DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and 16-20, in the reply filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 20, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0122813 to El-Taher.
As to claim 1, El-Taher discloses a sanitization device for a garbage can comprising: a housing and a container removably held within the housing and containing a cleaning solution (see El-Taher Abstract, paragraphs [0026] disclosing housing 13 and canister 10 where the housing releasably receives the container; see claim 4 disclosing that the agent can comprise a sanitizing composition); and a sprayer contained within the housing configured to dispense the cleaning solution into the garbage can (see El-Taher paragraph [0026] disclosing nozzle 8 and spray opening 12).
As to claims 8-10, El-Taher discloses that the solution can include insecticides, sanitizing agent and odor masking agents (read as configured to kill bacteria, prevent exposure to microorganisms and to minimize odors) as well as insecticides and repellants (see El-Taher paragraphs [0017]-[0020] and claim 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0122813 to El-Taher as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2006/0289679 to Johnson et al.
El-Taher is relied upon as discussed above with respect to the rejection of claim 1.
As to claims 2 and 3, El-Taher discloses that the size and shape of the spray nozzle can be used to control the spread angle of the spray (see El-Taher paragraph [0031]). Adjustable nozzles are known in the spraying art and does not provide patentable significance. For example, Johnson discloses an adjustable nozzle to produce different spray patterns, spray volume and throw distance (see Johnson paragraphs [0077]-[0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use an adjustable nozzle to control the spread angle of the spray as desired by El-Taher in order to optimize the spray pattern for the desired cleaning. The combination of El-Taher and Johnson discloses multiple spray patterns including a wide and narrow spray pattern (see Johnson paragraphs [0077]-[0081]).
As to claim 4, the combination of El-Taher and Johnson discloses that the adjustable nozzle can comprise channels (see, e.g., Johnson Fig. 2, ref.#50 and 70 disclosing various channels leading from the container to the nozzle; see also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) where duplication of parts is prima facie obvious).
As to claim 19, El-Taher discloses a sanitization device for a garbage can comprising: a container containing a cleaning solution (see El-Taher Abstract, paragraphs [0026] disclosing canister 10; see claim 4 disclosing that the agent can comprise a sanitizing composition); a sprayer with a nozzle connected to the container (see El-Taher paragraph [0026] disclosing nozzle 8 and spray opening 12); a housing configured to releasably receive the container and the nozzle (see El-Taher Fig. 7, ref.#11; paragraph [0026]); a power supply and electronic board configured to enable and disable the sprayer (see, e.g., El-Taher paragraph [0025]) wherein the nozzle is configured to dispense the cleaning solution into the garbage can (see El-Taher paragraph [0026] disclosing nozzle 8 and spray opening 12).
El-Taher discloses that the size and shape of the spray nozzle can be used to control the spread angle of the spray (see El-Taher paragraph [0031]). Adjustable nozzles are known in the spraying art and does not provide patentable significance. For example, Johnson discloses an adjustable nozzle to produce different spray patterns, spray volume and throw distance (see Johnson paragraphs [0077]-[0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use an adjustable nozzle to control the spread angle of the spray as desired by El-Taher in order to optimize the spray pattern for the desired cleaning. The combination of El-Taher and Johnson discloses multiple spray patterns including a wide and narrow spray pattern (see Johnson paragraphs [0077]-[0081]; see also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) where duplication of parts is prima facie obvious).
As to claims 17 and 18, El-Taher discloses that the solution can include insecticides, sanitizing agent and odor masking agents (read as configured to kill bacteria, prevent exposure to microorganisms and to minimize odors) as well as insecticides and repellants (see El-Taher paragraphs [0017]-[0020] and claim 4).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,371,255 to Boye et al. (“Boye ‘255”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as follows:
With regards to claims 1 and 2, Boye ‘255 claim 1 discloses a sanitation device comprising a housing, a container removably held within the housing and containing a solution and a sprayer containing a solution and a sprayer contained within the housing configured to dispense the solution into the garbage can and wherein the sprayer further comprises an adjustable nozzle configured to have at least two different spray patterns.
Regarding claims 3-5, Boye ‘255 claims 3, 4, 12 and 13 disclose a wide and a narrow spray pattern as well as passageways for said patterns.
Regarding claims 16, 19 and 20, Boye ‘255 claim 1, 3, 4, 12, 13 and 19 discloses the sanitation device comprising a container containing a solution, an adjustable nozzle comprising at least two spray patterns connected to the container, a housing configured to releasably receive the container and the adjustable nozzle, and a power supply and electronic board configured to enable and disable the at least one sprayer wherein the adjustable nozzle is configured to dispense the solution into the garbage can as well as two channels with orifices to deliver a wide and narrow spray pattern.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714