DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goddard et al. (US Pub 2016/0118265 A1)(hereinafter, “Goddard”) in view of Lu et al. (WO 2007/134195 A2)(hereinafter, “Lu”).
Regarding claim 1, Goddard teaches an apparatus (10) comprising:
a reflective-based microscope (112) with a reflective objective (discloses objective 116/27, [0121]); and
a tunable laser system (discloses a tunable laser system, [0099]) comprising:
an all-reflective optical path coupled between the tunable laser system and the reflective objective (teaches scanning galvanometer mirrors, beam steering via SLM 46, galvanometer mirrors, epi-illumination optical path, [0099]), wherein the all-reflective optical path (discloses epi-DPM reflected light imaging path, [0099], [0103] , and [0133]) comprises:
a plurality of scanning mirrors (discloses scanning galvanometer mirrors, [0103]);
a first parabolic reflector (605); and wherein at least one scanning mirror in the plurality of scanning mirrors (discloses scanning galvanometer mirrors, [0103]) is optically coupled between the first parabolic reflector (discloses a scanning galvanometer mirror configured to steer illumination in the optical path of an etching system that includes a parabolic reflector 605, [0103] and [0133]).
Goddard fail to discloses a second parabolic reflector.
Lu teaches a second parabolic reflector (1503).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a second parabolic reflector of Lu to Goddard to improve scan uniformity, optical resolution and aberration control.
Regarding claim 2, Goddard teaches wherein the tunable laser system(discloses a tunable laser system, [0099]) further comprises a plurality of nonlinear optical components optically coupled to the tunable laser system and a supercontinuum white light laser (discloses super-continuum laser SCL, [0099]), and wherein the tunable laser system(discloses a tunable laser system, [0099]) is operable to produce a first wavelength range of 320 nm to 20000 nm for a continuously tunable spectral output from the tunable laser system (discloses GaAs bandgap-selective etching using 450 nm, 633 nm, 532 nm, 700nm, and 800-900 nm, [0102]).
Regarding claim 3, Goddard teaches wherein the plurality of nonlinear optical components (discloses optical parametric oscillator OPO, SCL, spectral filtering system, [0099] )comprise an optical parametric oscillator (discloses OPO, [0099]), a difference frequency generation crystal ([0040-0043]), and a second harmonic generation crystal([0040-0043]), wherein the tunable laser system ([0099]) is optically coupled to the optical parametric oscillator([0099]), wherein two spectral output lines of the optical parametric oscillator are optically coupled to the difference frequency generation crystal ([0040-0043]), and a third spectral output line of the optical parametric oscillator is optically coupled to the second harmonic generation crystal. ([0040-0043])
Regarding claim 6, Goddard teaches wherein the first parabolic reflector (605) and a first scanning mirror (discloses scanning galvanometer mirrors, [0103]) of the all-reflective optical path is positioned on a first plane (discloses a scanning galvanometer mirror configured to steer illumination in the optical path of an etching system that includes a parabolic reflector 605, [0103] and [0133]).
Goddard fail to discloses a second parabolic reflector, wherein the second parabolic reflector and a second scanning mirror is positioned on a second plane, and wherein the first plane and the second plane are orthogonal to each other.
Lu teaches a second parabolic reflector (1503), wherein the second parabolic reflector and a second scanning mirror is positioned on a second plane (figure 15, [58]), and wherein the first plane and the second plane are orthogonal to each other (figure 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a second parabolic reflector of Lu to Goddard to improve scan uniformity, optical resolution and aberration control.
Regarding claim 7, Goddard teaches further comprising an optical modulator (160) between the tunable laser system and the all-reflective optical path (discloses epi-DPM reflected light imaging path, [0099], [0103] , and [0133]).
Regarding claim 8, Goddard teaches further comprising:
a stage (810);
a lock-in amplifier (epi-DPM), wherein a first input of the lock-in amplifier is coupled with the optical modulator(projector 160/ SCL pulses/diffuser 150); and
a preamplifier(146) coupled to a second input of the lock-in amplifier(epi-DPM), wherein the preamplifier is to be coupled to a terminal of a semiconductor device mounted on the stage(GaAs wafer, [0128]) and to amplify a current signal (discloses light induced carrier, [0113-0114]) from the semiconductor device and convert the current signal to a voltage(discloses CCD camera 146 converts interferogram electrical signal ,[0124-0126]).
