Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lines in the graph of figure 7 have gaps therein and thus it is difficult to determine which lines corresponds with which example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the second-second Group III element". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, not in claim 1 from which this claim ultimately depends. The first teaching of "second-second Group III element" is in claim 4.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 13, and 14 of copending Application No. 18/883409 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the quantum dot of claim 2 of the copending application reads the quantum dot of claims 1-4 and 9 of this application. There is no indication in the core of the copending claim 2 includes silver. The teachings of copending claim 5 or 7 in combination with the teachings of copending claim 2 teaches quantum dots of claims 5-7. The light emitting device of copending claim 14 teaches the light emitting element of claim 18
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by KR 20240042748.
This reference teaches quantum dots having an AgInGaS core and a ternary shell of Al, a Group III element other than Al and a Group VI element, such as AlGaS. Thus the reference clearly anticipates the claimed quantum dots.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by WO 2024/106775.
This reference teaches core/shell/shell quantum dots wherein the core is AgInGaS, the first shell is a ternary I-III-VI material and the second shell, or surface layer is a binary III-VI material. The examples exemplify quantum dots of AgInGaS/AgGaS/GaS. These quantum dots meet the requirements of claims 1, 2 and 4-6 since the first-second Group III in the core is In. Examples 3-14 teach these quantum dots absorb blue light and emit light in the range of 519.5-530 nm, which falls within the range of claim 8. The taught value of “519.5 nm” falls within the claimed value of “about 520 nm”. The taught process for producing the taught quantum dots, as exemplified by the examples, is the process of claim 15. The reference clearly teaches the claimed quantum dots and the claimed method for making them.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. patent application 2020/0399535.
This reference teaches quantum dots having an AgInGaS core and a ternary shell of AgGaS. These quantum dots meet the requirements of claims 1, 2 and 4-6 since the first-second Group III in the core is In. The examples teach, in tables 2 and 4, AgInGaS/AgGaS core/shell quantum dots that emit wavelength of 520-522 nm and 525 nm, which falls within the range of clam 8. The taught process is that of claim 15. The nanostructure of paragraphs [0023]-[0026] reads upon the light-emitting device of claim 18. The reference teaches the claimed quantum dots, process and light-emitting device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2024/106775.
This reference teaches core/shell/shell quantum dots wherein the core is AgInGaS, the first shell is a ternary I-III-VI material and the second shell, or surface layer is a binary III-VI material. The taught first shell can contain Al, have Ag as the Group I element and/or have the Group III in the first shell be Ga when the first-second Group III in the core is In or have the Group III in the first shell be In when the first-second Group III in the core is Ga. The reference teaches the Group III element in the shell and the Group III element in the binary surface layer can be the same. Examples 1-14, which teach AgInGaS/AgGaS/GaS quantum dots show these quantum dots absorb blue light and emit light in the range of 513.4.5-530 nm, which overlaps the range of claim 8. Product claims with numerical ranges which overlap prior art ranges were held to have been obvious under 35 USC 103. In re Wertheim 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974); In re Fields 134 USPQ 242 (CCPA 1962); In re Nehrenberg 126 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1960). Also see MPEP 2144.05. The reference teaches the first shell has a thickness of 2.9-4.2 nm and the second shell, or surface layer, has a thickness of 0.8-2.5 nm, which means the sum of the thickness of these two shells is 3.7-6.7 nm, which overlaps the total shell and layer thickness of claim 12. The reference suggests the claimed quantum dots.
Claims 8, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application 2020/0399535.
As discussed above, this reference teaches quantum dots having an AgInGaS core and a ternary shell of AgGaS. The taught quantum dots emit light in the range of 480-545 nm when excited by blue light (para 105). This wavelength range overlaps that of claim 8. Product claims with numerical ranges which overlap prior art ranges were held to have been obvious under 35 USC 103. In re Wertheim 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974); In re Fields 134 USPQ 242 (CCPA 1962); In re Nehrenberg 126 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1960). Also see MPEP 2144.05. The reference suggests the claimed quantum dots.
As stated above, the taught process is that of claim 15. Paragraph [0130] teaches the number of moles of gallium precursor in the solution used to produce the shell is 0.008-0.2 mmol/ mg AgInGaS core. This amount overlaps that of claim 17. The reference suggests the claimed process.
The taught process for producing nanostructure composition simply teaches mixing the quantum dots with an organic resin. Since no specific atmosphere is taught for the disclosed mixing step, it is assumed to occur in air. Thus the reference suggests the step of claim 16 of exposing the shell of the taught AgInGaS/AgGaS core/shell quantum dots to air. The reference suggests the claimed process.
Claims 1 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application 2024/0150649.
This reference teaches a light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode and a quantum dot light emission layer arranged between the electrodes. Paragraph [0051] teaches an electronic device, such as a display device, comprising the light emitting device electrically connected to a thin-film transistor. The taught quantum dot in the taught device has a core/shell structure wherein the core can be CuAgGaS2 or AgGaInS2 (para 75) and the shell can be ZnGa2S4 or ZnGa2Se4. This taught quantum dot meets the requirements of claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the taught display device in any electronic equipment that conventionally contains display devices having the disclosed structure, such as televisions, computer monitors, flat panel displays, portable phones and the other equipment listed in claim 20. The reference suggests the claimed quantum dots and the devices of claims 18-20.
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application 2008/0038558.
This reference teaches core/shell quantum dots wherein the core can be CuInGaS2 and the shell can be AgInS2, AgInSe2 or AuGaTe2. These quantum dots meet the requirements of claims 14 since the first-second Group III in the core is In or Ga. The reference suggests the claimed quantum dots.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application 2008/0202383.
This reference teaches core/shell quantum dots wherein the core can be ZnAgInS2 or ZnAuGaTe2, and the shell can be AgInS2, AgInSe2 or AuGaTe2. These quantum dots meet the requirements of claims 1-6 since the first-second Group III in the core is In or Ga. The reference suggests the claimed quantum dots.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
There is no teaching or suggestion in the cited art of record of a quantum dot comprising a quaternary core, not including Se and including a first-first Group I element, a first-second Group III element and a first-third Group VI element; a ternary shell surrounding at least a portion of the quaternary core; and a surface layer surrounding at least a portion of the ternary shell; wherein the surface layer includes an oxide of a third-first Group III element.
There is no teaching or suggestion in the cited art of record of a quantum dot comprising a quaternary core, not including Se and including a first-first Group I element, a first-second Group III element and a first-third Group VI element; a ternary shell surrounding at least a portion of the quaternary core and including a second-first Group I element, a second-second Group III element and a second-third Group VI element; and a surface layer surrounding at least a portion of the ternary shell; wherein the surface layer is a binary layer including a third-first Group III element and a third-second Group VI element and a value obtained by dividing a sum of a number of moles of the second-second Group III element included in the ternary shell and a number of moles of the third-first Group III element includes in the surface layer by a number of moles of the first-second Group III element includes in the quaternary core is in the range of about 0.05 to about 8.0.
/C Melissa Koslow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734
cmk
9/24/26