DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,116,748. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 12,116,748 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10-12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mathis (WO 2017/091085 A1).
With regard to claim 1 and 10, Mathis discloses a method/system of connecting a lower pipe portion to a subsea foundation (e.g. fig. 9a-9c), the method comprising: providing the subsea foundation (1) comprising an upper pipe portion (14) connected to the subsea foundation; providing a lower pipe portion (143) and a pipe overlap section (fig. 9c); and connecting the lower pipe portion to the upper pipe portion such that the pipe overlap section overlaps a portion of the upper pipe portion and/or the lower pipe portion (fig. 9c).
With regard to claims 2 and 11, Mathis further discloses the upper pipe portion does not protrude beyond the bottom of the subsea foundation (figs. 9b-9c) and wherein, when the lower pipe portion is connected to the upper pipe portion, at least part of the lower pipe portion protrudes beyond the bottom of the subsea foundation (fig. 9c).
With regard to claims 3 and 12, Mathis further discloses connecting the lower pipe portion to the subsea foundation in a stowed position (fig. 9a); deploying the subsea foundation subsea with the lower pipe portion in the stowed position (fig. 9b); and releasing the lower pipe portion from the stowed position subsea (fig. 9c).
With regard to claims 7 and 16, Mathis further discloses the subsea foundation comprises a suction anchor (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eide et al. (WO 2017/179992 A1) in view of Pond (4,697,829).
With regard to claim 1, 4, 10, and 13, Eide discloses a method/system of connecting a lower pipe portion to a subsea foundation (e.g. fig. 4), the method comprising: providing the subsea foundation (4) comprising an upper pipe portion(6a) connected to the subsea foundation (fig. 4); providing a lower pipe portion (6b); and connecting the lower pipe portion to the upper pipe portion (fig. 4) and connecting the lower pipe portion to a pull-in arrangement (15/17) and then deploying the subsea foundation subsea with the lower pipe portion connected to the pull-in arrangement, wherein connecting the lower pipe portion to the upper pipe portion comprises using the pull-in arrangement to connect the lower pipe portion to the upper pipe portion (pg. 23, lines 25-33).
Eide discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding a pipe overlap section the pipe overlap section overlaps a portion of the upper pipe portion and/or the lower pipe portion.
Pond discloses subsea pipe connection wherein when connecting subsea pipes there is a pipe overlap section the pipe overlap section overlaps a portion of the upper pipe portion and/or the lower pipe portion (abstract; fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Eide and utilize a pipe overlap section as taught in Pond, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide the expected benefit of having a friction fit engagement between the pipe sections.
With regard to claims 6 and 15, Eide, as modified further discloses the pipe overlap section is fixed to the lower pipe portion and overlaps a portion of the upper pipe portion when the lower pipe portion is connected to the upper pipe portion (Pond; fig. 2).
With regard to claims 8 and 17, Eide, as modified further discloses the inner diameter of the lower pipe portion is the same as the inner diameter of the upper pipe portion and the outer diameter of the lower pipe portion is the same as the outer diameter of the upper pipe portion (Pond; fig. 2).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eide et al. (WO 2017/179992 A1) in view of Pond (4,697,829) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Giovannini et al. (6,729,802).
With regard to claims 5 and 14, Eide, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the pull-in arrangement is connected to the lower pipe portion via the pipe overlap section.
Giovannini discloses attaching a pulling arrangement to the end of pipes while pulling subsea pipes (figs 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Eide and connect the pull in arrangement to the end of the pipe (and therefore the overlap) as taught in Giovannini, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the pipe portion to be aligned properly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 and 18 would be allowable if the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action is/are overcome and rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art, either alone or in any reasonable combination, fails to teach or suggest all the limitations of the dependent claim(s). Subsea foundation system comprising upper and lower pipe section are known such as those taught by Mathis (WO 2017/091085 A1), Eide et al. (WO 2017/179992 A1), and Hosoy et al. (2012/0003048). However, the cited prior art lacks a pipe connection guide for guiding the connection between the upper pipe portion and lower pipe portion, wherein the pipe connection guide is fixed via the pipe overlap section to the upper pipe portion or the lower pipe portion as required by the dependent claim(s) and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior art to achieve applicant’s invention without the benefit of hindsight and applicant’s own disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
03/28/2026