Claim(s) 1, 2, and 8 to 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (ep2441861).
The Kondo reference teaches a method and apparatus for silicon carbide growth, note entire reference. The apparatus consists of a crucible which has a body bottom and cover, note fig 1. There is space for a raw material and opposite a seed on the cover, note fig. 1 para 009-010. There is a crystal expansion guide which is attached to the crucible and goes from a space apart from the raw material and the seed, para 0015. There is a frame member between the crucible body and the cover, note fig 1, S. There is a tubular core member. This is connected to the inner wall and the opposite side the same size of the seed. This member is shaped as a cone, note fig 1, no 11 and para 0015. The member does not react with the raw material and controls the shape of the grown crystal, note fig 2. The raw material is silicon carbide which is heated to sublimation temperatures and then deposits onto the seed crystal. The growth of the SiC has an increased diameter due to the tubular member, second embodiment. The sole difference between the instant claim and the prior art is the composition of the tubular member. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Kondo reference to use a pure graphite as the tubular member in order to have a material that with not introduce impurities and can withstand conditions of the process.
With regards to claim 2, the Kondo reference teaches the tubular member to be the similar diameter to the inner wall and connected , note figures 1 and 2.
With regards to claim 8, the Kondo reference teaches using graphite for the frame, note, para 0015.
With regards to claim 9, the Kondo reference teaches the tube to have a similar diameter to the crystal, note figures 1 and 2.
Claim(s) 3 to 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (ep2441861).
The Kondo reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the manufacture and material of the tube. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Kondo reference to different forms of graphite and manufacture for the tubular member in order to have a flexible tube for better fitting.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (ep2441861).
The Kondo reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the specific silicon carbide. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum operable type of silicon carbide, doped and orientation in the Kondo reference in order to grow the silicon carbide for later uses.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (ep2441861).
The Kondo reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the size of the grown silicon carbide and seed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum operable sizes of silicon carbide and seed in the Kondo reference in order to grow the silicon carbide for later uses.
Claims 6 and 11 to 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claims are objected as the prior art does not teach nor render obvious the instantly claimed invention. There is no teaching in the art to have the tube parts fall off during growth of the silicon carbide as is now claimed.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited to show the state of the art in silicon carbide growth.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714