DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (Kim) (US 2021/0359274 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses a display panel (Figs. 1, 8, 9), comprising: a substrate (item 100); a light emitting device layer (item 200) disposed on one side of the substrate (item 100); a light extraction layer assembly (item 230) disposed on a side of the light emitting device layer (item 200) facing away from the substrate (item 100), wherein the light extraction layer assembly (item 230) comprises at least two light extraction layers (items 233, 235, 231) arranged in a stacked configuration, the at least two light extraction layers (items 233, 235, 231) comprise a primary extraction layer (item 233) and at least one secondary extraction layer (items 235 and/or 231) disposed on one side or two opposite sides of the primary extraction layer (item 233), and a refractive index n2 of the primary extraction layer (item 233) is greater than a refractive index of the secondary extraction layer (items 235 or 231); and an encapsulation structure (item 300) disposed on a side of the light extraction layer assembly (item 230) facing away from the substrate (item 100).
In regards to claim 2, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein the at least one secondary extraction layer (item 235 or 231) comprises at least a first secondary extraction layer (item 235 or 231), the first secondary extraction layer (item 235 or 231) is disposed on a side of the primary extraction layer (item 233) facing the substrate (item 100); and a refractive index of the encapsulation structure (item 300) is less than the refractive index n2 of the primary extraction layer (item 233).
In regards to claim 3, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein the refractive index n2 of the primary extraction layer (item 233) is in a range of 1.7-2.6 (paragraph 86); the refractive index of the encapsulation structure (item 300) is in a range of 1.4-2.0 (paragraphs 109, 115-120, 135, 147); and a refractive index n1 of the first secondary extraction layer (items 235 or 231) is in a range of 1.2-1.6 (paragraph 86).
In regards to claim 4, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein a thickness d2 (item t2, 30 to 60 nm) of the primary extraction layer (item 233) is greater than a thickness d1 (item t1 or t3, 30 to 40 nm or 35 to 45 nm) of the first secondary extraction layer (items 231 or 235); the thickness d1 (item t1 or t3, 30 to 40 nm or 35 to 45 nm) of the first secondary extraction layer (items 231 or 235) is greater than 5 nm and less than 40 nm (item t1 or t3, 30 to 40 nm or 35 to 45 nm), the thickness d2 (item t2, 30 to 60 nm) of the primary extraction layer (item 233) is greater than 20 nm and less than 70 nm; and a total thickness D1=d1+d2 of the light extraction layer assembly (item 230) is greater than 50 nm and less than 110 nm.
In regards to claim 5, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein the encapsulation structure (item 300) comprises at least two encapsulation layers (at least two of items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) arranged in a stacked configuration, the at least two encapsulation layers (at least two of items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) comprise a primary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) and at least one secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330), the at least one secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is disposed on one side or two opposite sides of the primary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330), and a refractive index n5 of the primary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is less than a refractive index of the secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330, paragraph 115).
In regards to claim 6, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein the at least one secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) comprises at least one first secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) and at least one second secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330), and the at least one first secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) and the at least one second secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) are disposed on two opposite sides of the primary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330), respectively; and a refractive index n4 of the first secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is in a range of 1.4-2.0, the refractive index n5 of the primary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is in a range of 1.4-1.6, and a refractive index n6 of the second secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is in a range of 1.4-2.0.
In regards to claim 7, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein the at least one secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) comprises a plurality of secondary encapsulation layers (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) disposed on the one side of the primary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330), and refractive indices of the plurality of secondary encapsulation layers (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) sequentially increase in a direction from the primary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) to the secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330).
In regards to claim 8, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein when a difference in refractive index Δn2 (n4−n5 or n6−n5) between any two encapsulation layers (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) of the at least two encapsulation layers (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is less than 0.2, a difference in refractive index Δn3 (n2−n4) between the primary extraction layer (item 233) and the first secondary encapsulation layer (items 231 or 235) is greater than 0.6 and less than 1.2.
In regards to claim 9, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein a refractive index n1 of the first secondary extraction layer (items 231 or 235) is less than the refractive index n4 of the first secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330).
