DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10-12, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin US 2018/0059376).
Regarding claim 1, Jo teaches an optical imaging system comprising: a first lens having positive refractive power (fig. 15 first lens 810), a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof; a second lens (second lens 820) having negative refractive power; a third lens (third lens 830) having positive refractive power; a fourth lens (fourth lens 840) having refractive power, a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof; and a fifth lens having refractive power, wherein the first to fifth lenses are arranged sequentially from an object side along an optical axis of the optical imaging system, wherein the optical imaging system has a total of five lenses, wherein 0.8<TTL/f<1.2 (calculated from table 15 TTL =10.467 f= 10.01 TTL/F= 1.045) is satisfied, where TTL is a distance on the optical axis from the object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging surface, and f is a total focal length of the optical imaging system, and wherein 1.3<TTL/BFL<3.3 (5.45 / (TTL = calculated at 10.467 from table 15 bfl calculated at 3.247 TTL/BFL = 3.247) is satisfied, where BFL is a distance on the optical axis from an image-side surface of the fifth lens to the imaging surface.
Regarding claim 10, Lin teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein the second lens (fig. 15 second lens 820) has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof.
Regarding claim 11, Lin teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein the third lens (fig. 15 third lens 830) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof.
Regarding claim 12, Lin teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein the fourth lens (fig. 4 fourth lens 840) has positive refractive power.
Regarding claim 18, Lin teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, further comprising a reflecting member (fig. 33B prism 1580) disposed in front of the first lens (first lens 1510), wherein the reflecting member has a reflective surface for changing an optical path.
Regarding claim 19, Lin teaches the optical imaging system of claim 18, wherein the reflecting member is a mirror or a prism (see fig. 33B prism 1580).
Regarding claim 20, Lin teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein object-side surfaces and image-side surfaces of the first lens to the fifth lens (fig. 15 1st to 5th lenses 820 820 830 840 850) are aspherical surfaces).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin US 2018/0059376 in view of Yang US 2019/00346650.
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches at least one of the first lens (fig. 2 sixth L6 which is analogous to a first lens) and the second lens has a noncircular shape when viewed in the optical axis direction to miniaturize the size of the overall lens assembly [0074]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin in view of Yang to miniaturize the overall lens assembly.
Regarding claim 14, Yang further teaches the optical imaging system of claim 13, wherein the at least one of the first lens (sixth lens L6 see fig. 2) and the second lens having a noncircular shape comprises a first edge and a second edge having an arc shape, and a third edge and a fourth edge connecting the first edge and the second edge to each other, and a length of a virtual straight line connecting the first edge and the second edge, while passing through the optical axis, is greater than a length of a virtual straight line connecting the third edge and the fourth edge, while passing through the optical axis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin in view of Yang to miniaturize the overall lens assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHU VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871