DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claims 1 and 15, the limitation “wherein a voltage level of the third power voltage in an emission period in which the light emitting element emits a light is different from a voltage level of the third power voltage in at least a portion of a non-emission period in which the light emitting element does not emit the light” should be “wherein a voltage level of the third power voltage in an emission period in which the light emitting element emits [[a]] light is different from a voltage level of the third power voltage in at least a portion of a non-emission period in which the light emitting element does not emit [[the]] light”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20190371232).
As per claim 1, Kim discloses a pixel (Fig. 6; [0099]) comprising:
a light emitting element (#200) including a first electrode (i.e., anode electrode), and a second electrode (i.e., cathode electrode) connected to a third power line (i.e., ground voltage line) which transmits a third power voltage (#322; [0102]; [0124]);
a pulse width modulator (#330) which controls an emission time duration of the light emitting element (#200) in a frame period based on a data voltage ([0070]; [0131]; [0156]; [0204]), wherein the pulse width modulator (Fig. 7, #330) is connected to a first power line (#VDD line) which transmit a first power voltage (#VDD; [0110]); and
a constant current generator (#320) which provides a driving current having a constant level to the light emitting element (#200) based on a constant current generation voltage applied thereto ([0102]; [0125]), wherein the constant current generator (#320) includes a second driving transistor (#325) including a gate electrode connected to a third node, a first electrode connected to a second power line (#VDD line) which transmits a second power voltage (Fig. 8, i.e., 0V at INITIALIZATION DURATION) different from the first power voltage (#VDD), and a second electrode connected to the first electrode of the light emitting element (#200; [0102]),
wherein (Fig. 8 discloses) a voltage level of the third power voltage (i.e., VSS = 0V) in an emission period (#Emission) in which the light emitting element emits a light is different from a voltage level of the third power voltage (i.e., VSS = 10V) in at least a portion of a non-emission period (#SENSING DURATION) in which the light emitting element does not emit the light ([0156]).
As per claims 2 and 16, Kim discloses the pixel (display device) of claim 1 (claim 15), wherein the third power voltage has a low voltage level (i.e. 0V) in the emission period ([0156]), and
(Fig. 8 discloses) the third power voltage has a third high voltage level (i.e., VSS = 10V), which is higher than the low voltage level (i.e. 0V), in at least the portion of the non-emission period (#SENSING DURATION).
As per claim 10, Kim discloses the pixel of claim 1, wherein the constant current generator (#320) further includes a second capacitor (#312) including a first electrode connected to the third node, and a second electrode connected to the second power line (#321).
As per claim 14, Kim discloses the pixel of claim 1, wherein the light emitting element (#200) is a micro-light emitting diode ([0064]).
As per claim 15, Kim discloses a display device (Fig. 12, #1200; [0197]) comprising:
a display panel (#1000) including a plurality of pixels ([0197]-[0198]);
a scan driver (#830) which sequentially provides scan signals to the plurality of pixels ([0074]-[0075]; [0200]); and
a data driver (#820) which provides a data voltage and a constant current generation voltage to each of the plurality of pixels ([0204]; [0206]),
wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes:
a light emitting element (#200) including a first electrode (i.e., anode electrode), and a second electrode (i.e., cathode electrode) connected to a third power line (i.e., ground voltage line) which transmits a third power voltage (#322; [0102]; [0124]);
a pulse width modulator (#330) which controls an emission time duration of the light emitting element (#200) in a frame period based on a data voltage ([0070]; [0131]; [0156]; [0204]), wherein the pulse width modulator (Fig. 7, #330) is connected to a first power line (#VDD line) which transmit a first power voltage (#VDD; [0110]); and
a constant current generator (#320) which provides a driving current having a constant level to the light emitting element (#200) based on the constant current generation voltage ([0102]; [0125]), wherein the constant current generator (#320) includes a second driving transistor (#325) including a gate electrode connected to a third node, a first electrode connected to a second power line (i.e., VDD line) which transmits a second power voltage (Fig. 8, i.e., 0 V at INITIALIZATION DURATION) different from the first power voltage (#VDD), and a second electrode connected to the first electrode of the light emitting element (#200; [0102]),
wherein (Fig. 8 discloses) a voltage level of the third power voltage (i.e., VSS = 0V) in an emission period (#Emission) in which the light emitting element emits a light is different from a voltage level of the third power voltage (i.e., VSS = 10V) in at least a portion of a non-emission period (#SENSING DURATION) in which the light emitting element does not emit the light ([0156]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 11-13 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of a pixel comprising a light emitting element; a pulse width modulator which controls an emission time duration of the light emitting element in a frame period based on a data voltage; and a constant current generator which provides a driving current having a constant level to the light emitting element does not teach or fairly suggest the second power voltage has a second high voltage level in the emission period, and the second power voltage has a medium voltage level which is higher than the low voltage level and lower than the second high voltage level in at least a portion of the non-emission period, wherein the pulse width modulator includes: a first driving transistor including a gate electrode connected to a first node, a first electrode connected to a fourth node, and a second electrode connected to a fifth node; a first write transistor including a gate electrode which receives a scan signal, a first electrode connected to a data line which transmits the data voltage, and a second electrode connected to the fourth node; a first compensation transistor including a gate electrode which receives the scan signal, a first electrode connected to the fifth node, and a second electrode connected to the first node; and a first capacitor including a first electrode which receives a sweep signal, and a second electrode connected to the first node, wherein the constant current generator further includes: a second write transistor including a gate electrode which receives a write gate signal, a first electrode connected to a data line which transmits the constant current generation voltage, and a second electrode connected to a second node; a second compensation transistor including a gate electrode which receives a compensation gate signal, a first electrode connected to the second electrode of the second driving transistor, and a second electrode connected to the third node; and a third capacitor including a first electrode connected to the second node, and a second electrode connected to the third node.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection as presented above.
Conclusion
/Nelson Lam/Examiner, Art Unit 2627
/KE XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2627