DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 20-37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. That is, the newly cited reference Feldman properly discloses the challenged limitations, and the references are properly combined in the rejections below. As such, the claims stand rejected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-22, 24, and 36-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasu et al., US 2014/0362002 A1 (hereinafter “Nakasu”) in view of Feldman et al., US 2015/0170327 A1 (hereinafter “Feldman”).
Regarding claim 20, Nakasu discloses an information processing apparatus (Nakasu, FIGS. 1A, 1B, 24, [0032]-[0033] and [0169] display control device 100) comprising:
a memory (Nakasu, FIG. 24, [0169]-[0172] main storage device 102, auxiliary storage device 103, storage medium 108) configured to store angle information (Nakasu, FIGS. 6A-6B, [0047], FIGS. 12-14 and [0103]-[0104], [0132] FIGS. 21A-21B and [0156], to be used for character recognition (Nakasu at [0128]-[0132] and [0166] handwriting detection given angle information) in association with information related to a pen (Nakasu FIGS. 1A-1B, pen-type input device 90) used by a user (Nakasu FIG. 4, 8A-10B and [0041]-[0042], [0069]-[0072], [0076]-[0082] with hand 80 of the user; FIGS. 6A-6B with users A-1 through A4, at [0047]-[0048] FIGS. 19, 20A-B and 23 [0153]-[0155] and [0162] users A-D);
a display (Nakasu, FIGS. 1A-1B, 4-6A-6B, 8A-9B, 15B, 19, 20A-20B, 23, screen W at [0032]-[0035], [0045]-[0049], [0068], [0071], [0074], [0104], [0117]-[0118], [0123], [0133]-[0144]) having a first edge (Nakasu at FIGS. 6A, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 19-20A, 23, upper side at [0043], [0048], [0070], [0082], [0128], [0155]-[0156], [0162]), a second edge (Nakasu at FIGS. 6A, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 19-20A, 23, lower side at [0048], [0128], [0155]-[0156], [0162]), a third edge (Nakasu at FIGS. 6A, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 19-20A, 23, left side at [0048], [0128], [0155], [0162]), and a fourth edge (Nakasu at FIGS. 6A, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 19-20A, 23, right side at [0048], [0068]-[0069], [0082]-[0083], [0120], [0128], [0153]-[0156], [0162]), the second edge being opposite to the first edge (Nakasu at FIGS. 6A, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 19-20A, 23, upper side opposite of lower side at [0043], [0048], [0070], [0082], [0128], [0155]-[0156], [0162]), and the third edge being opposite to the fourth edge (Nakasu at FIGS. 6A, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 19-20A, 23, left side opposite of right side at [0043], [0048], [0070], [0082], [0128], [0155]-[0156], [0162]); and
circuitry (Nakasu at FIG. 24, CPU 101 at [0169]-[0172]) configured to:
display a first operation menu (Nakasu at FIGS. 15A-15B [0135]-[0139] operation menu bar at upper side with icons “File”, “Option”, “Help”) on the display along the first edge of the display (Nakasu at FIG. 15A operation menu bar at upper side, [0135]-[0139] direction adjusts in accordance with user’s direction with respect to the screen, additionally, FIGS. 2, 8A-9B with menu M and [0032] and [0075])and a second operation menu (Nakasu at FIGS. 15A-15B [0135]-[0139] operation menu bar at upper side with icons “File”, “Option”, “Help”, additionally, FIGS. 2, 8A-9B with menu M and [0032] and [0075]) on the display along the second edge of the display (Nakasu at FIGS. 15A-15B [0135]-[0139] operation menu bar with icons “File”, “Option”, “Help” will adjust in accordance with user’s direction, if user is at upper side, the menu bar will be at lower side, additionally, FIGS. 2, 8A-9B with menu M and [0032] and [0075]), the first operation menu including a first operation button (Nakasu at FIGS. 15A-15B [0135]-[0139] operation menu bar with icons/buttons “File”, “Option”, “Help”), and the second operation menu including a second operation button (Nakasu at FIGS. 15A-15B [0135]-[0139] operation menu bar with icons/buttons “File”, “Option”, “Help” the second series of buttons when the screen adjusts in accordance with user’s direction, additionally, FIGS. 2, 8A-9B with menu M and [0032] and [0075]),
receive an input (Nakasu, FIG. 2, [0032] and long press from input device 90) from the user pressing, using the pen, the first operation button in the first operation menu displayed on the display (Nakasu at FIGS. 2, 8A-9B and [0032]-[0034] describing enablement of selection of a line type within menu M and [0075] describing production of the menu M based on original input) or the second operation button in the second operation menu displayed on the display (see above, condition satisfied, but also, Nakasu FIG. 2, and [0032]-[0034] and [0058]-[0059], FIGS. 8A-9B at [0075] illustrating menu M capable of receiving input at different angling of the device serving as a second operational menu);
