DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-24 are currently pending and prosecuted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 8 June 2026, with respect to Claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is necessitated due to Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guerrero et al., US PG-Pub 2023/0005340, hereinafter Guerrero, in view of Kemper, US PG-Pub 2012/0046089, hereinafter Kemper.
Regarding Claim 1, Guerrero teaches a gaming machine (gaming machine 10) comprising:
a presentation assembly (primary display 18) configured to present a plurality of symbol positions (Figs. 3, 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions, [0129], “The game interface 500 includes a plurality of symbol positions arranged in a symbol array 502”) and a catalyst game element (plurality of value-bearing symbols 504); and
game-logic circuitry (game-logic circuitry 40) in communication with the presentation assembly (Fig. 2, and corresponding descriptions), the game-logic circuitry configured to cause the presentation assembly to present a plurality of game outcomes (Fig. 7, and corresponding descriptions; [0121], step 408 Generate and Present Game Cycle Outcomes), wherein, for each game outcome of the plurality of game outcomes, the game-logic circuitry is configured to:
cause the presentation assembly to present a zone outcome visually indicating an activation zone (multiplier region 514) within the plurality of symbol positions (Fig. 8A, and corresponding descriptions; [0129]-[0134], “The game interface 500 includes a plurality of symbol positions arranged in a symbol array 502.”);
cause the presentation assembly to present a symbol outcome by populating the plurality of symbol positions with randomly selected symbols from one or more sets of available symbols (Fig. 8A, and corresponding descriptions; [0129]-[0134], “The game interface 500 includes a plurality of symbol positions arranged in a symbol array 502.”), the one or more sets of available symbols including value-bearing symbols (value-bearing symbols 504) having (i) award indicia that visually indicates an award value corresponding to the respective value-bearing symbol (Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0130]-[0134], “six value-bearing symbols 504”) and (ii) an activation state comprising an active state and an inactive state (Figs. 7-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0121], “The game cycle outcome includes selectively and randomly populating unlocked symbol positions with value-bearing symbols. That is, each unlocked symbol position may or may not be populated with a new value-bearing symbol. A symbol position not populated with a value-bearing symbol may be populated with a non-value-bearing symbol or left unoccupied (sometimes referred to herein as populated by a “void”)); and
in response to the randomly selected symbols including one or more value-bearing symbols within the activation zone, cause the presentation assembly to visually update the one or more value-bearing symbols to the active state (Figs. 7-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0137]-[0142], “symbol position 520 is within all three multiplier regions 508, 510, 512, symbol positions 522 are within two of the multiplier regions 508, 510, 512, and symbol positions 524 are only within one of the multiplier subregions 508, 510, 512. Accordingly, the multiplier values for each symbol position of the multiplier region 514 are updated based on the number of overlapping subregions”).
However, Guerrero does not explicitly teach cause the presentation assembly to present a catalyst outcome with the catalyst game element, the catalyst outcome selectively including a catalyst symbol; and in response to identifying the catalyst symbol within the catalyst outcome, cause the presentation assembly to present an award sequence for an award at least partially as a function of the award indicia of any active state value-bearing symbols within the plurality of symbol positions.
Kemper teaches cause the presentation assembly to present a catalyst outcome with the catalyst game element (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0044]), the catalyst outcome selectively including a catalyst symbol (Kemper: catalyst symbol 18A); and
in response to identifying the catalyst symbol within the catalyst outcome, cause the presentation assembly to present an award sequence for an award at least partially as a function of the award indicia of any active state value-bearing symbols within the plurality of symbol positions (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0052], noting how the catalyst flame symbol causes a reaction with “any reactant symbol 18B in the outcome of the slot game 110” to modify the outcome to determine any winning payouts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the catalyst reaction taught by Kemper into the device taught by Guerrero in order to award to the player as a function of the revised outcome of the slot game and a second predetermined paytable (Kemper: [0041]), thereby increasing the likelihood of a player winning the game.
Regarding Claim 2, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming machine of claim 1, wherein the value-bearing symbols of the one or more sets of available symbols initially are in the inactive state (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0129]-[0134]; specifically, Fig. 8A, where the available symbols are in an inactive state).
Regarding Claim 3, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming machine of claim 1, wherein the one or more value-bearing symbols, in response to updating to the active state, are held within the plurality of symbol positions for at least one subsequent game outcome (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0143]-[0146]; specifically, Fig. 8F, where the value bearing symbols are locked in a given position).
