Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are presented for examination on the merits.
Priority
Applicant's claim for priority to US application 17/634,258, filed February 10, 2022 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/4/2025, 4/29/2025, and 11/5/2024 were filed before the filing of a first office action on the merits. As such, the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Appl. No. 17/634,258 (U.S. Patent No.). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the (substantially) broader instant claims recite the same limitations contained in the narrower claims of the parent applications. The independent claims map like independent claims and the dependents map numerically. As such, the instant claims are obvious in light of the parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101, because they recite non-patentable subject matter under MPEP § 2106. The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea, etc.) without practical application or significantly more.
More particularly, when considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Broad categories of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices, certain methods of organizing human activities, an idea itself, and mathematical relationships/formulas. See, generally Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S. __ (2014) (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc.,132 S. Ct. 1289, 1294, 1297-98 (2012)); Federal Register notice titled 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (79 FR 74618), which is found at: http:// www. gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2014-12-16/pdf/2014-29414.pdf; 2015 Update to the Interim Guidance; the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, Fed. Reg., Vol. 84, No. 4, January 7, 2019; and associated Office memoranda.
Under the 2019 PEG, Step 2a-prong 1, Claims 1-20 recite a judicial exception(s), including a method of organizing human activity (e.g. fundamental economic principle). More particularly, the entirety of the method steps are directed towards the detection of fraud during an ATM transaction, detecting fraud based on a user profile and a threshold, detecting fraud using a machine learning model trained on aggregate transactions, and the authorization of a transaction, accordingly. These are long-standing commercial practices previously performed by humans (e.g., security centers, fraud prevention, cyber-crime departments, etc.) manually and via mental steps, and using computers in other contexts at the time of filing. As such, the inventions include an abstract idea(s) under MPEP § 2106 (e.g., the 2019 PEG, and Alice Corporation).
Under Step 2a-prong 2, the claims fail to recite a practical application of the exception, because the extraneous limitations (e.g., the structure—a system, distributed cache, at least one processor, an ATM, etc.) merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g), generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and/or generally instruct an artisan to apply it (the method) across generic computing technology. A claim does not cease to be abstract for section 101 purposes simply because the claim confines the abstract idea to a particular technological environment in order to effectuate a real-world benefit. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 222; BSG Tech LLC v. BuySeasons, Inc., 899 F.3d 1281, 1287 (Fed. Cir. 2018); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2014). “[I]t is not enough, however, to merely improve a fundamental practice or abstract process by invoking a computer merely as a tool.” Customedia Techs., LLC v. Dish Network Corp., 951 F.3d 1359, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (citations omitted). More particularly, the claims fail to recite an improvement to the functioning of a computer or technology (under MPEP § 2106.05(a)), the use of a particular machine (under § 2106.05(b)), effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article (§ 2106.05(c)), or apply the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (§ 2106.05(e)).
For example, the extraneous limitations of Claim 1 are delineated in bold below:
1. A system comprising:
a distributed cache; and
at least one processor configured to:
generate at least one predetermined automated teller machine (ATM) activity threshold at least partly by a machine learning model trained on historic transaction data for a plurality of payment devices;
receive transaction data of a plurality of transactions completed by at least one ATM, the transaction data received in real-time during transaction processing at a transaction service provider system;
store the transaction data in the distributed cache;
receive a transaction request for a user transaction at a first ATM of the at least one ATM using a payment device; and
in response to receiving the transaction request, and before completion of the user transaction at the first ATM:
modify a profile of ATM activity stored in the distributed cache based on the transaction request, wherein, when modifying the profile of ATM activity, the at least one processor is configured to aggregate at least one metric of the profile based on the user transaction;
compare at least one metric of the profile of ATM activity to the at least one predetermined ATM activity threshold; and
in response to determining that the at least one metric satisfies the at least one predetermined ATM activity threshold, decline the user transaction.
Under part 2b, the additional elements offered by the dependent claims either further delineate the abstract idea, recite insignificant extra-solution activity, or instruct the artisan to apply it (the abstract ideas) across generic computing technology. The claims as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because no one claim effects an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself, or move beyond a general link of the use of the abstract idea to a particular, albeit well-understood, routine and conventional technological environment. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. Under Alice, merely applying or executing the abstract idea on one or more generic computer system (e.g., a computer system comprising a generic database; a generic element (NIC) for providing website access, etc.; a generic element for receiving user input; and a generic display on the computer, in any of their forms) to carry out the abstract idea more efficiently fails to cure patent ineligibility. See, e.g., Content Extraction, 776 F.3d at 1347 (claims reciting a “scanner” are nevertheless directed to an abstract idea); Mortg. Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Serv. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324–25 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (claims reciting an “interface,” “network,” and a “database” are nevertheless directed to an abstract idea).
