DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 09/16/2024.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites paragraphs, figures, and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. As a disclaimer, the use of underlining in direct quotes is done by the examiner for emphasis. Direct quotes are not originally underlined in the published references cited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bijani et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0017505 A1, hereinafter Bijani) in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0268042, hereinafter Wu).
Regarding Claim 1:
Bijani discloses,
“A method for decommissioning an application, the method being implemented by at least one processor, the method comprising” (In paragraph [0003], “this application describes a method and system for decommissioning a computer system and for deploying applications and the associated data”. In paragraph [0085], “the processor 1205 may execute to cause the computer system 1200 to perform any of the operations described above”.);
“receiving first information that relates to a first candidate application for a potential decommissioning” (In paragraph [0030], “the decommissioning system 105 assesses whether an application operating on a given server 110 is suitable for migration”. In paragraph [0032], “the decommissioning system 105 deploys a discovery tool 130 to a server 110 applications. The discovery tool 130 includes modules for performing an analysis of the applications running on the server 110, an in turn transmits application information 135 back to the decommissioning system 105”.);
“retrieving, based on the first information, second information that relates to at least one component and at least one data source associated with the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0032], “transmits application information 135 back to the decommissioning system 105 … The decommissioning system 105 then generates a report that includes assessment information 142 that indicates a given applications suitability for migration to the cloud system 115, cost benefit information for doing so, and details of the type of migration to perform”. In paragraph [0044], “Being migrated indicates that … the data associated with the application has been migrated. The number of decommissioned applications correspond to the number of applications in the data center”. In paragraph [0079], “Referring to FIG. 10, at block 1000, the selected deployment template, cloud model, cloud solution, etc. may be received”. In paragraph [0081], “the decommissioning system 105 may also copy the application directly to the cloud computing system and prepare one or more databases … A user may then transfer the data from the current store location to the store location on the cloud computing system”.
In paragraph [0033], “Previously determined assessments associated with those applications are then utilized to form the basis of the assessment information 142 in the report”. In paragraph [0030], “the decommissioning system 105 assesses whether an application operating on a given server 110 is suitable”.);
“obtaining, based on the first information, third information that relates to data usage associated with the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0049], “Other Information collected by the first module may include the amount of processor usage associated with a given application”. In paragraph [0032], “The discovery tool 130 includes modules for performing an analysis of the applications running on the server 110, an in turn transmits application information 135 back to the decommissioning system 105”.);
“identifying at least one alternate data source that is associated with a target platform to be used for hosting a successor to the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0022], “The embodiments also automate the deployment of the application on a choice of cloud solutions”. In paragraph [0043], “The user 118 may select a first data center 305 … information may include … the number of applications migrated to the cloud computing system 115”.);
“constructing, based on the first information, the second information, and the third information, a data model in the at least one alternate data source” (In paragraph [0066], “A recommended/selected cloud model column 640 indicates the recommendation from the decommissioning system 105 as to which of the above models is preferable”. In paragraph [0080], “the decommissioning system 105 may communicate with the cloud computing system 115 via, for example, a web services interface, instructions to have the cloud computing system 115 generate the desired template and cloud model on the cloud computing system 115”.);
“migrating a first predetermined set of data associated with the first candidate application to the at least one alternate data source” (In paragraph [0081], “the decommissioning system 105 may also copy the application directly to the cloud computing system and prepare one or more databases, or other storage locations on the cloud computing system 115 for receiving data required by the application”.);
“obtaining a confirmation for each of the potential decommissioning of the first candidate application and an archival of legacy data associated with the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0082], “the decommissioning system 105 may update the cloud migration status column 615 in the exemplary report shown in FIG. 6 to indicate that the application is ready to be deployed”. In paragraph [0061], “A status of “Deployed” may indicate that the application has been decommissioned”. In paragraph [0098], “the embodiments may assess the quantity of data currently residing in a given system for which applications are to be migrated, and recommend modes and methods of migration of data or archival of data using offline or near real time storage medium as appropriate”.);
“performing a [] with respect to the first candidate application, the at least one component, and the at least one data source” (In paragraph [0044], “The number of decommissioned applications correspond to the number of applications in the data center than have been shut down”. In paragraph [0084], “if all applications are decommissioned from a given server 110, the server 110 itself may be decommissioned”. In paragraph [0025], “When all the applications at a given data center are deactivated at a given data center, the datacenter itself may be deactivated (i.e., computers sold, etc.). Thus “decommissioning” may also refer to the deactivating of the entire data center”.);
“executing a decommissioning of the first candidate application, the at least one component, and the at least one data source” (In paragraph [0084], “Once the deployment topology has been created, a user of the decommissioning system 105 may take the necessary steps to transfer the application, if not already deployed, and its associated data to the cloud computing system 115. The user may then take the necessary steps to decommission the application from the server 110 from where the application was previously hosted”. In paragraph [0084], “if all applications are decommissioned from a given server 110, the server 110 itself may be decommissioned”.);
“and performing a validation that all traces of the first candidate application, the at least one component, and the at least one data source have been removed as a result of the decommissioning” (In paragraph [0061], “The status indicator may also indicate “Decommissioned” or something similar to indicate that the application has been decommissioned”. In paragraph [0070], “graphical depictions 755 of the network topologies corresponding to the template choices described above may be provided”. In paragraph [0074], “comparison functions may be utilized to compare the video clip image to topology images provided by the cloud service provider to determine a topology/template of the cloud service provider that matches”. In paragraph [0084], “Once the deployment topology has been created, a user of the decommissioning system 105 may take the necessary steps to transfer the application … The user may then take the necessary steps to decommission the application from the server 110 from where the application was previously hosted”.).
