DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Philipp et al. (PGPUB 20080084738), hereinafter as P fails to disclose “determine whether to refresh the second memory based on the data representative of the temperature history stored in the first memory”:
“first memory” is matched to the P’s temperature budget sensor (TBS), TBS is inherently a memory since in [0033] of P, TBS is written/programmed to an initial state, additional evidence can also be found in [0049] indications of the resistance states of the TBS;
TBS monitors total temperature budget (which is matched to temperature history)
as in [0033] of P, also in [0007] temperature history is part of temperature budget,
therefore TBS value is matched to “data representative of temperature history”;
(in other word: TBS is a memory with changing values/states, which act as indication of temp budget/temp history);
“second memory” is matched to multi-bit memory cells as that in Fig 1 of P,
Fig. 8 of P teaches to refresh “second memory” when “first memory” data triggering the limits at step 604 of the Fig 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-6, 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Philipp et al. (PGPUB 20080084738), hereinafter as Philipp.
Regarding claim 1, Philipp teaches a device, comprising: a first memory (Fig 1, 112a…); and a processor (Fig 1, 108) coupled to the first memory and configured to:
store, in the first memory, data representative of a temperature history ([0033] each … 112a-d… is written or programmed (i.e. 112a-d as a memory with data written) to initial state and monitors the total temperature budget of memory device) of a second memory (Fig 1, 106a…c) over a period of time ([0033] any other suitable interval); and
determine whether to refresh the second memory based on the data representative of the temperature history stored in the first memory (Fig 8, 602-606, and argument used in Responsive to Arguments above applies).
Regarding claim 2, Philipp teaches the second memory (Fig 1, 106a…c).
Regarding claim 10, Philipp teaches a method, comprising: storing, in a first memory, data representative of a temperature history of a second memory over a period of time (argument used in rejection of claim 1 applies); and
determining, by a processor coupled to the first memory, whether to refresh the second memory based on the data representative of the temperature history stored in the first memory (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 18, Philipp teaches an apparatus, comprising: a non-volatile memory (Fig 1); and a circuit configured to: obtain data representative of a temperature history of the non-volatile memory over a period of time; and determine whether to refresh the non-volatile memory based on the data representative of the temperature history (argument used in rejection of claim 1 applies).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 7-9, 11-12, 15-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philipp, in view of Prakash et al. (PGPUB 20210174886), hereinafter as Prakash.
Regarding claim 3, Philipp teaches a device as in rejection of claim 2,
But not expressly obtain a plurality of temperature values of the second memory over the period of time to generate the temperature history.
Prakash teaches obtain a plurality of temperature values of the second memory over the period of time to generate the temperature history ([0225] and Fig 15B).
Since Philipp and Prakash are both from the same field of semiconductor memory device, the purpose disclosed by Prakash would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Philipp.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to recording temperature as in Prakash into the device of Philipp for the purpose of managing a refresh operation of the memory device.
Regarding claim 4, Prakash teaches calculate a value of an operating function representative of an operating condition of the second memory (Trep at [0232]) ; and
sum subsequent calculated values of the operating function to obtain an accumulated value (Fig 15C, and [0234] summed with Trep1xtp3); and
compare the accumulated value with a threshold value to determine whether to refresh the second memory (Fig 15C, and [0234] TT_th2).
The reason for combining the references used in rejection of claim 3 applies.
Regarding claim 7, Prakash teaches the operating function is representative of the temperature dependence of a retention time, the accumulated value is representative of an elapsed fraction of a retention time limit (Fig 15C and [0232-234]).
The reason for combining the references used in rejection of claim 3 applies.
Regarding claim 8, Prakash teaches a look-up table (Fig 12A/B) having a plurality of values of the operating function in association respectively with a plurality of temperature values.
The reason for combining the references used in rejection of claim 3 applies.
Regarding claim 9, Prakash teaches a counter, wherein the processor is further configured to increment the counter in response to an operation to sum a subsequent calculated value of the operating function and to reset the counter in response to an operation to refresh the second memory (Fig 14A, and [0219] when elapsed time reaches allowed discharge time, next refresh operation begins, and it is shown the cycles carry on).
The reason for combining the references used in rejection of claim 3 applies.
Regarding claim 11, argument used in rejection of claim 3 applies.
Regarding claim 12, argument used in rejection of claim 4 applies.
Regarding claim 15, argument used in rejection of claim 7 applies.
Regarding claim 16, argument used in rejection of claim 8 applies.
Regarding claim 17, argument used in rejection of claim 9 applies.
Regarding claim 19, argument used in rejections of claim 4, 7, and 8 apply.
Regarding claim 20, argument used in rejection of claim 9 applies.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827