DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference 43 in figure 8. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “45” has been used to designate both a first movement arrow in figure 9a and a structural component of figure 8. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “a floor arrangement” in line 10 should be amended to --the floor arrangement--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: “the central section” in line 8 should be amended to --the central recess section-- so as to maintain proper phrasing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For Claim 5, “slot like recess” is indefinite as the term “like” makes the phrase unclear.
For Claim 5, “the fitting comprises at least two fitting engaging portions to engage with at least two flange protrusions of the connection studs” and “the fitting comprises at least two connection shoes with a slot like recess configured to slidingly engage with the connection head region”. It is not clear the difference between the two fitting engaging portions and the two connection shoes, since both engage the head region of the studs. Therefore the Claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-11, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benthien (US PgPub #2014/0131519).
For Claim 1, figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0064, 0065, 0073, and 0098] of Benthien ‘519 disclose an adaptable fixation interface for an aircraft cabin floor, the adaptable fixation interface comprising: a plurality of connection studs (32); wherein the connection studs comprises a mounting foot region (40) and a connection head region (38), wherein the mounting foot region is configured to be inserted into one of a plurality of interface points in a floor arrangement (16); wherein the connection head region is configured to be engaged by a fitting (36) of an equipment to be fixed to the floor arrangement; and wherein the connection studs are configured to be releasably connected to adjacent interface points in the floor arrangement to provide a longitudinally extending fixation interface segment for mounting of the equipment.
For Claim 2, figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0064, 0065, 0073, and 0098] of Benthien ‘519 disclose that the plurality of connection studs are configured to form an adaptable fixation segment when the connection studs are mounted to a floor support structure, and wherein the adaptable fixation segment provides a connecting profile for mounting the equipment, the equipment comprising seats.
For Claim 3, figures 10-12 of Benthien ‘519 disclose that the connection head comprises a flange protrusion (108) for form -fit clamping of an equipment fitting configured to be resting on an upper end face provided by the connection head region.
For Claim 7, figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0064, 0065, 0073, and 0098] of Benthien ‘519 disclose an aircraft floor mounting system comprising: at least one adaptable fixation interface according to claim 1; and at least one longitudinally extending clamping profile, wherein the eat least one longitudinally extending clamping profile comprises at least one outer section (72) for holding an edge of at least one floor panel (22) and a central recessed section for attaching the at least one longitudinally extending clamping profile to a floor support beam (60) of an aircraft cabin; and wherein the connection studs are configured to be provided along the central section in a mounted state.
For Claim 8, figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0064, 0065, 0073, and 0098] of Benthien ‘519 disclose that the longitudinally extending clamping profile is configured to be attached to the floor support beam by the connection studs.
For Claim 9, figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0064, 0065, 0073, and 0098] of Benthien ‘519 disclose an aircraft floor arrangement, the floor arrangement comprising: at least one floor support; a plurality of interface points provided on an upper side along at least a part of a floor support beam (16); and at least one adaptable fixation interface according to Claim 1; wherein the interface points are configured to receive the mounting foot region of one of the connection studs (32).
For Claim 10, figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0064, 0065, 0073, and 0098] of Benthien ‘519 disclose that the interface points are provided as blind nuts (34) with an inner thread aligned with through holes in an upper flange segment of the floor support beam, and wherein the blind nuts provide a bore in which the mounting foot region of one of the connection studs is inserted in an engaging manner with the blind nuts.
For Claim 11, figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0064, 0065, 0073, and 0098] of Benthien ‘519 disclose at least one floor panel (22) resting on the floor support beam (16); and at least one clamping profile (60 and 72); wherein the clamping profile is configured to hold an upper lateral edge of the floor panel in a clamping manner; and wherein the clamping profile is configured to be attached to the floor support beam by the connection studs.
For Claim 14, figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0064, 0065, 0073, and 0098] of Benthien ‘519 disclose an aircraft, comprising a fuselage, and a wing arrangement attached to the fuselage; wherein an aircraft cabin is provided within the fuselage, the aircraft cabin comprising a cabin floor, and wherein the cabin floor comprises the aircraft floor mounting system according to claim 7.
For Claim 15, figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0064, 0065, 0073, and 0098] of Benthien ‘519 disclose a method for providing a fixation interface for an aircraft cabin floor, comprising: providing a plurality of connection studs each having a mounting foot region (40) and a connection head region (38) that is configured to be engaged by a fitting of an equipment to be fixed to the floor arrangement; providing a floor arrangement with a plurality of interface points; and inserting the mounting foot regions into adjacent interface points, wherein the connection head regions provide a longitudinally extending fixation interface segment for mounting of the equipment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benthien (US PgPub #2014/0131519).
For Claim 4, while figures 3 and 13 of Benthien ‘519 disclose a flange protrusion with a half circular shape of the connection head (38) that is connected to a support beam (16), it is silent about it having two abutment edges and two opposite edges. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to have flange protrusions that are square so as to provide lateral straight edges for connection. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Benthien ‘519 with a square flange head region as known in the art. The motivation to do so would be to have a straight connection edge.
For Claim 6, while Benthien ‘519 is silent about the connection studs being configured as an electric interface, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to provide studs that are metallic to allow for transmitting electric energy or can be provided with a specific electrical interface connection so as to contain electrical wiring within the stud. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Benthien ‘519 with an electrical interface on the studs. The motivation to do so would be to provide a known electrical connection to provide electricity to the monument.
For Claim 12, while Benthien ‘519 is silent about the specific material choice of the floor support and the clamping profile, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to use a noncorroding material for an object when it is near or touch a corrosive material so as to stop the corrosion of the material. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Benthien ‘519 with the corrosive and noncorroding material combinations. The motivation to do so would be to use a cheaper material for the large support while avoiding corrosion of it with having connections that are noncorroding.
For Claim 13, while Benthien ‘519 discloses that clamping profile having a central recess of the interface points, it is silent about a filler to contour with the recess. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to close a void with a filler. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Benthien ‘519 with a filler as is known in the art. The motivation to do so would be to close up an open area so that objects cannot fall in the void.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 2/11/2026