DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2023-0126814, filed on 09/22/2023 in Korea.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 09/16/2024 has been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 09/16/2024 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi [US 2021/0092855], in view of HOU Xiao-meng [CN 110784125].
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses an electronic device (500, figures 1-18 and 19-26) comprising:
a display layer (510, figures 20-21 and 24-25) comprising a first non-folding display region (512, figures 20-21 and 24-25), a second non-folding display region (511, figures 20-21 and 24-25) spaced apart from the first non-folding display region in a first direction (W2 direction, figure 22), and a folding display region (513, figures 20-21 and 24-25) disposed between the first non-folding display region and the second non-folding display region;
a support plate (520, figures 20-21 and 24-25) disposed under the display layer, the support plate comprising a folding portion (523, figures 20-21 and 24-25) folded with respect to a folding axis (F, figure 22) extending in a second direction (F direction, figure 22) intersecting the first direction, a first non-folding portion(522, figures 20-21 and 24-25) extending in the first direction from the folding portion, and a second non-folding portion (521, figures 20-21 and 24-25) spaced apart from the first non-folding portion by the folding portion;
an internal battery (119, figure 3);
a driving chip (at least one driver is installed within a spacer 509 of the display device 500, paragraph 0233); and
a processor (at least one CPU is installed within the display device, paragraphs 0016-0018).
Choi discloses the claimed invention except for the internal battery disposed under the support plate; an energy conversion layer disposed under the internal battery and electrically connected to the internal battery; the driving chip disposed under the energy conversion layer and electrically connected to the internal battery and the display layer; and the processor disposed under the driving chip and configured to drive the driving chip.
HOU xiao-meng discloses an electronic device (figures 1-4) comprising a display panel (10, figures 1-2), an internal battery (70, figures 3-4) disposed within the electronic device, an energy conversion layer (30, figures 1-4) disclosed under the display panel and electrically connected to the internal battery (figures 3-4); and a processor (20, figures 1-2) disposed under the energy conversion layer (figures 1-2).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add an energy conversion layer under an internal battery in the electronic device of Choi, as suggested by HOU xiao-meng, in order to conduct heat away from an electronic device’s battery.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange a display panel, a support plate, internal battery, an energy conversion layer, a driving, and a processor in a single stack in an electronic device of Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, in order to form a highly optimized hardware stack and improve thermal management within an electronic device, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, further disclose wherein the internal battery (119, figure 3) overlaps at least a portion of a second non-folding portion (131a, figure 3) in a plan view.
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the energy conversion layer overlaps at least a portion of the second non-folding portion in a plan view.
HOU xiao-meng further disclose wherein the energy conversion layer (30, figures 1-2) overlaps at least a portion of a second non-folding portion (10, figures 1-2) in a plan view.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set an energy conversion layer overlaps at least a portion of a non-folding portion in a plan view of an electronic device of Choi, as suggested by HOU xiao-meng, in order to conduct heat away from a non-folding portion of an electronic device.
Regarding claim 4, Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, disclose a driving chip is mounted in an extension area (509, figures 22-23, paragraph 0238) which is overlaps at least a portion of the non-folding portion in a plan view (512, figure 20).
Regarding claim 5, Choi disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the processor overlaps at least a portion of the second non-folding portion in a plan view.
HOU xiao-meng further discloses wherein the processor (20, figures 1-2) overlaps at least a portion of a non-folding portion in a plan view (10, figures 1-2).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set a processor overlaps at least a portion of a non-folding portion in a plan view of an electronic device of Choi, as suggested by HOU xiao-meng, in order to protect the processor in a folding device.
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the energy conversion layer converts heat generated by the processor into electrical energy.
HOU xiao-meng, further discloses wherein the energy conversion layer converts heat generated by the processor into electrical energy (The invention through the display module 10….the heat can by fully used, see document).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use an energy conversion layer within an electronic device of Choi, as suggested by HOU xiao-meng, in order to conduct heat away from the processor of an electronic device.
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the internal battery stores the electrical energy and provides the electrical energy to the driving chip.
HOU xiao-meng discloses wherein the internal battery stores the electrical energy and provides the electrical energy to the driving chip (60, figures 3-4).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use internal battery stores the electrical energy in electronic device of Choi, as suggested by HOU xiao-meng, in order to reduce the battery temperature of an electronic device.
