DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered [see paragraph [004] for details].
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a processor and data storage device [claim 12] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: a) in paragraph [001], last line after “in its entirely.” input the following: --This application is a continuation of application No. 17/599,085, filed on Sept 28, 2021, now Patent No. 12,135,319.-- b)In paragraph [031], line 4, after “16/095,011” input the following: --now Patent No. 11,002,758--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the tip” should be change to --a tip-- since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
a)Regarding claims 3 and 16, the claims state: “the information that is delivered to the user is membrane integrity.” The specification does not provide a full, clear and concise description on how the "membrane integrity" is correlated with impedance measurements given by a device in order to be "delivered to the user."
For examination purposes, the examiner at this time is not given patentable to the limitation above until further explanation is given by the applicant.
b) Regarding claims 4 and 17, the claims state: " the information that is delivered to the user is ion leakage." The specification does provide a full, clear and concise description on how the "ion leakage" is correlated with impedance measurements given by a device in order to be "delivered to the user."
For examination purposes, the examiner at this time is not given patentable to the limitation above until further explanation is given by the applicant.
c) Regarding claim 10, the claim states: "...tip " can only penetrate the plant to a predetermined depth." It is not clear from the specification what is the "predetermine depth" of the penetration of the tip.
For examination purposes, the examiner at this time is not given patentable to the limitation "predetermine depth" until further explanation is given by the applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eunyong Jeon et al (Development of electrical conductivity measurement technology for key plant physiological information using microneedle sensor) [article was supplied in the parent application 17/599,085].
Regarding claim 1, Jeon et al disclose [see Figs. 1(a) and 4(b) above] a system (Item E assembly) for real-time monitoring of plant status [see Abstract for details] comprising: a probe comprising: a body (electrode pad) that attaches to the plant [see Figs. 1(b) and 11 for drawing details of the probe connected to the plant]; and a microprobe (Item A microneedle) that measure impedance of the plant; and a device (Item D impedance analyzer) that receives the impedance measurements from the microprobe (Item A) and provides information to a user based on the impedance measurements [see page 4 starting at section 3.2 - page 7].
Regarding claim 2, Jeon et al disclose wherein the information that is delivered to the user is relative water content [see Abstract, page 6 section 4.1.2 and page 8 regarding Figure 12].
Regarding claim 5, Jeon et al disclose wherein the microprobe (Item A) comprises a microneedle [see Figs above].
Regarding claim 6, Jeon et al disclose the microprobe (Item A) inherently comprises a nanowire. Although the prior art does not specifically disclose the claimed nanowire, this feature is seen to be an inherent teaching of that microprobe device (microneedle) since a wire is presented in Fig. 1(a) connected to the electrode pad is disclosed and it is apparent that some type of nanowire must be presented for the microprobe (microneedle) to function as intended.
Regarding claim 8, Jeon et al disclose wherein the nanowire [part of the microneedle] is a semiconductor [see page 2 section 2.1 for details].
Regarding claim 9, Jeon et al disclose wherein the nanowire [part of the microneedle] is only conductive at the tip [see pages 3-4 section 3.1 for details where such items as titanium, gold and aluminum are used].
Regarding claim 10, Jeon et al as best understood disclose wherein the nanowire tip can only penetrate the plant to a predetermined depth [see page 2 section 2.1 for details].
Regarding claim 11, Jeon et al disclose wherein the microprobe (Item A) forms at least a part of the body (electrode pad) that is attached to the plant [see Figs 3(b) and 11].
Regarding claim 12, Jeon et al disclose wherein the device comprises a processor [shown in the prior art as microcontroller see page 4 section 3.2] and data storage device [not shown but see page 8 regarding Figure 12] in order to retain historical information.
Regarding claim 13, Jeon et al disclose an array of microprobes (Item A see Fig. 3(b)) that measure impedance of the plant.
Regarding claim 14, Jeon et al disclose [see also Figs. 1(a) and 3(b) above] a method for measuring real-time plant status comprising: attaching, to a plant [see Fig. 11 as well], a microprobe (Item A microneedle) that measure impedance of the plant; transmitting the impedance measurement [via Item D impedance analyzer] to a user interface [known in the prior art as microcontroller]; and converting the impedance measurement into user-friendly data that provides plant status information to the user [via microcontroller see page 4 starting at section 3.2 - page 7 for details].
Regarding claim 15, Jeon et al disclose wherein the information that is provided to the user is relative water content [see Abstract, page 6 section 4.1.2 and page 8 regarding Figure 12].
Regarding claim 18, Jeon et al disclose wherein the plant status information includes historical information [see page 6 section 4.1 - page 7 for details].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eunyong Jeon et al (Development of electrical conductivity measurement technology for key plant physiological information using microneedle sensor) [article was supplied in the parent application 17/599,085].
Regarding claim 7, Jeon et al disclose the nanowire (part of Item A microneedle). However, the prior art does not disclose the nanowire is a gallium nitride nanowire. It is known in the art to have different materials for the nanowire where needed by the user [see MPEP 2144.04; In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have different materials for the nanowire as claimed since it was found that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858