Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on September 16, 2024, June 2, 2025, and March 23, 2026 were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 18-19 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which were not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 10 recites “the structure …., wherein horizontal legs of the inverted "T" shaped spacer are between insulator material above an intrinsic collector material and the emitter region” (emphasis added). The specification describes intrinsic collector material in Par. 0023 as “[t]he semiconductor material 26 may act as an intrinsic emitter region and the semiconductor material 28 may act as an intrinsic collector region” (Par. 0023; Figs. 3-7). In Par. 0028 and 0029; reference numeral 30, instead of reference numeral 28, is designated as the intrinsic collector region. With these conflicting identification of the intrinsic collector region, the Examiner is confused and has no idea what is really meant by the term intrinsic collector region. Furthermore, Figs. 6-7 show extrinsic base 46 (Par. 0028) wrapping around and in contact with both semiconductor materials 28 and 30. The Examiner’s understanding is that the base is biased through extrinsic base and if it is in direct contact to the intrinsic collector region (whether 28 or 30) that will put the base and the collector at the same bias voltage. In other words, the collector will not be reverse biased compared to the base region to collect the carriers as is generally done. Claims 18 and 19 are also plagued with similar issues. Appropriate correction/clarification is requested.
Claim 19, furthermore, inherits the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112, 1st paragraph (pre-AIA ) rejection based on its dependency on claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 18-19 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites “the structure …., wherein horizontal legs of the inverted "T" shaped spacer are between insulator material above an intrinsic collector material and the emitter region” (emphasis added). The specification describes intrinsic collector material in Par. 0023 as “[t]he semiconductor material 26 may act as an intrinsic emitter region and the semiconductor material 28 may act as an intrinsic collector region” (Par. 0023; Figs. 3-7). In Par. 0028 and 0029; reference numeral 30, instead of reference numeral 28, is designated as the intrinsic collector region. With these conflicting identification of the intrinsic collector region, the Examiner is confused and has no idea what is really meant by the term intrinsic collector region. Furthermore, Figs. 6-7 show extrinsic base 46 (Par. 0028) wrapping around and in contact with both semiconductor materials 28 and 30. The Examiner’s understanding is that the base is biased through extrinsic base and if it is in direct contact to the intrinsic collector region (whether 28 or 30) that will put the base and the collector at the same bias voltage. In other words, the collector will not be reverse biased compared to the base region to collect the carriers as is generally done. Claims 18 and 19 are also plagued with similar issues. Appropriate correction/clarification is requested. Claim 19, furthermore, inherits the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph (pre-AIA ) rejection based on its dependency on claim 18.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based e-Terminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An e-Terminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about e-Terminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,855,196 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding Claim 1, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2 discloses a structure comprising: an extrinsic base overlapping an emitter region and an intrinsic base (claim 1); and an inverted "T" shaped spacer comprising insulator material which separates the emitter region from the extrinsic base (claim 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, further comprising a silicide on the extrinsic base which wraps around the emitter region (claim 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 2, discloses the structure, wherein the intrinsic base comprises a raised intrinsic base region, and the silicide and the extrinsic base wrap around the raised intrinsic base region and the emitter region (claim 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base comprises polysilicon material (claim 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base comprises mono-crystalline silicon material (claim 5).
Regarding Claim 6, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein the inverted “T” shaped spacer partially extends under a portion of the emitter region and includes vertical sidewalls extending upwardly onto sidewalls of the emitter region (claim 6).
Regarding Claim 7, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 6, discloses the structure, wherein the portion of the inverted “T” shaped spacer that partially extends under the portion of the emitter region comprises two different insulator materials (claim 7).
Regarding Claim 8, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base is partially on top of the emitter region (claim 8).
Regarding Claim 9, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 8, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base and silicide on the extrinsic base comprise an opening on the top of the emitter region (claim 9).
Regarding Claim 10, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein horizontal legs of the inverted "T" shaped spacer are between insulator material above an intrinsic collector material and the emitter region (combinations of claims 1 & 19).
Regarding Claim 11, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2 discloses a structure comprising: a collector region (claim 11); a raised intrinsic base (claim 11); an emitter (claim 11); and an extrinsic base wrapping around the emitter; and a silicide on the extrinsic base which wraps around the emitter (claim 11).
Regarding Claim 12, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 11, discloses the structure, wherein the emitter comprises a silicon based material and the raised intrinsic base comprises single crystalline SiGe semiconductor material. (claims 12-14).
Regarding Claim 13, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 12, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base wraps around and partially above the emitter and the raised intrinsic base (claim 11).
Regarding Claim 14, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 12, discloses the structure, further comprising a spacer separating the emitter from the extrinsic base (claim 15).
Regarding Claim 15, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 14, discloses the structure, wherein the spacer is an inverted “T” shaped spacer partially under the emitter (claim 16).
Regarding Claim 16, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 12, discloses the structure, further comprising silicide on the extrinsic base (claim 17).