Bijani does not disclose however Wu discloses,
“lockdown operation” (In paragraph [0051], “The lockdown prevents servicing data access requests for data associated with the particular entity that are received from client devices associated with users related to the particular entity”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bijani by adopting the teachings of Wu; motivated by the common goal to provide companies secure systems of transferring data “In order to maintain consistency of data” (Wu [0002]).
Regarding Claim 2:
Bijani discloses,
“after the receiving of the first information and before the retrieving of the second information, analyzing the first information to determine whether to recommend the decommissioning of the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0030], “In general, the decommissioning system 105 assesses whether an application operating on a given server 110 is suitable for migration to the cloud system 115, and assesses a cost benefit for doing so”. In paragraph [0033], “The decommissioning system 105 uses the application information 135 provided by the discovery tool 130 to classify the application”. In paragraph [0057], “the decommissioning system 105 may receive the information 135 from the discovery tool 130 and generate a recommendation”. In paragraph [0023], “implementation of the recommendations in terms of decommissioned applications”.);
“and when a determination to recommend the decommissioning of the first candidate application is made, obtaining an approval for the decommissioning of the first candidate application from a predetermined entity” (In paragraph [0096], “the decommissioning system may be configured to request approvals”. In paragraph [0066], “A recommended/selected cloud model column 640 indicates the recommendation from the decommissioning system 105 as to which of the above models is preferable or a selection made be a user of the decommissioning system 105 … for which a model was specified by an SME”. In paragraph [0037], “subject matter experts (SMEs)”.).
Regarding Claim 3:
Bijani discloses,
“wherein the identifying of the at least one alternate data source comprises validating that the at least one alternate data source is associated with the target platform, performing a data comparison between a current data state and a target data state” (In paragraph [0034], “Subject matter experts (SMEs) having detailed knowledge of various applications determine whether an application is suitable for migration to the cloud system along with the type of template to utilize in migrating the application. Property information associated with those applications may have been previously obtained by the discovery tool. The results of the SME determinations and application properties are then related to one another in the training data store”.);
“performing a data reconciliation based on a result of the data comparison” (In paragraph [0054], “a fourth operation may determine any external dependencies of the applications”. In paragraph [0059], “The algorithms above may also be run on each dependency associated with the application”. In paragraph [0060], “Based on the business value, technical fitment and risk/compliance sensitivities of the application as well as it's dependencies, an alternating least squares (ALS) algorithm is utilized to determine the recommended cloud model for the client as one of: SaaS, PaaS, and IaaS, and its cloud nativity as one of: public, private, and on premise”. In paragraph [0066], “A recommended/selected cloud model column 640 indicates the recommendation from the decommissioning system 105 as to which of the above models is preferable or a selection made be a user of the decommissioning system 105. As noted above, this recommendation is based on a comparison of the target application to applications in the training data store 107 for which a model was specified by an SME”.);
“and confirming that the target data state is acceptable to affected entities” (In paragraph [0055], “a fifth operation may locate a configuration management database (CMD) and may scan the CMD to determine the identities and emails of teams and individuals shown over time as having been given access to the applications. The rationale behind this is that the identified users 118 may have some level of interest in the application. It may, therefore, be necessary to contact these users prior decommissioning of the application”.).
Regarding Claim 4:
Bijani discloses,
“wherein the constructing of the data model comprises implementing at least one data management control requirement that relates to at least one from among a , a data access requirementdependencies of the processes on other applications”. In paragraph [0053], “a given application may require functions defined in a code library”. In paragraph [0052], “a second operation of the discovery tool 130 may locate and scan code repositories associated with each application to identify ..., data access components, … that are utilized by the application”.).
