DETAILED ACTION
Cross-Reference to Related Applications
2. This application is a CON of PCT/JP2023/006032 02/20/2023.
Oath/Declaration
3. The oath/declaration filed on 09/13/2024 is acceptable.
Priority
4. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 12/13/2024 and 06/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MOEHL T (WO-2016038501-A2).
Regarding claim 1, MOEHL T discloses a photoelectric conversion material comprising a perovskite compound and an ammonium salt (Fig. 9 and English Text).
Regarding claim 20, MOEHL T discloses photoelectric conversion element comprising: a first electrode (3); a photoelectric conversion layer (7); and a second electrode (4), wherein the photoelectric conversion layer (7) includes the photoelectric conversion material according to claim 1 (Fig. 9 and English Text).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MOEHL T in view of HOSOKAWA (U.S. Publication No. 20190165192 A1).
Regarding claim 2, MOEHL T discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the photoelectric conversion material has a photoluminescence peak energy of less than 1.55 eV.
HOSOKAWA H, however, discloses wherein the photoelectric conversion material (6) has a photoluminescence peak energy of 1.4 eV or less (Fig. 1 and para [0062]).
However, the selection of the claimed device parameters would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to provide the photoelectric conversion material has a photoluminescence peak energy of less than 1.55 eV, since it is well settles that when the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
8. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MOEHL T in view of WAKAMIYA A (WO-2019182058 A1).
Regarding claim 2, MOEHL T discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the perovskite compound has an average primary particle diameter of 2 μm or more.
WAKAMIYA A, however, discloses wherein the perovskite compound has an average primary particle diameter of 150 nm to 500 nm (see English Text).
However, the selection of the claimed device parameters would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to provide wherein the perovskite compound has an average primary particle diameter of 2 μm or more, since it is well settles that when the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
9. Claims 4-10 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MOEHL T in view of CHEN SUN ET AL: "Phosphonium Halides as Both Processing Additives and Interfacial Modifiers for High Performance Planar-Heterojunction Perovskite Solar Cells".
Regarding claims 4, see, for example, fig. 3c and page 3347 in CHEN SUN ET AL.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to provide a photoluminescence peak energy of the photoelectric conversion material is substantially the same as a photoluminescence peak energy of the perovskite compound as cited in the claims above to improve the performance of the photoelectric conversion material, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 5-10, see fig. 1 -ref, TBAI: tetrabutylammonium iodide salt- and pages 3345-3347 in CHEN SUN ET AL.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to provide the materials are used for the ammonium salt as cited in the claims above to improve the performance of the photoelectric conversion material, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 15-18, see table 1 -ref. CH₃NH₃PbI 3-xClx- TBAI-, fig. 3 b-c and page 3345 - right column-, page 3346 -right column and 3347 -left column- in CHEN SUN ET AL.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to provide the materials are used for the perovskite compound as cited in the claims above to improve the performance of the photoelectric conversion material, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
10. Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MOEHL T in view of LI JUNMING ET AL: "Enhanced Performance of Sn-Based Perovskite Solar Cells by Two-Dimensional Perovskite Doping".
Regarding claims 11-12, LI JUNMING ET AL identifies the problem of how to suppress the Sn²+/Sn⁴⁺ oxidation (see, e.g. page 8624) and uses SnF₂ as a reducing additive (see, e.g. page S2). Furthermore, D2 shows that TBA cation also suppresses said oxidation (see, e.g., fig. S2 and page 8626). Therefore, replacing TBAI by tetrabutylammonium fluoride is merely one of several straightforward possibilities which the skilled person would select, depending on the circumstances, without exercising inventive skill, in order to solve the problem posed
11. Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MOEHL T in view of LI HAIYAN ET AL: "Perovskite films with a sacrificial cation for solar cells with enhanced stability based on carbon electrodes".
Regarding claims 13-14, LI HAIYAN ET AL disclosed the value of the molar ratio of the ammonium salt. See, for example, page 812 -right column-.
However, the selection of the claimed device parameters would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to form the value of the molar ratio of the ammonium salt is within the claimed range, since it is well settles that when the general conditions of a claim are discloses in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
12. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MOEHL T in view of SNAITH H (WO-2015092397-A1).
Regarding claim 19, MOEHL T discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above but does but disclose further comprising SnF2.
SNAITH H, however, discloses the photoelectric conversion material further comprising SnF2 (English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of MOEHL T to provide the photoelectric conversion material further comprising SnF2 as taught by SNAITH H for a purpose of improving the performance of the photoelectric conversion material.
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897