DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2025 and 03/06/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “receive a random access response from the first apparatus with information applied by the first apparatus to at least one field of the received random access response”. It is not clear how the second apparatus receives a random access response with information applied by the first apparatus. Moreover, because the claim recites “the second apparatus configure, to a first apparatus, two timing advance groups ... “ in lines 4-5, the second apparatus is interpreted as a network device, and the first apparatus interpreted as a terminal device. The second apparatus (network device) should not the entity to receive the random access response.
Claim 32 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 12.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11 and 21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,762. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations are similar in scope and the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,762.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 10-12, 21, 32, 43-44, 46 and 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fan et al. (US 2024/0205855).
Regarding Claim 1, Fan teaches a first apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus at least to ([0347] a communication apparatus 1100 includes a processor 1101. Optionally, the communication apparatus 1100 further includes a memory 1102; [0350] the processor 1101 performs a function of the network device or the terminal in the method shown in FIG. 6 by running or executing a software program stored in the memory 1102):
determine whether an association between at least one timing advance group of two timing advance groups associated with a special cell of the first apparatus and respective one or more indices in a random access response was obtained from a second apparatus, wherein the first apparatus is configured with the two timing advance groups associated with the special cell ([0191] The local index indicates that the TAG is a TAG in a plurality of TAGs corresponding to a specific cell. The specific cell is a cell that sends the configuration information ... The network device sends a RAR message to the terminal. The random access response message includes the initial TA value of the specific TAG. Correspondingly, the terminal receives the RAR message from the network device; [0192] The RAR message includes related information of a TAG in the plurality of TAGs, for example, an index of the TAG and one initial TA value corresponding to the TAG. A first TAG is used as an example. The RAR message includes related information of the first TAG, for example, an index of the first TAG, and an initial TA value corresponding to the first TAG, for example, a first initial TA value; [0193] The first initial TA value is indicated by some fields in the RAR message, for example, a timing advance command (timing advance command) field in Table 1. The timing advance command field has a plurality of bits (bits), for example, 12 bits, so that the plurality of bits indicate various values of the first initial TA value. The first TAG is indicated by some other fields in the RAR message, for example, a reserved field (an R field) in Table 1, so that the terminal determines, based on the reserved field in the RAR message, that the initial TA value in the RAR message is the first initial TA value corresponding to the first TAG. The reserved field is one bit, so that a value 0 or 1 of the bit correspondingly indicates two TAGs. For example, the value 0 of the bit indicates the first TAG, and the value 1 of the bit indicates another TAG, for example, a second TAG; [Abstract] the configuration information includes two timing advance groups (TAGs) corresponding to one cell, and each TAG corresponds to one timing advance (TA). The terminal receives a plurality of random access response messages from the network device, wherein each random access response message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs); and
determine, based on the association, usage of information in at least one field of the random access response of the first apparatus ([0199] S602: The terminal determines the first TA or the first TAG; [0200] The first TA is a TA corresponding to uplink signal transmission, and the first TAG is a TAG corresponding to uplink signal transmission).
Regarding Claim 3, Fan teaches the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to: obtain the association in response to configuring a second timing advance group of the two timing advance groups for the first apparatus ([0191] The local index indicates that the TAG is a TAG in a plurality of TAGs corresponding to a specific cell. The specific cell is a cell that sends the configuration information; [0192] The RAR message includes related information of a TAG in the plurality of TAGs; [0193] the value 0 of the bit indicates the first TAG, and the value 1 of the bit indicates another TAG, for example, a second TAG. Alternatively, the value 1 of the bit indicates the first TAG, and the value 0 of the bit indicates a second TAG).
Regarding Claim 5, Fan teaches in accordance with a determination that a received random access response indicates an index corresponding to a timing advance group of the two timing advance groups associated with the special cell of the first apparatus, the determine usage comprises determining that the information in at least one field of the random access response is to be applied; and the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to apply the information in the at least one field of the random access response ([0191] The local index indicates that the TAG is a TAG in a plurality of TAGs corresponding to a specific cell. The specific cell is a cell that sends the configuration information ... The network device sends a RAR message to the terminal. The random access response message includes the initial TA value of the specific TAG. Correspondingly, the terminal receives the RAR message from the network device; [0192] The RAR message includes related information of a TAG in the plurality of TAGs, for example, an index of the TAG and one initial TA value corresponding to the TAG. A first TAG is used as an example. The RAR message includes related information of the first TAG, for example, an index of the first TAG, and an initial TA value corresponding to the first TAG, for example, a first initial TA value; [0193] The first initial TA value is indicated by some fields in the RAR message, for example, a timing advance command (timing advance command) field in Table 1. The timing advance command field has a plurality of bits (bits), for example, 12 bits, so that the plurality of bits indicate various values of the first initial TA value. The first TAG is indicated by some other fields in the RAR message, for example, a reserved field (an R field) in Table 1, so that the terminal determines, based on the reserved field in the RAR message, that the initial TA value in the RAR message is the first initial TA value corresponding to the first TAG. The reserved field is one bit, so that a value 0 or 1 of the bit correspondingly indicates two TAGs. For example, the value 0 of the bit indicates the first TAG, and the value 1 of the bit indicates another TAG, for example, a second TAG; [Abstract] the configuration information includes two timing advance groups (TAGs) corresponding to one cell, and each TAG corresponds to one timing advance (TA). The terminal receives a plurality of random access response messages from the network device, wherein each random access response message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs; [0199] S602: The terminal determines the first TA or the first TAG; [0200] The first TA is a TA corresponding to uplink signal transmission, and the first TAG is a TAG corresponding to uplink signal transmission).