Regarding Claim 5:
Bijani discloses,
“after the constructing of the data model and before the migrating of the first predetermined set of data” (In paragraph [0068], “The user may select the cloud model 710, such as IAAS. The user may specify the number of instances 715 of the application to deploy to the cloud”.);
“constructing a set of code that is configured to shift data consumption from the at least one data source associated with the first candidate application to the at least one alternate data source; using the data model to execute a predetermined test of the set of code;” (In paragraph [0052], “a second operation of the discovery tool 130 may locate and scan code repositories associated with each application to identify interfaces, reports, data access components, and conversion programs that are utilized by the application”. In paragraph [0079], “FIG. 10, at block 1000, the selected deployment template, cloud model, cloud solution, etc. may be received”. In paragraph [0081], “A user may then transfer the data from the current store location to the store location on the cloud computing system 115”.);
“and using a result of the predetermined test to confirm that the migrating of the first predetermined set of data is permissible” (In paragraph [0030], “the decommissioning system 105 assesses whether an application operating on a given server 110 is suitable for migration to the cloud system 115”.).
Regarding Claim 6:
Bijani discloses,
“wherein the obtaining of the confirmation for each of the potential decommissioning of the first candidate application and the archival of the legacy data comprises: ensuring that entities impacted by the decommissioning are aware of the potential decommissioning; and documenting the confirmation” (In paragraph [0055], “a fifth operation may locate a configuration management database (CMD) and may scan the CMD to determine the identities and emails of teams and individuals shown over time as having been given access to the applications. The rationale behind this is that the identified users 118 may have some level of interest in the application. It may, therefore, be necessary to contact these users prior decommissioning of the application”. In paragraph [0035], “In a post training phase, a user 118 of the decommissioning system 105 can agree with the assessment information 142 provided by the decommissioning system or select different migration options. The choice made by the user 118 is utilized by decommissioning system 105”. In paragraph [0060], “The user may be able to can override the recommendations in which case machine learning algorithms of the decommissioning system will record the override”.).
Regarding Claim 7:
Bijani discloses,
“wherein the entities impacted by the decommissioning include at least one product/application team associated with the first candidate application and at least one information owner associated with data that relates to the at least one data source” (In paragraph [0055], “may locate a configuration management database (CMD) and may scan the CMD to determine the identities and emails of teams and individuals shown over time as having been given access to the applications. The rationale behind this is that the identified users 118 may have some level of interest in the application. It may, therefore, be necessary to contact these users prior decommissioning of the application or migrating the application to the cloud computing system 115”. In paragraph [0027], “The cloud computing system 115 is generally setup in such that a given company only has access to its own data and applications”. In paragraph [0029], “The servers 110, on the other hand, generally correspond to computers systems that may be located in-house and managed by a local IT group or an IT consultant. Applications operating on the servers 110 may include email applications, web server applications, various custom applications, etc”.).
Regarding Claim 8:
Bijani does not disclose however Wu discloses,
“wherein the performing of the lockdown operation comprises: notifying affected entities of the lockdown operation” (In paragraph [0026], “data associated with the entity and the service is temporarily inaccessible at the second data center based on identifying the lockdown … in a user interface of the client device, of a notification pertaining to a temporary inaccessibility of the data associated with the entity and the service”.);
“and validating that all data objects, access points, application processes, and components are successfully locked down” (In paragraph [0025], “a lockdown management system for managing a lockdown of entity-related data in a database”. In paragraph [0046], “the lockdown management system 200 includes a trend monitoring module 202”. In paragraph [0048], “the trend monitoring module 202, includes: identifying a plurality of timestamp pairs associated with data being replicated from the first data center to the second data center, each of the plurality of timestamp pairs identifying a begin-replication time and an end-replication time”. In paragraph [0051], “The lockdown prevents servicing data access requests for data associated with the particular entity that are received from client devices associated with users related to the particular entity”. In paragraph [0065], “The modules themselves are communicatively coupled … the applications to share and access common data”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bijani by adopting the teachings of Wu; motivated by the common goal to provide companies secure systems of transferring data “In order to maintain consistency of data” (Wu [0002]).
