DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0235142 (“WALL”).
Regarding claim 1, WALL teaches a device (202; FIG. 2), comprising: a first waveguide (100B), the first waveguide comprising: a first input coupler (112B) operable to receive a first color light (blue) and in-couple the first color light into the first waveguide; and a coating area adjacent to a grating (114B; FIG. 1; par. [0023]) of the first input coupler, the coating area operable to receive a second color light (green), the coating area having an anti-reflective coating (par. [0052]) with a transmission refractive index such that in operation the second color light is transmitted through the first waveguide to a second waveguide (100G); and the second waveguide below the first waveguide, the second waveguide having a second input coupler (112G) disposed below and aligned with the coating area, the second input coupler operable to receive the second color light and in-couple the second color light into the second waveguide (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 2, WALL teaches that the first waveguide has an output coupler (116B, 116G) to out-couple a blue field of view (FOV) and a green FOV from the first color light that is in-coupled (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 3, WALL teaches that the device further comprises an output coupler (116R) to out-couple a red field of view (FOV) from the second color light that is in-coupled.
Regarding claim 4, WALL teaches a light engine (204) disposed above the first waveguide with a pupil above the first input coupler (par. [0088]).
Regarding claim 5, WALL teaches that the anti-reflective coating is disposed over a first surface of the first waveguide opposing a second surface, under the second surface, or both over and under the second surface (par. [0052]).
Regarding claim 6, WALL teaches that the first input coupler is operable to in-couple the first color light into the first waveguide (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 7, WALL teaches that the second input coupler is operable to in-couple the second color light into the first waveguide (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 8, WALL teaches that the anti-reflective coating has a thickness, the thickness being equal to a quarter-wavelength thickness value associated with a material
(par. [0075]).
Regarding claim 10, WALL teaches a device (202; FIG. 2), comprising: a first waveguide (100B), the first waveguide having: a first input coupler (112B) operable to receive a first color (blue) light and in-couple the first color light into the first waveguide; and a first coating area adjacent to a first grating (114B; FIG. 1; par. [0023]) of the first input coupler, the first coating area operable to receive a second color light (green) and a third color light (red), the first coating area having a first anti-reflective coating (par. [0052]) with a first transmission refractive index such that in operation the second color light is transmitted through the first waveguide to a second waveguide (100G), and the first coating area having a second anti-reflective coating with a second transmission refractive index such that in operation the third color light is transmitted through the first waveguide to the second waveguide (par. [0052]; FIG. 2); the second waveguide having: a second input coupler (112G) operable to receive the second color light and in-couple the second color light into the second waveguide (FIG. 2); and a second coating area adjacent to a second grating of the second input coupler (114G; FIG. 1; par. [0023]), the second coating area operable to receive the third color light (FIG. 2), the second coating area having a third anti-reflective coating (par. [0052]) with a third transmission refractive index such that in operation the third color light is transmitted through the second waveguide to a third waveguide (!00R); and the third waveguide below the second waveguide, the third waveguide having a third input coupler (112R) disposed below and aligned with the second coating area, the third input coupler operable to receive the third color light and in-couple the third color light into the third waveguide (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 11, WALL teaches that the device further comprises an output coupler (116B) to out-couple a blue field of view (FOV) (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 12, WALL teaches that the device further comprises an output coupler (116G) to out-couple a green field of view (FOV) (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 13, WALL teaches that the device further comprises an output coupler (116R) to out-couple a red field of view (FOV) (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 14, WALL teaches that a light engine (204) disposed above the first waveguide with a pupil above the first input coupler (par. [0088]).
Regarding claim 15, WALL teaches that the first anti-reflective coating is disposed over a first surface of the first waveguide opposing a second surface of the first waveguide, under the second surface, or both over and under the second surface, and the second anti-reflective coating is disposed over a third surface of the second waveguide opposing a fourth surface of the second waveguide, under the third surface, or both over and under the third surface (FIG. 2; par. [0052]).
Regarding claim 16, WALL teaches that the first input coupler is operable to in-couple the first color light into the first waveguide (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 17, WALL teaches that the second input coupler is operable to in-couple only the second color light into the first waveguide (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 18, WALL teaches that the first anti-reflective coating, the second anti-reflective coating, and the third anti-reflective coating have a thickness, the thickness being equal to a quarter-wavelength thickness value associated with a material (par. [0075]).
Regarding claim 20, WALL teaches a method for using a device (202; FIG. 2), comprising: in-coupling a first color light (blue) into a first waveguide (100B), the first waveguide having a first input coupler (112B) operable to receive the first color light; and receiving a second color light (green) at a coating area adjacent to a grating (114B; FIG. 1;
par. [0023]) of the first input coupler, the coating area having an anti-reflective coating (par. [0052]) with a transmission refractive index such that in operation the second color light is transmitted through the first waveguide to a second waveguide (100G), the second waveguide below the first waveguide, the second waveguide having a second input coupler (112G) disposed below and aligned with the coating area, the second input coupler operable to receive the second color light and in-couple the second color light into the second waveguide (FIG. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole as interpreted in light of the Specification as originally filed, fails to disclose or render obvious that the transmission refractive index is a mean of a refractive index of a first material of the first waveguide and a second material between the coating area and the first input coupler.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2018/0011324 (“POPOVICH”); US 2018/0335629 (“CHENG”);
US 2019/0056591 (“TERVO”); US 2020/0116997 (“LEE”); US 2021/0294103 (“KLUG”);
US 2022/0065407 (“WEI”); and US 2022/0299711 (“BODIYA”).
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874