DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Pre-Amendment filed on Oct. 25, 2025.
Claims 1-22 have been canceled.
New claims 23-42 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (2029/0141515).
Regarding claim 23, Kim discloses a wireless device configured with early data transmission (EDT) capability (see abstract, fig.1, element 10, fig.7, element 100, paragraphs [0084-0085] and its description), the method comprising: selecting a random access preamble not configured for EDT (see abstract, fig.1, element 10, fig.7, element 100, paragraphs [0048], [0092] and its description); sending a message 3 (Msg3) to a network node, the Msg 3 comprising an indication of EDT capability (see abstract, fig.1, elements 10, 20, fig.7, elements 100, 200, step 3, paragraphs [0048], [0092], [0169] and its description); and receiving data in a message 4 (Msg4) (see abstract, fig.1, element 10, fig.7, elements 100, 200, step 4, paragraphs [0048], [0092], [0169] and its description).
Regarding claim 24, Kim further discloses wherein the wireless device performs a random access procedure (see paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 25, Kim further comprising receiving a message 2 (Msg2), wherein the Msg2 does not contain an indication of an uplink grant (see abstract, fig.1, elements 10, 20, fig.7, elements 100, 200, step 2, paragraphs [0048], [0092], [0169] and its description).
Regarding claim 26, Kim further discloses wherein receiving data in the Msg4 comprises receiving an early data transmission (see paragraphs [0230-0231]).
Regarding claim 27, Kim further discloses wherein the Msg 3 contains a RRCConnectionRequest or a RCConnectionResumeRequest (see abstract, fig.1, elements 10, 20, fig.7, elements 100, 200, step 3, paragraphs [0048], [0092], [0169] and its description).
Regarding claim 28, Kim further discloses wherein the Msg3 is without user data (see abstract, fig.1, elements 10, 20, fig.7, elements 100, 200, step 3, paragraphs [0048], [0092], [0169] and its description).
Regarding claim 29, Kim further discloses wherein receiving the data in the Msg4 further comprises receiving the Msg4 with data multiplexed with a RRCConnectionResume message (see abstract, fig.1, elements 10, 20, fig.7, elements 100, 200, step 4, paragraphs [0048], [0077], [0092], [0169] and its description).
Regarding claim 30, Kim further discloses wherein the data in the Msg4 is received on a dedicated traffic channel (DTCH) (see paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 31, Kim further discloses wherein the RRCConnectionResume message is received on a Dedicated Control Channel (DCCH).
Regarding claim 32, Kim further discloses wherein the data in the Msg4 is ciphered (see paragraphs [0018], [0034]).
Regarding claims 33-42 recite limitations substantially similar to claims 23-32. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Conclusion
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Alison Slater can be reached on (571) 270-0375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
/CONGVAN TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647