DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 07/01/2026 has been entered.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 07/01/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,116,748 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10-12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mathis (WO 2017/091085 A1).
With regard to claim 1 and 10, Mathis discloses a method/system of connecting a lower pipe portion to a subsea foundation (e.g. fig. 9a-9c), the method comprising: providing the subsea foundation (1) , an upper pipe portion (14) connected to the subsea foundation; providing the lower pipe portion (143) and a pipe overlap section (fig. 9c); and connecting the lower pipe portion to the upper pipe portion such that the pipe overlaps section overlaps a part of the upper pipe portion and a part the lower pipe portion (fig. 9c).
With regard to claims 2 and 11, Mathis further discloses the upper pipe portion does not protrude beyond the bottom of the subsea foundation (figs. 9b-9c) and when the lower pipe portion is connected to the upper pipe portion, at least part of the lower pipe portion protrudes beyond the bottom of the subsea foundation (fig. 9c).
With regard to claims 3 and 12, Mathis further discloses connecting the lower pipe portion to the subsea foundation in a stowed position (fig. 9a); deploying the subsea foundation subsea with the lower pipe portion in the stowed position (fig. 9b); and releasing the lower pipe portion from the stowed position subsea (fig. 9c).
With regard to claims 7 and 16, Mathis further discloses the subsea foundation comprises a suction anchor (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eide et al. (WO 2017/179992 A1) in view of Pond (4,697,829).
With regard to claim 1, 4, 10, and 13, Eide discloses a method/system of connecting a lower pipe portion to a subsea foundation (e.g. fig. 4), the method comprising: providing the subsea foundation (4), an upper pipe portion(6a) connected to the subsea foundation (fig. 4); providing a lower pipe portion (6b); and connecting the lower pipe portion to the upper pipe portion (fig. 4) and connecting the lower pipe portion to a pull-in arrangement (15/17) and then deploying the subsea foundation subsea with the lower pipe portion connected to the pull-in arrangement, wherein connecting the lower pipe portion to the upper pipe portion comprises using the pull-in arrangement to connect the lower pipe portion to the upper pipe portion (pg. 23, lines 25-33).
Eide discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a pipe overlap section the pipe overlap section overlaps a portion of the upper pipe portion and the lower pipe portion.
Pond discloses subsea pipe connection wherein when connecting subsea pipes there is a pipe overlap section the pipe overlap section overlaps a portion of the upper pipe portion and/or the lower pipe portion (abstract; fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Eide and utilize a pipe overlap section as taught in Pond, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide the expected benefit of having a friction fit engagement between the pipe sections.
With regard to claims 6 and 15, Eide, as modified further discloses the pipe overlap section is fixed to the lower pipe portion and overlaps a portion of the upper pipe portion when the lower pipe portion is connected to the upper pipe portion (Pond; fig. 2).
With regard to claims 8 and 17, Eide, as modified further discloses the inner diameter of the lower pipe portion is the same as the inner diameter of the upper pipe portion and the outer diameter of the lower pipe portion is the same as the outer diameter of the upper pipe portion (Pond; fig. 2).
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eide et al. (WO 2017/179992 A1) in view of Pond (4,697,829) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Giovannini et al. (6,729,802).
With regard to claims 5 and 14, Eide, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the pull-in arrangement is connected to the lower pipe portion via the pipe overlap section.
Giovannini discloses attaching a pulling arrangement to the end of pipes while pulling subsea pipes (figs 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Eide and connect the pull in arrangement to the end of the pipe (and therefore the overlap) as taught in Giovannini, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the pipe portion to be aligned properly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: see reasons for indication of allowable subject matter in the office action dated 04/02/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding the pipe overlap section, the examiner disagrees. The examiner contends that the telescoping nature of the two pipes meets the claimed limitations of the pipe overlap section as the overlapping of the pipes includes the lower pipe section and the upper pipe section.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
09/01/2026