DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dal et al (cn112350726).
The Dal et al reference teaches a method of purifying graphite, note entire reference. A graphite material, crucible is placed in a heating furnace. The first step is to create a vacuum in the furnace, note translation page 3. Then a gas is flowed in at a pressure and the temperature is set to over 2800c which melts some impurities and the impurities are removed after a set time period, note page 4. The difference between the instant claim and the prior art is the graphite in the crucible and pressure of second step. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable pressure of the second step and vessel for the purification in the Dal et al reference in order to further remove impurities while not damaging the graphite materials.
With regards to claim 4, the Dal et al reference teaches heating times of greater the .5hour, note page 4.
With regards to claim 6, the Dal et al reference teaches removal of iron and vanadium from the graphite note page 6.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dal et al (cn112350726) in view of Jp4307913.
The Dal et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the gas used. However, the Jp4307913 reference teaches graphite purification process using halogens, argon during the heating process note page 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Dal et al reference by the teachings of the Jp4307913 reference to use a halogen gas during the heating step in order to not have any secondary reactions with the impurities.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dal et al (cn112350726) in view of Jp4307913.
The Dal et al and Jp4307913 references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the form of graphite to be purified. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable form of graphite, paper, blanket, felt or wire in the combined references in order to purify any form as the materials involved are the same.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dal et al (cn112350726) in view of Jp4307913.
The Dal et al and Jp4307913 references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the heater type. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable heater type in the combined references in order to have a means that can meet the heating requirements of the process.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dal et al (cn112350726) in view of Jp4307913.
The Dal et al and Jp4307913 references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the repeating of the heating step. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable number of purifying steps needed in the combined references in order to obtain the needed graphite impurity levels.
Claims 8 to 16 stand allowable over the art of record as the prior art does not teach nor render obvious the instantly claimed method. The prior art does not teach the specific process of purifying the graphite crucible with silicon carbide inside the crucible as is now claimed.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in purifying graphite.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714