DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Priority
Foreign priority document for Korea patent application no. 10-2023-0172632 has not been electronically retrieved and has not been provided by the applicant; thus, the foreign priority claim has not been fully acknowledged by the examiner. Applicant may contact the Electronic Business Center at 571-272-4100 or PDX Support at PDX@USPTO.GOV for further assistance. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the applicant remains ultimately responsible for the submission of the certified copy of the foreign application before the US application issues as a patent. See 37 CFR 1.55(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zucker et al. (US 2009/0114158).
Regarding claim 1, Zucker discloses an electrostatic chuck [e.g. 12 figs. 2-3, 5] configured to support a substrate [see substrate receiving surface 18/60] in a plasma processing apparatus [see at least fig. 1], the electrostatic chuck [see at least the following elements; 12] comprising: a plate [e.g. 28/20] configured to support the substrate using electrostatic force [e.g. 32], the plate having a disc shape [see at least figs. 2-3, 6-8]; a first partition wall [e.g. the outer wall having annular shape] formed in an annular shape on a peripheral portion of the plate; a second partition wall [e.g. 44, 46, 48] formed in an annular shape at a position farther inward than the first partition wall on the peripheral portion of the plate; and a connection partition wall [e.g. 56] configured to interconnect the first partition wall and the second partition wall to partition the peripheral portion of the plate into a plurality of peripheral areas [see at least fig. 3].
Regarding claim 2, Zucker discloses the electrostatic chuck as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connection partition wall comprises two connection partition walls disposed at positions opposite each other with respect to a center of the plate [see at least para. 0009, fig. 8; at least two 56s are facing each other when the zones are an even number] to partition the peripheral portion of the plate into two peripheral areas.
Regarding claim 3, Zucker discloses the electrostatic chuck as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connection partition wall comprises four connection partition walls disposed at angular intervals of 90 degrees about a center of the plate to partition the peripheral portion of the plate into four peripheral areas [see at least para. 0009, fig. 8; e.g. divided into 4 zones].
Regarding claim 4, Zucker discloses the electrostatic chuck as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a plurality of supply flow paths [e.g. 62, 64, 66 fig. 5] formed in the plate so as to allow inert gas to flow toward the substrate therethrough.
Regarding claim 5, Zucker discloses the electrostatic chuck as claimed in claim 4, wherein the plurality of supply flow paths comprises: a plurality of periphery-side supply flow paths [e.g. 64, 66 fig. 5] formed in the plate so as to respectively correspond to the plurality of peripheral areas; and a center-side supply flow path [e.g. 62 fig. 5] formed in the plate at a position farther inward than the plurality of peripheral areas [see fig. 2].
Regarding claim 8, Zucker discloses the electrostatic chuck as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first partition wall is formed to have a greater width than the second partition wall [see at least fig. 3].
Regarding claim 6, Zucker discloses the electrostatic chuck as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a pattern [see 42 fig. 3] formed at a position farther inward than the second partition wall on the plate.
Regarding claim 9, Zucker discloses an electrostatic chuck configured to support a substrate in a plasma processing apparatus, the electrostatic chuck comprising: a plate configured to support the substrate using electrostatic force, the plate having a disc shape; a first partition wall formed in an annular shape on a peripheral portion of the plate; a second partition wall formed in an annular shape at a position farther inward than the first partition wall on the peripheral portion of the plate; a connection partition wall configured to interconnect the first partition wall and the second partition wall to partition the peripheral portion of the plate into a plurality of peripheral areas; and a plurality of periphery-side supply flow paths [e.g. fluid path in 44, 46, 48/62, 84, 66; and/or see at least paras. 0060-0062, 0065-0066, 0075-0077, fig. 5] formed in the plate so as to respectively correspond to the plurality of peripheral areas. Also, see rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Zucker discloses the electrostatic chuck as claimed in claim 9, wherein a flow rate of inert gas supplied to each of the plurality of periphery-side supply flow paths is individually controlled [see at least paras. 0060-0062, 0065-0066, 0075-0077, fig. 5].
Regarding claim 11, Zucker discloses the electrostatic chuck as claimed in claim 9, wherein flow rates of inert gas supplied to the plurality of periphery-side supply flow paths are controlled to differ from each other [see at least paras. 0060-0062, 0065-0066, 0075-0077, fig. 5].
Regarding claim 12, Zucker discloses the electrostatic chuck as claimed in claim 9, further comprising a center-side supply flow path [e.g. 42/62] formed in the plate so as to correspond to a central area of the plate formed at a position farther inward than the plurality of peripheral areas.
Regarding claim 13, Zucker discloses the electrostatic chuck as claimed in claim 12, wherein a flow rate of inert gas supplied to each of the plurality of periphery-side supply flow paths is controlled to be greater than a flow rate of inert gas supplied to the center-side supply flow path [ more pressure to correct temperature non-uniformities in the peripheral fluid zone; or see at least paras. 0004, 0035, 0057, 0062-0065].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zucker et al. (US 2009/0114158) in view of Noorbakhsh (US 2018/0151402).
