DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12119358. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the instant claims are taught by the claims of the ‘358 Patent in similar terms as set forth in the table below.
Instant
Claim
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
‘358 Claim
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wada et al. (JP 2006-173488, hereinafter all citations to this document are made to the attached machine translation).
With regard to claim 1, Wada teaches, in Figs 2-5, a detection device comprising: a substrate (51); detection elements (Ca, T1) each including a photoelectric conversion element (Ca), and a transistor (T1), the detection elements including a first detection element, a second detection element, and a third detection element (several shown, here taking 3 left to right in a row); and signal lines (V1-V3, W, etc.), each of which is provided between the detection elements adjacent to each other in a first direction (horizontal in the figure), extends in a second direction (vertical in the figure) intersecting the first direction, and is configured to supply a signal to any one of the detection elements, wherein a first signal line (V3) among the signal lines is arranged between the first detection element and the second detection element adjacent to one side in the first direction of the first detection element, and is coupled to the first detection element and the second detection element, and a second signal line (V2) among the signal lines is arranged between the first detection element and the third detection element adjacent to another side in the first direction of the first detection element, and is coupled to the first detection element and the third detection element.
With regard to claim 2, Wada teaches, in Figs 2-5, that the signal lines comprise reference signal lines configured to supply a reference potential to the detection elements (page 6, paragraph 6), and among the detection elements, two detection elements adjacent to each other in the first direction are electrically coupled to one of the reference signal lines arranged between the two detection elements and are symmetrically arranged with the reference signal line interposed between the two detection elements (see figures; page 7, paragraph 7).
With regard to claim 3, Wada teaches, in Figs 2-5, output signal lines (BL) configured to output signals from the transistors, wherein the reference signal line is provided between two output signal lines adjacent to each other in the first direction among the output signal lines (see figures).
With regard to claim 4, Wada teaches, in Figs 2-5, that the detection elements are arranged at an equal arrangement pitch in the first direction (see figures).
With regard to claim 5, Wada teaches, in Figs 2-5, that an external shape of each of the photoelectric conversion elements is symmetrical with respect to a virtual line serving as an axis of symmetry that passes through a midpoint of one of the photoelectric conversion elements in the first direction and is parallel to the second direction (see figures; page 7, paragraph 7).
With regard to claim 6, Wada teaches, in Figs 2-5, that the detection element comprises a plurality of gate lines (W) extending in the first direction and adjacent to each other in the second direction, and the transistors (T3 at least) are arranged between the gate lines adjacent to each other in the second direction.
With regard to claim 7, Wada teaches, in Figs 2-5, output signal lines (BL) configured to output signals from the transistors, wherein a region occupied by the signal lines and the output signal lines is symmetrical with respect to a virtual line serving as an axis of symmetry that passes through a midpoint of one of the detection elements in the first direction and is parallel to the second direction (see figures; page 7, paragraph 7).
With regard to claim 8, Wada teaches, in Figs 2-5, that the transistors in each of the detection elements comprise a source follower transistor (T2), a reset transistor (T4), and a read transistor (T3), the signal lines comprise reset signal lines (R) configured to supply a reset signal to the reset transistors and power supply signal lines (V1) configured to supply a power supply potential to the source follower transistors, and two of the source follower transistors adjacent to each other in the first direction are electrically coupled to one of the power supply signal lines arranged between the two source follower transistors and are symmetrically arranged with the power supply signal line interposed between the two source follower transistors (see figures; page 7, paragraph 7).
With regard to claim 9, Wada teaches, in Figs 2-5, that the transistors in each of the detection elements comprise a source follower transistor (T2), a reset transistor (T4), and a read transistor (T3), the signal lines comprise reset signal lines (R) configured to supply a reset signal to the reset transistors and power supply signal lines (V1) configured to supply a power supply potential to the source follower transistors, and two of the source follower transistors adjacent to each other in the first direction are electrically coupled to one of the power supply signal lines arranged between the two source follower transistors and are symmetrically arranged with two of the reset signal lines and the power supply signal line interposed between the two source follower transistors (see figures; page 7, paragraph 7).
With regard to claim 10, Wada teaches, in Figs 2-5, that each of the power supply signal lines is provided between two of the reset signal lines adjacent to each other in the first direction (see figures; page 7, paragraph 7).
With regard to claim 11, Wada teaches, in Figs 2-5, that each of the power supply signal lines is provided between two of the reset signal lines adjacent to each other in the first direction (see figures; page 7, paragraph 7).
Conclusion
/RAJ R GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893