DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
In response to communications filed on 17 September 2024, claims 1-15 are presently pending in the application, of which, claims 1, 3, and 10 are presented in independent form. The Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1-10 and newly added claims 11-15.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 September 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, filed 25 July 2024, have been reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding claims 1-15, under Step 2A claims 3-4 and 11-15 recite a judicial exception (abstract idea) that is not integrated into a practical application and does not provide significantly more.
Under Step 2A (prong 1), and taking claim 3 as representative, claim 3 recites:
reading a governance document describing one or more processes in at least one processing chain, and,
for said one or more processes in the at least one processing chain, one or more governance rules and checks relating to the one or more governance rules,
when a process of said one or more processes in the at least one processing chain is executed, performing the checks described in the governance document, for the process that is executed,
raising an alert when a check of said checks fails.
These limitations recite mental processes, such as concepts performed in the human mind (see: 2019 PEG, p. 52). This is because the each of the limitations above recite a series of steps that may be mentally performed by which an evaluation is made for an abstract data. For example, the limitations of ‘reading a governance document describing one or more processes in at least one processing chain, and, for said one or more processes in the at least one processing chain, one or more governance rules and checks relating to the one or more governance rules, when a process of said one or more processes in the at least one processing chain is executed, performing the checks described in the governance document, for the process that is executed, raising an alert when a check of said checks fails,’ illustrate a judgement being performed to find matching results and does not perform any technical operation. This represents a judgement or decision which are concepts performed in the human mind and falls under certain methods of mental processes. Accordingly, under step 2A (prong 1) the claim recites an abstract idea because the claim recites limitations that fall within the “Certain methods of mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas (see again: 2019 PEG, p. 52).
Under Step 2A (prong 2), the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. The Examiner acknowledges that representative claim 3 does recite additional elements, including hardware processing circuitry, such as edge device.
Although reciting these additional elements, taken alone or in combination these elements are not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. This is because the additional elements of claim 3 are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computing hardware) such that they amount to nothing more than the mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on generic computing hardware (or, merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea). Further, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as the Internet or computing networks).
Secondly, the additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to (i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, (ii) implement the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, (iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or (iv) applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
In view of the above, under Step 2A (prong 2), claim 3 does not integrate the recited exception into a practical application (see again: 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance).
Under Step 2B, examiners should evaluate additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they provide an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself). In this case, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. That is, the limitations of ‘performing the checks described in the governance document, for the process that is executed,’ are additional elements that are insignificant extra solution activities that that do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Returning to representative claim 3, taken individually or as a whole the additional elements of claim 3 do not provide an inventive concept (i.e. they do not amount to “significantly more” than the exception itself). As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements used to perform the claimed process amount to no more than the mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer and/or no more than a general link to a technological environment.
Furthermore, the additional elements fail to provide significantly more also because the claim simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception. For example, the additional elements of claim 3 utilize operations the courts have held to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see: MPEP 2106.05(d)(lI)), including at least:
• receiving or transmitting data over a network, and/or
• storing and retrieving information in memory
• performing repetitive calculations
Even considered as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements of claim 1 do not add anything further than when they are considered individually.
In view of the above, representative claim 3 does not provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”) under Step 2B, and is therefore ineligible for patenting.
Dependent claim 4 also does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Notably, claim 4 recites ‘ an integration agent triggered when a modification is made to the governance document, the integration agent being configured to: read the governance document that is modified, carry out one or several of the one or more processes described in the governance document that is modified, perform the checks described in the governance document that is modified for the one or the several of the one or more processes performed, and raise an alert when a check, of said checks described in the governance document that is modified, fails,’ all which are more complexities descriptive of the abstract idea itself. Such complexities do not themselves provide further additional elements in addition to the abstract ideas themselves. Further, claim 4 relies upon at least similar additional elements that are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea or other exception on a computer. Considered both individually and as a whole, claim 4 does not integrate the recited exception into a practical application for at least similar reasons as discussed above.
Considered individually or as a whole, claim 4 also fail to result in “significantly more” than the abstract idea under step 2B. This is again because the claims merely recite additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activity that apply the exception on generic computing hardware, generally link the exception to a technological environment, and append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception (see discussion above).
Even when viewed as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements of the dependent claims do not add anything further than when they are considered individually.
In view of the above, claim 4 does not provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”) under Step 2B, and are therefore ineligible for patenting.
