DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 3/19/2025, 8/5/2025, 11/4/2025, 3/4/2026, 3/25/2026, 5/5/2026 have been fully considered and are attached hereto.
Any lined through citations were not considered because the Examiner was unable to find a provided copy of the cited document.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II in the reply filed on 8/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Tank of claim 16;
Nozzle of claim 18;
Heat exchanger configured to cool and recirculate the immersion cooling liquid from the tray to the tank as in claim 20; and
Tank disposed above a ceiling above the rack frame as in claim 21
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17, 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broderick et al. (US 2019/0045661 – hereinafter, “Broderick”) in view of Yoshikawa et al. (US 2017/0311485 – hereinafter, “Yoshikawa”).
With respect to claims 16 and 21, Broderick teaches (In Figs 1, 5) a rack system comprising: a rack frame (530) and a rack-mounted assembly (102/502a), including an electronic device (113) disposed within the rack-mounted assembly, the electronic device including a heat-generating component (¶ 0026, “heat generating components 113”); wherein the rack-mounted assembly (102/502a) includes a non-sealed immersion case (102, In the present application the top portion (524) of the immersion case (520) is open to allow coolant into the immersion case. Accordingly, the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification of a non-sealed immersion case is a case which is otherwise sealed but has an opening in a top portion thereof to allow coolant into the non-sealed immersion case. This is what is taught by Broderick which teaches a case (102) with openings (505) in a top portion thereof to allow coolant into the case.) in which the electronic device is immersed in immersion cooling liquid (220/520a, ¶ 0026, “In embodiments, the exposed heat sinks 114 or the exposed heat generating components 113 may come into contact with coolant fluid, such as coolant fluid 220 of FIG. 2, that may surround all or part of the sealed enclosure 102 and that may be used to transfer heat from the PCB 110”), and wherein the immersion cooling liquid (220/520a) is channeled by gravity to flow into the non-sealed immersion case (502a, see Fig 5, see also ¶ 0048, “the coolant fluid 520 may flow through the enclosures primarily through gravity.”).
Broderick fails to specifically teach or suggest a tank for holding immersion cooling liquid disposed above the rack frame, the immersion cooling liquid is channeled by gravity to flow to the case from the tank (Cl. 16), wherein the tank is disposed in a ceiling above the rack frame (Cl. 21).
Yoshikawa, however, teaches (In Fig 9) a rack frame (1011) and a tank (2301) for holding cooling liquid disposed above the rack frame, the cooling liquid is channeled by gravity to flow to the rack frame from the tank (See Fig 9), wherein the tank is disposed in a ceiling (2001) above the rack frame (See Fig 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoshikawa with that of Broderick such that Broderick includes a tank for holding immersion cooling liquid disposed above the rack frame, the immersion cooling liquid is channeled by gravity to flow to the case from the tank, wherein the tank is disposed in a ceiling above the rack frame, as taught by Yoshikawa, since doing so would provide a concealed reservoir which is able to provide an immediate continuous supply of coolant during peak workloads or sudden power fluctuations.
With respect to claim 17, Broderick as modified by Yoshikawa teaches the limitations of claim 16 as per above and Broderick further teaches a channel mounted in the rack frame above the rack-mounted assembly (502a) configured to channel the immersion cooling liquid from the tank (Taught by Yoshikawa), wherein the channel comprises an opening (Though not shown, must exist between the channel and the opening of 502a to allow coolant into 502a) through which the immersion cooling liquid pours into the non-sealed immersion case (See Fig A below).
Broderick as modified by Yoshikawa fails to specifically teach or suggest that the opening is a plurality of openings.
The Examiner hereby takes Official Notice of the conventionality of replacing a single opening with multiple openings.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the single opening taught by Broderick to be a plurality of openings since doing so would allow for more precise placement of coolant from the channel into the non-sealed immersion tank.
With respect to claim 19, Broderick further teaches a tray (532) mounted in the rack frame below the rack-mounted assembly for receiving the immersion cooling liquid from the non-sealed immersion case (See Fig 5).
With respect to claim 20, Broderick as modified by Yoshikawa teaches the limitations of claim 19 as per above and modified Broderick further teaches a heat exchanger (536) configured to cool and recirculate the immersion cooling liquid from the tray to the tank (When Broderick is modified to include a tank above the rack-mounted assembly, as per the above rejection to claim 16, then the heat exchanger will cool and recirculate the liquid from (532) to the tank, as claimed).
With respect to claim 22, Broderick further teaches the rack-mounted assembly (502a) is mounted in an inclined orientation with respect to the rack frame (530), and more particularly vertically with respect to the rack frame (See Fig 5).
With respect to claim 23, Broderick further teaches a top and bottom portion of the non-sealed immersion case has a respective opening (424a, 424b, see Fig 4).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broderick in view of Yoshikawa and further in view of Mao et al. (US 2020/0257342 – hereinafter, “Mao”).
With respect to claim 18, Broderick as modified by Yoshikawa teaches the limitations of claim 17 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a nozzle to control the flow of the immersion cooling liquid from the channel into the non-sealed immersion case.
Mao, however, teaches (In Fig 1) a nozzle (33, cl. 10) to control the flow of immersion cooling liquid (20) from a channel (32) into a non-sealed immersion case (200, ¶ 0015, “When the electronic device 200 is immersed in the reservoir 10 for cooling, the insulating coolant 20 flows through the electronic device 200.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mao with that of Broderick such that Broderick includes a nozzle to control the flow of the immersion cooling liquid from the channel into the non-sealed immersion case, as taught by Mao, since doing so would control the amount of inflow or outflow of the cooling liquid to achieve uniform flow of the cooling liquid to uniformly cool the rack-mounted assembly (Mao: ¶ 0015).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11,602,075 to Zhong which teaches a cooling apparatus providing immersion cooling;
CN 201911267796 to Lin et al. which teaches a cooling device and single-phase immersion-type liquid cooling machine cabinet; and
US 10,390,458 to Tufty et al. which teaches a liquid submersion cooled electronic system and device.
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841