store first rotational angle as the angle information in response to receiving the input from the user pressing the first operation button using the pen (FIGS. 2, 4-5, 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B and [0032]-[0035], [0041]-[0042], and [0058]-[0059] and [0063]-[0070] contact position of the pen and the object holding the input device (e.g., hand) used to calculate the vector (e.g., angle) used to control the rotational angle of target image, in view of [0170] describing storing data accordingly), and store second rotational angle as the angle information in response to receiving the input from the user pressing the second operation button using the pen, the second rotational angle being different from the first rotational angle (see above, condition satisfied, alternatively, FIGS. 2, 4-5, 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B and [0032]-[0035], [0041]-[0042], and [0058]-[0059] and [0063]-[0070] contact position of the pen and the object holding the input device (e.g., hand) used to calculate the vector (e.g., angle) used to control the rotational angle of target image, in view of [0170] describing storing data accordingly, similarly when the person is positioned at a different edge, the second set of operations and buttons would be available and vectors would be adjusted accordingly);
receive a handwriting input from the user using the pen used to press the first operation button or the second operation button (Nakasu at FIGS. 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 16 and [0128] and [0142]-[0145]); and
perform the character recognition on handwritten data generated from the received handwriting input from the user, using the first rotational angle stored in association with the information related to the pen (Nakasu at FIGS. 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 16 and [0128] and [0142]-[0145]), directional data and vectors V1 and V2 are used to recognize the written characters for determining handwriting and handwriting direction), in a case where the angle information stored in association with the information related to the pen is the first rotational angle, and perform the character recognition on the handwritten data generated from the received handwriting input from the user (Nakasu at FIGS. 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 16 and [0128] and [0142]-[0145]), directional data and vectors V1 and V2 are used to recognize the written characters for determining handwriting and handwriting direction), using the second rotational angle stored in association with the information related to the pen, in a case where the angle information stored in association with the information related to the pen is the second rotational angle (condition satisfied, but also, when the position of the user is different than the first user, Nakasu at FIGS. 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 16 and [0128] and [0142]-[0145]), directional data and vectors V1 and V2 are used to recognize the written characters for determining handwriting and handwriting direction for the other user at another position).
However, Nakasu does not explicitly disclose simultaneously display the first and second operation menus and the first operation button being identical to the second operation button.
In the same field of endeavor, Feldman discloses simultaneously display the first and second operation menus (FIGS. 10A-12 and 15E at [0120]-[0125] and [0132]-[0137] and [0149] and [0162] with display table 14 having 4 navigational menus presented simultaneously to be used by 4 users simultaneously) the first operation button being identical to the second operation button (FIGS. 10A-12 and 15E the navigational menus having identical icons at [0120]-[0125] and [0132]-[0137] and [0149] and [0162]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sharable display device capable of supporting multiple users simultaneously (Nakasu at FIGS. 15A-19 generally) of Nakasu to incorporate the simultaneously displayed and identical menus for a multi-user display table as disclosed by Feldman because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, multi-user display systems. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the ease of collaborative work while maintaining independent functionality of each user (see Feldman at least at [0131]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 21, Nakasu in view of Feldman discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 20 (see above),
wherein the circuitry is configured to display the first operation menu including the first operation button in a direction from the first edge to a position where the user performing the handwriting input is present, in accordance with the first rotational angle (Nakasu at FIGS. 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 16 and [0128] and [0142]-[0145], directional data and vectors V1 and V2 are used to recognize the written characters for determining handwriting and handwriting direction, noting adjustment in accordance with direction of user present and inputting the handwritten text), and
wherein the circuitry is configured to display the second operation menu including the second operation button in a direction from the second edge to a position where the user performing the handwriting input is present, in accordance with the second rotational angle (Nakasu at FIGS. 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 16 and [0128] and [0142]-[0145], directional data and vectors V1 and V2 are used to recognize the written characters for determining handwriting and handwriting direction, noting adjustment in accordance with direction of user present and inputting the handwritten text, which menu and information displayed would be based on which user is inputting thereby producing the vectors and determination of where to perform handwriting detection).