Regarding Claim 10:
Bijani discloses,
“A computing apparatus for decommissioning an application, the computing apparatus comprising: a processor; a memory; and a communication interface coupled to each of the processor and the memory, wherein the processor is configured to” (In paragraph [0092], “Any kind of computer system or other apparatus adapted for carrying out the methods described herein may be employed”. In paragraph [0090], “The computer system 1200 may also include a disk or optical drive unit 1215. The disk drive unit 1215 may include a computer-readable medium 1240 in which the instructions 1245 may be stored. The instructions 1245 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the memory 1210 and/or within the processor 1205 during execution by the computer system 1200. The memory 1210 and the processor 1205 also may include computer-readable media as discussed above”. In paragraph [0091], “The computer system 1200 may include a communication interface 1235 to support communications via a network 1250.”.);
“receive, via the communication interface, first information that relates to a first candidate application for potential decommissioning” (In paragraph [0030], “the decommissioning system 105 assesses whether an application operating on a given server 110 is suitable for migration”. In paragraph [0032], “the decommissioning system 105 deploys a discovery tool 130 to a server 110 applications. The discovery tool 130 includes modules for performing an analysis of the applications running on the server 110, an in turn transmits application information 135 back to the decommissioning system 105”.);
“retrieve, from the memory based on the first information, second information that relates to at least one component and at least one data source associated with the first candidate application (In paragraph [0032], “transmits application information 135 back to the decommissioning system 105 … The decommissioning system 105 then generates a report that includes assessment information 142 that indicates a given applications suitability for migration to the cloud system 115, cost benefit information for doing so, and details of the type of migration to perform”. In paragraph [0044], “Being migrated indicates that … the data associated with the application has been migrated. The number of decommissioned applications correspond to the number of applications in the data center”. In paragraph [0079], “Referring to FIG. 10, at block 1000, the selected deployment template, cloud model, cloud solution, etc. may be received”. In paragraph [0081], “the decommissioning system 105 may also copy the application directly to the cloud computing system and prepare one or more databases … A user may then transfer the data from the current store location to the store location on the cloud computing system”.
In paragraph [0033], “Previously determined assessments associated with those applications are then utilized to form the basis of the assessment information 142 in the report”. In paragraph [0030], “the decommissioning system 105 assesses whether an application operating on a given server 110 is suitable”.);
“obtain, based on the first information, third information that relates to data usage associated with the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0049], “Other Information collected by the first module may include the amount of processor usage associated with a given application”. In paragraph [0032], “The discovery tool 130 includes modules for performing an analysis of the applications running on the server 110, an in turn transmits application information 135 back to the decommissioning system 105”.);
“identify at least one alternate data source that is associated with a target platform to be used for hosting a successor to the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0022], “The embodiments also automate the deployment of the application on a choice of cloud solutions”. In paragraph [0043], “The user 118 may select a first data center 305 … information may include … the number of applications migrated to the cloud computing system 115”.);
“construct, based on the first information, the second information, and the third information, a data model in the at least one alternate data source” (In paragraph [0066], “A recommended/selected cloud model column 640 indicates the recommendation from the decommissioning system 105 as to which of the above models is preferable”. In paragraph [0080], “the decommissioning system 105 may communicate with the cloud computing system 115 via, for example, a web services interface, instructions to have the cloud computing system 115 generate the desired template and cloud model on the cloud computing system 115”.);
“migrate a first predetermined set of data associated with the first candidate application to the at least one alternate data source” (In paragraph [0081], “the decommissioning system 105 may also copy the application directly to the cloud computing system and prepare one or more databases, or other storage locations on the cloud computing system 115 for receiving data required by the application”.);
“obtain a confirmation for each of the potential decommissioning of the first candidate application and an archival of legacy data associated with the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0082], “the decommissioning system 105 may update the cloud migration status column 615 in the exemplary report shown in FIG. 6 to indicate that the application is ready to be deployed”. In paragraph [0061], “A status of “Deployed” may indicate that the application has been decommissioned”. In paragraph [0098], “the embodiments may assess the quantity of data currently residing in a given system for which applications are to be migrated, and recommend modes and methods of migration of data or archival of data using offline or near real time storage medium as appropriate”.);
“perform a [] with respect to the first candidate application, the at least one component, and the at least one data source” (In paragraph [0044], “The number of decommissioned applications correspond to the number of applications in the data center than have been shut down”. In paragraph [0084], “if all applications are decommissioned from a given server 110, the server 110 itself may be decommissioned”. In paragraph [0025], “When all the applications at a given data center are deactivated at a given data center, the datacenter itself may be deactivated (i.e., computers sold, etc.). Thus “decommissioning” may also refer to the deactivating of the entire data center”.);
“execute a decommissioning of the first candidate application, the at least one component, and the at least one data source” (In paragraph [0084], “Once the deployment topology has been created, a user of the decommissioning system 105 may take the necessary steps to transfer the application, if not already deployed, and its associated data to the cloud computing system 115. The user may then take the necessary steps to decommission the application from the server 110 from where the application was previously hosted”. In paragraph [0084], “if all applications are decommissioned from a given server 110, the server 110 itself may be decommissioned”.);
“and perform a validation that all traces of the first candidate application, the at least one component, and the at least one data source have been removed as a result of the decommissioning” (In paragraph [0061], “The status indicator may also indicate “Decommissioned” or something similar to indicate that the application has been decommissioned”. In paragraph [0070], “graphical depictions 755 of the network topologies corresponding to the template choices described above may be provided”. In paragraph [0074], “comparison functions may be utilized to compare the video clip image to topology images provided by the cloud service provider to determine a topology/template of the cloud service provider that matches”. In paragraph [0084], “Once the deployment topology has been created, a user of the decommissioning system 105 may take the necessary steps to transfer the application … The user may then take the necessary steps to decommission the application from the server 110 from where the application was previously hosted”.).
