DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2015/0261698 A1), and further in view of Bacchus et al. (WO 2017/065802 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a first memory module that comprise one or more types of memory media, wherein the first memory module includes a first interface couplable to a host (Fig. 1, an interference 1011 coupled between a first memory module 101 and the host coupled to 103),
wherein the first interface is configured to transfer data or commands, or both, between the host and the first memory module via a first bus according to a first protocol (Fig. 1, the first interface 1011 configured to transfer data and commands between memory module 101 and host using a first bus 103),
wherein the first memory module includes a second interface couplable to a second memory module (Fig. 1, second interface 1012 is coupled to the second memory module 102); and
wherein the first interface and the second interface are configured to transfer data or commands, or both between the host and the second memory module via the first bus and a second bus according to a second protocol (first interface and second interface configured to transfer data and commands between the host and the second memory module 102 using a second bus 105).
Zhang did not explicitly teach whether the first interface is asynchronous or synchronous. Zhang does teach wherein the first protocol enables non-deterministic execution of commands.
Bacchus teaches a first interface uses a first protocol enables non-deterministic execution of commands (Fig. 1, Non-deterministic interface 108).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person with the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to non-deterministic protocol because it has a better power efficiency by preventing the system from wasting energy forcing idle wait states to match a fixed deterministic clock and latency. Also, non-deterministic protocol does not need a synchronization logic, which will reduce the hardware.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first memory module comprises a DRAM array and a non-volatile memory array (memory module can have DRAM and Non-volatile memory, ¶0078).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first protocol is NVDIMM-P (¶0092).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second protocol is DDR5 (¶0092).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first memory module comprises a controller configured to control execution of commands according to the first protocol and the second protocol (Fig. 2, memory controller 206).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first memory module comprises a controller configured to transfer data or commands, or both, between the first interface and the second interface (Fig. 3A, Memory Management Unit 3011).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second interface is configured to transfer data or commands, or both, between the first memory module and the second memory module according to the second protocol in response to the first memory module receiving commands from the host according to the first protocol (Fig. 1, bus 103 receives data and command based on a first protocol and 105 receives data and command based on a second protocol).
Regarding claims 8-20, the claims have similar limitations as the claims above. Therefore, the claims are rejected under the same grounds of rejection.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuzo (US 2006/0294295 A1), and further in view of Bacchus et al. (WO 2017/065802 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fukuzo teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a first memory module that comprise one or more types of memory media, wherein the first memory module includes a first interface couplable to a host (Fig. 2, an interference 12 coupled between a first memory module 516 and the host 502),
wherein the first interface is configured to transfer data or commands, or both, between the host and the first memory module via a first bus according to a first protocol (Fig. 2, the first interface 12 configured to transfer data and commands between memory module 516 and host using a first bus 64),
wherein the first memory module includes a second interface couplable to a second memory module (Fig. 2, second interface 520 is coupled to the second memory module 514b); and
wherein the first interface and the second interface are configured to transfer data or commands, or both between the host and the second memory module via the first bus and a second bus according to a second protocol (first interface and second interface configured to transfer data and commands between the host and the second memory module 514b using a second bus).
Fukuzo does teach wherein the first protocol enables non-deterministic execution of commands.
Bacchus teaches a first interface uses a first protocol enables non-deterministic execution of commands (Fig. 1, Non-deterministic interface 108).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person with the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to non-deterministic protocol because it has a better power efficiency by preventing the system from wasting energy forcing idle wait states to match a fixed deterministic clock and latency. Also, non-deterministic protocol does not need a synchronization logic, which will reduce the hardware.
Regarding claim 5, Fukuzo further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first memory module comprises a controller configured to control execution of commands according to the first protocol and the second protocol (Fig. 4, SDRAM control logic 120).
Regarding claim 6, Fukuzo further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first memory module comprises a controller configured to transfer data or commands, or both, between the first interface and the second interface (Fig. 4, SDRAM control logic 120).
Regarding claim 7, Fukuzo further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second interface is configured to transfer data or commands, or both, between the first memory module and the second memory module according to the second protocol in response to the first memory module receiving commands from the host according to the first protocol (Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 8-20, the claims have similar limitations as the claims above. Therefore, the claims are rejected under the same grounds of rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Khamdan N. Alrobaie/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824