DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klamm “Passive Space Radiation Shielding: Mass and Volume Optimization of Tungsten-Doped PolyPhenolic and Polyethylene Resins” hereafter referred to as Klamm.
Regarding Claim(s) 1,15,16,19, Klamm teaches: A spacecraft material comprising /A method of preparing a spacecraft, the method comprising:
preparing a radiation shield comprising a spacecraft material, a polymer and a shielding material; (Klamm Section: Radiation Simulation Results, Notes on Shield Manufacturing; Tables 1,2 – As summary portion for the remainder of reference.)
wherein the spacecraft material exhibits a less than 90% electron punch-through rate when subjected to about 1 GeV or less of electron bombardment; and/or wherein the spacecraft material exhibits a less than 90% proton punch-through rate when subjected to about 250 MeV or less of proton bombardment. (Klamm - This carries no patentable weight as written, any material would qualify.)
A spacecraft comprising the spacecraft material of claim 1. (Klamm - This carries no patentable weight as written, anything can be a spacecraft.)
radiation shield mixture comprising the spacecraft material of claim 1; pouring the radiation shield mixture onto one or more components of a spacecraft; and curing the radiation shield mixture to form a radiation shield around the components and form the spacecraft. / and placing the radiation shield around the components of the spacecraft to form a spacecraft. (Klamm - This carries no patentable weight as written, anything can be a spacecraft.)
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Klamm teaches: wherein the polymer is a space-grade epoxy resin selected from the group consisting of bisphenol-based epoxy resin, novolak epoxy resin, aliphatic epoxy resin, halogenated epoxy resin, glycidyl-based epoxy resin, and combinations thereof. (Klamm Section: Radiation Simulation Results, Notes on Shield Manufacturing – As summary portion for the remainder of reference. Novolak resin specifically mentioned.)
Regarding Claim(s) 3-5, Klamm teaches: wherein the shielding material is selected from the group consisting of tungsten, iron, and combinations thereof. wherein the shielding material comprises tungsten. wherein the shielding material comprises iron(Klamm Section: Radiation Simulation Results, Notes on Shield Manufacturing; Tables 1,2 – As summary portion for the remainder of reference.)
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Klamm teaches: wherein the shielding material is in the form of a powder, particles, or a combination thereof. (Klamm Section: Radiation Simulation Results, Notes on Shield Manufacturing; Tables 1,2 – As summary portion for the remainder of reference.)
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Klamm teaches: wherein the spacecraft material comprises about 50 vol.% or less of the shielding material. (Klamm Section: Radiation Simulation Results, Notes on Shield Manufacturing; Tables 1,2 – As summary portion for the remainder of reference.)
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Klamm teaches: wherein the shielding material is present in the spacecraft material in a concentration of about 7.5 g/cm3 or less. (Klamm Section: Radiation Simulation Results, Notes on Shield Manufacturing; Tables 1,2; Figures 4-6 – As summary portion for the remainder of reference.)
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Klamm teaches: wherein the spacecraft material has a density of about 10 g/cm3 or less. (Klamm Section: Radiation Simulation Results, Notes on Shield Manufacturing; Tables 1,2; Figures 4-6 – As summary portion for the remainder of reference.)
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Klamm teaches: wherein the spacecraft material is fully destroyed upon application of heat at a temperature of about 250˚C or greater for a period of about 1 minute or greater. (Klamm – As understood from the specification, the resins themselves suffice.)
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Klamm teaches: wherein upon re-entry into earth's atmosphere the spacecraft material impacts the earth with less than about 15 J of energy. (Klamm – This carries no patentable weight as written since an arbitrary selection of the quantity/density/composition/arrangement/etc. can always produce this result.)
Regarding Claim(s) 12-14, Klamm teaches: wherein the spacecraft material is non-conductive. wherein the spacecraft material has an electrical conductivity at 20˚C of about 1.8x107 S/m or less. wherein the spacecraft material has a magnetic field impact of about 10 nT or less. (Klamm – As understood from the specification all the materials disclosed would qualify.)
Regarding Claim(s) 17, Klamm teaches: wherein preparing a radiation shield comprises: adding the shielding material to the polymer; mixing the shielding material and the polymer to form a spacecraft material mixture; pouring the spacecraft material mixture into a mold; and curing the spacecraft material mixture to form the radiation shield. (Klamm Section: Radiation Simulation Results, Notes on Shield Manufacturing; Tables 1,2; Figures 4-6 – As summary portion for the remainder of reference.)
Regarding Claim(s) 18,20, Klamm teaches: wherein the radiation shield has a thickness of about 5 cm or less. . (Klamm Section: Radiation Simulation Results, Notes on Shield Manufacturing; Tables 1,2; Figures 4-6 – As summary portion for the remainder of reference.)
Conclusion
1. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
SEAN LUCK
Examiner
Art Unit 2878
/SEAN LUCK/Examiner, Art Unit 2878