Bijani does not disclose however Wu discloses,
“lockdown operation” (In paragraph [0051], “The lockdown prevents servicing data access requests for data associated with the particular entity that are received from client devices associated with users related to the particular entity”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bijani by adopting the teachings of Wu; motivated by the common goal to provide companies secure systems of transferring data “In order to maintain consistency of data” (Wu [0002]).
Regarding Claim 11:
Bijani discloses,
“after the first information has been received and before the retrieval of the second information, analyze the first information to determine whether to recommend the decommissioning of the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0030], “In general, the decommissioning system 105 assesses whether an application operating on a given server 110 is suitable for migration to the cloud system 115, and assesses a cost benefit for doing so”. In paragraph [0033], “The decommissioning system 105 uses the application information 135 provided by the discovery tool 130 to classify the application”. In paragraph [0057], “the decommissioning system 105 may receive the information 135 from the discovery tool 130 and generate a recommendation”. In paragraph [0023], “implementation of the recommendations in terms of decommissioned applications”.);
“and when a determination to recommend the decommissioning of the first candidate application is made, obtain an approval for the decommissioning of the first candidate application from a predetermined entity” (In paragraph [0096], “the decommissioning system may be configured to request approvals”. In paragraph [0066], “A recommended/selected cloud model column 640 indicates the recommendation from the decommissioning system 105 as to which of the above models is preferable or a selection made be a user of the decommissioning system 105 … for which a model was specified by an SME”. In paragraph [0037], “subject matter experts (SMEs)”.).
Regarding Claim 12:
Bijani discloses,
“wherein the processor is further configured to validate that the at least one alternate data source is associated with the target platform, perform a data comparison between a current data state and a target data state” (In paragraph [0034], “Subject matter experts (SMEs) having detailed knowledge of various applications determine whether an application is suitable for migration to the cloud system along with the type of template to utilize in migrating the application. Property information associated with those applications may have been previously obtained by the discovery tool. The results of the SME determinations and application properties are then related to one another in the training data store”.);
“perform a data reconciliation based on a result of the data comparison” (In paragraph [0054], “a fourth operation may determine any external dependencies of the applications”. In paragraph [0059], “The algorithms above may also be run on each dependency associated with the application”. In paragraph [0060], “Based on the business value, technical fitment and risk/compliance sensitivities of the application as well as it's dependencies, an alternating least squares (ALS) algorithm is utilized to determine the recommended cloud model for the client as one of: SaaS, PaaS, and IaaS, and its cloud nativity as one of: public, private, and on premise”. In paragraph [0066], “A recommended/selected cloud model column 640 indicates the recommendation from the decommissioning system 105 as to which of the above models is preferable or a selection made be a user of the decommissioning system 105. As noted above, this recommendation is based on a comparison of the target application to applications in the training data store 107 for which a model was specified by an SME”.);
“and confirm that the target data state is acceptable to affected entities” (In paragraph [0055], “a fifth operation may locate a configuration management database (CMD) and may scan the CMD to determine the identities and emails of teams and individuals shown over time as having been given access to the applications. The rationale behind this is that the identified users 118 may have some level of interest in the application. It may, therefore, be necessary to contact these users prior decommissioning of the application”.).
Regarding Claim 13:
Bijani discloses,
“wherein the processor is further configured to implement, during the construction of the data model, at least one data management control requirement that relates to at least one from among a , a data access requirementdependencies of the processes on other applications”. In paragraph [0053], “a given application may require functions defined in a code library”. In paragraph [0052], “a second operation of the discovery tool 130 may locate and scan code repositories associated with each application to identify ..., data access components, … that are utilized by the application”.).