Regarding Claim 7, Fan teaches the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to: obtain the association between a timing advance group associated with the special cell and an index in the random access response having a specific index value; and determine that a further timing advance group associated with the special cell is associated to a further index in the random access response having another index value ([0191] The local index indicates that the TAG is a TAG in a plurality of TAGs corresponding to a specific cell. The specific cell is a cell that sends the configuration information ... The network device sends a RAR message to the terminal. The random access response message includes the initial TA value of the specific TAG. Correspondingly, the terminal receives the RAR message from the network device; [0192] The RAR message includes related information of a TAG in the plurality of TAGs, for example, an index of the TAG and one initial TA value corresponding to the TAG. A first TAG is used as an example. The RAR message includes related information of the first TAG, for example, an index of the first TAG, and an initial TA value corresponding to the first TAG, for example, a first initial TA value; [0193] The first initial TA value is indicated by some fields in the RAR message, for example, a timing advance command (timing advance command) field in Table 1. The timing advance command field has a plurality of bits (bits), for example, 12 bits, so that the plurality of bits indicate various values of the first initial TA value. The first TAG is indicated by some other fields in the RAR message, for example, a reserved field (an R field) in Table 1, so that the terminal determines, based on the reserved field in the RAR message, that the initial TA value in the RAR message is the first initial TA value corresponding to the first TAG. The reserved field is one bit, so that a value 0 or 1 of the bit correspondingly indicates two TAGs. For example, the value 0 of the bit indicates the first TAG, and the value 1 of the bit indicates another TAG, for example, a second TAG).
Regarding Claim 8, Fan teaches a lower index value in the random access response is associated to a timing advance group of the two timing advance groups having a lower group identifier and a higher index value in the random access response is associated to a timing advance group of the two timing advance groups having a higher group identifier ([0172] the TAG mentioned in at least one embodiment usually indicates an index or a TAG ID of the TAG; [0193] The reserved field is one bit, so that a value 0 or 1 of the bit correspondingly indicates two TAGs. For example, the value 0 of the bit indicates the first TAG, and the value 1 of the bit indicates another TAG, for example, a second TAG).
Regarding Claim 10, Fan teaches an index in the random access response is indicated with a value of a bit field in the random access response ([0193] The first TAG is indicated by some other fields in the RAR message, for example, a reserved field (an R field) in Table 1, so that the terminal determines, based on the reserved field in the RAR message, that the initial TA value in the RAR message is the first initial TA value corresponding to the first TAG. The reserved field is one bit, so that a value 0 or 1 of the bit correspondingly indicates two TAGs).
Regarding Claim 11, Fan teaches the first apparatus comprises a terminal device and the second apparatus comprises a network device ([0191] The network device sends a RAR message to the terminal. The random access response message includes the initial TA value of the specific TAG. Correspondingly, the terminal receives the RAR message from the network device).
