This is a non-final Office Action for serial number 18/884,828, Large Capacity Conductor Management Clip And Cover, filed on September 13, 2024.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 3 – Figures 15-19 in the reply filed on May 27, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions must be independent or distinct; and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because applicant can only elect one species for this prosecution.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, 10, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 225309A by Smith.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Smith ‘309 discloses a wire routing assembly comprising: wire clips (A, B1, B2) comprising a body (A) and at least one wire holder (B1, B2) extending from the body, the body and the at least one wire holder defining a first slot therebetween (C1); and at least one cover (5, 6) comprising a first lip (inclined wall 25a on each cover 5 and 6), the at least one cover configured to detachably mounted to the at least one wire holder with at least a portion of the first lip being received within the first slot wherein the body defines a first cavity (E) configured to be detachably mounted to a support structure (103), wherein the at least one wire holder defines at least one opening and at least one second cavity (an insertion opening defined into each wireholder cavity within the wire holder B1, and B2 as shown that is selectively covered by side covers 5, 6, the at least one opening and the at least one second cavity configured to receive at least one wire therein are capable of being inserted through the insertion openings and into the wire holder cavities within the wire holders B1, B2, and wherein the at least one cover comprise a body defining a third cavity configured to receive the at least one wire holder therein thereby retaining the at least one wire within the at least one second cavity.
Regarding claim 4, Smith ‘309 discloses wherein the body comprises at least one retaining portion (106) configured to engage the support structure (103).
Regarding claim 6, Smith ‘309 discloses wherein the at least one wire holder comprises an engaging surface (21) configured to engage with at least a portion of the first lip.
Regarding claim 7, Smith ‘309 discloses wherein the at least one wire holder takes a first shape (shape of wire holders B1, B2).
Regarding claim 8, Smith ‘309 discloses wherein the third cavity corresponds to the first shape (the side covers 5 and 6 which define side covers cavities fit over and generally correspond to the shape of the wire holders).
Regarding claim 10, Smith ‘309 discloses wherein the last one wire holder comprises a tab (7).
Regarding claim 15, Smith ‘309 discloses wherein the plurality of wire clips comprises a first wire clip and a second wire clip (left and right in Fig. 1) wherein the first wire clip and the second wire clip are separated by a distance and the at least one wire extends across the distance, and wherein the at lest one cover extends along the distance and the receiving cavity is configured to retain the at least one wire therein along the distance as shown in Figures 1-2a.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 11-13, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith ‘309 in view of JP 4204943 to Mirai.
Regarding claims 2 and 21, Smith ‘309 discloses the wire routing assembly and wherein the at least one cover (5,6) comprises a second lip (28). However, Smith ‘309 fails to disclose wherein the body and the at least one wire holder define a second slot and the second lip configured to detachably engage with the second slot. Nevertheless, Mirai ‘943 discloses wherein the body (1) and the at least one wire holder (2) define a second slot (recesses 6) and the second lip (two protrusions 23) configured to detachably engage with the second slot. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith ‘309 assembly that the body and the at least wire holder define a second slot, the second lip configured to detachably engage with the second slot as taught by Miral ‘943 because one would have a motivation to provide the engagement protrusions and securely fitted to each other.
Regarding claim 3, Smith ‘309 in view of Mirai ‘943 discloses wherein the first lip opposes the second lip.
Regarding claim 11, Smith ‘309 in view of Mirai ‘943 discloses wherein the tab (left plate portion 13) is configured to be deflectable in order to open the at least one opening of the at least one wire holder.
Regarding claim 12, Smith ‘309 in view of Mirai ‘943 discloses wherein the tab comprises a first rib extending at least partially into the at least one opening or the at least one second cavity (the left plate portion 13 deforms into the housing space 12 to open cable insertion opening 14.
Regarding claim 13, Smith ‘309 in view of Mirai ‘943 discloses wherein the at least one wire holder (2) comprises a second rib (right plate portion 13) generally opposed to the first rib and extending at least partially into the at least one opening or the at least one second cavity.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith ‘309 in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,349,229 to Carroll.
Smith ‘309 discloses the wire routing assembly but fails to disclose wherein the at least one cover comprises a ridge extending along a top surface. Carroll ‘229 discloses wherein the at least one cover (18) comprises a ridge (20) extending along a top surface. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Smith ‘309 with the at least one cover comprises a ridge because one would have a motivation to provide a moisture proof wireway for preventing entrance of moisture or other contaminants as taught by Carroll ‘229.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith ‘309 in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0235212 to Waldorf.
Smith ‘309 fails to disclose wherein the at least one cover is configured to be slidably mounted along the at least one wire holder. Nevertheless, Waldorf ‘212 discloses wherein the at least one cover is configured to be slidably mounted along the at least one wire holder (cover 10 may be slid onto the trough 20). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Smith ‘309 with the at least one cover is configured to be slidably mounted along the wire holder because one would have a motivation to allow for flexibility in the way the assembly can be assembled and also allows for longitudinal adjustment to align the cover at the desired location along the wire holder as taught by Waldorf.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0084618
/TODD M EPPS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 August 25, 2026