Regarding Claim 14:
Bijani discloses,
“after the construction of the data model and before the migration of the first predetermined set of data” (In paragraph [0068], “The user may select the cloud model 710, such as IAAS. The user may specify the number of instances 715 of the application to deploy to the cloud”.);
“construct a set of code that is configured to shift data consumption from the at least one data source associated with the first candidate application to the at least one alternate data source; use the data model to execute a predetermined test of the set of code” (In paragraph [0052], “a second operation of the discovery tool 130 may locate and scan code repositories associated with each application to identify interfaces, reports, data access components, and conversion programs that are utilized by the application”. In paragraph [0079], “FIG. 10, at block 1000, the selected deployment template, cloud model, cloud solution, etc. may be received”. In paragraph [0081], “A user may then transfer the data from the current store location to the store location on the cloud computing system 115”.);
“and use a result of the predetermined test to confirm that the migration of the first predetermined set of data is permissible” (In paragraph [0030], “the decommissioning system 105 assesses whether an application operating on a given server 110 is suitable for migration to the cloud system 115”.).
Regarding Claim 15:
Bijani discloses,
“wherein the processor is further configured to: ensure that entities impacted by the decommissioning are aware of the potential decommissioning; and document the confirmation of the decommissioning” (In paragraph [0055], “a fifth operation may locate a configuration management database (CMD) and may scan the CMD to determine the identities and emails of teams and individuals shown over time as having been given access to the applications. The rationale behind this is that the identified users 118 may have some level of interest in the application. It may, therefore, be necessary to contact these users prior decommissioning of the application”. In paragraph [0035], “In a post training phase, a user 118 of the decommissioning system 105 can agree with the assessment information 142 provided by the decommissioning system or select different migration options. The choice made by the user 118 is utilized by decommissioning system 105”. In paragraph [0060], “The user may be able to can override the recommendations in which case machine learning algorithms of the decommissioning system will record the override”.).
Regarding Claim 16:
Bijani discloses,
“wherein the entities impacted by the decommissioning include at least one product/application team associated with the first candidate application and at least one information owner associated with data that relates to the at least one data source” (In paragraph [0055], “may locate a configuration management database (CMD) and may scan the CMD to determine the identities and emails of teams and individuals shown over time as having been given access to the applications. The rationale behind this is that the identified users 118 may have some level of interest in the application. It may, therefore, be necessary to contact these users prior decommissioning of the application or migrating the application to the cloud computing system 115”. In paragraph [0027], “The cloud computing system 115 is generally setup in such that a given company only has access to its own data and applications”. In paragraph [0029], “The servers 110, on the other hand, generally correspond to computers systems that may be located in-house and managed by a local IT group or an IT consultant. Applications operating on the servers 110 may include email applications, web server applications, various custom applications, etc”.)
Regarding Claim 17:
Bijani does not disclose however Wu discloses,
“wherein the processor is further configured to perform the lockdown operation by: notifying affected entities of the lockdown operation” (In paragraph [0026], “data associated with the entity and the service is temporarily inaccessible at the second data center based on identifying the lockdown … in a user interface of the client device, of a notification pertaining to a temporary inaccessibility of the data associated with the entity and the service”.);
“and validating that all data objects, access points, application processes, and components are successfully locked down” (In paragraph [0025], “a lockdown management system for managing a lockdown of entity-related data in a database”. In paragraph [0046], “the lockdown management system 200 includes a trend monitoring module 202”. In paragraph [0048], “the trend monitoring module 202, includes: identifying a plurality of timestamp pairs associated with data being replicated from the first data center to the second data center, each of the plurality of timestamp pairs identifying a begin-replication time and an end-replication time”. In paragraph [0051], “The lockdown prevents servicing data access requests for data associated with the particular entity that are received from client devices associated with users related to the particular entity”. In paragraph [0065], “The modules themselves are communicatively coupled … the applications to share and access common data”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bijani by adopting the teachings of Wu; motivated by the common goal to provide companies secure systems of transferring data “In order to maintain consistency of data” (Wu [0002]).
Regarding Claim 19:
Bijani discloses,
“A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions for decommissioning an application, the storage medium comprising executable code which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to” (In paragraph [0008], “decommissioning an application operating on a computer system or a computer system includes non-transitory computer readable media with instruction code; and a processor”. In paragraph [0085], “The computer system 1200 may include a set of instructions 1245 that the processor 1205 may execute to cause the computer system 1200 to perform any of the operations described above”.);
“receive first information that relates to a first candidate application for potential decommissioning” (In paragraph [0030], “the decommissioning system 105 assesses whether an application operating on a given server 110 is suitable for migration”. In paragraph [0032], “the decommissioning system 105 deploys a discovery tool 130 to a server 110 applications. The discovery tool 130 includes modules for performing an analysis of the applications running on the server 110, an in turn transmits application information 135 back to the decommissioning system 105”.);
“retrieve, based on the first information, second information that relates to at least one component and at least one data source associated with the first candidate application (In paragraph [0032], “transmits application information 135 back to the decommissioning system 105 … The decommissioning system 105 then generates a report that includes assessment information 142 that indicates a given applications suitability for migration to the cloud system 115, cost benefit information for doing so, and details of the type of migration to perform”. In paragraph [0044], “Being migrated indicates that … the data associated with the application has been migrated. The number of decommissioned applications correspond to the number of applications in the data center”. In paragraph [0079], “Referring to FIG. 10, at block 1000, the selected deployment template, cloud model, cloud solution, etc. may be received”. In paragraph [0081], “the decommissioning system 105 may also copy the application directly to the cloud computing system and prepare one or more databases … A user may then transfer the data from the current store location to the store location on the cloud computing system”.