Regarding claim 9, Goddard teaches further comprising a beam splitter (132) between the optical modulator (projector 160/ SCL pulses/diffuser 150) and the all-reflective optical path(discloses epi-DPM reflected light imaging path, [0099], [0103] , and [0133]), wherein the beam splitter(132) is optically coupled to the all-reflective optical path (discloses epi-DPM reflected light imaging path, [0099], [0103] , and [0133]) and wherein the beam splitter is optically coupled to a photodetector electrically coupled to a lock-in amplifier(discloses epi-DPM reflected light imaging path, [0099], [0103] , and [0133]).
Regarding claim 10, Goddard teaches further comprising a variable attenuator (“via fiber coupler FC and neutral density filter ND2”, [0121]) between the optical modulator (projector 160/ SCL pulses/diffuser 150) and the tunable laser system ([0099]).
Regarding claim 11, Goddard teaches a method of determining a defect density of states in a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
loading the semiconductor device into an apparatus (discloses placing a wafer into an optical apparatus, [0128-0130]), the apparatus comprising:
a reflective microscope objective(112); and
a tunable laser system (discloses a tunable laser system, [0099]) comprising;
an all-reflective optical path coupled between the tunable laser system and the reflective microscope objective teaches scanning galvanometer mirrors, beam steering via SLM 46, galvanometer mirrors, epi-illumination optical path, [0099]), wherein the all-reflective optical path (discloses epi-DPM reflected light imaging path, [0099], [0103] , and [0133]) comprising:
a plurality of scanning mirrors(discloses scanning galvanometer mirrors, [0103]);
a first parabolic reflector(605); and wherein at least one scanning mirror in the plurality of scanning mirrors (discloses scanning galvanometer mirrors, [0103]) is optically coupled between the first parabolic reflector(discloses a scanning galvanometer mirror configured to steer illumination in the optical path of an etching system that includes a parabolic reflector 605, [0103] and [0133]); and
an optical modulator(projector 160/ SCL pulses/diffuser 150) between the tunable laser system ([0099]) and the all-reflective optical path(discloses epi-DPM reflected light imaging path, [0099], [0103] , and [0133]);
operating the semiconductor device and measuring a current signal at a terminal of the semiconductor device(discloses CCD camera 146 converts interferogram electrical signal ,[0124-0126]);
energizing the tunable laser system and directing a laser beam to a location on a surface of the semiconductor device (discloses uses light on the wafer surface, [0121]);
generating a photocurrent within the semiconductor device by energizing the tunable laser system ([0113-0114]);
measuring the photocurrent through the terminal of the semiconductor device (discloses CCD camera 146 converts interferogram electrical signal ,[0124-0126]);
utilizing a numerical normalization protocol to obtain a spectrum of an integrated trap density from the photocurrent (uses Hilbert transform to extract the optical phase shift and calculate the surface height variation,[0126]); and
determining the defect density of states based on the spectrum of the integrated trap density([0137]).
Goddard fail to discloses a second parabolic reflector.
Lu teaches a second parabolic reflector (1503).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a second parabolic reflector of Lu to Goddard to improve scan uniformity, optical resolution and aberration control.
Regarding claim 12, Goddard teaches wherein the semiconductor device is a transistor (discloses MSM photodetectors [0133] and [0138]), and wherein operating the transistor to output a steady-state current further comprises adjusting one or more applied voltages to operate the transistor within a linear regime of a transfer characteristic of the transistor( [0133] and [0138]).
Regarding claim 13, Goddard teaches wherein the current signal is a drain current within the linear regime, and wherein the photocurrent ([0132]) is superimposed on a dark current of the transistor ([0133]).
Regarding claim 14, Goddard teaches wherein energizing the tunable laser system ([0099]) and directing the laser beam comprises performing a raster scan (discloses multi-spot illumination occurs in STEP-PEC patterning, [0135-0136]) on the surface of a channel material of the transistor to measure the defect density of states (DoS) ([0137]), and wherein performing the raster scan further comprises actuating the first parabolic reflector (605) to direct the laser beam onto a plurality of spots on the surface of the channel material during the raster scan ([0132-0133]).