Regarding claim 22, Nakasu in view of Feldman discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 20 (see above), wherein the first rotational angle is 0 degrees and the second rotational angle is 180 degrees (Nakasu at 6A-6B, 12A-12B, 14, and 19, when first and second users are at the upper side and lower side respectively, the measurements of the first and second angles would be 0 degrees and 180 degrees and [0047]-[0048] and [0053], [0121], [0153]).
Regarding claim 24, Nakasu in view of Feldman discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 23 (see above), wherein the circuitry is configured to display a character string obtained by performing the character recognition on the handwritten data (Nakasu at least [0128]-[0133] and FIGS. 12A, 12B, 13-14 describing handwriting information as input by the user), in accordance with the first rotational angle or the second rotational angle (Nakasu at FIG. 16 and [0142]-[0145], the rotational angles and vectors taken into consideration when determining direction of characters, first and second rotational angles dependent on the users’ positions).
Regarding claim 36, it is similar in scope to claim 1 above, the only difference being, claim 36 is directed to an information processing method (Nakasu, FIGS. 7, 13, generally) performed by the information processing apparatus of claim 1 (see above). Therefore, claim 36 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 37, it is similar in scope to claim 1 above, the only difference being, claim 37 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored therein a program (Nakasu, storage medium 108 at [0171]) to perform the steps for the information processing apparatus of claim 1 (see above). Therefore, claim 37 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 38, Nakasu in view of Feldman discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 20 (see above), wherein the circuitry is configured to: receive a first input from the user pressing, using a first pen, the first operation button in the first operation menu displayed on the display (Nakasu at FIGS. 2, 4-5, 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B and [0032]-[0035], [0041]-[0042], and [0058]-[0059] and [0063]-[0070] contact position of the pen and the object holding the input device (e.g., hand) used to calculate the vector (e.g., angle) used to control the rotational angle of target image, in view of [0156]-[0157] and FIGS. 21A-21B with two users; in view of [0170] describing storing data accordingly, which button pressed based on location of the user) and receive a second input from the user pressing, the second operation button in the second operation menu displayed on the display (Nakasu at FIGS. 2, 4-5, 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B and [0032]-[0035], [0041]-[0042], and [0058]-[0059] and [0063]-[0070] contact position of the pen and the object holding the input device (e.g., hand) used to calculate the vector (e.g., angle) used to control the rotational angle of target image, in view of [0156]-[0157] and FIGS. 21A-21B with two users; in view of [0170] describing storing data accordingly, which button pressed based on location of the user in view of multiple operation menus as disclosed by Feldman), and store the first rotational angle as the angle information in association with information related to the first pen in response to receiving the first input (Nakasu at FIGS. 6A-13 and [0097] describing pen identification information for hand and pen; and [0115] and [0125]-[0127] describing storage and retrieval of information and FIGS. 21A-24 with multiple users described therein, with storage devices at [0170]-[0172]), and store the second rotational angle as the angle information in association with information related to the second pen in response to receiving the second input (Nakasu at FIGS. 6A-13 and [0097] describing pen identification information for hand and pen; and [0115] and [0125]-[0127] describing storage and retrieval of information and FIGS. 21A-24 with multiple users described therein, with storage devices at [0170]-[0172]).