Regarding Claim 17, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 16, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base surrounds sides and partially a top surface of the emitter with an opening for a contact (claim 18).
Regarding Claim 18, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 12, discloses the structure, further comprising an intrinsic collector region below the extrinsic base, and an inverted “T” shaped spacer which separates the intrinsic collector region from the emitter (claim 19).
Regarding Claim 19, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 18, discloses the structure, further comprising an insulator material over the intrinsic collector region and the inverted “T” shaped spacer includes a portion between the insulator material and the emitter (claim 19).
Regarding Claim 20, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2 discloses a method comprising: forming an extrinsic base overlapping an emitter region and an intrinsic base (claim 20); and forming an inverted "T" shaped spacer comprising insulator material which separates the emitter region from the extrinsic base (claim 20).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,142,673 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding Claim 1, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2 discloses a structure comprising: an extrinsic base overlapping an emitter region and an intrinsic base (claim 1); and an inverted "T" shaped spacer comprising insulator material which separates the emitter region from the extrinsic base (claim 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, further comprising a silicide on the extrinsic base which wraps around the emitter region (claim 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 2, discloses the structure, wherein the intrinsic base comprises a raised intrinsic base region, and the silicide and the extrinsic base wrap around the raised intrinsic base region and the emitter region (claim 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base comprises polysilicon material (claim 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base comprises mono-crystalline silicon material (claim 5).
Regarding Claim 6, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein the inverted “T” shaped spacer partially extends under a portion of the emitter region and includes vertical sidewalls extending upwardly onto sidewalls of the emitter region (claim 6).
Regarding Claim 7, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 6, discloses the structure, wherein the portion of the inverted “T” shaped spacer that partially extends under the portion of the emitter region comprises two different insulator materials (claim 7).
Regarding Claim 8, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base is partially on top of the emitter region (claim 8).
Regarding Claim 9, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 8, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base and silicide on the extrinsic base comprise an opening on the top of the emitter region (claim 9).
Regarding Claim 10, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein horizontal legs of the inverted "T" shaped spacer are between insulator material above an intrinsic collector material and the emitter region (combinations of claims 1 & 19).
Regarding Claim 11, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2 discloses a structure comprising: a collector region (claim 11); a raised intrinsic base (claim 11); an emitter (claim 11); and an extrinsic base wrapping around the emitter; and a silicide on the extrinsic base which wraps around the emitter (claim 11).
Regarding Claim 12, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 11, discloses the structure, wherein the emitter comprises a silicon based material and the raised intrinsic base comprises single crystalline SiGe semiconductor material. (claims 12-14).
Regarding Claim 13, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 12, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base wraps around and partially above the emitter and the raised intrinsic base (claim 11).
Regarding Claim 14, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 12, discloses the structure, further comprising a spacer separating the emitter from the extrinsic base (claim 15).
Regarding Claim 15, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 14, discloses the structure, wherein the spacer is an inverted “T” shaped spacer partially under the emitter (claim 16).
Regarding Claim 16, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 12, discloses the structure, further comprising silicide on the extrinsic base (claim 17).
Regarding Claim 17, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 16, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base surrounds sides and partially a top surface of the emitter with an opening for a contact (claim 18).
Regarding Claim 18, Patent No.: US 11,855,196 B2, as applied to claim 12, discloses the structure, further comprising an intrinsic collector region below the extrinsic base, and an inverted “T” shaped spacer which separates the intrinsic collector region from the emitter (claim 19).
Regarding Claim 19, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2, as applied to claim 18, discloses the structure, further comprising an insulator material over the intrinsic collector region and the inverted “T” shaped spacer includes a portion between the insulator material and the emitter (claim 19).
Regarding Claim 20, Patent No.: US 12,142,673 B2 discloses a method comprising: forming an extrinsic base overlapping an emitter region and an intrinsic base (claim 20); and forming an inverted "T" shaped spacer comprising insulator material which separates the emitter region from the extrinsic base (claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oda et al. (Pub. No.: US 2001/0017399 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Oda et al. discloses
a structure comprising: an extrinsic base overlapping an emitter region and an intrinsic base (Par. 0053-0054; Fig. 5C – extrinsic base comprising base leading-out electrode 9 and p-type link base layer 15; emitter region comprising emitter area 20 and emitter electrode 19; intrinsic base 14); and
an inverted "T" shaped spacer comprising insulator material which separates the emitter region from the extrinsic base (Par. 0054 & 0093; Fig. 5C – inverted “T” shaped spacer 16 formed of silicon oxide).
Regarding Claim 2, Oda et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, further comprising a silicide on the extrinsic base which wraps around the emitter region (Par. 0106; Figs. 5C in light of Fig. 12 – silicide 28 (use of silicide to reduce contact resistance is well-known in the art; the teachings of Fig. 12 could be easily transferred to add a silicide 28 on the extrinsic base 9 of Fig. 5C)).
