Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 9, 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 in particular recites:
“wherein the vehicle management server is configured to:
receive the maximum current value and the ECU information from a plurality of vehicles;
determine an inrush current corresponding to each of the in-vehicle ECUs based on the maximum current value and the ECU information for each of the vehicles;
generate the lookup table in which the inrush current values respectively corresponding to the in-vehicle ECUs are recorded; and
transmit the lookup table to the vehicle.”
No single prior art reference has been found to anticipate these limitations, nor any combination of prior art reference to render these limitations obvious, when viewed in the context of the remaining limitations of the claim and the claims to which claim 4 depends. In particular, no reference or combination of references have been found that reasonably have a server that receives a maximum current value from a plurality of vehicles, generates a lookup table of inrush current values using the maximum current value, and then transmits the lookup table to a particular vehicle. As such, dependent claim 4 would be found allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Dependent claim 9 recites similar features and therefore would be allowable for similar reasons.
Dependent claims 5 and 10 depend upon claims 4 and 9 respectively and therefore would be found allowable based on their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (JP 2023048216), in view of Wu (US 20100253413) and Kang et al. (US 20220140620).
In regards to claim 1, Suzuki teaches a power control apparatus for in-vehicle electronic control units (ECUs), the power control apparatus comprising: (Fig 1, Page 1.)
a main switch configured to supply or cut off a power of the in-vehicle ECUs; (Pages 1-2, when total inrush current exceeds a threshold value, a relay circuit is operated to disengage the power supply line for a time period. This necessarily includes a main switch that switches power supply to a controller and actuator system which are each electronic control units, ECUs, which when disengaged is in the switched on position.)
a controller configured to (Pages 1-2, relay circuit acts to perform current related operations as directed by controller.)
collect ECU information on the in-vehicle ECUs, (Page 2, 3, at least actuator system is monitored for power supply request and control unit monitors status of its own communication information, which is collected information of in-vehicle ECUs.)
turn on the main switch when a sum of the inrush current values respectively corresponding to the in-vehicle ECUs exceeds a threshold current value, (Pages 1-2, 4, when total inrush current found as a sum of inrush currents A and B exceeds a threshold value, relay circuit is operated to switch the power supply line for a time period, which necessarily switches a switch.) and
Suzuki does not teach:
a backup switch configured to supply or cut off the power of the in-vehicle ECUs;
a storage configured to store a lookup table in which inrush current values respectively corresponding to the in-vehicle ECUs are recorded; and
turn on the backup switch at a preset time.
However, Wu teaches multiple reversing circuits each arranged with first switch components and multiple transmission gates each with second switch components, where each circuit switch receives delay trigger signals to operate each circuit and switch at different predetermined times (Fig 1, 2, [0009], [0012], [0014]).
Further, Kang teaches a look-up table stored in a storage unit containing maximum values of in-rush current for distribution to control units ([0051], [0052], [0079], [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control system of Suzuki, by incorporating the teachings of Wu and Kang, such that additional switches are installed within the circuitry of Suzuki including multiple parallel reversing circuits and parallel transmission gates, each which contain individual switches, where a delay circuit regulates the switching on of each reversing circuit and transmission gate at predetermined timing, where at least one of these switches acts as a backup switch operated at a preset time, and such that a look-up table is stored that contains in-rush current values which is further used in determining the timing of flipping the switches.
The motivation to incorporate reversing circuit and transmission gate switches with a delay circuit is that, as acknowledged by Wu, this avoids damaging electronics by better accounting for inrush current ([0004]). The motivation to incorporate a look-up table of in-rush current values is that, as acknowledged by Kang, this allows for better accounting for in-rush current ([0029]).
In regards to claim 2, Wu teaches multiple reversing circuits each arranged with first switch components and multiple transmission gates each with second switch components, where each circuit switch receives delay trigger signals to operate each circuit and switch at different predetermined times (Fig 1, 2, [0009], [0012], [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control system of Suzuki, as already modified by Wu and Kang, by further incorporating the teachings of Wu, such that particularly a delay circuit is incorporated into the circuitry of Suzuki as modified which provides timings for switching operations.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Wu in regards to claim 1.
In regards to claim 6, Suzuki, as modified by Wu and Kang, teaches the power control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the main switch are implemented with an intelligent power switch (IPS). (Pages 1-2, when total inrush current exceeds a threshold value, a relay circuit is operated by controller to disengage the power supply line for a time period. The relay circuit or relay circuit in combination with the controller forms an intelligent power switch operating as a main switch.)
Wu teaches multiple reversing circuits each arranged with first switch components and multiple transmission gates each with second switch components, where each circuit switch receives delay trigger signals to operate each circuit and switch at different predetermined times (Fig 1, 2, [0009], [0012], [0014]). These circuits, either by themselves or with a controller, serve as further intelligent power switches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control system of Suzuki, as already modified by Wu and Kang, by further incorporating the teachings of Wu, such that the controller of Suzuki further operates the switches of Wu as backup switches with a time delay, where the circuitry around the switches or the circuitry in combination with the controller of Suzuki forms an intelligent power switch operating as a backup switch.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Wu in regards to claim 1.