Regarding claim 39, Nakasu in view of Feldman discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 20 (see above), wherein the circuitry is configured to: receive a first input from a first user pressing (noting multiple users as disclosed in Nakasu Feldman at , using a first pen, the first operation button in the first operation menu displayed on the display (Nakasu at FIGS. 2, 4-5, 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B and [0032]-[0035], [0041]-[0042], and [0058]-[0059] and [0063]-[0070] contact position of the pen and the object holding the input device (e.g., hand) used to calculate the vector (e.g., angle) used to control the rotational angle of target image, in view of [0170] describing storing data accordingly, which button pressed based on location of the user) and receive a second input from a second user pressing, using a second pen, the second operation button in the second operation menu displayed on the display (Nakasu at FIGS. 2, 4-5, 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B and [0032]-[0035], [0041]-[0042], and [0058]-[0059] and [0063]-[0070] contact position of the pen and the object holding the input device (e.g., hand) used to calculate the vector (e.g., angle) used to control the rotational angle of target image, in view of [0170] describing storing data accordingly, which button pressed based on location of the user in view of FIGS. 15A-19 with multiple users and further with multiple inputs as disclosed by Feldman at FIGS. 10A-12 and [0120]-[0125] and [0131]); and store the first rotational angle as the angle information in association with information related to the first pen in response to receiving the first input (Nakasu at FIGS. 6A-13 and [0097] describing pen identification information for hand and pen; and [0115] and [0125]-[0127] describing storage and retrieval of information and FIGS. 21A-24 with multiple users described therein, with storage devices at [0170]-[0172]), and store the second rotational angle as the angle information in association with information related to the second pen in response to receiving the second input (Nakasu at FIGS. 6A-13 and [0097] describing pen identification information for hand and pen; and [0115] and [0125]-[0127] describing storage and retrieval of information and FIGS. 21A-24 with multiple users described therein, with storage devices at [0170]-[0172]), wherein the first rotational angle is different from the second rotational angle (Nakasu angle differentials based on direction of pen and location of person at least at FIGS. 12A-14 and [0102]-[0110] and [0120]-[0124] and [0131]-[0135], angles being different based on location of input, in view of [0156]-[0157] and FIGS. 21A-21B with two users), and the first user is positioned near the first edge and the second user is positioned near the second edge (Feldman at FIGS. 10A-12, users can be positioned at opposite sides or next to each other and [0061] and [0120]-[0125] and [0131]; Nakasu at FIGS. 15A-19 with user’s positioned along the edges at [0139]-[0145] and [0149]-[0153] and in view of [0156]-[0157] and FIGS. 21A-21B with two users).
Claims 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasu in view of Feldman as applied to claim 20 above, further in view of Gilbert et al., US 2020/0019255 A1 (hereinafter “Gilbert”).
Regarding claim 23, Nakasu in view of Feldman discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 20 (see above).
wherein the circuitry is configured to store the first rotational angle, in response to receiving the input from the user pressing, using the pen, the first operation button in the first operation menu (Nakasu at FIGS. 2, 4-5, 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B and [0032]-[0035], [0041]-[0042], and [0058]-[0059] and [0063]-[0070] contact position of the pen and the object holding the input device (e.g., hand) used to calculate the vector (e.g., angle) used to control the rotational angle of target image, in view of [0170] describing storing data accordingly, which button pressed based on location of the user), and
wherein the circuitry is configured to process and display the handwritten data, using the first rotational angle (Nakasu at FIGS. 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 16 and [0128] and [0142]-[0145]), directional data and vectors V1 and V2 are used to recognize the written characters for determining handwriting and handwriting direction),
wherein the circuitry is configured to store the second rotational angle, in response to receiving the input from the user pressing, using the pen, the second operation button in the second operation menu (Nakasu at FIGS. 2, 4-5, 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B and [0032]-[0035], [0041]-[0042], and [0058]-[0059] and [0063]-[0070] contact position of the pen and the object holding the input device (e.g., hand) used to calculate the vector (e.g., angle) used to control the rotational angle of target image, in view of [0156] and FIGS. 21A-21B with two users; [0170] describing storing data accordingly, which button pressed based on location of the user, noting the user may move and enter new information from a different angle or alternatively in light of Feldman, second user may input in a different menu area), and wherein the circuitry is configured to process and display the handwritten data, using the second rotational angle (Nakasu at FIGS. 7, 8A-9B, 15A-15B, 16 and [0128] and [0142]-[0145]), directional data and vectors V1 and V2 are used to recognize the written characters for determining handwriting and handwriting direction)
However, Nakasu in view of Feldman does not explicitly disclose wherein the circuitry is configured to receive identification information of the pen, stores the identification information of the pen, and processes and displays handwritten data in association with the identification information of the pen, and the second rotational angle stored in association with the identification information of the pen.