In regards to claim 10, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein the refractive index n1 of the first secondary extraction layer (items 231 or 235) is in a range of 1.4-1.6, the refractive index n2 of the primary extraction layer (item 233) is in a range of 2.0-2.4, the refractive index n4 of the first secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is in a range of 1.7-2.0, the refractive index n6 of the second secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is in a range of 1.7-2.0, and a difference in refractive index Δn4 (n2−n4) between the primary extraction layer (item 233) and the first secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is equal to or greater than 0 and less than 0.5.
In regards to claim 11, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein the secondary extraction layer (items 231 or 235) comprises at least one first secondary extraction layer (items 231 or 235) disposed on the side of the primary extraction layer (item 233) facing the substrate (item 100), the secondary extraction layer (items 231 or 235) further comprises at least one second secondary extraction layer (items 231 or 235) disposed on the side of the primary extraction layer (item 233) facing away from the substrate (item 100), and a refractive index n3 of the second secondary extraction layer (items 231 or 235) is less than a refractive index of the encapsulation structure (item 300).
In regards to claim 12, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein a refractive index n1 of the first secondary extraction layer (items 231 or 235) is in a range of 1.2-1.6; the refractive index n2 of the primary extraction layer (item 233) is in a range of 1.7-2.6; the refractive index n3 of the second secondary extraction layer (items 231 or 235) is in a range of 1.2-1.6.
In regards to claim 13, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein the encapsulation structure (item 300) comprises at least two encapsulation layers (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) arranged in a stacked configuration, the at least two encapsulation layers (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) comprise a primary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) and at least one secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330), the at least one secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) comprises at least one first secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) and at least one second secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330), the at least one first secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) and the at least one second secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) are disposed on two opposite sides of the primary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330), respectively; a refractive index n5 of the primary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is less than a refractive index n4 of the first secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) and less than a refractive index n6 of the second secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330); and the refractive index n3 of the second secondary extraction layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is less than the refractive index n4 of the first secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330).
In regards to claim 14, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein the refractive index n4 of the first secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) has a in a range of 1.4-2.0, the refractive index n5 of the primary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is in a range of 1.4-1.6, and the refractive index n6 of the second secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is in a range of 1.4-2.0.
In regards to claim 15, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein the first secondary extraction layer (item 231 or 235) has a thickness d1 greater than 0 and less than 40 nm, the primary extraction layer (item 233) has a thickness d2 greater than 30 nm and less than 70 nm, the second secondary extraction layer (item 231 or 235) has a thickness d3 greater than 20 nm and less than 50 nm; and a total thickness D2=d1+d2+d3 of the light extraction layer assembly (item 230) is greater than 70 nm and less than 160 nm.
In regards to claim 16, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein when a difference in refractive index Δn6 (n4−n5 or n6−n5) between any two encapsulation layers (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) of the at least two encapsulation layers (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is less than 0.4, a difference in refractive index Δn7(n4−n3) between the first secondary encapsulation layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) and the second secondary extraction layer (items 310, 315, 317, 320 or 330) is greater than or equal to 0 and less than 0.5.
In regards to claim 17, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein the light emitting device layer (item 200) comprises a plurality of light emitting units, each of the plurality of light emitting units has an orthographic projection on the substrate (item 100) located within an orthographic projection of the light extraction layer assembly (item 230) on the substrate (item 100); or the light emitting device layer (item 200) comprises a light emitting unit of a first color and a light emitting unit of a second color (paragraph 47), the light emitting unit of the first color has an orthographic projection on the substrate (item 100) located within the orthographic projection of the light extraction layer assembly (item 230) on the substrate (item 100), and the light emitting unit of the second color has an orthographic projection on the substrate (item 100) located outside the orthographic projection of the light extraction layer assembly (item 230) on the substrate (item 100).
In regards to claim 18, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses wherein the first color is blue and the second color is red or green (paragraph 47).
In regards to claim 19, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses a display module, comprising the display panel as claimed in claim 1.
In regards to claim 20, Kim (paragraphs 41-45, 69-72, 86, 112-121, 135-137, Figs. 1, 8, 9 and associated text) discloses display device (item 10), comprising the display module as claimed in claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Examiner notes that all references from written search report, Korean Office action and 892 anticipate claim 1 and other claims as well. Examiner suggests that the Applicant review all references and make amendments to overcome them all in order to promote compact prosecution.
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 September 22, 2026