DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 15 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20190371232).
As per claim 1, Kim discloses a pixel (Fig. 6; [0099]) comprising:
a light emitting element (#200) including a first electrode (i.e., anode electrode), and a second electrode (i.e., cathode electrode) connected to a third power line (i.e., ground voltage line) which transmits a third power voltage (#322; [0102]; [0124]);
a pulse width modulator (#330) which controls an emission time duration of the light emitting element (#200) in a frame period based on a data voltage ([0070]; [0131]; [0156]; [0204]), wherein the pulse width modulator (Fig. 7, #330) is connected to a first power line (#VDD line) which transmit a first power voltage (#VDD; [0110]); and
a constant current generator (#320) which provides a driving current having a constant level to the light emitting element (#200) based on a constant current generation voltage applied thereto ([0102]; [0125]), wherein the constant current generator (#320) includes a second driving transistor (#325) including a gate electrode connected to a third node, a first electrode connected to a second power line (#VDD line) which transmits a second power voltage (Fig. 8, i.e., 0V at INITIALIZATION DURATION), and a second electrode connected to the first electrode of the light emitting element (#200; [0102]),
wherein (Fig. 8 discloses) a voltage level of the third power voltage (i.e., VSS = 0V) in an emission period (#Emission) in which the light emitting element emits light is different from a voltage level of the third power voltage (i.e., VSS = 10V) in at least a portion of a non-emission period (#SENSING DURATION) in which the light emitting element does not emit light ([0156]).
However, Kim does not teach the constant current generator includes a second driving transistor including a first electrode connected to a second power line which is separate from the first power line and transmits a second power voltage independent of the first power voltage. Official Notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have the constant current generator includes a second driving transistor including a first electrode connected to a second power line which is separate from the first power line and transmits a second power voltage independent of the first power voltage since it has been held that making parts separable is common practice requiring only ordinary skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
As per claims 2 and 16, Kim discloses the pixel (display device) of claim 1 (claim 15), wherein the third power voltage has a low voltage level (i.e. 0V) in the emission period ([0156]), and
(Fig. 8 discloses) the third power voltage has a third high voltage level (i.e., VSS = 10V), which is higher than the low voltage level (i.e. 0V), in at least the portion of the non-emission period (#SENSING DURATION).
As per claim 10, Kim discloses the pixel of claim 1, wherein the constant current generator (#320) further includes a second capacitor (#312) including a first electrode connected to the third node, and a second electrode connected to the second power line (#321).
As per claim 14, Kim discloses the pixel of claim 1, wherein the light emitting element (#200) is a micro-light emitting diode ([0064]).
As per claim 15, Kim discloses a display device (Fig. 12, #1200; [0197]) comprising:
a display panel (#1000) including a plurality of pixels ([0197]-[0198]);
a scan driver (#830) which sequentially provides scan signals to the plurality of pixels ([0074]-[0075]; [0200]); and
a data driver (#820) which provides a data voltage and a constant current generation voltage to each of the plurality of pixels ([0204]; [0206]),
wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes:
a light emitting element (#200) including a first electrode (i.e., anode electrode), and a second electrode (i.e., cathode electrode) connected to a third power line (i.e., ground voltage line) which transmits a third power voltage (#322; [0102]; [0124]);
a pulse width modulator (#330) which controls an emission time duration of the light emitting element (#200) in a frame period based on a data voltage ([0070]; [0131]; [0156]; [0204]), wherein the pulse width modulator (Fig. 7, #330) is connected to a first power line (#VDD line) which transmit a first power voltage (#VDD; [0110]); and
a constant current generator (#320) which provides a driving current having a constant level to the light emitting element (#200) based on the constant current generation voltage ([0102]; [0125]), wherein the constant current generator (#320) includes a second driving transistor (#325) including a gate electrode connected to a third node, a first electrode connected to a second power line (i.e., VDD line) which transmits a second power voltage (Fig. 8, i.e., 0 V at INITIALIZATION DURATION), and a second electrode connected to the first electrode of the light emitting element (#200; [0102]),
wherein (Fig. 8 discloses) a voltage level of the third power voltage (i.e., VSS = 0V) in an emission period (#Emission) in which the light emitting element emits light is different from a voltage level of the third power voltage (i.e., VSS = 10V) in at least a portion of a non-emission period (#SENSING DURATION) in which the light emitting element does not emit light ([0156]).
However, Kim does not teach the constant current generator includes a second driving transistor including a first electrode connected to a second power line which is separate from the first power line and transmits a second power voltage independent of the first power voltage. Official Notice is taken that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have the constant current generator includes a second driving transistor including a first electrode connected to a second power line which is separate from the first power line and transmits a second power voltage independent of the first power voltage since it has been held that making parts separable is common practice requiring only ordinary skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 11-13 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of a pixel comprising a light emitting element; a pulse width modulator which controls an emission time duration of the light emitting element in a frame period based on a data voltage; and a constant current generator which provides a driving current having a constant level to the light emitting element does not teach or fairly suggest the second power voltage has a second high voltage level in the emission period, and the second power voltage has a medium voltage level which is higher than the low voltage level and lower than the second high voltage level in at least a portion of the non-emission period, wherein the pulse width modulator includes: a first driving transistor including a gate electrode connected to a first node, a first electrode connected to a fourth node, and a second electrode connected to a fifth node; a first write transistor including a gate electrode which receives a scan signal, a first electrode connected to a data line which transmits the data voltage, and a second electrode connected to the fourth node; a first compensation transistor including a gate electrode which receives the scan signal, a first electrode connected to the fifth node, and a second electrode connected to the first node; and a first capacitor including a first electrode which receives a sweep signal, and a second electrode connected to the first node, wherein the constant current generator further includes: a second write transistor including a gate electrode which receives a write gate signal, a first electrode connected to a data line which transmits the constant current generation voltage, and a second electrode connected to a second node; a second compensation transistor including a gate electrode which receives a compensation gate signal, a first electrode connected to the second electrode of the second driving transistor, and a second electrode connected to the third node; and a third capacitor including a first electrode connected to the second node, and a second electrode connected to the third node.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection as presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nelson Lam/Examiner, Art Unit 2627
/KE XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2627