Regarding Claim 3, Oda et al., as applied to claim 2, discloses the structure, wherein the intrinsic base comprises a raised intrinsic base region, and the silicide and the extrinsic base wrap around the raised intrinsic base region and the emitter region (Par. 0053-0054; Fig. 5C – intrinsic base comprises raised intrinsic base region 14 (raised compared to p-type layer 13a).
Regarding Claim 4, Oda et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base comprises polysilicon material (Par. 0054 – extrinsic base 9 comprises p-type polysilicon).
Regarding Claim 5, Oda et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein the extrinsic base comprises mono-crystalline silicon material (Par. 0053-0054; Fig. 5C – a portion of layer 14 which is in close proximity to extrinsic base 15 could also be considered as a part of the extrinsic base; layer 14 comprises mono-crystalline silicon germanium).
Regarding Claim 6, Oda et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the structure, wherein the inverted “T” shaped spacer partially extends under a portion of the emitter region and includes vertical sidewalls extending upwardly onto sidewalls of the emitter region (Fig. 5C).
Regarding Claim 11, Oda et al. discloses a structure comprising: a collector region (Par. 0053-0054; Fig. 5C – collector region comprising collector areas 3, 12 & 18);
a raised intrinsic base (Par. 0053-0054; Fig. 5C – intrinsic base comprises raised intrinsic base region 14 (raised compared to p-type layer 13a); an emitter (Par. 0053-0054; Fig. 5C – emitter region comprising emitter area 20 and emitter electrode 19); and an extrinsic base wrapping around the emitter; and a silicide on the extrinsic base which wraps around the emitter (Par. 0053-0054; Fig. 5C – extrinsic base comprising base leading-out electrode 9 and p-type link base layer 15; also see Par. 0106; Figs. 5C in light of Fig. 12 – silicide 28 (use of silicide to reduce contact resistance is well-known in the art; the teachings of Fig. 12 could be easily transferred to add a silicide 28 on the extrinsic base 9 of Fig. 5C).
Regarding Claim 12, Oda et al., as applied to claim 11, discloses the structure, wherein the emitter comprises a silicon based material and the raised intrinsic base comprises single crystalline SiGe semiconductor material. (Par. 0053-0054; Fig. 5C – emitter region comprising emitter electrode 19 is formed of polysilicon, a silicon based material; raised intrinsic base 14 comprises single crystalline SiGe semiconductor material).
Regarding Claim 14, Oda et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses the structure, further comprising a spacer separating the emitter from the extrinsic base (Par. 0053-0054; Fig. 5C – spacer 16 ).
Regarding Claim 15, Oda et al., as applied to claim 14, discloses the structure, wherein the spacer is an inverted “T” shaped spacer partially under the emitter (Par. 0053-0054; Fig. 5C).
Regarding Claim 16, Oda et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses the structure, further comprising silicide on the extrinsic base (Par. 0106; Figs. 5C in light of Fig. 12 – silicide 28 (use of silicide to reduce contact resistance is well-known in the art; the teachings of Fig. 12 could be easily transferred to add a silicide 28 on the extrinsic base 9 of Fig. 5C)).
Regarding Claim 18, Oda et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses the structure, further comprising an intrinsic collector region below the extrinsic base, and an inverted “T” shaped spacer which separates the intrinsic collector region from the emitter (Fig. 5C).
Regarding Claim 19, Oda et al., as applied to claim 18, discloses the structure, further comprising an insulator material over the intrinsic collector region and the inverted “T” shaped spacer includes a portion between the insulator material and the emitter (Par. 0053-0054; Fig. 5C – insulator material 17; collector layer 12 could be considered as the intrinsic collector region).
Regarding Claim 20, Oda et al. discloses a method comprising: forming an extrinsic base overlapping an emitter region and an intrinsic base (Par. 0053-0054; Fig. 5C – extrinsic base comprising base leading-out electrode 9 and p-type link base layer 15; emitter region comprising emitter area 20 and emitter electrode 19; intrinsic base 14); and
forming an inverted "T" shaped spacer comprising insulator material which separates the emitter region from the extrinsic base (Par. 0054 & 0093; Fig. 5C – inverted “T” shaped spacer 16 formed of silicon oxide).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Chan et al. (US 2013/0146947 A1) – This prior art teaches a structure (Fig. 20) comprising: a collector region (122); an emitter region (180) adjacent to the collector region (122); an intrinsic base (108); an extrinsic base (101) overlapping the emitter region (180) and the intrinsic base (108); and an spacer (160) comprising insulator material which separates the emitter region (180) from the extrinsic base (101).
2. Geiss et al. (US 6,911,681 B1) – This prior art teaches a structure (Fig. 14) comprising: a collector region (112); an emitter region (800) adjacent to the collector region (112); an intrinsic base (116); an extrinsic base (200) overlapping the emitter region (800) and the intrinsic base (116); and an L-shaped spacer (comprising 700 with 120) comprising insulator material which separates the emitter region (800) from the extrinsic base (200).
10/14/2026
/SYED I GHEYAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893