Regarding Claim 4, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming machine of claim 1, wherein the catalyst game element includes a catalyst symbol position selectively occupied by the catalyst symbol (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0052], noting how the catalyst flame symbol causes a reaction with “any reactant symbol 18B in the outcome of the slot game 110” to modify the outcome to determine any winning payouts), and wherein the catalyst symbol is identified within the catalyst symbol position (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0052], noting how the catalyst flame symbol causes a reaction with “any reactant symbol 18B in the outcome of the slot game 110” to modify the outcome to determine any winning payouts).
Regarding Claim 5, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming machine of claim 4, wherein the plurality of symbol positions and the catalyst symbol position form a symbol array (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0052], noting how the catalyst flame symbol causes a reaction with “any reactant symbol 18B in the outcome of the slot game 110” with a symbol array withing the reels).
Regarding Claim 6, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming machine of claim 1, wherein the activation zone includes a first subzone and a second subzone positionally independent of the first subzone (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0136], “the multiplier subregions may be independent from each other such that no overlap is present”).
Regarding Claim 7, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming machine of claim 6, wherein the first subzone comprises a first column of a symbol array at least partially formed by the plurality of symbol positions and the second subzone comprises a second column of the symbol array (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0135]-[0136], showing the first multiplier subregion 508, the second multiplier subregion 510 and the third multiplier subregion 512 are made in part by the symbol positions within the symbol array).
Regarding Claim 8, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming machine of claim 1, wherein the activation zone replaces a previous activation zone from a prior game outcome, the activation zone being at least partially different from the previous activation zone (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0135]-[0136], specifically, Fig. 8E, [0137]-0142], “the multiplier subregions 508, 510, 512 have been combined to form a multiplier region 514 as indicated by border 516”).
Regarding Claim 9, Guerrero teaches a method for operating a gaming machine (gaming machine 10) of a gaming system (Fig. 1, and corresponding descriptions), the gaming system comprising a presentation assembly of the gaming machine (primary display 18) and game-logic circuitry (game-logic circuitry 40) in communication with the presentation assembly (Fig. 2, and corresponding descriptions), the method comprising:
presenting, by the presentation assembly, a plurality of symbol positions (Figs. 3, 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions, [0129], “The game interface 500 includes a plurality of symbol positions arranged in a symbol array 502”) and a catalyst game element (plurality of value-bearing symbols 504); and
causing, by the game-logic circuitry, the presentation assembly to present a plurality of game outcomes (Fig. 7, and corresponding descriptions; [0121], step 408 Generate and Present Game Cycle Outcomes), wherein, each game outcome of the plurality of game outcomes includes the game-logic circuitry causing the presentation assembly to:
present a zone outcome visually indicating an activation zone (multiplier region 514) within the plurality of symbol positions (Fig. 8A, and corresponding descriptions; [0129]-[0134], “The game interface 500 includes a plurality of symbol positions arranged in a symbol array 502.”);
present a symbol outcome by populating the plurality of symbol positions with randomly selected symbols from one or more sets of available symbols (Fig. 8A, and corresponding descriptions; [0129]-[0134], “The game interface 500 includes a plurality of symbol positions arranged in a symbol array 502.”), the one or more sets of available symbols including value-bearing symbols (value-bearing symbols 504) having (i) award indicia that visually indicates an award value corresponding to the respective value-bearing symbol (Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0130]-[0134], “six value-bearing symbols 504”) and (ii) an activation state comprising an active state and an inactive state (Figs. 7-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0121], “The game cycle outcome includes selectively and randomly populating unlocked symbol positions with value-bearing symbols. That is, each unlocked symbol position may or may not be populated with a new value-bearing symbol. A symbol position not populated with a value-bearing symbol may be populated with a non-value-bearing symbol or left unoccupied (sometimes referred to herein as populated by a “void”)); and
in response to the randomly selected symbols including one or more value-bearing symbols within the activation zone, visually update the one or more value-bearing symbols to the active state (Figs. 7-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0137]-[0142], “symbol position 520 is within all three multiplier regions 508, 510, 512, symbol positions 522 are within two of the multiplier regions 508, 510, 512, and symbol positions 524 are only within one of the multiplier subregions 508, 510, 512. Accordingly, the multiplier values for each symbol position of the multiplier region 514 are updated based on the number of overlapping subregions”).
However, Guerrero does not explicitly teach present a catalyst outcome with the catalyst game element, the catalyst outcome selectively including a catalyst symbol; and in response to identifying the catalyst symbol within the catalyst outcome, present an award sequence for an award at least partially as a function of the award indicia of any active state value-bearing symbols within the plurality of symbol positions.