In the same field of endeavor, Gilbert discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to receive identification information of the pen (see generally stylus 107 at FIGS. 1-2; [0018] stylus ID at [0024] based on wireless signature), stores the identification information of the pen ([0016] and [0030]-[0033] and [0084] stored ID therein, associating pen with angle data of Nakasu together would be understood for proper recognition and association), and processes and displays handwritten data in association with the identification information of the pen ([0110]-[0113] exemplary association of pen and writing, in view of Nakasu angle information determination and storage), the second rotational angle stored in association with the identification information of the pen (Gilbert [0110]-[0113] exemplary association of pen and writing, in view of Nakasu angle information determination and storage).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the input detection display device of Nakasu in view of Feldman to incorporate the pen identification system of Gilbert because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch input devices capable of receiving touch input from a stylus. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the user experience when connecting the stylus with the device (see at least Gilbert at [0017]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasu in view of Feldman as applied to claim 20 above, further in view of Weigel, US 2004/0104942 A1 (hereinafter “Weigel”).
Regarding claim 25, Nakasu in view of Feldman discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 20 (see above), further comprising a pen holder arranged along the first edge or the second edge of the display from which the pen is taken out, or a pen holder in which the pen is stored in parallel with the first edge or the second edge.
However, Nakasu in view of Feldman does not explicitly disclose further comprising a pen holder arranged along the first edge or the second edge of the display from which the pen is taken out, or a pen holder in which the pen is stored in parallel with the first edge or the second edge.
In the same field of endeavor, Weigel discloses further comprising a pen holder arranged along the first edge or the second edge of the display from which the pen is taken out (see below, condition satisfied), or a pen holder in which the pen is stored in parallel with the first edge or the second edge (FIG. 4 illustrating a stylus holder AF for the stylus ST described at [0026] is parallel to the edge of display B).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Nakasu in view of Feldman to incorporate the holder as disclosed by Weigel because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch input devices capable of receiving touch input from a stylus. The motivation to combine these references would have been for the commonly understood benefits of preventing loss of the stylus when not in use on a device where precision input may be required to prevent keying errors (Weigel at [0026]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 26-27 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasu in view of Feldman as applied to claim 20 above, in view of Komamura et al., US 2006/0206546 A1 (hereinafter “Komamura”).
Regarding claim 26, Nakasu in view of Feldman discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 20 (see above).
However, Nakasu in view of Feldman does not explicitly disclose wherein the circuitry is configured to display, in response to acquiring one or more files, a file name of each of the one or more files and a page name of each page included in the one or more files.
In the same field of endeavor, Komamura discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to display, in response to acquiring one or more files (FIGS. 1-3 and at [0038] and [0049]-[0056] describing searching and producing the images of the document, and then displaying the document searched for at FIG. 4 [0056]-[0065]), a file name of each of the one or more files and a page name of each page included in the one or more files (FIG. 4, at [0057]-[0069] displaying page number (e.g., page name in accordance with Applicant’s PG Pub specification at [0311]) and document number (e.g., name) accordingly).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Nakasu in view of Feldman to incorporate the file retrieval and display of documents as disclosed by Komamura because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, intuitive interaction with user interfaces when managing interface elements. The motivation to combine these references would have been the ease of finding the desired documents by images thereby efficiently detecting the document (Komamura at [0005] and [0193] [0200] and [0202]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 27, Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 26 (see above), wherein the circuitry is configured to display (Komamura, FIG. 1, display 17 at [0031]), in response to receiving a selection of the page name (Komamura at FIGS. 3-4 and [0065]-[0069] selecting document and image of the first page is displayed as representative document image), the selected page by using information in which the page name is recorded for each page of the one or more files (Komamura at FIGS. 3-4 and [0065]-[0069] document name and page number being displayed according to selection/switching to different pages).
Regarding claim 30, Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 27 (see above), wherein the file name and the page name are displayed as many instances as a same number as the first operation menu and the second operation menu (noting the scenario where a single user is using the display of Nakasu resulting in only one operation menu M, in view of Komamura at FIGS. 3-4 with a single first page with document name and page number displayed and at [0049]-[0059] and [0065]-[0069], the combination of which would be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art for the commonly understood benefits of utilizing the operation menu in conjunction with the displayed document).