Courts have recognized the following computer functions to be well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner: performing repetitive calculations, receiving, processing, and storing data, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, electronic recordkeeping, automating mental tasks, and receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, MPEP 2106.05(d), wherein the italicized tasks are particularly germane to the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 20130024373 to Choudhuri et al.
With respect to Claims 1, 8, and 15, Choudhuri teaches a computer-implemented method, system, and a computer program product comprising non-transitory computer readable medium ([0024]) for real-time automated teller machine (ATM) fraud detection and prevention ([0003];[0120]), the method comprising:
Generate at least one predetermined ATM activity threshold at least partly by a machine learning model trained on historic transaction data for a plurality of payment devices ([0120];[0146];FIG. 7;[0110];[0057;[0122]).
receiving, with at least one processor ([0011]), transaction data of a plurality of transactions completed by at least one ATM, the transaction data received in real-time during transaction processing at a transaction service provider system ([0052];[0055];[0065];[0120]);
storing the transaction data in a distributed cache ([0066];[0088];[0089]);
receiving a transaction request for a user transaction at an ATM using a payment device, ([0065];[0083];[0092-93];[0056];[0110];[0120]);
in response to receiving the transaction request, and before completion of the user transaction at the ATM:
modifying, with at least one processor, a profile of ATM activity stored in the distributed cache and associated with the payment device identifier and/or an identifier of the ATM, the profile comprising metrics comprising at least ATM transaction value data and ATM transaction count data ([0065];[0083];[0055-57];[0109];[0120])
comparing, with at least one processor, at least one metric of the profile of ATM activity to at least one predetermined ATM activity threshold ([0053];[0066];[0098]); and
in response to determining that the at least one metric satisfies the at least one predetermined ATM activity threshold, decline the user transaction ([0039], decline; [0053-54];[0072-73];[0119]).
With respect to Claims 2, and 9 Choudhuri teaches wherein the ATM is communicatively connected to the distributed cache and programmed and/or configured to aggregate the transaction data with data from the user transaction during processing of the user transaction ([0055];[0065-66]).
With respect to Claims 3, 10, and 16, Choudhuri teaches wherein (i) comparing the at least one metric to the at least one predetermined ATM activity threshold and (ii) activating, or causing the activation of, the fraud prevention operation, are executed by the ATM in real-time with processing the user transaction ([0053];[0054];[0073];[0120]).
With respect to Claims 4, 11, and 17, Choudhuri teaches wherein the machine learning model is regularly updated based on the transaction data received in real-time during processing of the transaction data, and wherein the at least one predetermined ATM activity threshold is regenerated at regular intervals at least partly by the machine learning model ([0057];[0068];[0122];[0123]).
With respect to Claim 5, 12, and 18, Choudhuri teaches wherein the at least one metric further comprises ATM transaction time data, and wherein the fraud prevention operation is activated in response to determining a count of ATM transactions associated with the payment device identifier in a time period satisfies the at least one predetermined ATM activity threshold comprising an upper threshold count of transactions ([0065];[0068]).
With respect to Claim 6, 13, and 19, Choudhuri teaches wherein the at least one metric further comprises ATM transaction location data, and wherein the fraud prevention operation is activated in response to determining a count of ATM transactions associated with the payment device identifier in a geographic region satisfies the at least one predetermined ATM activity threshold comprising an upper threshold count of transactions in the geographic region ([0060];[0065];[0068];[0092]).
With respect to Claim 7, 14, and 20, Choudhuri teaches wherein the at least one metric further comprises ATM transaction time data and ATM transaction location data ([0114]), and wherein the fraud prevention operation is activated in response to determining a time interval between a first ATM transaction of the payment device and a second ATM transaction of the payment device satisfies the at least one predetermined ATM activity threshold comprising a lower threshold time interval, the lower threshold representative of an unlikely or impossible travel time between a location of the first ATM transaction and a location of the second ATM transaction ([0098];[0113-14]).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J JACOB/Examiner, Art Unit 3696