DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding amended claim 1, Applicant argues that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Shimada et al. WO 2020/144972 is improper because it fails to teach “wherein the at least one processor…derives a sharpness conversion filter based on a difference between a characteristic of the sharpness of the first radiation image and a characteristic of the sharpness of the second radiation image, wherein the sharpness conversion processing is performed with the sharpness conversion filter.” Applicant argues that (1) the filter or Shimada is pre-designed and not dynamically derived and (2) the processor which derives the filter is different than the processor of the image processing device.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. (1) the filter is dynamically derived and (2) that the same processor must perform all the steps (“at least one processor” means that multiple processors may perform some or all of the steps, as long as all steps are performed by a processor)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shimada et al. WO 2020/144972.
Regarding claim 1, Shimada discloses a radiation image processing device comprising: at least one processor (#204, 241; pg. 3 para. 7), wherein the at least one processor acquires a first radiation image and a second radiation image which are acquired by imaging a subject, based on radiation having different energy distributions (pg. 11 para. 2; fig. 7 step 709; high energy and low energy image), performs sharpness conversion processing on at least one of the first radiation image or the second radiation image to make sharpness of the first radiation image and the second radiation image uniform (pg. 11 para. 5 – pg. 13 para. 3; fig. 7 step 713; correcting spatial frequency characteristic (MTF: modulation transfer function) of the high energy image so that is close to the low energy image MTF, which has high frequency, is a sharpness conversion see pg. 8 para. 5), derives a component image in which a specific component in the subject is emphasized, based on the first radiation image and the second radiation image which are subjected to the sharpness conversion processing (abstract, Background Art para. 1; pg. 11 para. 5 – pg. 13 para. 3; fig. 7 step 714), derives a sharpness conversion filter based on a difference between a characteristic of the sharpness of the first radiation image and a characteristic of the sharpness of the second radiation image (pg. 12 para. 5-6), and performs the sharpness conversion processing with the sharpness conversion filter (pg. 13 para. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Shimada discloses wherein the at least one processor performs the sharpness conversion processing to match the sharpness of one of the first radiation image and the second radiation image with the sharpness of the other of the first radiation image and the second radiation image (pg. 8 para. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Shimada discloses wherein the at least one processor performs the sharpness conversion processing to match the sharpness of one of the first radiation image and the second radiation image with the sharpness of the other of the first radiation image and the second radiation image (pg. 8 para. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Shimada discloses wherein the at least one processor performs the sharpness conversion processing to match the sharpness of the first radiation image and the sharpness of the second radiation image with specific sharpness (pg. 14 Third Embodiment para. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Shimada discloses wherein the at least one processor performs the sharpness conversion processing to match the sharpness of the first radiation image and the sharpness of the second radiation image with specific sharpness (pg. 14 Third Embodiment para. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Shimada discloses wherein the at least one processor derives the component image by performing weighting subtraction on the first radiation image and the second radiation image which are subjected to the sharpness conversion processing (Background Art; pg. 12 para. 1, pg. 14 final paragraph; Although Shimada only explitely references “energy subtraction” it is well known in the art of dual energy radiography that “energy subtraction” refers to “weighted energy subtraction.” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand from the dual energy context of Shimada, that Shimada is referring to a weighted subtraction).
Regarding claim 8, Shimada discloses wherein the at least one processor derives the component image by performing weighting subtraction on the first radiation image and the second radiation image which are subjected to the sharpness conversion processing (Background Art; pg. 12 para. 1, pg. 14 final paragraph; Although Shimada only explitely references “energy subtraction” it is well known in the art of dual energy radiography that “energy subtraction” refers to “weighted energy subtraction.” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand from the dual energy context of Shimada, that Shimada is referring to a weighted subtraction).
