Response to Amendment
Amendments submitted on 6/11/26 include amendments to the claims. Claims 1, 4-6 and 8 are pending. Claims 1, 4-6 have been amended. Claims 2-3 and 7 have been cancelled. Claim 8 has been newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that none of the references teach a cleaning brush disposal device provided at a position apart from the substrate held by the substrate holder and from the cleaning brush storage device and removing the first cleaning brush or the second cleaning brush held by the cleaning brush holder from the cleaning brush holder, to accommodate the removed first cleaning brush or the removed second cleaning brush: Okita et al. teaches a cleaning brush disposal device (see suction source connected to Sp1, whereby switching between suction and non-suction allows for attachment and detachment of a cleaning brush) provided at a position apart from the substrate W held by the substrate holder 120 and from the cleaning brush storage device 170/180 and capable of removing the first cleaning brush 160 or the second cleaning brush 160 held by the cleaning brush holder 150 from the cleaning brush holder 150, to accommodate the removed first cleaning brush 160 or the removed second cleaning brush 160 (see page 5 of the translation, figures 2 and 12).
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection has been withdrawn based on the amendments to the claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a cleaning brush storage device”, “a processing liquid supply system”, “a cleaning brush holder moving device”, “a position changing device” in claim 1.
“a horizontal moving device”, “a lifting moving device” in claim 4.
“a cleaning brush storage device”, “a processing liquid supply system”, “a cleaning brush holder moving device”, “a cleaning brush disposal device” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim rejections under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn based on the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okita et al. (CN113327870A) in view of Sasaki et al. (JPH08282755A).
Regarding claim 8, Okita et al. teaches a substrate processing apparatus (see abstract), comprising: a substrate holder 120 holding a substrate W (see abstract, figure 12, page 4 of the translation); a first cleaning brush 160 and a second cleaning brush 160 each having a connected portion 164 and a cleaning surface 162 (see figures 4a-12, page 4 of the translation); a cleaning brush holder 150 comprising a connecting portion 152, 154, 156 that is attachable to and detachable from the connected portions 164 of the first cleaning brush 160 and the second cleaning brush 160, and respectively holding the first cleaning brush 160 and the second cleaning brush 160 by connecting the connecting portion 152, 154, 156 to the connected portion 164 (see figures 4a-12, pages 6-8 of the translation); a cleaning brush storage device 170/180 provided at a position spaced apart from the substrate W held by the substrate holder 120 and capable of temporarily storing the second cleaning brush 160 in a state where the first cleaning brush 160 is held by the cleaning brush holder 150 (see figure 12, pages 9-10 of the translation); a cleaning brush holder moving device 142, 144 capable of moving the cleaning brush holder 150 so that the cleaning surface 162 of the first cleaning brush 160 or the second cleaning brush 160 held by the cleaning brush holder 150 comes into contact with the substrate W, and moving the cleaning brush holder 150 to the cleaning brush storage device 170/180 (see figures 12, 16, 17, pages 5-6 and 9-10 of the translation); a processing liquid supply system 174 capable of supplying a predetermined processing liquid to the cleaning brush storage device 170 (see figure 12, pages 5-6 of the translation); a cleaning brush disposal device (see suction source connected to Sp1, whereby switching between suction and non-suction allows for attachment and detachment of a cleaning brush) provided at a position apart from the substrate W held by the substrate holder 120 and from the cleaning brush storage device 170/180 and capable of removing the first cleaning brush 160 or the second cleaning brush 160 held by the cleaning brush holder 150 from the cleaning brush holder 150, to accommodate the removed first cleaning brush 160 or the removed second cleaning brush 160 (see page 5 of the translation, figures 2 and 12); and a controller 11, wherein the controller 11 is capable of controlling the cleaning brush holder moving device 142, 144 in a state where the cleaning brush holder 150 holds the first cleaning brush 160, to clean the substrate W held by the substrate holder 120, and after the first cleaning brush 160 used for cleaning the substrate W is removed from the cleaning brush holder 150 by the cleaning brush disposal device, controlling the cleaning brush holder moving device 142, 144 to connect the connecting portion 152, 154, 156 of the cleaning brush holder 150 to the connected portion 164 of the second cleaning brush 160 temporarily stored in the cleaning brush storage device 170, and the cleaning brush storage device 170 is configured to maintain the cleaning surface 162 of the second cleaning brush 160 temporarily stored in a state of being wetted (see page 5 of the translation) with the processing liquid supplied from the processing liquid supply system 174 (see figure 12, pages 6 and 9-10 of the translation). Okita et al. does not explicitly teach that the cleaning tool storage part 180 is configured to maintain the cleaning surface of the second cleaning tool temporarily stored in a state of being wetted with the processing liquid supplied from the processing liquid supply part. Sasaki et al. teaches a storage container for a substrate treatment brush (see abstract) and that the cleaning tool storage part 150 is configured to maintain the cleaning surface 14 of the second cleaning tool 10 temporarily stored in a state of being wetted with the processing liquid supplied from the processing liquid supply part (see liquid injecting part); thereby keeping the brush in an elastic and soft state and shortening the time required to start up the device for the cleaning operation after the replacement (see abstract, pages 5 and 7 of the translation). Since Okita et al. teaches a substrate treatment apparatus and Sasaki et al. teaches a storage container for a substrate treatment brush, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the cleaning tool storage part 180 may be configured to maintain the cleaning surface of the second cleaning tool temporarily stored in a state of being wetted with the processing liquid supplied from the processing liquid supply part so as to keep the brush in an elastic and soft state and shortening the time required to start up the device for the cleaning operation after the replacement, as shown to be known and conventional by Sasaki et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-6 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Okita et al. (CN113327870A). Okita et al. fails to teach/disclose all of the limitations of independent claim 1, including the following limitations: “…the another storage space of the cleaning brush storage tank does not overlap with the one straight line or the one circular arc in the plan view”. Furthermore, no other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in part along with the requisite motivation for combination to anticipate or render the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINSAE B AYALEW/EXAMINER, Art Unit 1711