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the driving chip is supplied with the electrical energy and provides a driving voltage to the display layer.
HOU xiao-meng further discloses wherein a driving chip (60, figures 3-4) is supplied with the electrical energy and provides a driving voltage to the display layer.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a specific driver chip in an electronic device of Choi, as suggested by HOU xiao-meng, in order to improve highly stable, efficient currency system for electronic devices.
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the energy conversion layer comprises a material which operates at room temperature.
HOU xiao-meng further discloses wherein the energy conversion layer comprises a material which operates at room temperature (a thermoelectric conversion function layer can operate at room temperature).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to build an energy conversion layer comprises a material which operates at room temperature, in an electronic device of Choi, as suggested by HOU xiao-meng, in order to facilitate an electronic device.
Regarding claim 11, Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, disclose wherein a plurality of openings (525, figure 20) are disposed in the folding portion, and the plurality of openings are spaced apart in the first direction (figures 20-21).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi [US 2021/0092855], in view of HOU Xiao-meng [CN 110784125] and Lee et al. [US 2019/0310302].
Regarding claim 17, Choi discloses an electronic device (500, figures 1-18 and 19-26) comprising:
a display layer (510, figures 20-21 and 24-25);
a support plate (520, figures 20-21 and 24-25) disposed under the display layer,
an internal battery (119, figure 3);
a driving chip (at least one driver is installed within a spacer 509 of the display device 500, paragraph 0233); and
a processor (at least one CPU is installed within the display device, paragraphs 0016-0018).
Choi discloses the claimed invention except for the internal battery disposed under the support plate; an energy conversion layer disposed under the internal battery and electrically connected to the internal battery; the driving chip disposed under the energy conversion layer and electrically connected to the internal battery and the display layer; and the processor disposed under the driving chip and configured to drive the driving chip; a flexible printed circuit board electrically connecting the driving chip to the display layer, wherein the flexible printed circuit board comprises a first portion, a bending portion extending from the first portion, and a second portion extending from the bending portion, the first portion contacts the display layer, the bending portion is bent to a rear surface of the display layer, and the driving chip is mounted on the second portion.
HOU xiao-meng discloses an electronic device (figures 1-4) comprising a display panel (10, figures 1-2), an internal battery (70, figures 3-4) disposed within the electronic device, an energy conversion layer (30, figures 1-4) disclosed under the display panel and electrically connected to the internal battery (figures 3-4); and a processor (20, figures 1-2) disposed under the energy conversion layer (figures 1-2).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add an energy conversion layer under an internal battery in the electronic device of Choi, as suggested by HOU xiao-meng, in order to conduct heat away from an electronic device’s battery.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange a display panel, a support plate, internal battery, an energy conversion layer, a driving, and a processor in a single stack in an electronic device of Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, in order to form a highly optimized hardware stack and improve thermal management within an electronic device, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Lee et al., disclose a display apparatus (1, figures 1-7) comprising display panel (500, figures 1-4) and a driving chip (TIC, figure 4) is electrically connected to the display panel via a flexible printed circuit board (600, figure 4), the flexible printed circuit board comprises a first portion (610, figure 4), a bending portion (630, figure 4) extending from the first portion, and a second portion (650, figure 4) extending from the bending portion, the first portion contacts the display layer (figure 4), the bending portion is bent to a rear surface of the display layer (figure 4), and the driving chip is mounted on the second portion (figure 4).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a flexible printed circuit board including a driver thereon in an electronic device of Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, as suggested by Lee et al., in order to transfer signals from a panel driver to a display panel of an electronic device.
Regarding claim 18, Choi, in view of Lee et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the energy conversion layer converts heat generated by the processor into electrical energy.
HOU xiao-meng, further discloses wherein the energy conversion layer converts heat generated by the processor into electrical energy (The invention through the display module 10….the heat can by fully used, see document).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use an energy conversion layer within an electronic device of Choi, in view of Lee et al., as suggested by HOU xiao-meng, in order to conduct heat away from the processor of an electronic device.
Regarding claim 19, Choi, in view of Lee et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the internal battery stores the electrical energy and provides the electrical energy to the driving chip.
