DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,116,748. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 12,116,748 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/884,884. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application contain variations of the claims in copending Application No. 18/884,884 and therefore the claims in the current application are not patentably distinct from the claims in copending Application No. 18/884,884.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 9-10, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eide et al. (WO 2017/179992 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Eide discloses a method of connecting a lower pipe portion (6b) to a subsea foundation, the method comprising: providing a subsea foundation (100) and an upper pipe portion (6a) connected to the subsea foundation (fig. 4), connecting the lower pipe portion to a pull-in arrangement (15/17/19); deploying the subsea foundation subsea with the lower pipe portion connected to the pull-in arrangement (pg. 12, lines 1-32); and connecting the lower pipe portion to the upper pipe portion subsea using the pull-in arrangement (pg. 23, lines 20-33).
With regard to claims 2 and 10, Eide further discloses the upper pipe portion does not protrude beyond the bottom of the subsea foundation (fig. 4) and wherein, when the lower pipe portion is connected to the upper pipe portion, at least part of the lower pipe portion protrudes beyond the bottom of the subsea foundation (figs. 3-4).
With regard to claims 6 and 15, Eide further discloses the subsea foundation comprises a suction anchor (abstract).
With regard to claims 7 and 16, Eide further discloses the pull-in arrangement comprises one or more pull-in lines (15) that extend through one or more or respective pull-in line conduits (fig. 7), wherein each pull-in line conduit extends through the subsea foundation (fig. 7).
With regard to claim 9, Eide discloses a subsea foundation system for deployment subsea, wherein the subsea foundation comprises: a subsea foundation (100); an upper pipe portion (6a) connected to the subsea foundation; and a lower pipe portion (6b) connected to a pull-in arrangement (15/17/19), wherein the subsea foundation system is arranged such that subsea the lower pipe portion can be connected to the upper pipe portion using the pull-in arrangement (fig. 4).
With regard to claim 14, Eide further discloses a pipe connection guide for guiding the connection between the upper pipe portion and lower pipe portion (figs. 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eide et al. (WO 2017/179992 A1) in view of Smith et al. (7,507,055).
With regard to claims 4 and 11, Eide discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the pull-in arrangement comprises two pull-in lines that are connected at one end to the subsea foundation and at the other end to the lower pipe portion.
Smith discloses a subsea device utilize two pull-in lines to pull a pipe into position (3a, 4a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further Eide and utilize a pulling arrangement with two line as taught in Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the pipe portion to be aligned properly.
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eide et al. (WO 2017/179992 A1) in view of Pond (4,697,829).
With regard to claims 5 and 13, Eide discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding providing a pipe overlap section, wherein connecting the lower pipe portion to the upper pipe portion comprises overlapping the pipe overlap section on a portion of the upper pipe portion and/or the lower pipe portion.
Pond discloses subsea pipe connection wherein when connecting subsea pipes there is a pipe overlap section the pipe overlap section overlaps a portion of the upper pipe portion and/or the lower pipe portion (abstract; fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Eide and utilize a pipe overlap section as taught in Pond, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide the expected benefit of having a friction fit engagement between the pipe sections.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8, 12, 17 would be allowable if the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action is/are and rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art, either alone or in any reasonable combination, fails to teach or suggest all the limitations of the dependent claim(s). Subsea foundation system comprising upper and lower pipe section are known such as those taught by Mathis (WO 2017/091085 A1), Eide et al. (WO 2017/179992 A1), and Hosoy et al. (2012/0003048). However, the cited prior art lacks deployed the subsea pipe in the stowed position and a pull-in line grip as required by the dependent claim(s) and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior art to achieve applicant's invention without the benefit of hindsight and applicant's own disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
04/04/2026