Regarding claim 14, Zucker discloses a plasma processing apparatus [e.g. fig. 1] comprising: an electrostatic chuck [e.g. see claim 1] configured to support a substrate using electrostatic force [e.g. 32]; and an inert gas supply device [see fig. 4, 62/the matched elements below] configured to supply inert gas to an upper surface [e.g. surface 18] of the electrostatic chuck, wherein the electrostatic chuck comprises: a ceramic puck [e.g. 28, 30, 22] configured to allow the substrate to be seated thereon, the ceramic puck accommodating a heater [ para. 0043 discloses heaters] and an electrode [e.g. 32] therein; a base plate [e.g. 22/15] configured to support the ceramic puck, the base plate comprising a refrigerant flow path [e.g. 24] formed therein; a bonding layer configured to bond the ceramic puck to the base plate; a ring-shaped sealing member configured to surround an outer side of the bonding layer; a first partition wall [e.g. the outer wall having annular shape] formed in an annular shape on a peripheral portion of the ceramic puck; a second partition wall [e.g. 44, 46, 48] formed in an annular shape at a position farther inward than the first partition wall on the peripheral portion of the ceramic puck; a connection partition wall [e.g. 56] configured to interconnect the first partition wall and the second partition wall to partition the peripheral portion of the ceramic puck into a plurality of peripheral areas; a plurality of periphery-side supply flow paths [e.g. fluid path in 44, 46, 48/62, 84, 66; and/or see at least paras. 0060-0062, 0065-0066, 0075-0077, fig. 5] formed so as to respectively correspond to the plurality of peripheral areas; and a center-side supply flow path [e.g. 42/62] formed at a position farther inward than the plurality of peripheral areas, and wherein the inert gas supply device comprises: an inert gas source [e.g. the supply source of 70 fig. 4] configured to store inert gas to be supplied to the plurality of periphery-side supply flow paths and the center-side supply flow path; and a flow rate controller [e.g. 96 fig. 4, also see at least paras. 0060-0062, 0065-0066, 0075-0077] configured to individually control a flow rate of inert gas supplied to each of the plurality of periphery-side supply flow paths and the center-side supply flow path [see at least paras. 0060-0062, 0065-0066, 0075-0077, figs. 4-5].
Zucker does not disclose the ceramic puck accommodating a heater; a bonding layer configured to bond the ceramic puck to the base plate; a ring-shaped sealing member configured to surround an outer side of the bonding layer. However, Noorbakhsh discloses a ceramic puck [e.g. 188 fig. 3] accommodating a heater and an electrode [e.g. 186] therein; a bonding layer [e.g. 150] configured to bond the ceramic puck to a base plate [e.g. 130]; a ring-shaped sealing member [e.g. 140, abstract, para. 0023] configured to surround an outer side of the bonding layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Zucker in accordance with the teaching of Noorbakhsh regarding a substrate support assembly in order to provide improvement for high temperature semiconductor manufacturing [para. 0001]
Regarding claim 15, the combination discussed above discloses the plasma processing apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein the heater is provided in plural, and each of the plurality of heaters is configured such that output thereof is controlled for a corresponding one of the plurality of peripheral areas so that a temperature at which to heat a corresponding one of the plurality of peripheral areas is individually controlled [see at least para. 0019 Noorbakhsh].
Regarding claim 16, the combination discussed above discloses the plasma processing apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein the connection partition wall comprises four connection partition walls disposed at angular intervals of 90 degrees about a center of the ceramic puck to partition the peripheral portion of the ceramic puck into four peripheral areas [see at least para. 0009, fig. 8; e.g. divided into 4 zones].
Regarding claim 19, the combination discussed above discloses the plasma processing apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein the first partition wall is formed to have a greater width than the second partition wall [see at least fig. 3].
Regarding claim 20, the combination discussed above discloses the plasma processing apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein the flow rate controller performs control such that flow rates of inert gas supplied to the plurality of periphery-side supply flow paths differ from each other [see at least paras. 0060-0062, 0065-0066, 0075-0077, fig. 5].
Regarding claim 17, the combination discussed above discloses the plasma processing apparatus as claimed in claim 14, further comprising a pattern [see 42 fig. 3 Zucker] formed at a position farther inward than the second partition wall on the ceramic puck.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zucker et al. (US 2009/0114158) in view of Pmt Corp (hereinafter Pmt; KR 10-2011-0119092, i.e. KR10-1134736).
Regarding claim 7, Zucker discloses the electrostatic chuck as claimed in claim 6, except wherein the pattern is formed to have a height less than a height of the first partition wall and a height of the second partition wall. However, Pmt discloses a pattern of an insulation layer [e.g. 140] is formed to have a height less than a height of a first partition wall and a height of a second partition wall [e.g. 142, 141]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Zucker in accordance with the teaching of Pmt regarding a height pattern in order to improve durability and strength [para. 0029]
Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zucker et al. (US 2009/0114158) in view of Noorbakhsh (US 2018/0151402) and Pmt Corp (hereinafter Pmt; KR 10-2011-0119092, i.e. KR10-1134736).
Regarding claim 18, the combination discussed above discloses the plasma processing apparatus as claimed in claim 17, except wherein the pattern is formed to have a height less than a height of the first partition wall and a height of the second partition wall. However, Pmt discloses a pattern of an insulation layer [e.g. 140] is formed to have a height less than a height of a first partition wall and a height of a second partition wall [e.g. 142, 141]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Zucker and Noorbakhsh in accordance with the teaching of Pmt regarding a height pattern in order to improve durability and strength [para. 0029]
Conclusion
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842