Kemper teaches present a catalyst outcome with the catalyst game element (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0044]) , the catalyst outcome selectively including a catalyst symbol (Kemper: catalyst symbol 18A); and
in response to identifying the catalyst symbol within the catalyst outcome, present an award sequence for an award at least partially as a function of the award indicia of any active state value-bearing symbols within the plurality of symbol positions (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0052], noting how the catalyst flame symbol causes a reaction with “any reactant symbol 18B in the outcome of the slot game 110” to modify the outcome to determine any winning payouts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the catalyst reaction taught by Kemper into the device taught by Guerrero in order to award to the player as a function of the revised outcome of the slot game and a second predetermined paytable (Kemper: [0041]), thereby increasing the likelihood of a player winning the game.
Regarding Claim 10, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the value- bearing symbols of the one or more sets of available symbols initially are in the inactive state (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0129]-[0134]; specifically, Fig. 8A, where the available symbols are in an inactive state).
Regarding Claim 11, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the one or more value-bearing symbols, in response to updating to the active state, are held within the plurality of symbol positions for at least one subsequent game outcome (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0143]-[0146]; specifically, Fig. 8F, where the value bearing symbols are locked in a given position).
Regarding Claim 12, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the catalyst game element includes a catalyst symbol position selectively occupied by the catalyst symbol (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0052], noting how the catalyst flame symbol causes a reaction with “any reactant symbol 18B in the outcome of the slot game 110” to modify the outcome to determine any winning payouts), and wherein the catalyst symbol is identified within the catalyst symbol position (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0052], noting how the catalyst flame symbol causes a reaction with “any reactant symbol 18B in the outcome of the slot game 110” to modify the outcome to determine any winning payouts).
Regarding Claim 13, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the plurality of symbol positions and the catalyst symbol position form a symbol array (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0052], noting how the catalyst flame symbol causes a reaction with “any reactant symbol 18B in the outcome of the slot game 110” with a symbol array withing the reels).
Regarding Claim 14, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the activation zone includes a first subzone and a second subzone positionally independent of the first subzone (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0136], “the multiplier subregions may be independent from each other such that no overlap is present”).
Regarding Claim 15, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the first subzone comprises a first column of a symbol array at least partially formed by the plurality of symbol positions and the second subzone comprises a second column of the symbol array (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0135]-[0136], showing the first multiplier subregion 508, the second multiplier subregion 510 and the third multiplier subregion 512 are made in part by the symbol positions within the symbol array).
Regarding Claim 16, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the activation zone replaces a previous activation zone from a prior game outcome, the activation zone being at least partially different from the previous activation zone (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0135]-[0136], specifically, Fig. 8E, [0137]-0142], “the multiplier subregions 508, 510, 512 have been combined to form a multiplier region 514 as indicated by border 516”).
Regarding Claim 17, Guerrero teaches a gaming system (Fig. 1, and corresponding descriptions) comprising:
a gaming machine (gaming machine 10) comprising a presentation assembly (primary display 18) configured to present a plurality of symbol positions (Figs. 3, 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions, [0129], “The game interface 500 includes a plurality of symbol positions arranged in a symbol array 502”) and a catalyst game element (plurality of value-bearing symbols 504); and
game-logic circuitry (game-logic circuitry 40) in communication with the presentation assembly (Fig. 2, and corresponding descriptions), the game-logic circuitry configured to cause the presentation assembly to present a plurality of game outcomes (Fig. 7, and corresponding descriptions; [0121], step 408 Generate and Present Game Cycle Outcomes), wherein, for each game outcome of the plurality of game outcomes, the game-logic circuitry is configured to:
cause the presentation assembly to present a zone outcome visually indicating an activation zone (multiplier region 514) within the plurality of symbol positions (Fig. 8A, and corresponding descriptions; [0129]-[0134], “The game interface 500 includes a plurality of symbol positions arranged in a symbol array 502.”);
cause the presentation assembly to present a symbol outcome by populating the plurality of symbol positions with randomly selected symbols from one or more sets of available symbols (Fig. 8A, and corresponding descriptions; [0129]-[0134], “The game interface 500 includes a plurality of symbol positions arranged in a symbol array 502.”), the one or more sets of available symbols including value-bearing symbols (value-bearing symbols 504) having (i) award indicia that visually indicates an award value corresponding to the respective value-bearing symbol (Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0130]-[0134], “six value-bearing symbols 504”) and (ii) an activation state comprising an active state and an inactive state (Figs. 7-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0121], “The game cycle outcome includes selectively and randomly populating unlocked symbol positions with value-bearing symbols. That is, each unlocked symbol position may or may not be populated with a new value-bearing symbol. A symbol position not populated with a value-bearing symbol may be populated with a non-value-bearing symbol or left unoccupied (sometimes referred to herein as populated by a “void”)); and
in response to the randomly selected symbols including one or more value-bearing symbols within the activation zone, cause the presentation assembly to visually update the one or more value-bearing symbols to the active state (Figs. 7-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0137]-[0142], “symbol position 520 is within all three multiplier regions 508, 510, 512, symbol positions 522 are within two of the multiplier regions 508, 510, 512, and symbol positions 524 are only within one of the multiplier subregions 508, 510, 512. Accordingly, the multiplier values for each symbol position of the multiplier region 514 are updated based on the number of overlapping subregions”).