Regarding Claim 12, Fan teaches a second apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the second apparatus at least to ([0347] a communication apparatus 1100 includes a processor 1101. Optionally, the communication apparatus 1100 further includes a memory 1102; [0350] the processor 1101 performs a function of the network device or the terminal in the method shown in FIG. 6 by running or executing a software program stored in the memory 1102):
configure, to a first apparatus, two timing advance groups associated with a special cell, and configure, to the first apparatus, an association between at least one timing advance group of the two timing advance groups associated with the special cell of the first apparatus and respective one or more indices in a random access response ([0191] The local index indicates that the TAG is a TAG in a plurality of TAGs corresponding to a specific cell. The specific cell is a cell that sends the configuration information ... The network device sends a RAR message to the terminal. The random access response message includes the initial TA value of the specific TAG. Correspondingly, the terminal receives the RAR message from the network device; [0192] The RAR message includes related information of a TAG in the plurality of TAGs, for example, an index of the TAG and one initial TA value corresponding to the TAG. A first TAG is used as an example. The RAR message includes related information of the first TAG, for example, an index of the first TAG, and an initial TA value corresponding to the first TAG, for example, a first initial TA value; [0193] The first initial TA value is indicated by some fields in the RAR message, for example, a timing advance command (timing advance command) field in Table 1. The timing advance command field has a plurality of bits (bits), for example, 12 bits, so that the plurality of bits indicate various values of the first initial TA value. The first TAG is indicated by some other fields in the RAR message, for example, a reserved field (an R field) in Table 1, so that the terminal determines, based on the reserved field in the RAR message, that the initial TA value in the RAR message is the first initial TA value corresponding to the first TAG. The reserved field is one bit, so that a value 0 or 1 of the bit correspondingly indicates two TAGs. For example, the value 0 of the bit indicates the first TAG, and the value 1 of the bit indicates another TAG, for example, a second TAG; [Abstract] the configuration information includes two timing advance groups (TAGs) corresponding to one cell, and each TAG corresponds to one timing advance (TA). The terminal receives a plurality of random access response messages from the network device, wherein each random access response message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs); and
receive a random access response from the first apparatus with information applied by the first apparatus to at least one field of the received random access response, wherein the information applied is based at least on the association ([0192] The RAR message includes related information of a TAG in the plurality of TAGs, for example, an index of the TAG and one initial TA value corresponding to the TAG. A first TAG is used as an example. The RAR message includes related information of the first TAG, for example, an index of the first TAG, and an initial TA value corresponding to the first TAG, for example, a first initial TA value; [0193] The first initial TA value is indicated by some fields in the RAR message, for example, a timing advance command (timing advance command) field in Table 1. The timing advance command field has a plurality of bits (bits), for example, 12 bits, so that the plurality of bits indicate various values of the first initial TA value. The first TAG is indicated by some other fields in the RAR message, for example, a reserved field (an R field) in Table 1, so that the terminal determines, based on the reserved field in the RAR message, that the initial TA value in the RAR message is the first initial TA value corresponding to the first TAG. The reserved field is one bit, so that a value 0 or 1 of the bit correspondingly indicates two TAGs. For example, the value 0 of the bit indicates the first TAG, and the value 1 of the bit indicates another TAG, for example, a second TAG; [0199] S602: The terminal determines the first TA or the first TAG; [0200] The first TA is a TA corresponding to uplink signal transmission, and the first TAG is a TAG corresponding to uplink signal transmission).
Regarding Claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 12.
Regarding Claim 43, Fan teaches a non-transitory program storage device readable with an apparatus, tangibly embodying a program of instructions executable with the apparatus at least to perform the method of claim 21 ([0347] the communication apparatus 1100 further includes a memory 1102; [0350] the processor 1101 performs a function of the network device or the terminal in the method shown in FIG. 6 by running or executing a software program stored in the memory 1102; [0354] the memory 1102 is a read-only memory (ROM) or another type of static storage device that stores static information and instructions).
Regarding Claim 44, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 46, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 48, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 49, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 45 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. in view of Prasad et al. (US 2025/0048300).
Regarding Claim 4, Fan does not teach the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to: obtain the association between a first timing advance group of the two timing advance groups and a corresponding index in the random access response in response to there being no configuration of a second timing advance group.
In an analogous art, Prasad teaches the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to: obtain the association between a first timing advance group of the two timing advance groups and a corresponding index in the random access response in response to there being no configuration of a second timing advance group ([0256] The UE capability message may not indicate/comprise a supported number of TAGs (supportedNumberTAG). A supported number of TAGs may be absent in the UE capability message. The wireless device may support a single TAG (or only one TAG) based on the supported number of TAGs being absent in the UE capability message. The wireless device may support the single TAG for NR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Prasad’s method with Fan’s method so that Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Prasad’s method with Fan’s method so that configurations of the timing advance grouping can be flexibly received by the UEs of capabilities of receiving different RARs for timing advance.
Regarding Claim 6, Fan does not teach in accordance with a determination that a received random access response does not indicate an index corresponding to a timing advance group of the two timing advance groups associated with the special cell of the first apparatus, the determine usage comprises determining that the information in the at least one field of the random access response is not to be applied; and the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to not apply the information in the at least one field of the random access response.
In an analogous art, Prasad teaches in accordance with a determination that a received random access response does not indicate an index corresponding to a timing advance group of the two timing advance groups associated with the special cell of the first apparatus, the determine usage comprises determining that the information in the at least one field of the random access response is not to be applied; and the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus to not apply the information in the at least one field of the random access response ([0677] The control command may be, for example, a random-access response (RAR). The control command may be, for example, an absolute TAC MAC CE. The control command may not comprise a TAG index. The control command may not comprise the TAG index, for example, based on the control command being a random-access response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Prasad’s method with Fan’s method so that Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Prasad’s method with Fan’s method so that configurations of the timing advance grouping can be flexibly received by the UEs of capabilities of receiving different RARs for timing advance.
Regarding Claim 45, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 47, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Go et al. (US 2026/0164469) teaches method for transmitting and receiving RAR.
Ling et al. (US 2025/0056667) teaches method of adjusting timing for multi-TRP transmission.
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413