Regarding claim 31, Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 26 (see above), wherein the circuitry is configured to display the file name and the page name in accordance with the first rotational angle or the second rotational angle (see Nakasu at least [0128]-[0133] and FIGS. 12A, 12B, 13-14 describing handwriting information including rotational angles as described therein for aligning with user, in view of Komamura at FIGS. 3-4 and [0055]-[0059] and [0065]-[0069] document name and page number being displayed, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill that the document with page/document name displayed would orient to the user based on the input angle determined by Nakasu).
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura, as applied to claim 26, and further in view of Ishida et al., US 2015/0227493 A1 (hereinafter “Ishida”).
Regarding claim 28, Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 26 (see above), wherein the circuitry is configured to display a character string obtained by performing the character recognition on the handwritten data (Nakasu at least [0128]-[0133] and FIGS. 12A, 12B, 13-14 describing handwriting information as input by the user).
However, Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura does not explicitly disclose displaying as a page name of a page on which the character string is displayed.
In the same field of endeavor, Ishida discloses displaying as a page name of a page on which the character string is displayed (see Ishida generally FIGS. 7-9 and 11 describing character recognition to be searched at least at [0093]-[0095] and [0107] and outputting results page with page numbers and character strings recognized on the respective pages therein).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura to incorporate the page search, retrieval and display of Ishida because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch input devices capable of receiving touch input from a stylus for searching a document. The motivation to combine these references would have been the improve character and keyword searches of larger documents, files and/or systems (See at least Ishida at [0006]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 29, Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura further in view of Ishida discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 26 (see above).
However, Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura does not explicitly disclose wherein the circuitry is configured to display, in response to receiving a selection of a character string obtained by performing the character recognition on the handwritten data, the character string as a page name of a page on which the character string is displayed.
In the same field of endeavor, Ishida discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to display, in response to receiving a selection of a character string obtained by performing the character recognition on the handwritten data (see Ishida generally FIGS. 7-9 and 11 describing character recognition to be searched at least at [0093]-[0095] and [0107] and outputting results page with page numbers and character strings recognized on the respective pages therein) the character string as a page name of a page on which the character string is displayed (see Ishida generally FIGS. 7-9 and 11 describing character recognition to be searched at least at [0093]-[0095] and [0107] and outputting results page with page numbers and character strings recognized on the respective pages therein).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura to incorporate the page search, retrieval and display of Ishida because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch input devices capable of receiving touch input from a stylus for searching a document. The motivation to combine these references would have been the improve character and keyword searches of larger documents, files and/or systems (See at least Ishida at [0006]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura as applied to claim 31, and further in view of Gilbert et al., US 2020/0019255 A1 (hereinafter “Gilbert”).
Regarding claim 32, Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura disclose the information processing apparatus according to claim 31 (see above), wherein the circuitry is configured to store the first rotational angle or the second rotational angle in association with the identification information of the pen (rotational information as disclosed by Nakasu at least [0128]-[0133] and FIGS. 12A, 12B, 13-14, the association of which would be obvious to properly identify angling information), wherein the circuitry is configured to display a character string obtained by performing the character recognition on the handwritten data, in accordance with the first rotational angle or the second rotational angle (see Nakasu at least [0128]-[0133] and FIGS. 12A, 12B, 13-14 describing handwriting information including rotational angles as described therein for aligning with user).
However, Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura does not explicitly disclose wherein the circuitry is configured to receive identification information of the pen,
and storing angle information about the pen in a case where the file name or the page name is pressed.
In the same field of endeavor, Gilbert discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to receive identification information of the pen (Gilbert, stylus 107 at FIGS. 1-2; [0018] stylus ID at [0024] based on wireless signature),
storing angle information about the pen in a case where the file name or the page name is pressed (Gilbert, FIGS. 1-4 and [0023]-[0030] drawing and writing displayed; [0046]-[0048] describing coupling; and FIGS. 6A and 6B at [0084], application of writing instrument to write draw etc. as described at least at [0038], FIG. 8 at [0123] and output device 825 such as display 106 known in the art to display what has been inputted by stylus 102).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Komamura to incorporate the pen identification system of Gilbert because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch input devices capable of receiving touch input from a stylus. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the user experience when connecting the stylus with the device (see at least Gilbert at [0017]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasu in view of Feldman as applied to claim 20 above, further in view of Roth et al., US 2005/0038653 A1 (hereinafter “Roth”).