In paragraph [0033], “Previously determined assessments associated with those applications are then utilized to form the basis of the assessment information 142 in the report”. In paragraph [0030], “the decommissioning system 105 assesses whether an application operating on a given server 110 is suitable”.);
“obtain, based on the first information, third information that relates to data usage associated with the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0049], “Other Information collected by the first module may include the amount of processor usage associated with a given application”. In paragraph [0032], “The discovery tool 130 includes modules for performing an analysis of the applications running on the server 110, an in turn transmits application information 135 back to the decommissioning system 105”.);
“identify at least one alternate data source that is associated with a target platform to be used for hosting a successor to the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0022], “The embodiments also automate the deployment of the application on a choice of cloud solutions”. In paragraph [0043], “The user 118 may select a first data center 305 … information may include … the number of applications migrated to the cloud computing system 115”.);
“construct, based on the first information, the second information, and the third information, a data model in the at least one alternate data source” (In paragraph [0066], “A recommended/selected cloud model column 640 indicates the recommendation from the decommissioning system 105 as to which of the above models is preferable”. In paragraph [0080], “the decommissioning system 105 may communicate with the cloud computing system 115 via, for example, a web services interface, instructions to have the cloud computing system 115 generate the desired template and cloud model on the cloud computing system 115”.);
“migrate a first predetermined set of data associated with the first candidate application to the at least one alternate data source” (In paragraph [0081], “the decommissioning system 105 may also copy the application directly to the cloud computing system and prepare one or more databases, or other storage locations on the cloud computing system 115 for receiving data required by the application”.);
“obtain a confirmation for each of the potential decommissioning of the first candidate application and an archival of legacy data associated with the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0082], “the decommissioning system 105 may update the cloud migration status column 615 in the exemplary report shown in FIG. 6 to indicate that the application is ready to be deployed”. In paragraph [0061], “A status of “Deployed” may indicate that the application has been decommissioned”. In paragraph [0098], “the embodiments may assess the quantity of data currently residing in a given system for which applications are to be migrated, and recommend modes and methods of migration of data or archival of data using offline or near real time storage medium as appropriate”.);
“perform a [] with respect to the first candidate application, the at least one component, and the at least one data source” (In paragraph [0044], “The number of decommissioned applications correspond to the number of applications in the data center than have been shut down”. In paragraph [0084], “if all applications are decommissioned from a given server 110, the server 110 itself may be decommissioned”. In paragraph [0025], “When all the applications at a given data center are deactivated at a given data center, the datacenter itself may be deactivated (i.e., computers sold, etc.). Thus “decommissioning” may also refer to the deactivating of the entire data center”.);
“execute a decommissioning of the first candidate application, the at least one component, and the at least one data source” (In paragraph [0084], “Once the deployment topology has been created, a user of the decommissioning system 105 may take the necessary steps to transfer the application, if not already deployed, and its associated data to the cloud computing system 115. The user may then take the necessary steps to decommission the application from the server 110 from where the application was previously hosted”. In paragraph [0084], “if all applications are decommissioned from a given server 110, the server 110 itself may be decommissioned”.);
“and perform a validation that all traces of the first candidate application, the at least one component, and the at least one data source have been removed as a result of the decommissioning” (In paragraph [0061], “The status indicator may also indicate “Decommissioned” or something similar to indicate that the application has been decommissioned”. In paragraph [0070], “graphical depictions 755 of the network topologies corresponding to the template choices described above may be provided”. In paragraph [0074], “comparison functions may be utilized to compare the video clip image to topology images provided by the cloud service provider to determine a topology/template of the cloud service provider that matches”. In paragraph [0084], “Once the deployment topology has been created, a user of the decommissioning system 105 may take the necessary steps to transfer the application … The user may then take the necessary steps to decommission the application from the server 110 from where the application was previously hosted”.).