Dependent claim 11 also does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Notably, claim 11 recites ‘wherein the governance document further describes an access path to the source data and a check of a correct operation of the access path to be carried out when executing the one or more processes in order to ingest the source data,’ all which are more complexities descriptive of the abstract idea itself. Such complexities do not themselves provide further additional elements in addition to the abstract ideas themselves. Further, claim 11 relies upon at least similar additional elements that are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea or other exception on a computer. Considered both individually and as a whole, claim 11 does not integrate the recited exception into a practical application for at least similar reasons as discussed above.
Considered individually or as a whole, claim 11 also fail to result in “significantly more” than the abstract idea under step 2B. This is again because the claims merely recite additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activity that apply the exception on generic computing hardware, generally link the exception to a technological environment, and append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception (see discussion above).
Even when viewed as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements of the dependent claims do not add anything further than when they are considered individually.
In view of the above, claim 11 does not provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”) under Step 2B, and are therefore ineligible for patenting.
Dependent claim 12 also does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Notably, claim 12 recites ‘wherein the governance document further describes at least one format of the source data and a conformity check of the source data with said at least one format to be performed when executing the one or more processes to ingest the source data,’ all which are more complexities descriptive of the abstract idea itself. Such complexities do not themselves provide further additional elements in addition to the abstract ideas themselves. Further, claim 12 relies upon at least similar additional elements that are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea or other exception on a computer. Considered both individually and as a whole, claim 12 does not integrate the recited exception into a practical application for at least similar reasons as discussed above.
Considered individually or as a whole, claim 12 also fail to result in “significantly more” than the abstract idea under step 2B. This is again because the claims merely recite additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activity that apply the exception on generic computing hardware, generally link the exception to a technological environment, and append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception (see discussion above).
Even when viewed as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements of the dependent claims do not add anything further than when they are considered individually. In view of the above, claim 12 do not provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”) under Step 2B, and are therefore ineligible for patenting.
Dependent claim 13 also does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Notably, claim 13 recites ‘wherein the decision intelligence platform further comprises an operational data store into which the source data ingested by the decision intelligence platform is loaded, and the governance document further describes a data transcoding rule to be applied to the source data so that the source data that is ingested loaded into the operational data store belongs to a data reference model known from the operational data store,’ all which are more complexities descriptive of the abstract idea itself. Such complexities do not themselves provide further additional elements in addition to the abstract ideas themselves. Further, claim 13 relies upon at least similar additional elements that are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea or other exception on a computer. Considered both individually and as a whole, claim 13 does not integrate the recited exception into a practical application for at least similar reasons as discussed above.
Considered individually or as a whole, claim 13 also fail to result in “significantly more” than the abstract idea under step 2B. This is again because the claims merely recite additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activity that apply the exception on generic computing hardware, generally link the exception to a technological environment, and append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception (see discussion above).
Even when viewed as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements of the dependent claims do not add anything further than when they are considered individually. In view of the above, claim 13 does not provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”) under Step 2B, and are therefore ineligible for patenting.
Dependent claim 14 also does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Notably, claim 14 recites ‘wherein the decision intelligence platform further comprises an operational data store comprising intermediate tables, the governance document further describes a structure of the operational data store and a conformity check with the structure of the operational data store, to be performed when executing a process of the one or more processes in the at least one processing chain that impacts one or more intermediate tables of the intermediate tables,’ all which are more complexities descriptive of the abstract idea itself. Such complexities do not themselves provide further additional elements in addition to the abstract ideas themselves. Further, claim 14 relies upon at least similar additional elements that are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea or other exception on a computer. Considered both individually and as a whole, claim 14 does not integrate the recited exception into a practical application for at least similar reasons as discussed above.
Considered individually or as a whole, claim 14 also fail to result in “significantly more” than the abstract idea under step 2B. This is again because the claims merely recite additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activity that apply the exception on generic computing hardware, generally link the exception to a technological environment, and append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception (see discussion above).
Even when viewed as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements of the dependent claims do not add anything further than when they are considered individually. In view of the above, claim 14 does not provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”) under Step 2B, and are therefore ineligible for patenting.
Dependent claim 15 also does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Notably, claim 15 recites ‘wherein the governance document further describes a structure of the decision data warehouse and a conformity check with the structure of the decision data warehouse, to be performed when executing the one or more processes to feed the decision data warehouse,’ all which are more complexities descriptive of the abstract idea itself. Such complexities do not themselves provide further additional elements in addition to the abstract ideas themselves. Further, claim 15 relies upon at least similar additional elements that are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea or other exception on a computer. Considered both individually and as a whole, claim 15 does not integrate the recited exception into a practical application for at least similar reasons as discussed above.