Regarding claim 33, Nakasu in view of Feldman discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 20 (see above).
However, Nakasu in view of Feldman does not explicitly disclose wherein the circuitry is configured to display a third operation button used for receiving a setting determining whether a character string candidate obtained by performing the character recognition on the handwritten data is to be displayed.
In the same field of endeavor, Roth discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to display a third operation button (FIGS. 48 and 53 and 55 “REC” button 4806 at [0325] and [0331]-[0332]) used for receiving a setting determining whether a character string candidate obtained by performing the character recognition on the handwritten data is to be displayed (FIGS. 48 and 53 and 55 “REC” button 4806 at [0325] and [0331]-[0332] if button not depressed, no candidate data of correction window 5306 is displayed).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Nakasu in view of Feldman to incorporate the character recognition button of Roth because the references are in the same field of endeavor, namely, stylus input display devices with character recognition functions. The motivation to combine these references would have been to accurately anticipate the intended input of the user (Roth at [0272]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Roth as applied to claim 33, and further in view of Garside et al., US 2003/0233237 A1 (hereinafter “Garside”).
Regarding claim 34, Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Roth discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 33 (see above).
However, Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Roth does not explicitly disclose wherein, in a case where a press of the third operation button is received, even if the handwritten data is entered, the circuitry is configured not to display the character string candidate obtained by performing the character recognition on the handwritten data and configured to display an operation command candidate to be executed by the circuitry.
In the same field of endeavor, Garside discloses wherein, in a case where a press of the third operation button is received (see FIGS. 2A-2O with send button 235b), even if the handwritten data is entered (FIGS. 2A-2O with handwritten data entered in writing pad area 235), the circuitry is configured not to display the character string candidate obtained by performing the character recognition on the handwritten data (FIGS. 2A-2O and [0044] recognizing the inputs as gesture commands for manipulating already inputted text, for example) and configured to display an operation command candidate to be executed by the circuitry (see at least FIGS. 2A-2O and [0043]-[0047] and [0051]-[0058] describing various written commands recognized, and providing the candidate command as the output for dictated or previously inputted text).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Nakasu in view of Feldman further in view of Roth to incorporate the command and character recognition button of Garside because the references are in the same field of endeavor, namely, stylus input display devices with character recognition functions. The motivation to combine these references would have been to differentiate between the intentions of the user as being either a command or text recognition (see at least [0044]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakasu in view of Feldman as applied to claim 20 above, further in view of Mullins et al., 2005/0251755 A1 (hereinafter “Mullins”).
Regarding claim 35, Nakasu in view of Feldman discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 20 (See above).
However, Nakasu in view of Feldman does not explicitly disclose wherein the circuitry is configured to display an arrangement determination screen used for receiving an arrangement of the first operation menu and the second operation menu.
In the same field of endeavor, Mullins discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to display an arrangement determination screen used for receiving an arrangement of the first operation menu and the second operation menu (see at least FIGS 1A, 1B, 2A and 2B a customization screen 120 described at least at [0010]-[0012] for customizing the arrangement of the toolbar).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Nakasu in view of Feldman to incorporate the arrangement determination method as disclosed Mullins because the references are in the same field of endeavor, namely, display screens with operation menus and toolbars to assist with document viewing and manipulation. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve speed of access to specific icons and functions for the user (see at least Mullins at [0010]-[0012]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nagao, US 2016/0004337 A1: FIGS. 5-8 and [0055]-[0060] identifying multiple pens while inputting on a touch input board;
Yamamoto et al., US 2017/0177164 A1: FIGS. 9-10 and [0109]-[0121] simultaneous inputs via multiple pen-type input devices;
Berger, Jr. et al., US 10,877,575 B2: FIGS. 2, 7, and 8 and col. 5, lines 7-40 and col. 10, lines 46-end and col. 11, lines 1-11 and col. 11, lines 57-end, multiple users inputting simultaneously and pen handoff;
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2629