Regarding claim 9, Shimada discloses wherein the at least one processor derives the component image by performing weighting subtraction on the first radiation image and the second radiation image which are subjected to the sharpness conversion processing (Background Art; pg. 12 para. 1, pg. 14 final paragraph; Although Shimada only explitely references “energy subtraction” it is well known in the art of dual energy radiography that “energy subtraction” refers to “weighted energy subtraction.” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand from the dual energy context of Shimada, that Shimada is referring to a weighted subtraction).
Regarding claim 10, Shimada discloses wherein the at least one processor derives the component image by performing weighting subtraction on the first radiation image and the second radiation image which are subjected to the sharpness conversion processing (Background Art; pg. 12 para. 1, pg. 14 final paragraph; Although Shimada only explitely references “energy subtraction” it is well known in the art of dual energy radiography that “energy subtraction” refers to “weighted energy subtraction.” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand from the dual energy context of Shimada, that Shimada is referring to a weighted subtraction).
Regarding claim 11, Shimada discloses wherein the at least one processor derives the component image by performing weighting subtraction on the first radiation image and the second radiation image which are subjected to the sharpness conversion processing (Background Art; pg. 12 para. 1, pg. 14 final paragraph; Although Shimada only explitely references “energy subtraction” it is well known in the art of dual energy radiography that “energy subtraction” refers to “weighted energy subtraction.” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand from the dual energy context of Shimada, that Shimada is referring to a weighted subtraction).
Regarding claim 12, Shimada discloses wherein the at least one processor derives the component image by performing weighting subtraction on the first radiation image and the second radiation image which are subjected to the sharpness conversion processing (Background Art; pg. 12 para. 1, pg. 14 final paragraph; Although Shimada only explitely references “energy subtraction” it is well known in the art of dual energy radiography that “energy subtraction” refers to “weighted energy subtraction.” One of ordinary skill in the art would understand from the dual energy context of Shimada, that Shimada is referring to a weighted subtraction).
Regarding claim 13, Shimada discloses wherein the first radiation image and the second radiation image are acquired by one-shot energy subtraction imaging using two radiation detectors having characteristics in which sharpness in acquired radiation images is different (pg. 5 para. 2 – pg. 6 para. 2, pg. 7 para. 1-3; fig. 3A-3B; PIXA, PIXB, and PIXC detectors are configured such that they can acquire images of different energy distributions in a single exposure and used for energy subtraction thus are “one-shot”).
Regarding claim 14, Shimada discloses wherein the first radiation image and the second radiation image are acquired by one-shot energy subtraction imaging using two radiation detectors having characteristics in which sharpness in acquired radiation images is different (pg. 5 para. 2 – pg. 6 para. 2, pg. 7 para. 1-3; fig. 3A-3B; PIXA, PIXB, and PIXC detectors are configured such that they can acquire images of different energy distributions in a single exposure and used for energy subtraction thus are “one-shot”).
Regarding claim 15, Shimada discloses wherein the first radiation image and the second radiation image are acquired by one-shot energy subtraction imaging using two radiation detectors having characteristics in which sharpness in acquired radiation images is different (pg. 5 para. 2 – pg. 6 para. 2, pg. 7 para. 1-3; fig. 3A-3B; PIXA, PIXB, and PIXC detectors are configured such that they can acquire images of different energy distributions in a single exposure and used for energy subtraction thus are “one-shot”).
Regarding claim 16, Shimada discloses wherein the first radiation image and the second radiation image are acquired by one-shot energy subtraction imaging using two radiation detectors having characteristics in which sharpness in acquired radiation images is different (pg. 5 para. 2 – pg. 6 para. 2, pg. 7 para. 1-3; fig. 3A-3B; PIXA, PIXB, and PIXC detectors are configured such that they can acquire images of different energy distributions in a single exposure and used for energy subtraction thus are “one-shot”).