However, Guerrero does not explicitly teach cause the presentation assembly to present a catalyst outcome with the catalyst game element, the catalyst outcome selectively including a catalyst symbol; and in response to identifying the catalyst symbol within the catalyst outcome, cause the presentation assembly to present an award sequence for an award at least partially as a function of the award indicia of any active state value-bearing symbols within the plurality of symbol positions.
Kemper teaches cause the presentation assembly to present a catalyst outcome with the catalyst game element (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0044]), the catalyst outcome selectively including a catalyst symbol (Kemper: catalyst symbol 18A); and
in response to identifying the catalyst symbol within the catalyst outcome, cause the presentation assembly to present an award sequence for an award at least partially as a function of the award indicia of any active state value-bearing symbols within the plurality of symbol positions (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0052], noting how the catalyst flame symbol causes a reaction with “any reactant symbol 18B in the outcome of the slot game 110” to modify the outcome to determine any winning payouts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the catalyst reaction taught by Kemper into the device taught by Guerrero in order to award to the player as a function of the revised outcome of the slot game and a second predetermined paytable (Kemper: [0041]), thereby increasing the likelihood of a player winning the game.
Regarding Claim 18, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming system of claim 17, wherein the value-bearing symbols of the one or more sets of available symbols initially are in the inactive state (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0129]-[0134]; specifically, Fig. 8A, where the available symbols are in an inactive state).
Regarding Claim 19, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming system of claim 17, wherein the one or more value-bearing symbols, in response to updating to the active state, are held within the plurality of symbol positions for at least one subsequent game outcome (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0143]-[0146]; specifically, Fig. 8F, where the value bearing symbols are locked in a given position).
Regarding Claim 20, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming system of claim 17, wherein the catalyst game element includes a catalyst symbol position selectively occupied by the catalyst symbol (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0052], noting how the catalyst flame symbol causes a reaction with “any reactant symbol 18B in the outcome of the slot game 110” to modify the outcome to determine any winning payouts), and wherein the catalyst symbol is identified within the catalyst symbol position (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0052], noting how the catalyst flame symbol causes a reaction with “any reactant symbol 18B in the outcome of the slot game 110” to modify the outcome to determine any winning payouts).
Regarding Claim 21, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming system of claim 20, wherein the plurality of symbol positions and the catalyst symbol position form a symbol array (Kemper: Figs. 3-13B, and corresponding descriptions; [0041]-[0052], noting how the catalyst flame symbol causes a reaction with “any reactant symbol 18B in the outcome of the slot game 110” with a symbol array withing the reels).
Regarding Claim 22, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming system of claim 17, wherein the activation zone includes a first subzone and a second subzone positionally independent of the first subzone (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0136], “the multiplier subregions may be independent from each other such that no overlap is present”).
Regarding Claim 23, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming system of claim 22, wherein the first subzone comprises a first column of a symbol array at least partially formed by the plurality of symbol positions and the second subzone comprises a second column of the symbol array (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0135]-[0136], showing the first multiplier subregion 508, the second multiplier subregion 510 and the third multiplier subregion 512 are made in part by the symbol positions within the symbol array).
Regarding Claim 24, Guerrero, as modified by Kemper, teaches the gaming system of claim 17, wherein the activation zone replaces a previous activation zone from a prior game outcome, the activation zone being at least partially different from the previous activation zone (Guerrero: Figs. 8A-8H, and corresponding descriptions; [0135]-[0136], specifically, Fig. 8E, [0137]-0142], “the multiplier subregions 508, 510, 512 have been combined to form a multiplier region 514 as indicated by border 516”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEPHEN T. REED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/Stephen T. Reed/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627