches the heat radiator fins (1f) are disposed on the outer surface of the wall (11a/b/c) facing at least the first surface (top surface) of the board (12 and/or 16; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Shimoyama further teaches a projection lens (60) configured to magnify the image light.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoyama in view of Fujiwara (US 20030007327 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Shimoyama does not teach a fan.
Fujiwara further teaches a fan (22) configured to flow air outside the case (25) for cooling the case (25), wherein the fan (22) is configured to cause air to flow in a direction in which the heat radiator fins (50) extend along the outer surface of the wall (25).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Shimoyama with Fujiwara; because it improves heat dissipation.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 20200159098 A1, US 20200159097 A1, US 20200096852 A1, US 20190179217 A1, US 20090213560 A1, US 20070296929 A1, and US 20060077354 A1, disclose various cooling arrangements for electronical components inside projectors.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882