DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-5 & 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEI et al. US2018/0332735 in view of Myhre et al. US2022/0252800.
Per claim 1 WEI et al. teaches a cooling module (10; [0017]) comprising: a substrate (14); a heat radiation member (16, see fig.1; [0019]) fixed to the substrate with a gap between the heat radiation member and the substrate (see fig.1); a guide member (20) that is disposed at a surface of the heat radiation member on a side of the substrate (see fig.1) and that allows an electronic device (26) to be inserted between the guide member and the substrate (see fig.1); a fixing mechanism (22; [0020]) that fixes the guide member to the heat radiation member so as to be movable in a direction in which the substrate and the guide member face each other ([0020]-[0021] & [0027]); and a compressively deformable heat conductive member (22; [0020]-[0021] & [0027], “the fixing mechanism is also the compressively deformable heat conductive member”) that is disposed between the heat radiation member and the guide member (see fig.1).
WEI et al. does not explicitly teach the compressively deformable heat conductive member overlaps with an opening provided in the guide member in a plan view.
Myhre et al. however discloses the compressively deformable heat conductive member (76) overlaps with an opening provided in the guide member (20) in a plan view (see fig.7; [0059]-[0060], “heat pipe 20 may be embedded in the thermally conductive element 76, Examiner notes that the heat pipe has interior openings that allows the thermally conductive element 76 to be embedded in it”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a compressively deformable heat conductive member as taught by Myhre et al. in the cooling module of WEI et al., because it enables effective contact between the electronic device and the heat radiation member by ensuring a tight coupling between the electronic device and heat radiation member for effective thermal dissipation.
Per claim 2 WEI et al. in view of Myhre et al. teaches the cooling module according to claim 1, wherein the guide member (20, “WEI et al.”) includes a protrusion portion that protrudes toward the side of the substrate (see fig.1, “WEI et al.”), a side surface of the protrusion portion on a side into which the electronic device is inserted is an inclined surface (see fig.1, “WEI et al.”), and the opening is provided in a top surface of the protrusion portion (see fig.7, “Myhre et al.).
Per claim 3 WEI et al. in view of Myhre et al. teaches the cooling module according to claim 2, wherein the guide member (20) has a recess portion (see fig.7 & 9, “slanted portion is recessed from the top and bottom portions”) coupled to the opening (see fig.7 & 9, “interior opening”) in a surface on a side of the heat radiation member (see fig.7), and the heat conductive member (76) is provided in the recess portion and overlaps with the opening in a plan view (see fig.7; [0060]).
Per claim 4 WEI et al. in view of Myhre et al. teaches the cooling module according to claim 1, wherein the guide member is pushed up toward a side of the heat radiation member when the electronic device inserted between the substrate and the guide member comes into contact with the guide member, and the heat conductive member is compressively deformed when the guide member is pushed up toward the side of the heat radiation member ([0020]-[0021] & [0025]-[0029]).
Per claim 5 WEI et al. in view of Myhre et al. teaches the cooling module according to claim 1, wherein the fixing mechanism (22) includes a fixing member (see fig.1, “the fixing mechanism is the fixing member”) that fixes the guide member to the heat radiation member and an energizing member (22, “the elasticity of the fixing mechanism 22 is the energizing member of the fixing mechanism”) that is provided between the guide member and the heat radiation member and energizes the guide member toward the side of the substrate ([0020]-[0021] & [0025]-[0029]).
Per claim 11 WEI et al. in view of Myhre et al. teaches the cooling module according to claim 1, wherein the heat radiation member (16) has a refrigerant flow path (72) through which a refrigerant (74) flows (see fig.3).
Per claim 12 WEI et al. in view of Myhre et al. teaches the cooling module according to claim 1, wherein the heat radiation member (16) has a plurality of heat dissipation fins (30, see fig.1).
Claim(s) 6-7 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEI et al. US2018/0332735 in view of Myhre et al. US2022/0252800 as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Aoki et al. US2004/0043229.
Per claim 6 WEI et al. in view of Myhre et al. teaches the cooling module according to claim 1,
Wei et al. in view of Myhre et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the heat conductive member is rubber to which a heat conductive filler is added.
Aoki et al. however discloses wherein the heat conductive member is rubber to which a heat conductive filler is added (Abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a heat conductive filler added to a rubber as taught by Aoki et al. in the cooling module of WEI et al. in view of Myhre et al., because it enable adhesive coupling of the electronic device to the heat radiating member while also ensuring thermal dissipation between the electronic device and the heat radiating member.
Per claim 7 WEI et al. in view of Myhre et al. teaches the cooling module according to claim 1,
WEI et al. in view of Myhre et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising: a coating film that covers the heat conductive member.
Aoki et al. however discloses further comprising: a coating film that covers the heat conductive member ([0093]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a coating film as taught by Aoki et al. in the cooling module of WEI et al. in view of Myhre et al., because it the covering of the heat conductive member.
Per claim 10 WEI et al. in view of Myhre et al. and Aoki et al. teaches the cooling module according to claim 7, wherein the heat conductive member is rubber to which a heat conductive filler is added, and the coating film is a polyethylene terephthalate film ([0093]), a polytetrafluoroethylene film, or a stainless steel film.
Allowable Subject matter
2. Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8, includes allowable subject matter because of the cooling module according to claim 7, wherein the coating film has an opening in a surface of the heat conductive member on a side of the heat radiation member.
Claim 9, includes allowable subject matter because of the cooling module according to claim 7, wherein the coating film has an opening in a surface of the heat conductive member on the side of the substrate.
Email Communication
3. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Scott US2023/0034486 discloses a host electronic device comprising a support structure; a cooling component movably connected to the support structure.
Chiang et al. US2020/0323105 discloses an electrical connection apparatus comprising: a receptacle comprising: a cage defining an accommodation space extending along a mating direction and being elongated and a port in communication with the accommodation space in the mating direction.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841