Bijani does not disclose however Wu discloses,
“lockdown operation” (In paragraph [0051], “The lockdown prevents servicing data access requests for data associated with the particular entity that are received from client devices associated with users related to the particular entity”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bijani by adopting the teachings of Wu; motivated by the common goal to provide companies secure systems of transferring data “In order to maintain consistency of data” (Wu [0002]).
Regarding Claim 20:
Bijani discloses,
“after the first information has been received and before the retrieval of the second information, analyze the first information to determine whether to recommend the decommissioning of the first candidate application” (In paragraph [0030], “In general, the decommissioning system 105 assesses whether an application operating on a given server 110 is suitable for migration to the cloud system 115, and assesses a cost benefit for doing so”. In paragraph [0033], “The decommissioning system 105 uses the application information 135 provided by the discovery tool 130 to classify the application”. In paragraph [0057], “the decommissioning system 105 may receive the information 135 from the discovery tool 130 and generate a recommendation”. In paragraph [0023], “implementation of the recommendations in terms of decommissioned applications”.);
“and when a determination to recommend the decommissioning of the first candidate application is made, obtain an approval for the decommissioning of the first candidate application from a predetermined entity” (In paragraph [0096], “the decommissioning system may be configured to request approvals”. In paragraph [0066], “A recommended/selected cloud model column 640 indicates the recommendation from the decommissioning system 105 as to which of the above models is preferable or a selection made be a user of the decommissioning system 105 … for which a model was specified by an SME”. In paragraph [0037], “subject matter experts (SMEs)”.).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bijani in view of Wu as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Rickey (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0330132 A1, hereinafter Rickey).
Regarding Claim 9:
Bijani discloses,
“after the performing of the [] and before the executing of the decommissioning, executing an archival of a second predetermined set of data to a predetermined platform” (In paragraph [0098], “the embodiments may assess the quantity of data currently residing in a given system for which applications are to be migrated, and recommend modes and methods of migration of data or archival of data using offline or near real time storage medium as appropriate”. In paragraph [0007], “target application to properties associated with a plurality of applications”.).
Bijani does not disclose however Wu discloses,
“lockdown operation” (In paragraph [0051], “The lockdown prevents servicing data access requests for data associated with the particular entity that are received from client devices associated with users related to the particular entity”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bijani by adopting the teachings of Wu; motivated by the common goal to provide companies secure systems of transferring data “In order to maintain consistency of data” (Wu [0002]).
Bijani as modified does not disclose however Rickey discloses,
“applying at least one predetermined retention rule to the second predetermined set of data; and confirming that the archival of the second predetermined set of data and the applying of the retention rule have been successfully completed” (In paragraph [0093], “”A retention specifications database may include a data retention ID, a data retention code, a data retention rule, a data retention type (e.g. corporate, application, etc.), a mapped specifications, and one or more notes (e.g., from the archive analyst)”. In paragraph [0098], “module 616 may receive a confirming that the new set of hold policies have been applied to the archive repository”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Bijani by adopting the teachings of Rickey; motivated by the common goal to improve the relevance of enterprise computer systems by retiring an application (Rickey [0002], [0023]).
Regarding Claim 18:
Bijani discloses,
“after the performance of the [] and before the execution of the decommissioning, execute an archival of a second predetermined set of data to a predetermined platform” ” (In paragraph [0098], “the embodiments may assess the quantity of data currently residing in a given system for which applications are to be migrated, and recommend modes and methods of migration of data or archival of data using offline or near real time storage medium as appropriate”. In paragraph [0007], “target application to properties associated with a plurality of applications”.).
Bijani does not disclose however Wu discloses,
“lockdown operation” (In paragraph [0051], “The lockdown prevents servicing data access requests for data associated with the particular entity that are received from client devices associated with users related to the particular entity”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Bijani by adopting the teachings of Wu; motivated by the common goal to provide companies secure systems of transferring data “In order to maintain consistency of data” (Wu [0002]).
Bijani as modified does not disclose however Rickey discloses,
“apply at least one predetermined retention rule to the second predetermined set of data; and confirm that the archival of the second predetermined set of data and the application of the retention rule have been successfully completed” (In paragraph [0093], “”A retention specifications database may include a data retention ID, a data retention code, a data retention rule, a data retention type (e.g. corporate, application, etc.), a mapped specifications, and one or more notes (e.g., from the archive analyst)”. In paragraph [0098], “module 616 may receive a confirming that the new set of hold policies have been applied to the archive repository”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Bijani by adopting the teachings of Rickey; motivated by the common goal to improve the relevance of enterprise computer systems by retiring an application (Rickey [0002], [0023]).
Conclusion
/BEZA D NIGATU/Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. Sough/SPE, Art Unit 2192