Regarding claim 17, Shimada discloses wherein the first radiation image and the second radiation image are acquired by one-shot energy subtraction imaging using two radiation detectors having characteristics in which sharpness in acquired radiation images is different (pg. 5 para. 2 – pg. 6 para. 2, pg. 7 para. 1-3; fig. 3A-3B; PIXA, PIXB, and PIXC detectors are configured such that they can acquire images of different energy distributions in a single exposure and used for energy subtraction thus are “one-shot”).
Regarding claim 18, Shimada discloses wherein the first radiation image and the second radiation image are acquired by one-shot energy subtraction imaging using two radiation detectors having characteristics in which sharpness in acquired radiation images is different (pg. 5 para. 2 – pg. 6 para. 2, pg. 7 para. 1-3; fig. 3A-3B; PIXA, PIXB, and PIXC detectors are configured such that they can acquire images of different energy distributions in a single exposure and used for energy subtraction thus are “one-shot”).
Regarding claim 19, Shimada discloses a radiation image processing method comprising: via a computer (#204, 241; pg. 3 para. 7), acquiring a first radiation image and a second radiation image which are acquired by imaging a subject, based on radiation having different energy distributions (pg. 11 para. 2; fig. 7 step 709; high energy and low energy image); performing sharpness conversion processing on at least one of the first radiation image or the second radiation image to make sharpness of the first radiation image and the second radiation image uniform (pg. 11 para. 5 – pg. 13 para. 3; fig. 7 step 713; correcting spatial frequency characteristic (MTF: modulation transfer function) of the high energy image so that is close to the low energy image MTF, which has high frequency, is a sharpness conversion see pg. 8 para. 5); deriving a component image in which a specific component in the subject is emphasized, based on the first radiation image and the second radiation image which are subjected to the sharpness conversion processing (abstract, Background Art para. 1; pg. 11 para. 5 – pg. 13 para. 3; fig. 7 step 714); and derives a sharpness conversion filter based on a difference between a characteristic of the sharpness of the first radiation image and a characteristic of the sharpness of the second radiation image (pg. 12 para. 5-6), and performs the sharpness conversion processing with the sharpness conversion filter (pg. 13 para. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Shimada discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a radiation image processing program causing a computer (#204, 241; pg. 3 para. 7) to execute: a procedure of acquiring a first radiation image and a second radiation image which are acquired by imaging a subject, based on radiation having different energy distributions (pg. 11 para. 2; fig. 7 step 709; high energy and low energy image); a procedure of performing sharpness conversion processing on at least one of the first radiation image or the second radiation image to make sharpness of the first radiation image and the second radiation image uniform (pg. 11 para. 5 – pg. 13 para. 3; fig. 7 step 713; correcting spatial frequency characteristic (MTF: modulation transfer function) of the high energy image so that is close to the low energy image MTF, which has high frequency, is a sharpness conversion see pg. 8 para. 5); a procedure of deriving a component image in which a specific component in the subject is emphasized, based on the first radiation image and the second radiation image which are subjected to the sharpness conversion processing (abstract, Background Art para. 1; pg. 11 para. 5 – pg. 13 para. 3; fig. 7 step 714); and a process of deriving a sharpness conversion filter based on a difference between a characteristic of the sharpness of the first radiation image and a characteristic of the sharpness of the second radiation image (pg. 12 para. 5-6), and performs the sharpness conversion processing with the sharpness conversion filter (pg. 13 para. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 21, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest wherein the processor derives a conversion magnification for converting an MTF characteristic of the second radiation image into an MTF characteristic of the first radiation image by dividing the MTF characteristic of the first radiation image by the MTF characteristic of the second radiation image, and derives the sharpness conversion filter based on the conversion magnification, along with other claim limitations.
Shimada, does not disclose or suggest "wherein the processor derives a conversion magnification for converting an MTF characteristic of the second radiation image into an MTF characteristic of the first radiation image by dividing the MTF characteristic of the first radiation image by the MTF characteristic of the second radiation image, and derives the sharpness conversion filter based on the conversion magnification," along with other claim limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884