DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-28 are pending before the Office for review.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 24-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 26, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-23) in the reply filed on August 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the organophosphorus compound" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claim 16 should be dependent from claim 13
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0157422) in view of MIZUTANI et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0001145).
With regards to claim 1, Liu discloses an etching composition, comprising: at least one quaternary ammonium hydroxide (Paragraphs [0034]-[0035]); an amine of formula (I): N-R1R2R3, wherein R1 is C1-C8 alkyl optionally substituted by OH or NH2, R2 is H or C1-C8 alkyl optionally substituted by OH, and R3 is C1-C8 alkyl optionally substituted by OH (Paragraphs [0034]-[0038]) at least one organic solvent selected from water soluble alcohols, water soluble ketones, water soluble esters, and water-soluble ethers (Paragraphs [0044]-[0045]; and water (Paragraphs [0032]-[0033]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose at least one first amine and at least one second amine different from the first amine, wherein the second amine comprises an amine of formula (I): N-R1R2R3, wherein R1 is C1-C8 alkyl optionally substituted by OH or NH2, R2 is H or C1-C8 alkyl optionally substituted by OH, and R3 is C1-C8 alkyl optionally substituted by OH.
Mizutani discloses an etching composition comprising at least one quaternary ammonium hydroxide (Paragraph [0032]), an organic amine wherein the organic amine includes an alkanolamine and/or an organic amine wherein the alkanolamine include monoethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine and wherein the organic amin include diethylenetriamine and 1,3-propanediamine (Paragraph [0031]) which renders obvious at least one first amine and at least one second amine different from the first amine, wherein the second amine comprises an amine of formula (I): N-R1R2R3, wherein R1 is C1-C8 alkyl optionally substituted by OH or NH2, R2 is H or C1-C8 alkyl optionally substituted by OH, and R3 is C1-C8 alkyl optionally substituted by OH.
It would have been prima facie obvious to know of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the composition of Liu to include the first and second amine as rendered obvious by Mizutani because the reference of Mizutani teaches that such organic amines can provide for a high etching rate (Paragraph [0034]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired etching composition using the amines as rendered obvious by Mizutani. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 2, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious wherein the at least one quaternary ammonium hydroxide comprises tetramethylammonium hydroxide, tetraethylammonium hydroxide, or tetrabutylammonium hydroxide. (Liu Paragraph [0035]).
With regards to claim 3, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious wherein the at least one quaternary ammonium hydroxide is in an amount of from about 2-15 wt% (Liu Paragraph [0037]) which renders obvious about 1 wt% to about 15 wt% of the composition. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
With regards to claims 4-6, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious wherein the diamine is 1,2-diaminopropane (Mizutani Paragraph [0031] discloses 1,3-propanediamine).
With regards to claims 7-8, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious wherein the triamine is diethylene triamine (Mizutani Paragraph [0031] discloses diethylenetriamine).
With regards to claim 9, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious wherein the alkaline compound is preferably 3 to 25 mass% (Mizutani Paragraph [0034]) which renders obvious wherein the first amine is in an amount of from about 10 wt% to about 40 wt% of the composition. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
With regards to claims 10-11, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious wherein the second amine Is an aminoalcohol and wherein the aminoalcohol is selected from monoethanolamine, diethanolamine and triethanolamine. (Liu Paragraphs [0040]-[0041], Mizutani Paragraph [0031]).
With regards to claim 12, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious wherein the second amine is in an amount of form 0.5 wt% (Liu Paragraph [0042]) which renders obvious wherein the second amine is in an amount of from about 0.01 wt% to about 0.5 wt% of the composition. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
With regards to claims 17-18, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious wherein the organic solvent is an alkylene glycol and wherein the alkylene glycol is ethylene glycol, propylene glycol, diethylene glycol, dipropylene glycol, triethylene glycol or tetraethyleneglycol. (Liu Paragraph [0044]).
With regards to claims 19-20, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious wherein the organic solvent is an alkylene glycol ether and wherein the alkylene glycol ether is selected from ethylene glycol monomethyl ether, ethylene glycol monoethyl ether, ethylene glycol mono n-propyl ether, ethylene glycol monoisopropyl ether, ethylene glycol mono n-butyl ether, diethylene glycol monomethyl ether, diethylene glycol monoethyl ether, diethylene glycol monobutylether, triethylene glycol monomethyl ether, triethylene glycol monoethyl ether, triethylene glycol monobutyl ether, 1-methoxy-2-propanol, 2-methoxy-1-propanol, 1-ethoxy-2-propanol, 2-ethoxy-1-propanol, propylene glycol mono-n-propyl ether, dipropylene glycol monomethyl ether, dipropylene glycol monoethyl ether, dipropylene glycol mono-n-propyl ether, tripropylene glycol monoethyl ether, tripropylene glycol monomethyl ether, ethylene glycol monobenzyl ether, and diethylene glycol monobenzyl ether. (Liu Paragraph [0044]).
With regards to claim 21, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious wherein the organic solvent is in an amount of from about 5-30 wt% (Liu Paragraph [0045]) which renders obvious about 2 wt% to about 40 wt%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
With regards to claim 22, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious wherein the composition has a pH from about 11 to about 14. (Liu Paragraph [0034]).
With regards to claim 23, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious wherein the water is in an amount form 10-50 wt% (Liu Paragraph [0083]) which overlaps Applicant’s claimed amount of about 25 wt% to about 80 wt% of the composition. (Liu Paragraph [0083]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0157422) in view of MIZUTANI et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0001145), as applied to claims 1-12 and 17-23, in further view of KYU et al (KR20220078998 as evidenced by the machine translation).
With regards to claims 13-16, the modified teachings of Liu render obvious the limitations of claim 1 as previously discussed.
However, the modified teachings of Liu are silent as to further comprising at least one organophosphorus compound; wherein the organophosphorus compound is a phosphinamide; wherein phosphinamide is diphenylphosphinamide and wherein the organophosphorus compound is in an amount of from about 0.01 wt% to about 0.5 wt% of the composition.
Kyu discloses an etching composition comprising a phosphite based compound wherein the phosphite based compound may be included in an amount of 0.1 to 5 wt %; wherein the phosphite based compound includes diphenyl phosphite (Paragraphs [0054]-[0073]) which renders obvious at least one organophosphorus compound; wherein the organophosphorus compound is a phosphinamide; wherein phosphinamide is diphenylphosphinamide and wherein the organophosphorus compound is in an amount of from about 0.01 wt% to about 0.5 wt% of the composition. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
It would have been prima facie obvious to know of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the modified composition of Liu to include organophosphorus compound as rendered obvious by Kyu because the reference of Kyu teaches that the compound can aid in the etch selectivity and etching rate (Paragraphs [0054],[0068]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired etching composition using the organophosphorus compound as rendered obvious by Kyu. MPEP 2143D
Conclusion
/STEPHANIE P DUCLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713