In regards to claim 7, Suzuki teaches a method for controlling a power of in-vehicle electronic control units (ECUs), the method comprising: (Figs 3-6, Page 1.)
collecting, by a controller, ECU information on the in-vehicle ECUs; (Pages 1-2, relay circuit acts to perform current related operations as directed by controller. Page 2, 3, at least actuator system is monitored for power supply request and control unit monitors status of its own communication information, which is collected information of in-vehicle ECUs.)
turning on, by the controller, a main switch when a sum of the inrush current values respectively corresponding to the in-vehicle ECUs exceeds a threshold current value; (Pages 1-2, 4, when total inrush current found as a sum of inrush currents A and B exceeds a threshold value, relay circuit is operated to switch the power supply line for a time period, which necessarily switches a switch.) and
storing, in a storage, a lookup table in which inrush current values respectively corresponding to the in-vehicle ECUs are recorded;
turning on a backup switch at a preset time.
Suzuki does not teach:
However, Wu teaches multiple reversing circuits each arranged with first switch components and multiple transmission gates each with second switch components, where each circuit switch receives delay trigger signals to operate each circuit and switch at different predetermined times (Fig 1, 2, [0009], [0012], [0014]).
Further, Kang teaches a look-up table stored in a storage unit containing maximum values of in-rush current for distribution to control units ([0051], [0052], [0079], [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control method of Suzuki, by incorporating the teachings of Wu and Kang, such that additional switches are installed within the circuitry of Suzuki including multiple parallel reversing circuits and parallel transmission gates, each which contain individual switches, where a delay circuit regulates the switching on of each reversing circuit and transmission gate at predetermined timing, where at least one of these switches acts as a backup switch operated at a preset time, and such that a look-up table is stored that contains in-rush current values which is further used in determining the timing of flipping the switches.
The motivations to do so are the same as acknowledged by Wu and Kang in regards to claim 1.
In regards to claim 11, Suzuki, as modified by Wu and Kang, teaches the method of claim 7.
Claim 11 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 6 above, therefore claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, in view of Wu and Kang, in further view of Hashimoto (US 20120078389).
In regards to claim 3, Suzuki, as modified by Wu and Kang, teaches the power control apparatus of claim 1.
Kang also teaches a look-up table stored in a storage unit containing maximum values of in-rush current for distribution to control units ([0051], [0052], [0079], [0121]).
Suzuki, as modified by Wu and Kang, does not teach: wherein the controller is configured to transmit a maximum current value and the ECU information to a vehicle management server when the main switch is turned off.
However, Hashimoto teaches a management server that communicates with computer units to store a management table composed of inrush currents of each unit and information about the different units including their states (Fig 12, [0046], [0051], [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control system of Suzuki, as already modified by Wu and Kang, by further incorporating the teachings of Kang and incorporating the teachings of Hashimoto, such that a server is incorporated into the system that stores the look up table of in-rush current which is created by communication of current values, including at least a maximum current value and information of each observed computer unit, including the information of Suzuki, including the particular case in which the main switch is operated and switched on and off.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Hashimoto, this better account for inrush currents ([0002]).
In regards to claim 8, Suzuki, as modified by Wu and Kang, teaches the method of claim 7.
Claim 8 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 3 above, therefore claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Claims 12-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, in view of Wu and Hashimoto.
In regards to claim 12, Suzuki teaches a power control apparatus for in-vehicle electronic control units (ECUs), the power control apparatus comprising: (Fig 1, Page 1.)
a main switch configured to supply or cut off a power of the in-vehicle ECUs; (Pages 1-2, when total inrush current exceeds a threshold value, a relay circuit is operated to disengage the power supply line for a time period. This necessarily includes a main switch that switches power supply to a controller and actuator system which are each electronic control units, ECUs, which when disengaged is in the switched on position.)
a controller configured to (Pages 1-2, relay circuit acts to perform current related operations as directed by controller.)
turn on the main switch when the power is supplied to the in-vehicle ECUs, (Pages 1-2, 4, when total inrush current found as a sum of inrush currents A and B exceeds a threshold value, relay circuit is operated to switch the power supply line for a time period, which necessarily switches a switch.) and
Suzuki does not teach:
a backup switch configured to supply or cut off the power of the in-vehicle ECUs; and
receive information on an activation time point of the backup switch from a vehicle management server,
turn on the backup switch based on the information on the activation time point of the backup switch.
However, Wu teaches multiple reversing circuits each arranged with first switch components and multiple transmission gates each with second switch components, where each circuit switch receives delay trigger signals to operate each circuit and switch at different predetermined times (Fig 1, 2, [0009], [0012], [0014]).
Further, Hashimoto teaches a management server that communicates with computer units to store a management table composed of inrush currents of each unit and information about the different units including their states where timing is selectively provided to operate each unit at scheduled time slots to reduce inrush current (Fig 12, [0046], [0051], [0071], [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control system of Suzuki, by incorporating the teachings of Wu and Hashimoto, such that additional switches are installed within the circuitry of Suzuki including multiple parallel reversing circuits and parallel transmission gates, each which contain individual switches, where a delay circuit regulates the switching on of each reversing circuit and transmission gate at predetermined timing, where at least one of these switches acts as a backup switch operated at a preset time, and such that timing for operation of devices including the individual switches is determined through the delay circuit and a management server.
