CTNF 18/889,289 CTNF 92465 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by “Kadota” (US 2024/0145816. Examiner’s note: Kadota initially published as WO2022191231A1) . Regarding claim 1, Kadota anticipates 1. A bus bar comprising: a bus bar base portion having a flat plate shape (Figs. 5, 7A, [0052], [0066]-[0068]; the bus bar 710 comprising the first connecting portion 711 having a flat plate shape) ; and a bus bar terminal connection portion having a male tab shape erected from the bus bar base portion (Figs. 5, 7A, [0052], [0066]-[0068]; the raised portion 715 and the relay terminal 811 is a bus bar terminal connection portion having a male tab shape erected from the first connecting portion 711) , wherein the bus bar terminal connection portion is electrically connected to a relay terminal connection portion of a relay component via a relay terminal fitting (Figs. 5, 7A, [0052], [0066]-[0068]; the relay terminal 811 is electrically connected to a relay terminal connection portion of a relay 810 via a relay terminal fitting) , and a reinforcing rib is provided on the bus bar base portion, the reinforcing rib protruding from a flat surface of the bus bar base portion at least at one position on the flat surface and suppressing deformation caused by vibration accompanying driving of the relay component transmitted to the bus bar terminal connection portion (Figs. 5, 7A, [0052], [0066]-[0068]; the rib protruding from the first connecting portion 711 in Fig. 5 is a reinforcing rib which suppresses suppressing deformation caused by vibration accompanying driving of the relay component transmitted to the bus bar terminal connection portion. Examiner’s note: the limitation: “suppressing deformation caused by vibration accompanying driving of the relay component transmitted to the bus bar terminal connection portion” is construed as having the ability to perform. Kadota’s reinforcing rib has the ability to suppress deformation caused by vibration accompanying driving of the relay component transmitted to the bus bar terminal connection portion.) . Regarding claim 3, Kadota anticipates 3. The bus bar according to claim 1, wherein the reinforcing rib is formed in a linear shape extending in the same direction as a plate thickness direction of the bus bar terminal connection portion (Figs. 5, 7A, [0052], [0066]-[0068]; the reinforcing rib protruding from the first connecting portion 711 in Fig. 5 is formed in a linear shape extending in the same direction as a plate thickness direction of the raised portion 715 and the relay terminal 811) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadota in view of “Cheong” (US 2024/0097281) . Regarding claim 2, Kadota discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above. Kadota does not disclose the limitations of claim 2. Cheong discloses 2. The bus bar according to claim 1, wherein the reinforcing rib is formed in a circular shape or a cross shape (Figs. 10-14, [0078], [0082]; the rib 240 in Fig. 13 protrudes from the bus bar 230 and is formed in a cross shape.) . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Kadota’s bus bar with Cheong’s rib in order to provide rigidity and to suppress the bus bar from being twisted, as suggested by Cheong at [0078] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadota in view of “Okada” (US 5,593,328) . Regarding claims 4 and 6, Kadota discloses the claimed invention as applied to respective claims 1 and 3, above. Kadota discloses the bus bar terminal connection portion is physically and electrically connected to the relay terminal fitting, a flat surface of the bus bar terminal connection portion (Figs. 5, 7A, [0052], [0066]-[0068]; a flat surface of the relay terminal 811 is physically and electrically connected to a relay terminal fitting, the relay terminal connection portion of a relay 810 has a flat surface) . Kadota does not disclose a spring force of the relay terminal fitting applied . Okada discloses a spring force of the relay terminal fitting applied (Fig. 2, col. 9, lines 33-43; the terminal fitting 110 applies a spring force). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Kadota’s bus bar with Okada’s terminal fitting so that the spring force of the terminal fitting can be improved even though the terminal fitting is as thin as 0.2 mm or so, as suggested by Okada at col. 9, lines 41-43 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadota in view of Cheong and Okada . Regarding claim 5, Kadota in view of Cheong discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 2, above. Kadota discloses the bus bar terminal connection portion is physically and electrically connected to the relay terminal fitting, a flat surface of the bus bar terminal connection portion (Figs. 5, 7A, [0052], [0066]-[0068]; a flat surface of the relay terminal 811 is physically and electrically connected to a relay terminal fitting, the relay terminal connection portion of a relay 810 has a flat surface) . Kadota does not disclose a spring force of the relay terminal fitting applied . Okada discloses a spring force of the relay terminal fitting applied (Fig. 2, col. 9, lines 33-43; the terminal fitting 110 applies a spring force). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Kadota’s bus bar, as modified by Cheong, with Okada’s terminal fitting so that the spring force of the terminal fitting can be improved even though the terminal fitting is as thin as 0.2 mm or so, as suggested by Okada at col. 9, lines 41-43. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STANLEY TSO whose telephone number is (571)270-0723. The examiner can normally be reached Tu-Thurs 6am-6pm, alt M 6am-2pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tim Thompson can be reached at 571-272-2342. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/889,289 Page 2 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/889,289 Page 3 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/889,289 Page 4 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/889,289 Page 5 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/889,289 Page 6 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/889,289 Page 7 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/889,289 Page 8 Art Unit: 2847