Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The bank (520) is not between the transistor and the light emitting diode layer but adjacent the light emitting diode layer. The claim will be interpreted in light of Fig. 7 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (CN115036345/ US PGPub 2022/0285463).
Claim 1: Lee teaches (Fig. 6) a display apparatus, comprising: a substrate (100) including a first non-bending area (left of BA), a second non-bending area (right of BA), and a bending area (BA) disposed between the first non-bending area and the second non-bending area; a transistor (TFT) and a light emitting diode layer (OLED) disposed in the first non-bending area on the substrate; a cover layer (520) disposed in the first non-bending area, the second non-bending area, and the bending area on the substrate; and a partition (CD) disposed in the second non-bending area on the substrate.
Claim 2: Lee teaches (Fig. 6) the partition includes a first partition (CD1) and a second partition (CD2) spaced from the first partition.
Claim 3: Lee teaches (Fig. 6) the cover layer (520) is disposed in a partial area of the second non-bending area close to the bending area, and is not disposed in other areas of the second non-bending area excluding the partial area.
Claim 4: Lee teaches (Fig. 6) the cover layer (520) is continuously disposed in the first non-bending area, the second non-bending area, and the bending area.
Claim 5: Lee teaches (Fig. 6, 7b) the cover layer (520) is in contact with one surface of the partition. The claim does not require the contact to only be with one surface.
Claim 6: Lee teaches (Fig. 6) a touch unit (TU) disposed on the light emitting diode layer; and a protection layer (510) disposed on the touch unit, wherein the cover layer (520) is disposed on the protection layer.
Claim 8: Lee teaches (Fig. 6) a second protection layer disposed between the transistor and the light emitting diode layer, wherein the second protection layer includes a first sub protection layer (117) and a second sub protection layer (118), and wherein a connection line (120) connecting to the touch line is disposed between the first sub protection layer and the second sub protection layer.
Claim 9: Lee teaches (Fig. 7b-d) an end of the cover layer in the second non-bending area is disposed between the protection layer and the partition.
Claim 10: Lee teaches (Fig. 6) the partition is configured on a same layer as the protection layer.
Claim 11: Lee teaches (Fig. 6) a dam (PW1,PW2) disposed on the first non-bending area.
Claim 12: Lee teaches (Fig. 6) the partition is spaced apart from the dam by the bending area.
Claim 13: Lee teaches (Fig. 6) a second protection layer (118) and a bank (119) disposed between the transistor and the light emitting diode layer; and a spacer (121) disposed on the bank.
Claim 14: Lee teaches (Fig. 6) the dam is configured with a same material as at least one or more of materials which configure the spacer, the bank, and the protection layer.
Claim 15: Lee teaches (Fig. the cover layer (OU) is in contact with the second protection layer (118) in the bending area (BA).
Claim 16: Lee teaches (Fig. 6) (See claim 1) display apparatus, comprising: a substrate (100) including a first non-bending area, a second non-bending area, and a bending area (BA) disposed between the first non-bending area and the second non-bending area; a light emitting element layer (220) disposed in the first non-bending area on the substrate; a cover layer (520) disposed in the first non-bending area, the bending area on the substrate, and a partial area of the second non-bending area, the cover layer being disposed on the light emitting element layer; and a partition (CD) disposed in the second non-bending area on the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (CN115036345/ US PGPub 2022/0285463) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Lee (US PGPub 2022/0344441).
Regarding claim 7, as described above, Lee (463) substantially reads on the invention as claimed, except Lee (463) does not teach the touch unit includes a touch line, and the cover layer is in contact with the touch line in the second non-bending area. Lee (441) teaches the touch unit includes a touch line (MP1/MP2), and the cover layer (520) is in contact with the touch line in the second non-bending area [0203] (Fig. 6, , 117). MP2 extend out of the bending region (BA) and back into the NPS to the right of BA in figure 6 to control the neutral plane of the connection wire [0199]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device to have the touch unit includes a touch line, and the cover layer is in contact with the touch line in the second non-bending area to meet device specification requirements as taught by Lee (441).
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814