The motivation to incorporate reversing circuit and transmission gate switches with a delay circuit is the same as acknowledged by Wu in regards to claim 1. The motivation to incorporate a management server providing inrush current adjustment is that, as acknowledged by Hashimoto, this better account for inrush currents ([0002]).
In regards to claim 13, Suzuki, as modified by Wu and Hashimoto, teaches the power control apparatus of claim 12.
Claim 13 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 2 above, therefore claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
In regards to claim 14, Suzuki, as modified by Wu and Hashimoto, teaches the power control apparatus of claim 12.
Claim 14 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 3 above, therefore claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
In regards to claim 17, Suzuki, as modified by Wu and Hashimoto, teaches the power control apparatus of claim 12.
Claim 17 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 6 above, therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, in view of Wu and Hashimoto, in further view of Nishida (US 20210300272).
In regards to claim 15, Suzuki, as modified by Wu and Hashimoto, teaches the power control apparatus of claim 14,
Suzuki also teaches at least an actuator system is monitored for power supply requests and the control unit monitors status of its own communication information, which is collected information of in-vehicle ECUs. When the total inrush current found as a sum of inrush currents A and B exceeds a threshold value, the relay circuit is operated to switch the power supply line for a time period, which necessarily switches a switch (Pages 1-4).
Wu teaches multiple reversing circuits each arranged with first switch components and multiple transmission gates each with second switch components, where each circuit switch receives delay trigger signals to operate each circuit and switch at different predetermined times (Fig 1, 2, [0009], [0012], [0014]).
Hashimoto teaches a management server that communicates with computer units to store a management table composed of inrush currents of each unit and information about the different units including their states where timing is selectively provided to operate each unit at scheduled time slots to reduce inrush current (Fig 12, [0046], [0051], [0071], [0074]).
Suzuki, as modified by Wu and Hashimoto, does not teach: wherein the vehicle management server is configured to:
receive the maximum current value and the ECU information from a plurality of vehicles;
determine an inrush current corresponding to each of the in-vehicle ECUs based on the maximum current value and the ECU information for each of the vehicles; and
transmit activation information recording the activation time point of the backup switch to a target vehicle when a sum of inrush current values respectively corresponding to the in-vehicle ECUs provided in the target vehicle exceeds a threshold current value.
However, Nishida teaches a server receives data from a plurality of vehicle on each electric current value of the vehicles and storing this information along with pieces of information of the vehicle ([0045], [0046]). This includes each and every electric current value which necessarily includes the maximum current value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control system of Suzuki, as already modified by Wu and Hashimoto, by further incorporating the teachings of Wu and Hashimoto and incorporating the teachings of Nishida, such that a server collects data from multiple vehicles including the each and every current value, necessarily including a maximum current value, along with the identifying and operating parameters of the vehicle, including the information of the controller and actuator system of Suzuki, which is used to determine timing by the server which is transmitted back to the vehicle to operate a delay circuit and operate a backup switch.
The motivations to do so are the same as acknowledged by Wu in regards to claim 1, Hashimoto in regards to claim 3, and the motivation to incorporate a server collecting current data from multiple vehicles is that, this allows for monitoring the state of health of each of those vehicles more effectively ([0003], [0046]).
In regards to claim 16, Suzuki, as modified by Wu, Hashimoto, and Nishida, teaches the power control apparatus of claim 15.
Suzuki also teaches at least an actuator system is monitored for power supply requests and the control unit monitors status of its own communication information, which is collected information of in-vehicle ECUs. When the total inrush current found as a sum of inrush currents A and B exceeds a threshold value, the relay circuit is operated to switch the power supply line for a time period, which necessarily switches a switch (Pages 1-4).
Hashimoto teaches a management server that communicates with computer units to store a management table composed of inrush currents of each unit and information about the different units including their states where timing is selectively provided to operate each unit at scheduled time slots to reduce inrush current, where updating is performed based on additionally received data (Fig 12, [0046], [0051], [0071], [0074]).
Nishida teaches a server receives data from a plurality of vehicle on each electric current value of the vehicles and storing this information along with pieces of information of the vehicle ([0045], [0046]). This includes each and every electric current value which necessarily includes the maximum current value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control system of Suzuki, as already modified by Wu, Hashimoto, and Nishida, by further incorporating the teachings of Hashimoto and Nishida, such that the server updates data including previously determined current values, including inrush current values, based on new current values necessarily including maximum current values and information of the particular units.
The motivations to do so are the same as acknowledged by Hashimoto in regards to claim 3 and by Nishida in regards to claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
An et al. (US 20250191516) teaches a compensation look-up table to account for in-rush current.
Kaneko et al. (US 20210081159) teaches an in-rush current table to account for in-rush currents for a display system.
Leong et al. (US 20180102774) teaches an in-rush current look-up table.
Non-patent Literature Kaknevicius et al. “Managing Inrush Current” teaches different systems, methods, and techniques that may be used to manage an inrush current.
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661