DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings as submitted by Applicant on 09/15/2024 have been accepted.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-23 are pending in the instant application. Claims 6-13 have been elected with traverse. NO claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. No claims have been amended. The rejection of claims 6-13 is hereby made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 contains the trademark/trade name Wifi. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a wireless communication network protocol and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LeMay et al (US 2003/0176213).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art discloses a gaming system comprising: a kiosk including a processor, a database, a display and a gaming ticket validator, said processor running a slot management system; a plurality of local electronic gaming machines; and wherein said slot management system is communicatively linked to said plurality of electronic gaming machines (see at least paragraph [0119] to LeMay et al, wherein A master gaming controller 224 is used to present one or more games on the gaming machines 61, 62 and 63. The master gaming controller 224 executes a number of gaming software modules, including but not limited to virtual gaming peripheral processes, to operate gaming devices 70, such as coin hoppers, bill validators, coin acceptors, speakers, printers, lights, displays (e.g. 34) and other input/output mechanisms. The master gaming controller 224 may also execute gaming software enabling communications with gaming devices located outside of the gaming machines 61, 62 and 63, such as player tracking servers, bonus game servers, game servers and progressive game servers. These outside communications may be used by some virtual gaming peripherals such as virtual player tracking peripheral. In some embodiments, communications with devices located outside of the gaming machines may be performed using the main communication board 215 and network connections 71. The network connections 71 may allow communications with remote gaming devices via a local area network, an intranet, the Internet or combinations thereof).
Regarding claim 7, the prior art discloses the gaming system of claim 6 wherein said kiosk further includes one or more of the following: a bill dispenser; a card reader; a PIN pad; a camera; an electronic lock; a second processor; a bill validator; and an uninterruptable power supply (see at least paragraph [0019] to LeMay et al).
Regarding claim 8, the prior art discloses the gaming system of claim 6 wherein said kiosk further includes a WiFi access point for providing internet access (see at least paragraph [0119] to LeMay et al).
Regarding claim 9, the prior art discloses the gaming system of claim 6 wherein said slot management system is communicatively linked to a plurality of local electronic gaming machines in a non-casino location with no more than fifteen electronic gaming machines (see at least paragraphs [0019] and [0020] to LeMay et al).
Regarding claim 10, the prior art discloses the gaming system of claim 9 further comprising a network switch between said local electronic gaming machines and said kiosk (see at least paragraph [0120] to LeMay et al).
Regarding claim 11, the prior art discloses the gaming system of claim 7 wherein said processor manages kiosk operations and said second processor runs said slot management system (see at least paragraph [0071] to LeMay et al).
Regarding claim 12, the prior art discloses the gaming system of claim 11 wherein said processor is configured to run said slot management system and said second processor is configured to manage kiosk operations (see at least paragraph [0071] to LeMay et al).
Regarding claim 13, the prior art discloses the gaming system of claim 6 wherein said slot management system is communicatively linked to a plurality of local electronic gaming machines (see at least paragraph [0110] to LeMay et al, wherein the master gaming controller 224 may also communicate other gaming devices via a wireless communication link (not shown).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The examiner has considered all references listed on the Notice of References Cited, PTO-892.
The examiner has considered all references cited on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted by Applicant, PTO-1449.
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/TALIA F CRAWLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627