Considered individually or as a whole, claim 15 also fail to result in “significantly more” than the abstract idea under step 2B. This is again because the claims merely recite additional elements that are insignificant extra-solution activity that apply the exception on generic computing hardware, generally link the exception to a technological environment, and append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception (see discussion above).
Even when viewed as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements of the dependent claims do not add anything further than when they are considered individually. In view of the above, claim 15 does not provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”) under Step 2B, and are therefore ineligible for patenting.
Claims 1-2 and 5-9 appear to include similar subject matter as in claims 3-4 and 11-15 as discussed above. More specifically, independent claim 1 additionally recites ‘a system…’ which is recited at a high level of generality and are recited as performing mere generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system in addition to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which the judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. All the comments made with respect to the rejection of claims 3-4 and 11-15 equally apply and therefore stand rejected.
Claim 10 appears to include similar subject matter as in claim 3 as discussed above. More specifically, independent claim 1 additionally recites ‘a computer program product…’ which is recited at a high level of generality and are recited as performing mere generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system in addition to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which the judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. All the comments made with respect to the rejection of claims 3-4 and 11-15 equally apply and therefore stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being unpatentable by a non-patent literature titled “Decide: An Agile event-and-data driven design methodology for decisional Big Data projects,” by Sfaxi, Lilia, et al, Data & Knowledge Engineering, El Sevier BV, NL, vol. 130, 28 September 2020, pages 1-21 (IDS Submission, 17 September 2024, known hereinafter as Sfaxi).
As per claim 1, Sfaxi teaches a decision intelligence platform comprising:
a decision data warehouse and an execution agent for to perform at least one processing chain in order to ingest source data and feed the decision data warehouse (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 4.3.2; Figure 4, which discloses you can transform your physical data model which unifies the different data sources in the same physical data structure, driven by the measures and based on the identified tags. Additionally, the integrated raw and redefined data lakes are defined from the beginning as they represent the main logical layers. They respect the co-localization principle, which implies that storage and processing are hosted in the same location.),
wherein the execution agent is configured to:
read a governance document describing one or more processes in the at least one processing chain (e.g. Sfazi, see section 3.1, page 4, where data governance is a set of rules, processes, roles, policies, and standards used to ensure the overall management of the availability, usability, understandability, and correctness of the data in the company.), and,
for said one or more processes in the at least one processing chain, one or more governance rules and checks relating to the one or more governance rules (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 4.3.1, page 9, where the transformation pipeline document illustrates with diagrams the transformation workflow that every source dataset went through in order to be cleaned and enriched.),
perform the checks described in the governance document when a process of said one or more processes in the at least one processing chain is executed (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 4.3.3, page 11, where for each data source and its adequate storage, and based on TPDs, you have to define the collection processes while taking into consideration the transformation type (pre-load or post-load), the pattern (distributed or centralized) and the execution engine (streaming, batch processes or change data capture paradigm.),
raise an alert when a check of said checks fails (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 3.3.3, page 5, which discloses to improve the quality of this dataset, many cleansing and enrichment processes can be defined.).
As per claim 3, Sfaxi teaches a method intended a decision data warehouse and an execution agent for to perform at least one processing chain in order to ingest source data and feed the decision data warehouse (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 4.3.2; Figure 4, which discloses you can transform your physical data model which unifies the different data sources in the same physical data structure, driven by the measures and based on the identified tags. Additionally, the integrated raw and redefined data lakes are defined from the beginning as they represent the main logical layers. They respect the co-localization principle, which implies that storage and processing are hosted in the same location.),
wherein the execution agent is configured to:
read a governance document describing one or more processes in the at least one processing chain (e.g. Sfazi, see section 3.1, page 4, where data governance is a set of rules, processes, roles, policies, and standards used to ensure the overall management of the availability, usability, understandability, and correctness of the data in the company.), and,
for said one or more processes in the at least one processing chain, one or more governance rules and checks relating to the one or more governance rules (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 4.3.1, page 9, where the transformation pipeline document illustrates with diagrams the transformation workflow that every source dataset went through in order to be cleaned and enriched.),
perform the checks described in the governance document when a process of said one or more processes in the at least one processing chain is executed (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 4.3.3, page 11, where for each data source and its adequate storage, and based on TPDs, you have to define the collection processes while taking into consideration the transformation type (pre-load or post-load), the pattern (distributed or centralized) and the execution engine (streaming, batch processes or change data capture paradigm.),
raise an alert when a check of said checks fails (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 3.3.3, page 5, which discloses to improve the quality of this dataset, many cleansing and enrichment processes can be defined.).