Goddard fail to discloses a second parabolic reflector.
Lu teaches a second parabolic reflector (1503).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a second parabolic reflector of Lu to Goddard to improve scan uniformity, optical resolution and aberration control.
Regarding claim 15, Goddard teaches wherein energizing the tunable laser system ([0099]) comprises changing a photon energy of a light generated by the tunable laser system to excite a plurality of electrons from one or more intra-bandgap states within the channel material of the transistor (discloses uses wavelength-selective absorption for etching, [0130] and [0137]).
Regarding claim 16, Goddard teaches wherein changing the photon energy of the light generated by the tunable laser system comprises operating the tunable laser system at a plurality of photon energies ranging between 0.06 eV and 3.5 eV (discloses light wavelengths 532nm, 2.33 eV, [0121], and 450-700nm, 2.76 eV, 1.77 eV, [0130]).
Regarding claim 17, Goddard teaches further comprises holding the plurality of scanning mirrors stationary and continuously varying the photon energy (uses different wavelengths of light for selective etching of layers, [0130]) of the tunable laser system ([0099]) and measuring the photocurrent at the plurality of photon energies at a constant position on the surface of the channel material ([0128-0131]).
Regarding claim 18, Goddard teaches wherein the optical modulator (160) modulates an amplitude of the laser beam at a frequency ranging between 200 Hz and 1 kHz ([0112]), wherein the photocurrent generated by the semiconductor device is modulated at the frequency of the optical modulator(projector 160/ SCL pulses/diffuser 150), and wherein the method further comprises:
coupling a modulated light signal to a reference input terminal of a lock-in amplifier(epi-DPM); and
coupling the semiconductor device to a signal input terminal of the lock-in amplifier discloses light induced carrier, [0113-0114]), wherein the lock-in amplifier outputs a photocurrent signal (discloses CCD camera 146 converts interferogram electrical signal ,[0124-0126]).
Regarding claim 19, Goddard teaches wherein the method further comprises implementing a light detector to simultaneously measure a back reflection of the transistor at each laser energy (epi-DPM inherently measures reflected light simultaneously, [0124-0126] and [0130]).
Regarding claim 20, Goddard teaches wherein determining the defect density of states comprises performing a derivative of the photocurrent signal with respect to the photon energy (discloses measures height vs. irradiance/wavelength, non-linear response is quantified, [0130]).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goddard et al. (US Pub 2016/0118265 A1)(hereinafter, “Goddard”) in view of Lu et al. (WO 2007/134195 A2)(hereinafter, “Lu”), further in view of Antonelli et al. (US Pub 2020/0363332 A1) (hereinafter, “Antonelli”).
Regarding claim 4, Goddard teaches wherein the continuously tunable spectral output of the supercontinuum white light laser (discloses SCL, [0099], [0105]).
However, Goddard in view of Lu fails to discloses a monochromator, wherein the monochromator is operable to maintain a Poynting vector stability of the supercontinuum white light laser.
Antonelli teaches a monochromator ([0028]), wherein the monochromator is operable to maintain a Poynting vector stability of the supercontinuum white light laser ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate a monochromator of Antonelli to Goddard in view of Lu to enhance spectral selectivity and wavelength control of illumination.
Regarding claim 5, Goddard teaches wherein the tunable laser system (discloses a tunable laser system, [0099]) comprises a plurality of beam splitters (132) and combiners optically coupled to the plurality of nonlinear optical components (discloses super-continuum laser SCL, [0099]), and wherein a plurality of spectral input and output lines to and from the plurality of nonlinear optical components are optically combined by the plurality of beam splitters and combiners to produce a second wavelength range between 320 nm and 20,000 nm (0.12 to 3.90 eV) for the continuously tunable spectral output (discloses GaAs bandgap-selective etching using 450 nm, 633 nm, 532 nm, 700nm, and 800-900 nm, [0102]).
Conclusion
/C.X./ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877