DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 24, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misra et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2020/0365412 A1) in view of Seo et al. “Role of the Surface Chemistry of Ceria Surfaces on Silicate Adsorption”, ACS Applied Materials Interfaces, 2014, pp. 7388-7394.
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Misra et al. teach a pad for performing abrasive-free chemical planarization of a non- metallic material, the pad comprising: a polymer layer configured to contact a substrate during the abrasive-free chemical planarization. (Paragraph 0005, 012, 0017, 0018, 0022, 0030, 0031)
The difference between claim 1 and Misra et al. is wherein the polymer layer comprises a cerium species, the cerium species comprising one or more of Ce(III) or Ce(IV) is not discussed.
Regarding wherein the polymer layer comprises a cerium species, the cerium species comprising one or more of Ce(III) or Ce(IV) (Claim 1), Seo et al. al. teach utilizing ceria dispersed with a polymer wherein the polymer layer comprises a cerium species, the cerium species comprising one or more of Ce(III) or Ce(IV). (Page 7389)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Misra et al. by allowing the cerium dispersed with a polymer as taught by Seo et al. to enter the pores of Misra et al. to allow for abrasive free chemical planarization.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 4:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the polymer layer further comprises a functional group comprising one or more of a complexing agent or a hydrolyzing agent incorporated into a polymer matrix within the polymer layer.
Regarding claim 4, Misura et al. teach wherein the polymer layer further comprises a functional group comprising one or more of a complexing agent or a hydrolyzing agent incorporated into a polymer matrix within the polymer layer. (Paragraph 0031)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the polymer layer comprises the cerium species dispersed freely in a polymer matrix of the polymer layer.
Regarding claim 5, Mirura et al. in combination with Seo et al. would allow the cerium to be dispersed in the porous polymer matrix. (Paragraph 0032)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 6:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the polymer layer comprises the cerium species ionically or covalently bonded to the functional group.
Regarding claim 6, Mirura et al. in combination with Seo et al. would allow the cerium species to ionically or covalently bonded to the functional group. (Paragraph 0031)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 7:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the polymer layer comprises the cerium species complexed to the functional group.
Regarding claim 7, Mirura et al. in combination with Seo et al. teach the cerium species complexed to the functional group. (Paragraph 0031)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 8:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the functional group comprises one or more of a hydroxyl, a carbonyl, a sulfonyl, or a carboxylic acid functional group.
Regarding claim 8, Mirura et al. teach wherein the functional group comprises one or more of a hydroxyl, a carbonyl, a sulfonyl, or a carboxylic acid functional group. (Paragraph 0031)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 9:
The difference not yet discussed is further comprising a plurality of polymer layers, wherein the cerium species is incorporated into two or more polymer layers of the plurality of polymer layers.
Regarding claim 9, Mirura et al. teach utilizing two porous polymer layers. (Paragraph 0024) The combination of Mirura et al. with Seo et al. would result in filing the pores of the two layers with the cerium.
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 10:
Regarding claim 10, Misra et al. teach a chemical planarization tool, comprising a pad for performing abrasive-free chemical planarization of a non-metallic material, the pad comprising a polymer layer configured to contact a substrate during the abrasive-free chemical planarization, a platen supporting the pad, a substrate holder configured to hold a substrate against the surface of the pad, and a planarization solution introduction system for introducing a planarization solution onto the pad. (Paragraph 0013, 0027, Fig. 1)
The difference between claim 10 and Misra et al. is that the polymer layer comprises a cerium species, the cerium species comprising one or more of Ce(III) or Ce(IV) is not discussed.
Regarding the polymer layer comprises a cerium species, the cerium species comprising one or more of Ce(III) or Ce(IV) (Claim 10), Seo et al. teach utilizing ceria dispersed with a polymer wherein the polymer layer comprises a cerium species, the cerium species comprising one or more of Ce(III) or Ce(IV). (Page 7389)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Misra et al. by allowing the cerium dispersed with a polymer as taught by Seo et al. to enter the pores of Misra et al. to allow for abrasive free chemical planarization.
The motivation for utilizing the features of Seo et al. is that it allows for enhancing removal during chemical mechanical planarization. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Misra et al. by utilizing the features of Seo et al. because it allows for enhancing removal during chemical mechanical planarization. (See Abstract)
Claim(s) 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misra et al. in view of Seo et al. as applied to claims 1, 4-10 above, and further in view of Komine et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2023/0174822 A1).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the cerium species is incorporated as one or more of cerium trichloride, cerium sulfate, cerium carbonate, cerium nitrate hexahydrate, cerium acetate, cerium ammonium nitrate, cerium (III) methanesulfonate, or cerium (III) trifluoromethanesulfonate.
Regarding claim 2, Komine et al. teach utilizing cerium species for chemical mechanical polishing can be cerium carbonate, cerium acetate and cerium ammonium nitrate. (Paragraph 0024)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Komine et al. is that it allows for CMP polishing. (Paragraph 0023)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Komine et al. because it allows for CMP polishing.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misra et al. in view of Seo et al. and further in view of Komine et al. as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-10 above, and further in view of Paik et al. (TW I343944).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 3:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the cerium-containing is incorporated as one or more organometallic complexes of Ce(III) or Ce(IV).
Regarding claim 3, Paik et al. teach utilizing organometallic complexes of Ce. (See Machine Translation)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Paik et al. is that it allows for CMP polishing. (See Machine Translation)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Paik et al. because it allows for CMP polishing.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misra et al. in view of Seo et al. as applied to claims 1, 4-10 above, and further in view of Stender et al. (U.S. Pat. 10, 253,216).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 11:
The difference not yet discussed is further comprising the planarization solution in the planarization solution introduction system, wherein the planarization solution comprises poly(2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic acid).
Regarding claim 11, Stender et al. teach utilizing in the solution poly(2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic acid). (Column 3 lines 63-67; Column 4 lines 1-16)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Stender et al. is that it allows for providing a solution for chemical mechanical polishing. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Stender et al. because it allows for providing a solution for chemical mechanical polishing.
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
October 28, 2026