As per claim 10, Sfaxi teaches a computer program comprising instructions which, when they are executed by a computer, implement a method intended to be executed by a decision data warehouse and an execution agent for to perform at least one processing chain in order to ingest source data and feed the decision data warehouse (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 4.3.2; Figure 4, which discloses you can transform your physical data model which unifies the different data sources in the same physical data structure, driven by the measures and based on the identified tags. Additionally, the integrated raw and redefined data lakes are defined from the beginning as they represent the main logical layers. They respect the co-localization principle, which implies that storage and processing are hosted in the same location.),
wherein the execution agent is configured to:
read a governance document describing one or more processes in the at least one processing chain (e.g. Sfazi, see section 3.1, page 4, where data governance is a set of rules, processes, roles, policies, and standards used to ensure the overall management of the availability, usability, understandability, and correctness of the data in the company.), and,
for said one or more processes in the at least one processing chain, one or more governance rules and checks relating to the one or more governance rules (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 4.3.1, page 9, where the transformation pipeline document illustrates with diagrams the transformation workflow that every source dataset went through in order to be cleaned and enriched.),
perform the checks described in the governance document when a process of said one or more processes in the at least one processing chain is executed (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 4.3.3, page 11, where for each data source and its adequate storage, and based on TPDs, you have to define the collection processes while taking into consideration the transformation type (pre-load or post-load), the pattern (distributed or centralized) and the execution engine (streaming, batch processes or change data capture paradigm.),
raise an alert when a check of said checks fails (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 3.3.3, page 5, which discloses to improve the quality of this dataset, many cleansing and enrichment processes can be defined.)
As per claims 2 and 4, Sfaxi teaches the decision intelligence platform according to claim 1 and the method of claim 3, respectively, further comprising:
an integration agent triggered when a modification is made to the governance document, the integration agent being configured to:
read the governance document that is modified,
carry out one or several of the one or more processes described in the governance document that is modified,
perform the checks described in the governance document that is modified for the one or the several of the one or more processes performed, and
raise an alert when a check, of said checks described in the governance document that is modified, fails.
As per claims 5 and 11, Sfaxi teaches the decision intelligence platform according to claim 1 and the method of claim 3, respectively, wherein the governance document further describes an access path to the source data and a check of a correct operation of the access path to be carried out when executing the one or more processes in order to ingest the source data (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 2.2, page 3 and section 4.3.1, page 8, where a data identification step, where various data sources are defined. We first need to identify these sources, define their type (streaming, batch, or mixed), and reliability.).
As per claims 6 and 12, Sfaxi teaches the decision intelligence platform according to claim 1 and the method of claim 3, respectively, wherein the governance document further describes at least one format of the source data and a conformity check of the source data with said at least one format to be performed when executing the one or more processes to ingest the source data (e.g. Sfaxi, see section 4.3.1, page 9, which discloses we first need to identify these sources, define their type (streaming, batch, or mixed).).
As per claims 7 and 13, Sfaxi teaches the decision intelligence platform according to claim 1 and the method of claim 3, respectively, wherein the decision intelligence platform further comprises an operational data store into which the source data ingested by the decision intelligence platform is loaded, and the governance document further describes a data transcoding rule to be applied to the source data so that the source data that is ingested loaded into the operational data store belongs to a data reference model known from the operational data store (e.g. Sfix, see section 4.3.1, which discloses data models, normalized relational model, data cleansing and enrichment, and data denormalization. See further Figure 4.).
As per claims 8 and 14, Sfaxi teaches the decision intelligence platform according to claim 1 and the method of claim 3, respectively, wherein the decision intelligence platform further comprises an operational data store comprising intermediate tables, the governance document further describes a structure of the operational data store and a conformity check with the structure of the operational data store, to be performed when executing a process of the one or more processes in the at least one processing chain that impacts one or more intermediate tables of the intermediate tables (e.g. Sfix, see Figure 4, which discloses integrated refined data late.).
As per claims 9 and 15, Sfaxi teaches the decision intelligence platform according to claim 1 and the method of claim 3, respectively, wherein the governance document further describes a structure of the decision data warehouse and a conformity check with the structure of the decision data warehouse, to be performed when executing the one or more processes to feed the decision data warehouse (e.g. Sfix, see section 4.3.3, which discloses for each data source and its adequate storage, and based on TPDs, you have to define the collection processes while taking into consideration the transformation type (pre-load or post-load), the pattern (distributed or centralized) and the execution engine (streaming, batch processes or change data capture paradigm.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See attached PTO-892 that includes additional prior art of record describing the general state of the art in which the invention is directed to.
Contact Information
/FARHAN M SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161 September 29, 2026