HOU xiao-meng discloses wherein the internal battery stores the electrical energy and provides the electrical energy to the driving chip (60, figures 3-4).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use internal battery stores the electrical energy in electronic device of Choi, in view of Lee et al., as suggested by HOU xiao-meng, in order to reduce the battery temperature of an electronic device.
Regarding claim 20, Choi, in view of Lee et al., disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the driving chip is supplied with the electrical energy and provides a driving voltage to the display layer.
HOU xiao-meng further discloses wherein a driving chip (60, figures 3-4) is supplied with the electrical energy and provides a driving voltage to the display layer.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a specific driver chip in an electronic device of Choi, in view of Lee et al., as suggested by HOU xiao-meng, in order to improve highly stable, efficient currency system for electronic devices.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. [US 2019/0310302].
Regarding claim 6, Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the driving chip is electrically connected to the display layer via a flexible printed circuit board, the flexible printed circuit board comprises a first portion, a bending portion extending from the first portion, and a second portion extending from the bending portion, the first portion contacts the display layer, the bending portion is bent to a rear surface of the display layer, and the driving chip is mounted on the second portion.
Lee et al., disclose a display apparatus (1, figures 1-7) comprising display panel (500, figures 1-4) and a driving chip (TIC, figure 4) is electrically connected to the display panel via a flexible printed circuit board (600, figure 4), the flexible printed circuit board comprises a first portion (610, figure 4), a bending portion (630, figure 4) extending from the first portion, and a second portion (650, figure 4) extending from the bending portion, the first portion contacts the display layer (figure 4), the bending portion is bent to a rear surface of the display layer (figure 4), and the driving chip is mounted on the second portion (figure 4).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a flexible printed circuit board including a driver thereon in an electronic device of Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, as suggested by Lee et al., in order to transfer signals from a panel driver to a display panel of an electronic device.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. [US 2021/0397221].
Regarding claim 12, Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, disclose the claimed invention except for a protective layer, a metal layer, a heat dissipation layer, and an insulating layer, wherein the protective layer, the metal layer, the heat dissipation layer, and the insulating layer are disposed between the support plate and the internal battery.
Hwang et al., disclose a display device (1000, figures 1-12) comprising a display panel (100, figures 3-4), wherein the display panel is supported by a support plate (100/710, figure 3, paragraph 0121), a protective layer (730, figure 3, paragraph 0121), a metal layer (810, figure 3, paragraph 0133), a heat dissipation layer (820, figure 3, paragraph 0133), and an insulating layer (830, figure 3, paragraph 0129), wherein the protective layer, the metal layer, the heat dissipation layer, and the insulating layer are disposed between the support plate (700, figure 3) and a bottom case (figures 1A-1B).
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a stack of a protective layer, a metal layer, a heat dissipation layer, and an insulating layer and arrange between the support plate and the internal battery of an electronic device of Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, as suggested by Hwang, in order to design a plurality of layers in a compact, high-thermal display electronic device, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 13, Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the protective layer is disposed under the support plate, and the protective layer overlaps the folding portion in a plan view.
Hwang et al., further disclose wherein the protective layer (730, figure 3) is disposed under the support plate (710, figure 3), and the protective layer overlaps a folding portion (1000A2, figure 3) in a plan view.
It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set a protective layer overlaps a folding portion in an electronic device of Choi, in view of HOU xiao-meng, as suggested by Hwang et al., in order to prevent a folding portion of folding device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claim 14 discloses the combination features of “wherein the metal layer is disposed under the protective layer, and the metal layer does not overlap at least a portion of the folding portion in a plan view.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the combination features of the claims 12 and 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
The claim 15 discloses the combination features of “wherein the heat dissipation layer is disposed under the metal layer, and the heat dissipation layer does not overlap at least a portion of the folding portion in a plan view.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the combination features of the claims 12 and 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
The claim 16 discloses the combination features of “wherein the insulating layer is disposed under the heat dissipation layer and is disposed on the internal battery, and the insulating layer does not overlap at least a portion of the folding portion in a plan view.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the combination features of the claims 12 and 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Drzaic et al. [US 2013/0082984] disclose display and multi-layer printed circuit board with shared flexible substrate;
Lee et al. [US 2014/0240933] disclose flexible display device and method of manufacturing the same; and
Jeong et al. [US 2020/0185641] disclose flexible display apparatus.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Primary Examiner, 2841/2800